New to PS3/Streaming HD - Chicagoland Sportbikes
Chicagoland Sportbikes
 
Playstation 3 Forum For PS3 discussion.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-13-2011, 10:40 AM Thread Starter
The Violator
 
Troy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Lombard
Posts: 4,101
Location: Lombard
Sportbike: A little bit of everything.
Years Riding: Not nearly enough!
How you found us: On a ride in Colorado
           
New to PS3/Streaming HD

Finally made the transition to HD & picked up a PS3. I still have lots to learn about the PS3 but one reason I got it (besides gaming & BD playback) is the browser.

Is anybody using one to stream HD content?
Troy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-13-2011, 11:09 AM
Will
 
dub shih's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Lisle
Posts: 2,204
Location: Lisle
Sportbike: 2009 R6 Raven
Years Riding: not long enough
How you found us: Search Engine
           
I am.

You can either make sure that the HD video is encoded in H264 or have something like TVersity encode on the fly.

I use Windows Media Center to stream to my PS3.
dub shih is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-13-2011, 11:47 AM Thread Starter
The Violator
 
Troy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Lombard
Posts: 4,101
Location: Lombard
Sportbike: A little bit of everything.
Years Riding: Not nearly enough!
How you found us: On a ride in Colorado
           
My PC is in a completely different part of the house & no laptop, so I'm trying to grab content directly with the browser in the PS3.

Unless that option just isn't a good one, that's the plan so far. I've read a little about TVersity so far & people seem to like it. I'm also seeing people use PS3 Media Server & wonder if that would work.

I'm pretty green with this stuff so not really sure what to look for...
Troy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-13-2011, 11:50 AM
Super Moderator

 
Vcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Winfield
Posts: 43,230
Location: Winfield
Sportbike: bikeless
Years Riding: 10
How you found us: Shit, you know I'm a clsb OG!
           
Send a message via AIM to Vcook
grab content directly from where?

Chris
Vcook is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-13-2011, 11:53 AM
bwa
Boom
 
bwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Kalispell, MT
Posts: 13,320
Location: Kalispell, MT
Sportbike: None :(
Years Riding: not long enough
How you found us: Crazeinc
           
I have a router that has a built-in NAS, bittorrent and media server, don't have to leave the couch
bwa is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-13-2011, 12:29 PM Thread Starter
The Violator
 
Troy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Lombard
Posts: 4,101
Location: Lombard
Sportbike: A little bit of everything.
Years Riding: Not nearly enough!
How you found us: On a ride in Colorado
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vcook View Post
grab content directly from where?
Primarily Racing Underground. But who knows, it could be from other sites down the road.
Troy is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-13-2011, 12:53 PM
Will
 
dub shih's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Lisle
Posts: 2,204
Location: Lisle
Sportbike: 2009 R6 Raven
Years Riding: not long enough
How you found us: Search Engine
           
Isn't your computer on the same network as the PS3?

If it is then I don't understand why placement of the PC would matter... unless of course you mean you have a bad wireless network.
dub shih is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-13-2011, 01:14 PM Thread Starter
The Violator
 
Troy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Lombard
Posts: 4,101
Location: Lombard
Sportbike: A little bit of everything.
Years Riding: Not nearly enough!
How you found us: On a ride in Colorado
           
Maybe the problem is that I'm retarded.

I have a wireless router as part of the hardware that came with U-verse. The PS3 gets it's wireless signal directly from there.

I had originally thought it would be best to have the PS3 grab streaming HD content through that router instead of having my PC somewhere in the equation.

Am I going about this all wrong?

My main goal is to watch MotoGP, Moto2, WSBK, WSS, & Formula 1 without Speed's commercial breaks, mediocre announcing crews, lack of qualifying coverage & delayed airing of Moto2 + WSS. I still want it in HD though & prefer 5.1 audio if that's at all possible.
Troy is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-13-2011, 01:21 PM
Super Moderator

 
Vcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Winfield
Posts: 43,230
Location: Winfield
Sportbike: bikeless
Years Riding: 10
How you found us: Shit, you know I'm a clsb OG!
           
Send a message via AIM to Vcook
Most of the stuff you wont be streaming directly from the internet, you'll be downloading them to a local drive them streaming them from there.

Chris
Vcook is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-13-2011, 02:04 PM Thread Starter
The Violator
 
Troy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Lombard
Posts: 4,101
Location: Lombard
Sportbike: A little bit of everything.
Years Riding: Not nearly enough!
How you found us: On a ride in Colorado
           
So.... it's better to use the drive in a PC or the one in the PS3?

What I'm really saying is: What, exactly, do I need to do to make this happen, in the simplest verbiage possible.
Troy is offline  
post #11 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-13-2011, 02:23 PM
Will
 
dub shih's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Lisle
Posts: 2,204
Location: Lisle
Sportbike: 2009 R6 Raven
Years Riding: not long enough
How you found us: Search Engine
           
1. Download the video you want to watch to your PC

2. Download either some kinda on the fly encoder or just use Windows Media Center/Player and allow for file sharing/streaming and select the directories you want to share/stream

3. Go to the video section on the PS3 XMB and you should see the folders that you setup in your Windows Media Center/Player for sharing/streaming

You should be good to go from there... just remember if your HD content is encoded in X264 or some other format you'll need to get an on the fly encoder to watch it on your PS3.

Hope that helps.
dub shih is offline  
post #12 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-14-2011, 12:57 PM Thread Starter
The Violator
 
Troy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Lombard
Posts: 4,101
Location: Lombard
Sportbike: A little bit of everything.
Years Riding: Not nearly enough!
How you found us: On a ride in Colorado
           
Thanks everybody.

This is the kind of info I need. My apologies for knowing next to nothing about it all, but I appreciate the lessons!

At the end of the day, I just get frustrated with Speed's agenda & I'm willing to jump through some hoops to find a better alternative.
Troy is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Chicagoland Sportbikes forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome