How often do you change your plug in a 2T? - Chicagoland Sportbikes
Chicagoland Sportbikes

Dirt Bike Alley From 50's on up, this is the place to chat.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-22-2014, 03:03 PM Thread Starter
Dave who?

Sportbike: All Suzuki, All the time. GSXR1000, RM250, JR50
Years Riding: Many
How you found us: Can't remember

How often do you change your plug in a 2T?

I've been changing plugs every 1.5-2 hours. Basically every hare scramble at FVOR I run a new plug. Is this overkill in a 250 2 stroke?

I'm still pretty new to dirtbikes so I don't have much for comparison. I've only fouled 1 plug and it was only a fun day not a race. I pretty much told myself that I'll never let that happen again. At $3-5 per plug (NGK), it's not breaking the bank and I've always convinced myself that it's cheap insurance.

What are your plug change intervals?
Bike type and size?
Riding style?
Anything else that would play a factor?

Make life challenging. Be the underdog!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-22-2014, 03:13 PM

Sportbike: Resurrection Built YZ250F, Various European Junk
Years Riding: Yes
How you found us: SBN

I think I put one in my ktm at the beginning of last season.

That makes once in a hundred hours or so.
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-22-2014, 03:24 PM
lust for bikes!

Sportbike: a prostitute
Years Riding: a prostitute
How you found us: a prostitute

a bike that is running well will not foul plugs. as stated above you can go a hundred hours or more.

i had an electrical issue that was causing my bike to eat plugs like joey chestnut.

solved the issue (weak stator) and never had another fouled plug.

as far as interval i may change them when i do the top end. or not. doesnt matter really. i just keep one with me all the time.

what may cause it:

-rich jetting
-crank seals
-weak spark
-being fat or ugly
-being a fucking lazy slob about cleaning your air filter
-not enough red meat