Chicagoland Sportbike Forums banner

Anyone want to talk me out of a Sony?

5K views 39 replies 11 participants last post by  Wink 
#1 ·
Been debating which camera to buy for a while now, had it narrowed down to the Nikon D5100 and the Canon T3i. Been doing the research online between the two and have handled both at the big box stores. It was tough to get a decent feeling for them being attatched to the counters. Based on others post on here recently, and wanting to deal with someone who could provide support as I am a newb to a dslr, the wife and I went to Wolf (Ritz) camera in Gurnee today. Handled both cameras and the Canon was taking the lead till they showed us the new Sony A57 and A65.

He (store manager) was a fan of the Sony and was pretty convincing about the features. I hadn't even considered the Sony line. Funny thing is about 6 months ago we were at BB looking and the wife stated how nice the Sony was then, I told here to put it down, we were not going to buy a Sony! Well we left Gurnee and I wanted another opinion, off to Wolf in Vernon Hills! Spoke with Bill there and only brought up the Canon and Nikon as options. He once again went through the cameras and had nothing but praise for the Sony in that group. He didn't dog any other brands ( he shoots Nikon) once again I left wanting to buy a Sony.

Thoughts, comments, concerns are welcome.

BTW we are waiting till Friday as Canon is releasing the T4i, looking to see if that will sway my opinion.

They will price match online, so if you know of any places to get a deal let me know. I have been on BH and Adorama.

See less See more
#4 ·
Seriously?

I have two Konica-Minolta Maxxum 7D camera bodies. After Sony bought Konica-Minolta, these cameras were updated just a little bit and became the Sony a900, which was their top of the line DLSR. GREAT camera, GREAT reviews. However, this was before the full frame cameras started becoming readily available.