Old Bikes? - Chicagoland Sportbikes
Chicagoland Sportbikes

NESBA.com This forum is for talking about Nesba events and for their members to communicate.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 04-22-2010, 11:14 AM Thread Starter
Gullible Idiot

Sportbike: '75 Honda CB360T, '09 Suzuki Vstrom 650
Years Riding: Since Summer '07
How you found us: Friend

Old Bikes?

Hey all,

I have been going to a few NESBA events as a spectator/pit bitch (mostly at BHF) and I was wondering what the take is on "vintage" bikes. I have a 1975 Honda CB360 that is in pieces in boxes for spare parts in my garage. I have been mulling over the idea of rebuilding it to the bare essentials and making a vintage trackbike out of it as a slow process. However I did not find anything on AHRMA too encouraging. I have ZERO track experience and I read something about needing 2 years of track experience or a road racing license.

Anyway I am kinda deciding between keeping the bike in parts or possibly tracking it. If all goes well, it will get raped in the straights (tops out at 100 mph) and it would have drum brakes in the front and rear. With the lack of power compared to modern bikes and the super crappy drum brakes it almost seems like the bike would be more dangerous (at least SUPER annoying) to other riders since it would have to go slower and brake a lot earlier.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 04-22-2010, 11:39 AM

Sportbike: Triumph Bonneville...the original sportbike!
Years Riding: Since about 11 years after my adult teeth came in
How you found us: I tripped over ya on my way to the can!

Go for it!!!