Chicagoland Sportbike Forums banner

Racing in 2006

1K views 17 replies 9 participants last post by  jimzx9r 
#1 ·
I want to start dragging this year and wanted to know how many people on hear go regularly to the strip.....I need someone to show me the ropes. Also what are the costs and minimum requirements??

#3 ·
Drag strip for now.......being a full time student I can't afford track days with my part time job so the strip will have to satisfy my itch for speed. I do have prior drag racing experience from back home but from what I understand it's a totally different ballgame here in the US.

#5 ·
Unless you're running in the 9's, you don't need full leathers (it goes without saying that 'more is better', but the requirements are pretty easy).

Helmet, jacket, gloves and boots - and a chain guard.

#6 ·
If the bike is stock you don't have to worry about failing tech. Some places will require a tether, but GLD never checked me for that. Cost depends where you go, usually around $20 a night...but it changes depending what day it is and if they have events running.

If you really want to get into it and get the bike to launch hard, get lowering links for the rear, strap the front, and gear the sprockets down.

I don't know if you know how the waterbox and tree work...but when you're rolling up to do your burnout, go around the water. The waterbox is for slick tires only. If you roll your bike through it you'll piss everyone off and they'll have to mop it up. If you want to do a burnout, do it after the waterbox, closer to the starting line. But don't pull a squid move and do a giant rolling burnout on your stock bike. 5 seconds max is all it takes to clean up a street tire and put some heat in it.