Xbox 360 issues... seeking help - Chicagoland Sportbikes
Chicagoland Sportbikes
 
Video game forum For discussion about games and strategy's Please keep console specific content in the appropiate subforum.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 02-21-2011, 03:22 PM Thread Starter
batterytenderismyfriend!!
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 614
Location: Chicago, IL
Sportbike: 2009 Yamaha R6s
Years Riding: 2
How you found us: Friend
           
Send a message via AIM to ivopivo
Xbox 360 issues... seeking help

My Xbox 360 started making "scratching" noises over the past couple months and it got progressively worse. When it first started, I would get a disc-read error message every couple weeks, but it worked just fine, with some noise. Presently, I can't play more than 10 minutes without the error popping up and the noise is worse.

I opened up the box and drive and didn't see anything wrong... everything seems to be in the right place. After I took it apart and cleaned it, I tried playing with everything open, and it worked fine for a bit without ANY noise. So I figured I might have cleaned something important off, or done something similar to fix it. Fast forward 5 minutes... everything's put together, working fine with no noise for 5-10 mins, then back to normal and error pops up again.

Any ideas on how to best fix this, or what "this" is actually?

I wanted to see if anyone here had experience with this before shopping around for disc drives and/or parts.

Thanks.

-Ivan
ivopivo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 02-21-2011, 03:24 PM
Viva La Figa!!
 
Downforce137's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: In Diana
Posts: 6,215
Location: In Diana
Sportbike: negative.
Years Riding: long enough to know better.
How you found us: cycleforums.com
           
Send a message via AIM to Downforce137
you need a new drive.
Downforce137 is offline  
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 02-21-2011, 03:33 PM Thread Starter
batterytenderismyfriend!!
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 614
Location: Chicago, IL
Sportbike: 2009 Yamaha R6s
Years Riding: 2
How you found us: Friend
           
Send a message via AIM to ivopivo
Quote:
Originally Posted by Downforce137 View Post
you need a new drive.
From the little research I did, I found if replacing a hard drive you need to re-flash something? What exactly is that whole process and can anyone do it or is it something to leave for an expert? I also heard it might be easier to just replace the part of the drive so you don't have to do the whole re-flashing, but I'm an electronics newb so no clue which direction to take.

-Ivan
ivopivo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old 02-21-2011, 03:35 PM
Viva La Figa!!
 
Downforce137's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: In Diana
Posts: 6,215
Location: In Diana
Sportbike: negative.
Years Riding: long enough to know better.
How you found us: cycleforums.com
           
Send a message via AIM to Downforce137
no, the dvd-drive. search around. there's 3 different types i think, and you can tell by the tray which type you have.

if you are a noob to this stuff, you might consider buying a new one, or sending that one off for repair.
Downforce137 is offline  
post #5 of 17 (permalink) Old 02-21-2011, 03:40 PM Thread Starter
batterytenderismyfriend!!
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 614
Location: Chicago, IL
Sportbike: 2009 Yamaha R6s
Years Riding: 2
How you found us: Friend
           
Send a message via AIM to ivopivo
Quote:
Originally Posted by Downforce137 View Post
no, the dvd-drive. search around. there's 3 different types i think, and you can tell by the tray which type you have.

if you are a noob to this stuff, you might consider buying a new one, or sending that one off for repair.
MY mistake! I meant to say the dvd-drive... I heard it might be easier to replace the part that's defective instead of the whole drive. What exactly is required to replace the whole drive? The re-flashing I read about?

Oh and I have the Benq one.

-Ivan
ivopivo is offline  
post #6 of 17 (permalink) Old 02-21-2011, 03:42 PM
Registered User
 
Pilotx1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Elk Grove IL
Posts: 15,833
Location: Elk Grove IL
Sportbike: '03 Gsxr 1000, '04 Zuma,07 GSXR 600 trackbike
Years Riding: june 2007, since new,july '10
How you found us: friend
           
Send a message via AIM to Pilotx1 Send a message via Yahoo to Pilotx1
once you get the casing open(not so easy) replacing the actual cd drive is easy, you shouldnt need to reflash anything as long as the cd drive is replaced with a like model

-Jason
CCS AM #31
Pilotx1 is offline  
post #7 of 17 (permalink) Old 02-21-2011, 03:48 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: GL, WI
Posts: 5,356
Location: GL, WI
Sportbike: R6, SV1000s, rm250
Years Riding: since 2001 in socal
How you found us: team chicago
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pilotx1 View Post
once you get the casing open(not so easy) replacing the actual cd drive is easy, you shouldnt need to reflash anything as long as the cd drive is replaced with a like model
yeah, the drives themselves are cheap like $35 online, breaking the case open is a pita, but mine's been running great since I swapped the dvd drive out.
Superspud needs his med's is offline  
post #8 of 17 (permalink) Old 02-21-2011, 03:48 PM Thread Starter
batterytenderismyfriend!!
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 614
Location: Chicago, IL
Sportbike: 2009 Yamaha R6s
Years Riding: 2
How you found us: Friend
           
Send a message via AIM to ivopivo
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pilotx1 View Post
once you get the casing open(not so easy) replacing the actual cd drive is easy, you shouldnt need to reflash anything as long as the cd drive is replaced with a like model
See post #6 here... http://forums.xbox-scene.com/index.php?showtopic=565113

This is the type of info I have come across. People saying that if the drive is replaced, something will need to be reflashed. I'm fine with taking apart the hardware, as I have already taken apart everything to clean up the laser and check for the magnets, but the software stuff is all new to me and I have no clue what's necessary to properly replace the drive.

