Blu-Ray 2.0 support.... available in 2.2 update - Chicagoland Sportbikes
Chicagoland Sportbikes
 
Playstation 3 Forum For PS3 discussion.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 28 (permalink) Old 03-20-2008, 10:16 AM Thread Starter
Rex Banner
 
Flying_Hellfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Aurora
Posts: 2,561
Location: Aurora
Sportbike: 99 SV650, z50r
Years Riding: A few years
How you found us: A tranny told me
           
Blu-Ray 2.0 support.... available in 2.2 update

http://www.engadget.com/2008/03/20/p...ray-this-mont/

Looks like we might have the support by the end of the month.

Lord, beer me strength

Gamertag: FlyingHellf1sh
Flying_Hellfish is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 28 (permalink) Old 03-20-2008, 10:29 AM
Registered User
 
AgentofDarkness's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Niles
Posts: 2,761
Location: Niles
Sportbike: 05 CBR600RR
Years Riding: 1 year
How you found us: CBR Forum
           
Send a message via AIM to AgentofDarkness
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flying_Hellfish View Post
http://www.engadget.com/2008/03/20/p...ray-this-mont/

Looks like we might have the support by the end of the month.
Why is there support for WMV and DIVX files over 2GB? Thats kind of bogus, all my WMV and DVIX files I want to watch are like 700MB.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arch View Post
In motorcycle terms, that's like taking your Ducati to a dealer for service, and they hand you back a 1979 backfiring Honda 400 Hawk.. because after all, a bike is a bike.
AgentofDarkness is offline  
post #3 of 28 (permalink) Old 03-20-2008, 10:31 AM
Super Moderator

 
Vcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Winfield
Posts: 43,230
Location: Winfield
Sportbike: bikeless
Years Riding: 10
How you found us: Shit, you know I'm a clsb OG!
           
Send a message via AIM to Vcook
Quote:
Originally Posted by AgentofDarkness View Post
Thats kind of bogus, all my WMV and DVIX files I want to watch are like 700MB.
Believe it or not there are people that use those formats for more than just bootleg DVD rips to fit on CD.

Chris
Vcook is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 28 (permalink) Old 03-20-2008, 10:42 AM
The Sausage king
 
Abe_Froman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,003
Location: Chicago
Sportbike: Ducati
Years Riding: Since my mid-life crisis
How you found us: Hankered for a hunka cheese
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by AgentofDarkness View Post
Why is there support for WMV and DIVX files over 2GB? Thats kind of bogus, all my WMV and DVIX files I want to watch are like 700MB.
I believe Divx support came out with firmware update 2.17. The new firmware will allow support for divx files over 2GB.

Quote:
Other new or revised features in version 2.17 (with 2.10):
Music Music

* You can now select [Type 3] as an option under [Settings] > [Music Settings] > [Bitmapping]. > See details.
* A new pattern has been added for the visual player. > See details.

Video Video

* DivX and VC-1 (WMV) have been added to the types of files that can be played. *1
* Blu-ray Disc Profile 1.1 is now supported. *2
* [BD Data Utility] has been added. *3

*1

- To play VC-1 (WMV) format files, you must go to settings (Settings) > system settings (System Settings) and set [Enable WMA Playback].
- Copyright-protected files or files that were encoded by using DivX 3.11 cannot be played.
- Files that are 2GB or more cannot be played.

*2

You can now use the "Picture in Picture" feature that enables playback of two videos at the same time with some Profile 1.1-compatible Blu-ray Discs. Features available vary depending on the disc.
*3

Management data that is used by the Blu-ray Disc is saved here.
http://www.us.playstation.com/PS3/About/SystemUpdate

Da Bears!
Ducati
Abe_Froman is offline  
post #5 of 28 (permalink) Old 03-20-2008, 10:48 AM
Registered User
 
AgentofDarkness's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Niles
Posts: 2,761
Location: Niles
Sportbike: 05 CBR600RR
Years Riding: 1 year
How you found us: CBR Forum
           
Send a message via AIM to AgentofDarkness
Do the firmware updates install automatically or is there something you have to do?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arch View Post
In motorcycle terms, that's like taking your Ducati to a dealer for service, and they hand you back a 1979 backfiring Honda 400 Hawk.. because after all, a bike is a bike.
AgentofDarkness is offline  
post #6 of 28 (permalink) Old 03-20-2008, 10:49 AM
Registered User
 
AgentofDarkness's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Niles
Posts: 2,761
Location: Niles
Sportbike: 05 CBR600RR
Years Riding: 1 year
How you found us: CBR Forum
           
Send a message via AIM to AgentofDarkness
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vcook View Post
Believe it or not there are people that use those formats for more than just bootleg DVD rips to fit on CD.
For the record, I watch TV shows not available in the U.S. like Top Gear.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arch View Post
In motorcycle terms, that's like taking your Ducati to a dealer for service, and they hand you back a 1979 backfiring Honda 400 Hawk.. because after all, a bike is a bike.
AgentofDarkness is offline  
post #7 of 28 (permalink) Old 03-20-2008, 10:50 AM
Super Moderator

 
Vcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Winfield
Posts: 43,230
Location: Winfield
Sportbike: bikeless
Years Riding: 10
How you found us: Shit, you know I'm a clsb OG!
           
Send a message via AIM to Vcook
Quote:
Originally Posted by AgentofDarkness View Post
For the record, I watch TV shows not available in the U.S. like Top Gear.
For the record, Top Gear is available in the US on the BBC america.

Chris
Vcook is offline  
post #8 of 28 (permalink) Old 03-20-2008, 10:51 AM
Registered User
 
AgentofDarkness's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Niles
Posts: 2,761
Location: Niles
Sportbike: 05 CBR600RR
Years Riding: 1 year
How you found us: CBR Forum
           
Send a message via AIM to AgentofDarkness
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vcook View Post
For the record, Top Gear is available in the US on the BBC america.
Is it the full version? They used to show Top Gear on Discovery but it was the watered down version that sucked. Unfortunately I don't get 500 channels.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arch View Post
In motorcycle terms, that's like taking your Ducati to a dealer for service, and they hand you back a 1979 backfiring Honda 400 Hawk.. because after all, a bike is a bike.
AgentofDarkness is offline  
post #9 of 28 (permalink) Old 03-20-2008, 10:57 AM
Super Moderator

 
Vcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Winfield
Posts: 43,230
Location: Winfield
Sportbike: bikeless
Years Riding: 10
How you found us: Shit, you know I'm a clsb OG!
           
Send a message via AIM to Vcook
Seems to be the full version.

Chris
Vcook is offline  
post #10 of 28 (permalink) Old 03-20-2008, 10:58 AM
The Sausage king
 
Abe_Froman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,003
Location: Chicago
Sportbike: Ducati
Years Riding: Since my mid-life crisis
How you found us: Hankered for a hunka cheese
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by AgentofDarkness View Post
Do the firmware updates install automatically or is there something you have to do?
If you have it set to automatically sign you in to PSN, you will be notified to update your firmware when it comes out, otherwise, next time you sign in to play online. Firmware 2.17 came out last week.
You have to hit X to agree to the download and it will then start downloading. I think it took less than 5 minutes to download. The PS3 than restarts and asks you to hit X to install the download. You agree to the license and then it takes a couple of minutes to install. Don't shut it down while it is downloading or installing, you could have problems using it if you do.

Quote:
To check the version of your system software, go to settings (Settings) > (System Settings) > [System Information]. The information is shown in the [System Software] field.
http://www.us.playstation.com/PS3/About/SystemUpdate

Da Bears!
Ducati
Abe_Froman is offline  
post #11 of 28 (permalink) Old 03-20-2008, 11:54 AM
Registered User
 
hellion29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Bowie, MD
Posts: 714
Location: Bowie, MD
Sportbike: Suzuki GSX-R750
Years Riding: I ride a tricycle
How you found us: Google!
           
Oh and for all of you guys having trouble watching your bootlegged video. Use a program named TVersity. It transcodes files on the fly and streams them to your ps3. Most of my library is either .mkv or avi using xvid. So I just use TVersity as a media server on my pc and stream all of my content to the ps3. Works like a charm.

-Zach
http://www.myspace.com/zachreborn

PSN: reborn29
hellion29 is offline  
post #12 of 28 (permalink) Old 03-20-2008, 11:59 AM
Registered User
 
AgentofDarkness's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Niles
Posts: 2,761
Location: Niles
Sportbike: 05 CBR600RR
Years Riding: 1 year
How you found us: CBR Forum
           
Send a message via AIM to AgentofDarkness
Quote:
Originally Posted by hellion29 View Post
Oh and for all of you guys having trouble watching your bootlegged video. Use a program named TVersity. It transcodes files on the fly and streams them to your ps3. Most of my library is either .mkv or avi using xvid. So I just use TVersity as a media server on my pc and stream all of my content to the ps3. Works like a charm.
I have an actual Media Server. Its from Buffalo and its basically a 500GB hard drive running on some proprietary OS so I'm not sure if I can install that program. I was able to stream an episode of TopGear to my PS3 last week. I know there is a program that converts AVI/DIVX files to PS3 format, but it takes FOREVER. I'll try out this TVersity when I get home though.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arch View Post
In motorcycle terms, that's like taking your Ducati to a dealer for service, and they hand you back a 1979 backfiring Honda 400 Hawk.. because after all, a bike is a bike.
AgentofDarkness is offline  
post #13 of 28 (permalink) Old 03-20-2008, 01:10 PM
The Sausage king
 
Abe_Froman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,003
Location: Chicago
Sportbike: Ducati
Years Riding: Since my mid-life crisis
How you found us: Hankered for a hunka cheese
           
I have a Dlink DNS hooked up to my network and the PS3 can see it as a media server. I was able to play some video converted from my tivo, but the PS3 now doesn't recognize any other format.
I used this PS 9 converter and that took forever and didn't seem to work either. There's a hack for the DNS that people say works well with the PS3, I believe the software is twonky, but I didn't want to hack it and end up bricking it. Thanks for the TVersity recommendation.

Da Bears!
Ducati
Abe_Froman is offline  
post #14 of 28 (permalink) Old 03-20-2008, 01:21 PM
Registered User
 
hellion29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Bowie, MD
Posts: 714
Location: Bowie, MD
Sportbike: Suzuki GSX-R750
Years Riding: I ride a tricycle
How you found us: Google!
           
Yeah if you guys need some help setting it up just let me know. It works great. I just run the service at boot and share away all of my media. You can even copy the media as it's streaming to the ps3 hard drive if you'd like and it'll be in a playable format it's really nice. I have a huge library of media, probably just over a full TB of movies and video, so it works out great for me.

-Zach
http://www.myspace.com/zachreborn

PSN: reborn29
hellion29 is offline  
post #15 of 28 (permalink) Old 03-22-2008, 01:52 PM
Registered User
 
chibeemer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 2,047
Location: Chicago
Sportbike: BMW R1100s
Years Riding: 13
How you found us: Rider
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by Abe_Froman View Post
If you have it set to automatically sign you in to PSN, you will be notified to update your firmware when it comes out, otherwise, next time you sign in to play online. Firmware 2.17 came out last week.
You have to hit X to agree to the download and it will then start downloading. I think it took less than 5 minutes to download. The PS3 than restarts and asks you to hit X to install the download. You agree to the license and then it takes a couple of minutes to install. Don't shut it down while it is downloading or installing, you could have problems using it if you do.



http://www.us.playstation.com/PS3/About/SystemUpdate
And for Christ's sake plug in your controller via USB before and during your update or the PS3 won't recognize the controller after the update installs and the PS3 reboots.

If you forget to plug in the controller just plug it in and hard reboot by pressing the On/Off button and holding. You might have to do this a few times and try a different USB port each time.

So the answer is no, you didn't brick your system. Don't panic like I did.

Blah, Blah, Blah

Get your Portable ID!
chibeemer is offline  
post #16 of 28 (permalink) Old 03-22-2008, 02:12 PM
Registered User
 
hellion29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Bowie, MD
Posts: 714
Location: Bowie, MD
Sportbike: Suzuki GSX-R750
Years Riding: I ride a tricycle
How you found us: Google!
           
Luckily I've never had that happen, I guess it only resets it's bluetooth registered devices sometimes. A good tip nonetheless.

-Zach
http://www.myspace.com/zachreborn

PSN: reborn29
hellion29 is offline  
post #17 of 28 (permalink) Old 03-22-2008, 10:53 PM
Registered User
 
chibeemer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 2,047
Location: Chicago
Sportbike: BMW R1100s
Years Riding: 13
How you found us: Rider
           
This is great! The remote play finally works like I thought it should (Update 2.17). So now I can keep my PS3 turned off, log into it via the PSP from a WAP and turn my PS3 on. Once I'm there, I can use my Eye Toy as my nanny cam via the PS3 chat feature.

Still no ability to view Netflix's "Watch it Now" feature through the PS3 browser. I'm not sure if update 2.20 will help but there is language that suggests that.

Blah, Blah, Blah

Get your Portable ID!
chibeemer is offline  
post #18 of 28 (permalink) Old 03-23-2008, 06:51 AM
Registered User
 
hellion29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Bowie, MD
Posts: 714
Location: Bowie, MD
Sportbike: Suzuki GSX-R750
Years Riding: I ride a tricycle
How you found us: Google!
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by chibeemer View Post
This is great! The remote play finally works like I thought it should (Update 2.17). So now I can keep my PS3 turned off, log into it via the PSP from a WAP and turn my PS3 on. Once I'm there, I can use my Eye Toy as my nanny cam via the PS3 chat feature.

Still no ability to view Netflix's "Watch it Now" feature through the PS3 browser. I'm not sure if update 2.20 will help but there is language that suggests that.
Hopefully we will indeed see more streaming content and more codecs being worked into future revisions.

-Zach
http://www.myspace.com/zachreborn

PSN: reborn29
hellion29 is offline  
post #19 of 28 (permalink) Old 03-23-2008, 05:18 PM
Registered User
 
chibeemer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 2,047
Location: Chicago
Sportbike: BMW R1100s
Years Riding: 13
How you found us: Rider
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by hellion29 View Post
Hopefully we will indeed see more streaming content and more codecs being worked into future revisions.
Ya. I'd pay for a movie rental program if it was pay per view style.

Blah, Blah, Blah

Get your Portable ID!
chibeemer is offline  
post #20 of 28 (permalink) Old 03-23-2008, 05:32 PM
Registered User
 
AgentofDarkness's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Niles
Posts: 2,761
Location: Niles
Sportbike: 05 CBR600RR
Years Riding: 1 year
How you found us: CBR Forum
           
Send a message via AIM to AgentofDarkness
Quote:
Originally Posted by chibeemer View Post
Ya. I'd pay for a movie rental program if it was pay per view style.
The only problem with that would be the speed/quality of the download. I watch Lost on ABC in HD and it isn't the greatest. The streaming stalls and stuff in the middle of the episode. If you have 1080P streaming HD, thats going to need alot of bandwidth. It might be that you can download the whole movie and watch it all at once. That wouldn't be so bad, download the movie before you goto bed or while you are at work and you can watch it in the evening.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arch View Post
In motorcycle terms, that's like taking your Ducati to a dealer for service, and they hand you back a 1979 backfiring Honda 400 Hawk.. because after all, a bike is a bike.
AgentofDarkness is offline  
post #21 of 28 (permalink) Old 03-23-2008, 07:05 PM
Registered User
 
hellion29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Bowie, MD
Posts: 714
Location: Bowie, MD
Sportbike: Suzuki GSX-R750
Years Riding: I ride a tricycle
How you found us: Google!
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by AgentofDarkness View Post
The only problem with that would be the speed/quality of the download. I watch Lost on ABC in HD and it isn't the greatest. The streaming stalls and stuff in the middle of the episode. If you have 1080P streaming HD, thats going to need alot of bandwidth. It might be that you can download the whole movie and watch it all at once. That wouldn't be so bad, download the movie before you goto bed or while you are at work and you can watch it in the evening.
Yeah it's true but they are perfecting the streaming distribution every day. Take FOX's streaming for example. It begins streaming in sd resolutions and moved into HD if you have the right bandwidth and enough is buffered. It'll only improve and hopefully one day in the near future we'll be streaming full 1080p live like japan's infrastructure has right now. That is if our teleco and cable companies put some damn money into the infrastructure...

-Zach
http://www.myspace.com/zachreborn

PSN: reborn29
hellion29 is offline  
post #22 of 28 (permalink) Old 03-24-2008, 08:10 AM
Registered User
 
chibeemer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 2,047
Location: Chicago
Sportbike: BMW R1100s
Years Riding: 13
How you found us: Rider
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by hellion29 View Post
hopefully one day in the near future we'll be streaming full 1080p live like japan's infrastructure has right now. That is if our teleco and cable companies put some damn money into the infrastructure...
Who are we kidding here? The US and especially IL hasn't invested in infrastructure since the 1950s.

Blah, Blah, Blah

Get your Portable ID!
chibeemer is offline  
post #23 of 28 (permalink) Old 03-24-2008, 08:15 AM Thread Starter
Rex Banner
 
Flying_Hellfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Aurora
Posts: 2,561
Location: Aurora
Sportbike: 99 SV650, z50r
Years Riding: A few years
How you found us: A tranny told me
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by chibeemer View Post
Who are we kidding here? The US and especially IL hasn't invested in infrastructure since the 1950s.
When we finally get fios around here, that'll be a possibility. There are some services that allow HD streaming, but I think it's only 1080i

Lord, beer me strength

Gamertag: FlyingHellf1sh
Flying_Hellfish is offline  
post #24 of 28 (permalink) Old 03-24-2008, 08:48 AM
Registered User
 
chibeemer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 2,047
Location: Chicago
Sportbike: BMW R1100s
Years Riding: 13
How you found us: Rider
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flying_Hellfish View Post
When we finally get fios around here, that'll be a possibility. There are some services that allow HD streaming, but I think it's only 1080i
For most movies 1080i is just fine. I don't need to see fluff in super HD.

Blah, Blah, Blah

Get your Portable ID!
chibeemer is offline  
post #25 of 28 (permalink) Old 03-24-2008, 11:00 PM
Registered User
 
chibeemer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 2,047
Location: Chicago
Sportbike: BMW R1100s
Years Riding: 13
How you found us: Rider
           
2.20 is available now. I was playing 1/2 life and went to load a saved game and everything hung up. All I could do was exit the game using the PS button. When I did this I noticed the unit performed a hard reboot and then prompted me to download the update.

Sorta sucked that I couldn't finish playing but now we have BR 2.0 support. I'm cranking up my copy of Blade Runner and seeing what cool stuff I can download/access from the BR Disk.

Blah, Blah, Blah

Get your Portable ID!
chibeemer is offline  
post #26 of 28 (permalink) Old 03-25-2008, 12:42 AM
Registered User
 
iamnotgreg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 12,529
Location: Chicago
Sportbike: 2003 Aprilia Mille R Colin Edwards / 01-02 Ninj ZX6r Tracktoy / 2003 SV650
Years Riding: 12
How you found us: some guy at the IBM credit union told me about it
           
One high def movie is about 15-20gb.. It will be a while before we are streaming "true" high def... and not just "slightly higher definition than we normally stream but a lot better than youtube" definition

Can't wait for FIOS though... 15 up and 30 down... for 139/mo... or 15/15 for 65... That's gonna be awesome. I am so sick of comcast and their bogus #'s if you live in the city (ie.. we never get what we are supposed to due to oversubscription)
I didnt know the PS3 was going to support Netflix streaming.. That's really interesting.
iamnotgreg is offline  
post #27 of 28 (permalink) Old 03-25-2008, 01:54 AM
Registered User
 
hellion29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Bowie, MD
Posts: 714
Location: Bowie, MD
Sportbike: Suzuki GSX-R750
Years Riding: I ride a tricycle
How you found us: Google!
           
I've got fios over here on the east coast!

Side note: there are reports that this most recent firmware update has changed the upscaling in games to allow 1080i instead of just 780i. I've heard it from a few people but I can't test it myself right now.

-Zach
http://www.myspace.com/zachreborn

PSN: reborn29
hellion29 is offline  
post #28 of 28 (permalink) Old 03-27-2008, 02:41 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Gurnee, Il
Posts: 20
Location: Gurnee, Il
Sportbike: 05 zx-10r
Years Riding: 2
How you found us: yahoo
 
lol
Pnsh3r is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Chicagoland Sportbikes forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome