Conceal & Carry...curious - Chicagoland Sportbikes
Chicagoland Sportbikes

Weapons & Hunters Corner For all your firearms, safety, weapon choice, hunting topic questions.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 36 (permalink) Old 11-07-2003, 04:58 PM Thread Starter

Sportbike: 08 YZ250F, 03 Tuono
Years Riding: Eh?
How you found us: .

Conceal & Carry...curious

Okay, so nevermind all the legal stuff - I'm sure there's plenty to discuss on that part (but I don't really care and it's my thread so shove it )

I'm curious to know why your average Joe (or Jane) would like to carry a weapon - not work related. What kinds of scenarios etc. would you feel more comfortable with one? I hear stories about people riding with guns, driving etc..

I guess I should have prefaced this by saying that I'm not a gun expert. I've shot a few and really enjoyed it (those Pepsi cans will never try THAT again!). Never got much more involved than that. I've also been in some pretty shady situations/places - but even with proper training, I'm not sure a gun would have helped? In fact, the two times I've been on the wrong side of one...I'm glad I didn't have one. It could have made an ugly situation much much worse for me.

So let's hear some thoughts my heavily armed brothers. Why do you carry? Do you think, if pressed that you would/could use it? Have you been in a situation where you wished you had it (aka would have shot someone?) ...or is it primarily for intimidation and a "sense" of security? Have I asked enough questions yet?? Seriously though, I'm very curious to hear some thoughts - on both sides.

As per usual, the more factual (and less emotional) the better.

<---- Patrick

Property of Evil Monkey Racing

Just because I don't care doesn't mean I don't understand.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 36 (permalink) Old 11-07-2003, 05:54 PM
YO MAMA

Sportbike: 2010 Electra Glide Police Edition 103cu
Years Riding: a long time!