Chicagoland Sportbike Forums banner

Got pulled over today...

941 views 31 replies 16 participants last post by  kcaarider 
#1 ·
Not all cops are asshats!!!!

I've been riding on the street for 4 years now and have not been pulled over until today.

My bikes is basically track ready. I have no plates on it and no signals. I had my earphones in and was going 100+ down an empty highway and didn't realize there was a cop behind me until I saw his flashing lights reflect off of a passing speed limit sign.

He could have written me a ticket for speeding, failing to stop, not using hand signals when changing lanes, and any other wreckless driving ticket he wanted to give me. Shit, he could have arrested me since I didn't have my registration or insurance on me and am riding a bike without plates.

Instead, he wrote me a warning for failing to signal and a ticket for not having tags. He told me to sit in his car while he checked my vin # and when he got back was laughing at me. "I'm going to just give you a warning and a ticket that's easy to waive because personally I was expecting you to run when you finally noticed you were actually being followed by me."

Apparently, riding with full race gear on a bike without any identification leads officers to believe you're going to take off. :lmao:

I'd never been pulled over before so when he told me what he was writing me up for I asked why he was being so lenient.

"Well, when we are treated with respect we tend to return the favor"
I guess most of the horror stories I've heard about mean officers could mainly be attributed to cocky or arrogant riders????

Anyways, a good story and a good day of riding. :biker2:

See less See more
#11 ·
i had a cop tell me the same thing....

"i'm surprised you didn't try to run"