Your PS3 lose sync while playing wireless? - Chicagoland Sportbikes
Chicagoland Sportbikes
 
Playstation 3 Forum For PS3 discussion.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-20-2009, 04:36 PM Thread Starter
Automotive Afficianado
 
Julian@MotoCARR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Vernon Hills
Posts: 1,118
Location: Vernon Hills
Sportbike: Trek
Years Riding: 3285 days and counting
How you found us: CLSB found me...
           
Send a message via AIM to Julian@MotoCARR
Your PS3 lose sync while playing wireless?

Sometimes I can not turn the PS3 on from the controller when I am going to start to play. Lights flash on the controller and eventually go out, PS3 doesn't turn on. Flip the switch on the back of the ps3, reset the controller, presto, it works fine, but often times it will lose sync during game play. It is extremely rare that I play more than 1hr, but in that window, it will usually lose sync once, and when I go to hit the button to sync it again(during game play) sometimes it's quick to pair up, other times it takes 5-10 sec.

What I have been doing recently is hitting the switch off, wait 5 sec and then flip it on, and then hit the button on the controller, and it turns it on everytime.

Any ideas what could be causing this?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-20-2009, 08:25 PM
Registered User
 
chibeemer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 2,047
Location: Chicago
Sportbike: BMW R1100s
Years Riding: 13
How you found us: Rider
           
Mine does that about 5% of the time when I power on the PS3 by pressing the on button on the PS3 proper and not the controller PS button. Seldom but it happens.

I just press and hold the PS3 on button for 10 seconds and it powers down and when I restart everything is OK.

Blah, Blah, Blah

Get your Portable ID!
chibeemer is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-21-2009, 12:53 PM
The Sausage king
 
Abe_Froman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,003
Location: Chicago
Sportbike: Ducati
Years Riding: Since my mid-life crisis
How you found us: Hankered for a hunka cheese
           
I have not had this happen and I turn on the PS3 almost exclusively from the controller or PS3 remote. Actually, I think I used to turn it on from the console, there was a firmware update that enabled it to start via the controller PS button.

Da Bears!
Ducati
Abe_Froman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-21-2009, 01:12 PM
The Sausage king
 
Abe_Froman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,003
Location: Chicago
Sportbike: Ducati
Years Riding: Since my mid-life crisis
How you found us: Hankered for a hunka cheese
           
Reading some posts over at the Playstation forums, people are guessing bad controller to bad bluetooth antennae on the PS3, or even just alot of dust on the antennae. You can also try to reset the controller and re-sync it:
Quote:
"Ok. Turn the PS3 off. Push the pinhole on the controller. Then plug in the controller with the cable, turn the PS3 power on in the back (putting it in standby) and hit the PS button. It should re-pair the controller with the system. Then you should be free to disconnect the cable and use it wirelessly."

Da Bears!
Ducati
Abe_Froman is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-23-2009, 09:38 AM
U-P-G-R-A-Y-E-D-D
 
FiReBReTHa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Aurora, IL
Posts: 11,172
Location: Aurora, IL
Sportbike: 04 GSXR6
Years Riding: 2
How you found us: I thought it was a line for muffins
           
Send a message via AIM to FiReBReTHa
Quote:
Originally Posted by Abe_Froman View Post
Reading some posts over at the Playstation forums, people are guessing bad controller to bad bluetooth antennae on the PS3, or even just alot of dust on the antennae. You can also try to reset the controller and re-sync it:


the first couple are blah.

But yea, I would reset your controller exactly as abe said!

thanks for posting it!

www.firespeedtactical.com
Trial By Fire.
Like our page!
http://www.facebook.com/firespeedtactical

Quote:
"I'm spooning a barrett 50 cal. I could kill a building."
-Archer
FiReBReTHa is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Chicagoland Sportbikes forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome