car stereo guys - need help - Chicagoland Sportbikes
Chicagoland Sportbikes
 
4 wheel forum THe spot for anyting with 4 wheels from yugo's to ferrari's

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 12-04-2011, 12:12 PM Thread Starter
Back on 2 wheels
 
cruzr180's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Buffalo Grove, IL 60089
Posts: 885
Location: Buffalo Grove, IL 60089
Sportbike: Bikes with pedals
Years Riding: Since 2004
How you found us: sportbikes.net
           
Send a message via AIM to cruzr180 Send a message via Yahoo to cruzr180
car stereo guys - need help

I have a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Head unit - Kenwood DNX-6160
stock factory front and rear speakers
4g power and ground running to the amp

JL 12w7 in a sealed box from Ebay that should match JL specs
I have had a JL 500/1 and now a 1000/1 amp hooked up and I just don't feel either are giving me the bass I should have out of that sub. Honestly it isn't much at all.

I had the subwoofer settings on the headunit at 0 and all the way up to 10. I have had both amps set at the standard JL settings.

any recommendations? settings to double check?

Josh
cruzr180 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 12-04-2011, 12:19 PM
Armed law abiding citizen
 
Dave13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Middleburg, Florida
Posts: 19,055
Location: Middleburg, Florida
Sportbike: '74 Yamaha RD350
Years Riding: idk
How you found us: Google
           
Check what the gain is set at on the amp. What kind of voltage is the car putting out at idle? Are you sure the radio isn't on mute? I have seen all these problems on customers cars in the past.
Dave13 is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 12-04-2011, 12:45 PM
Registered User
 
SilentAlero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Alsip
Posts: 8,508
Location: Alsip
Sportbike: 01 Giggy 7fidday
Years Riding: been riding your mom for years
How you found us: The hobo on lower wacker sold me the link.
           
Few tests you can run.

* Do you know how to tune the sub on the amp? (this can make all the difference in the world)

* What ohm load is your sub wired to? 2ohm? and can the amp handle a 2 ohm load? Double check that. (How exactly is it wired? Length of wires going to each side? How they connect ect.) Even the inner length of wire going to the sub can ruin a sub if you are running parallel.

* Without anything on, softly push the cone of the sub in and make sure you dont hear a sort of scraping sound (making sure the sub isnt popped).

Start there, if you arent sure on any of this stuff let me know and maybe we can meetup and i can give you hand.

Side note, if you want a real bass out of a sub, go ported or bandpass box. Sealed is good but its not gonna give you that deep bass. Sealed is more for the solid thump without a heavy basslines.

Dgrsuspension.com

~ High Performance Coilovers

Silentedition.com
Quote:
Watching the Cubs lose is the opposite of appreciating a fine wine ó itís like watching a car accident in progress. Itís horrifying, yet gruesomely riveting, and you canít help but watch and sympathize with the poor souls inside.
Quote:
Originally Posted by burntash View Post
coming to CLSB for relationship advice is like asking fat people in mcdonalds about nutrition.
SilentAlero is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 12-04-2011, 02:27 PM
Administrator
 
HDTony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Plainfield IL
Posts: 45,956
Location: Plainfield IL
Sportbike: A couple of pasta rockets
Years Riding: Since 1989
How you found us: In the beginning there was CLSB and Tony saw that it was good.
           
Send a message via AIM to HDTony
Saled is also better for Rock, vanhalens 5150 is badass on sealed boxes cracked up.

but if your listening to dance or pop etc, you need a ported box tuned for low bass.




HDTony.... Damn glad to meet you!

Government's view of the economy could be summed up in a few short phrases: If it moves, tax it. If it keeps moving, regulate it. And if it stops moving, subsidize it.

- Ronald Reagan

AirTek Heating & Air inc.
HDTony is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 12-04-2011, 02:38 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 32
Location: Chicago, IL
Sportbike: Yamaha FZR 600
Years Riding: 5
How you found us: A friend
 
Another simple one but I've seen it happen, is people reversing the high pass filter and low pass filter switches on the amp.

www.greenmachinecustoms.com

Powder coating - Fabrication - Welding - Aftermarket parts
thatkid is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 12-04-2011, 03:49 PM
Midnight Rider
 
PatFitz9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: North side
Posts: 3,885
Location: North side
Sportbike: R6 and a Z1000
Years Riding: for a bit
How you found us: random PM on sportbikes.net
           
What do you mean when you say you have the amp at "standard JL settings"? There is no such thing as standard amp settings. Take a pic of the amp controls and post it here. You sure it's hooked up correctly as well?

The 1000/1 is a great amp for the 12w7. I'd recommend a ported box too.

Fat Pat #728

If you don't like my fire, then don't come around...
PatFitz9 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Chicagoland Sportbikes forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome