: Newbi To Gun Scene Here...

CHeYeNNe
10-31-2003, 11:47 AM
Hey guys/gals I'm new to the gun scene and have for sometime been wanting to get a handgun. I decided to take up the winter hobby of target shooting. I'm not sure what sort of gun I want yet, but do like the looks anyways of the 9mm.

Can anyone give me any info on a good beginner gun and any magazines out there for researching?

I've never owned a gun or hardly have any experience shooting guns. The only guns I've shot were a shotgun few times and a .22.

Any advice or comments are welcome.:thumbsup

Please if possible post pics of the type of gun you recommend or link.

BanditCPA
10-31-2003, 12:21 PM
Guess it depends on what your'e looking for. a ruger mk2 is great for cheap plinking, but not really the type for home protection or action pistol shooting. For an all around reliable 9mm I would go with a Glock. I personally like 45acp and like the 1911 style pistols (kimber seems to be the hot 1911 these days)

As for magazines Guns & ammo, NRA publications, Guns magazine are what I usually pick up at the newsstand

flinchy
10-31-2003, 12:23 PM
H&K USP is a nice all-around gun.

HDTony
10-31-2003, 12:26 PM
I just bought Kens, 9mm Beratta 92 Brigadier. I shot it for the first time last night and loved it. very happy with it.

***BJ***
10-31-2003, 12:28 PM
First, make sure you get your FOID; can't shoot without it. Go shooting with friends or go to a range where they rent pistols. Shoot a lot before you make a purchase, and make sure it is the right fit for you - controllable, comfortable, etc. A 9mm is a nice caliber to start with, as it is relatively small and the recoil is easy to manage. The choice is up to you - Welcome to the club! :cheers

crash11
10-31-2003, 12:35 PM
Sig Arms P239 9MM DA PST 8RD B

HDTony
10-31-2003, 12:40 PM
Smith and wesson just came out with a new 50 caliber revolver, it pretty much the hayabusa of the gun world. :D :D

LOL, guess what I'm buying next :D :D

crash11