EDIT: A friend of a friend did the whole "flash/hack" so I can play burned games... even though I only play COD and Fifa11 which were both purchased at the store!

-Ivan
ivopivo is offline  
post #9 of 17 (permalink) Old 02-21-2011, 03:52 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: GL, WI
Posts: 5,356
Location: GL, WI
Sportbike: R6, SV1000s, rm250
Years Riding: since 2001 in socal
How you found us: team chicago
           
you don't have to "flash it"

There's a little part that is the drive id and that's attached via a ribbon. There's a youtube vid on how to do this but you take that drive ID out of your old drive and put it in the new drive and the xbox won't know the difference. Least that's what I did for a flashless install.
Superspud needs his med's is offline  
post #10 of 17 (permalink) Old 02-21-2011, 03:53 PM
Viva La Figa!!
 
Downforce137's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: In Diana
Posts: 6,215
Location: In Diana
Sportbike: negative.
Years Riding: long enough to know better.
How you found us: cycleforums.com
           
Send a message via AIM to Downforce137
i think you have to flash if you go to a different brand of drive. if you replace your benq with a benq, shouldnt be a problem.
Downforce137 is offline  
post #11 of 17 (permalink) Old 02-21-2011, 03:55 PM Thread Starter
batterytenderismyfriend!!
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 614
Location: Chicago, IL
Sportbike: 2009 Yamaha R6s
Years Riding: 2
How you found us: Friend
           
Send a message via AIM to ivopivo
Quote:
Originally Posted by Superspud View Post
you don't have to "flash it"

There's a little part that is the drive id and that's attached via a ribbon. There's a youtube vid on how to do this but you take that drive ID out of your old drive and put it in the new drive and the xbox won't know the difference. Least that's what I did for a flashless install.
I see. I'll look around for the vid but if you could link me to the one you're talking about that would be great. I'm just going to order the drive online. Any recommendations where to order from?

-Ivan
ivopivo is offline  
post #12 of 17 (permalink) Old 02-21-2011, 04:00 PM
Registered User
 
Pilotx1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Elk Grove IL
Posts: 15,833
Location: Elk Grove IL
Sportbike: '03 Gsxr 1000, '04 Zuma,07 GSXR 600 trackbike
Years Riding: june 2007, since new,july '10
How you found us: friend
           
Send a message via AIM to Pilotx1 Send a message via Yahoo to Pilotx1
im gonna be resoldering my xbox this week to hopefully fix the rrod i got a few weeks back, if it doesnt work ill just eventually send it in for repairs, its not like im gonna break it, as its already broken hahahah fuckin msoft

-Jason
CCS AM #31
Pilotx1 is offline  
post #13 of 17 (permalink) Old 02-21-2011, 04:04 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: GL, WI
Posts: 5,356
Location: GL, WI
Sportbike: R6, SV1000s, rm250
Years Riding: since 2001 in socal
How you found us: team chicago
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by ivopivo View Post
I see. I'll look around for the vid but if you could link me to the one you're talking about that would be great. I'm just going to order the drive online. Any recommendations where to order from?




quick google product search...



http://www.google.com/#sclient=psy&h...a69e3db245d910
Superspud needs his med's is offline  
post #14 of 17 (permalink) Old 02-21-2011, 04:15 PM Thread Starter
batterytenderismyfriend!!
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 614
Location: Chicago, IL
Sportbike: 2009 Yamaha R6s
Years Riding: 2
How you found us: Friend
           
Send a message via AIM to ivopivo
^^ Thanks. I came across this video which I think is pretty good... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5XiYSV9ztVU

So basically you just swap the circuit boards (or whatever the proper term is for it) and it should be fine...

-Ivan
ivopivo is offline  
post #15 of 17 (permalink) Old 02-21-2011, 04:18 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: GL, WI
Posts: 5,356
Location: GL, WI
Sportbike: R6, SV1000s, rm250
Years Riding: since 2001 in socal
How you found us: team chicago
           
that's all I had to do.
Superspud needs his med's is offline  
post #16 of 17 (permalink) Old 02-21-2011, 04:32 PM Thread Starter
batterytenderismyfriend!!
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 614
Location: Chicago, IL
Sportbike: 2009 Yamaha R6s
Years Riding: 2
How you found us: Friend
           
Send a message via AIM to ivopivo
Quote:
Originally Posted by Superspud View Post
that's all I had to do.
Just ordered with 2 day shipping. Thanks.

-Ivan
ivopivo is offline  
post #17 of 17 (permalink) Old 02-25-2011, 01:14 PM Thread Starter
batterytenderismyfriend!!
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 614
Location: Chicago, IL
Sportbike: 2009 Yamaha R6s
Years Riding: 2
How you found us: Friend
           
Send a message via AIM to ivopivo
Well it's fixed and I'm back to 2hrs of FIFA 11 per night!

Ordered a drive from here... http://www.gaingame.com/dvd-replacem...benq%20vad6038

It says new but the drive seemed like it's been worked on for whatever reason... seals were broken and there was "smudge" on the case.

Either way, a straight swap didn't work so instead of messing with all the soldered connections to swap the circuit boards, I just swapped out the "spinning thing" by cutting the three wires and taping them up to the old unit. Used the new case as well and everything works perfectly.

So in case anyone needs a laser from the benq drive or other parts, let me know as I only took out the one part from the drive I ordered.

-Ivan
ivopivo is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Chicagoland Sportbikes forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome