Who does car audio around NW burbs? - Chicagoland Sportbikes
Chicagoland Sportbikes
 
4 wheel forum THe spot for anyting with 4 wheels from yugo's to ferrari's

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 04-10-2013, 10:27 PM Thread Starter
comcast "advocate"
 
BaDCaT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Wheeling
Posts: 181
Location: Wheeling
Sportbike: K5Ninja250/K7GSXR600/K9Raider
Years Riding: 7
How you found us: gsxr.com
  
Who does car audio around NW burbs?

Looking to upgrade sound in wife's 2004 Jeep Liberty. Over the years we had to replace factory radio (cd changer broke) and front speakers (blew out). It has infinity system with an amp attached to each speaker so we lost some output with the cheap non factory speakers that are in there now and it just sounds crappy all around. Would make a nice mothers day gift to get that fixed for her...can anyone help?

"You start with a bag full of luck and an empty bag of experience. The trick is to fill the bag of experience before you empty the bag of luck." -Kent Kunitsugu
BaDCaT is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 04-10-2013, 11:10 PM
Jim
Tgf Og
 
Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: lith
Posts: 9,851
Location: lith
Sportbike: trek
Years Riding: 2
How you found us: the smell
           
absolute sound in mchenry does a good job

Join the NRA, help protect our Second Amendment rights
GO Bears!!!!!!!!
Jim is offline  
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 04-10-2013, 11:38 PM
Cuddlie as a koala
 
YZFRob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Where its free.
Posts: 7,513
Location: Where its free.
Sportbike: Which bike?
Years Riding: Too long.
How you found us: Ken offered me money to join.
           
Why not do it yourself? Its not hard, just take your time. A good quality set of speakers and a decently powered head unit can do the trick unless you want louder sound. Then a separate amp comes in and the more creative wiring comes into play.

Just make sure if you have someone do it for you, that they do it right. Seen a couple people who had a shop do it, pay for the wiring harness adapters only to find out later the shop didnt use the adapter and just cut the wires off the factory plug and spliced the wires. And some other things you wouldnt think a "professional" shop would do. One of the reasons I do my own installs on my vehicles.

I'm not crazy, my mother had me tested.
YZFRob is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 04-11-2013, 09:34 AM
Midnight Rider
 
PatFitz9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: North side
Posts: 3,885
Location: North side
Sportbike: R6 and a Z1000
Years Riding: for a bit
How you found us: random PM on sportbikes.net
           
Abt is down the street from you, and they do great work. Pretty good products as well, but you'll pay for it. They negotiate some, but they carry expensive brands. If you're looking to save money, I'd try DIY. Hardest part is the head unit install, and you can probably have that done at a shop for not much $$

Fat Pat #728

If you don't like my fire, then don't come around...
PatFitz9 is offline  
post #5 of 14 (permalink) Old 04-11-2013, 12:57 PM
stay classy
 
ravenr1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Arlington Heights; River North
Posts: 419
Location: Arlington Heights; River North
Sportbike: None
Years Riding: Bunch
How you found us: Craigslist Personals
           
I ordered a head unit from crutchfield a while back and installed it myself in a trailblazer I used to own. they provided some good instructions and I watched some youtube videos. It wasn't bad, and I know jack shit about electrical wiring. Took all of 2 hours max, most of the time was trying to get the old head unit out.


Due to recent budget cuts and the rising cost of electricity, gas, and oil,

'The Light at the End of the Tunnel' has been turned off.
ravenr1 is offline  
post #6 of 14 (permalink) Old 04-11-2013, 09:57 PM Thread Starter
comcast "advocate"
 
BaDCaT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Wheeling
Posts: 181
Location: Wheeling
Sportbike: K5Ninja250/K7GSXR600/K9Raider
Years Riding: 7
How you found us: gsxr.com
  
I'd do it myself but the stock infinity system came with six speakers. The speakers in the front doors have amps on them that power the front and rear door speakers, along with the dash tweeters. So the wiring in the car looks a little weird. I remember replacing the receiver was easy but the rest of it seems sketchy. From what i understand, if I get any speakers other than stock, I'd have to bypass the Infinity amps by running new wire to all of the speakers.
I'll probably go with what PatFitz is saying and try abt, I doubt they do shady shit like what YZFRob was talking about.

"You start with a bag full of luck and an empty bag of experience. The trick is to fill the bag of experience before you empty the bag of luck." -Kent Kunitsugu
BaDCaT is offline  
post #7 of 14 (permalink) Old 04-11-2013, 10:28 PM
Registered User
 
2weelpilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Spring Grove, IL
Posts: 18,082
Location: Spring Grove, IL
Sportbike: yz250f
Years Riding: 25 years
How you found us: dont recall
           
Not the three idiots in my garage right now. Theyve been out there all night trying to install a sub in a 97 Geo Prism

Mike

When the tailgate drops..the bullshit stops
Hunt ethically - Hunt with a trained Retriever !
2weelpilot is offline  
post #8 of 14 (permalink) Old 04-12-2013, 09:56 AM
A.K.A. Vodka Waters
 
muddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Aurora, IL
Posts: 3,787
Location: Aurora, IL
Sportbike: '06 GSX-R600 Red/Black
Years Riding: a few weeks
How you found us: Fell asleep on the keyboard, woke up here
           
Send a message via AIM to muddy Send a message via MSN to muddy
I have an 06 Grand Cherokee with the Boston system. Very similar system though.

For the speakers, you can upgrade the speakers in the door and run them off the factory amp. IF you go that route, you will need one of the little CAMBUS converters that allows the new deck to talk to the amp. If you’ve had that replaced, then most likely there is already one installed. If you’re going with a new amp for better power, then you can either cut the wires coming out of the amp and use those since they’re already run throughout the car, or you can run new wires. Not difficult by any stretch, just takes a little while to make sure it’s done right.

If you have any other questions, let me know. I’ve been dealing with the factory amp in the past and have since upgraded all 6 speakers, the head unit, added two amps and a sub just by bypass everything that’s in there as I’ve gotten familiar as to what a pain it can be. It all depends on how much you want to dig into it.

Adam
muddy is offline  
post #9 of 14 (permalink) Old 04-12-2013, 09:28 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Weaton
Posts: 180
Location: Weaton
Sportbike: Buell firebolt
Years Riding: 1 year
How you found us: Chicagoriders.us
 
Crutchfield is a little pricy but they give directions and the mounts/adapters too, included.
I'm installing sounds in my car now.

Trevdawg is offline  
post #10 of 14 (permalink) Old 04-12-2013, 09:44 PM
Super Moderator

 
Vcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Winfield
Posts: 43,229
Location: Winfield
Sportbike: bikeless
Years Riding: 10
How you found us: Shit, you know I'm a clsb OG!
           
Send a message via AIM to Vcook
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2weelpilot View Post
Not the three idiots in my garage right now. Theyve been out there all night trying to install a sub in a 97 Geo Prism
Hahahahahjaa!!!

Chris
Vcook is offline  
post #11 of 14 (permalink) Old 04-12-2013, 10:20 PM
Armed law abiding citizen
 
Dave13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Middleburg, Florida
Posts: 19,055
Location: Middleburg, Florida
Sportbike: '74 Yamaha RD350
Years Riding: idk
How you found us: Google
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2weelpilot View Post
Not the three idiots in my garage right now. Theyve been out there all night trying to install a sub in a 97 Geo Prism
That's funny right there! Hopefully they don't run the power cable for the amp through the door jamb.
Dave13 is offline  
post #12 of 14 (permalink) Old 04-13-2013, 01:00 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Weaton
Posts: 180
Location: Weaton
Sportbike: Buell firebolt
Years Riding: 1 year
How you found us: Chicagoriders.us
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave13 View Post
That's funny right there! Hopefully they don't run the power cable for the amp through the door jamb.
That's the only way to do it. Where else can u fit zero gauge ?!?!
Trevdawg is offline  
post #13 of 14 (permalink) Old 04-14-2013, 10:38 PM
Weapons Tech Guru
 
Ofc. Ponch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: MUNSTER, IN.
Posts: 5,153
Location: MUNSTER, IN.
Sportbike: Borrowed Ones
Years Riding: 11
How you found us: through SBN
           
Send a message via Yahoo to Ofc. Ponch
This is how you run 0 gauge


Arrogance has to be earned.
Serve, Protect and Break a ......
Ofc. Ponch is offline  
post #14 of 14 (permalink) Old 04-15-2013, 12:49 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Weaton
Posts: 180
Location: Weaton
Sportbike: Buell firebolt
Years Riding: 1 year
How you found us: Chicagoriders.us
 
I was being sarcastic. I have done a few system installs. I tucked it and made it pinch free.
Trevdawg is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Chicagoland Sportbikes forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome