Profile swapping for 360? - Chicagoland Sportbikes
Chicagoland Sportbikes
 
Video game forum For discussion about games and strategy's Please keep console specific content in the appropiate subforum.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 12-10-2009, 12:37 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Chicago Heights
Posts: 3,382
Location: Chicago Heights
Sportbike: 08 gsx six fiddy F
Years Riding: 1
How you found us: forum link
           
Profile swapping for 360?

I have an offline account on my nephews 360 and today I just got my own. I already have a live account but I was wondering is there anyway to get the saved game info from the offline account and add it to my online account?

2008 Suzuki gsx 650f.

A government big enough to give you everything you want, is big enough to take away everything you have"
Thomas Jefferson
michowski is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 12-10-2009, 06:07 AM
habitual line stepper
 
Jack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 3,235
Location: Wisconsin
Sportbike: F4,Brutale,Warrior,DRZ
Years Riding: X
How you found us: .
           
Send a message via AIM to Jack
I think the only feature they have is to recover a profile. Take a look at that functionality. If your current online account is empty, and you don't mind replacing it with your offline account. The Recover Gamer Tag I think, might allow you to do that.

Otherwise, I don't believe there is a way to take saved game info from one profile and move it to another--that would make cheating way too easy.

FWIW the easiest way to move data from one x-box to the other, including your profile, is to buy a memory unit. It's a small dongle that plugs into the front of the xbox. In order to move your saved game info from your nephew's machine, you would first have to move it from the hard drive on his to the dongle.

I keep my profile information on a memory unit. Then I can log into live on any xbox--I have a couple. When you use a memory unit games will ask you at startup whether you want to store saved game data on the local xbox hard drive or the memory unit. The memory unit is limited in size, so you can't expect to save all game data there. I usually save data on the hard drive, but in the xbox system control panel you can go into storage area and move data explicitly from the hard drive to the memory unit.
Jack is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 12-10-2009, 08:17 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Naperville IL
Posts: 217
Location: Naperville IL
Sportbike: Kawa 650R
Years Riding: Never long enough to learn something new
How you found us: another forum
           
You can not merge two accounts. You can change names of one account, but not to the same account name you currently have. If you play on multiply systems the best option is to get a memery card and keep your profile there to move between system.
Kirby is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 12-10-2009, 11:55 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Chicago Heights
Posts: 3,382
Location: Chicago Heights
Sportbike: 08 gsx six fiddy F
Years Riding: 1
How you found us: forum link
           
Well im getting a 120gb drive tomorrow, if I played on my live account which is currently on my 20gb drive, could I just retrieve the account and say any games I got saved on there from today swap over?

2008 Suzuki gsx 650f.

A government big enough to give you everything you want, is big enough to take away everything you have"
Thomas Jefferson
michowski is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 12-10-2009, 06:07 PM
habitual line stepper
 
Jack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 3,235
Location: Wisconsin
Sportbike: F4,Brutale,Warrior,DRZ
Years Riding: X
How you found us: .
           
Send a message via AIM to Jack
I believe you'll need either a memory unit (card) to transfer or you'll need to ask Microsoft to send you a kit to transfer the data from your 20gb to the new 120gb drive. The kit is free.
Jack is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 12-11-2009, 08:34 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Naperville IL
Posts: 217
Location: Naperville IL
Sportbike: Kawa 650R
Years Riding: Never long enough to learn something new
How you found us: another forum
           
Memory card to transfer will be the quickest. Microsoft has a transfer kit for upgrading to a new drive, use to be free buy is now like 15 bucks, but on back order till ?? If you are buying a 120 gig drive the cable may be included. There are third party cables to do this, but not sure how well they work.
Kirby is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Chicagoland Sportbikes forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome