Anybody do car audio for a living? - Chicagoland Sportbikes
Chicagoland Sportbikes
 
Open Forum This forum is for all off-topic discussion.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 43 (permalink) Old 06-14-2010, 01:37 PM Thread Starter
The first Tico here!
 
javio1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Chicago, Il.
Posts: 2,028
Location: Chicago, Il.
Sportbike: 2000 Suzuki SV650
Years Riding: 5
How you found us: Word of Mouf!
           
Send a message via AIM to javio1
Anybody do car audio for a living?

I need to ask a few questions to somebody who has dealt with this for a living, I have too many different answers on my topic. I want to install an aftermarket head unit in my car and have been getting the run around. Anybody help a brother out?

People take these things too seriously!
javio1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 43 (permalink) Old 06-14-2010, 01:48 PM
Sunny and 70
 
auditech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 2,410
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Sportbike: 2008 Tuono 1000 R
Years Riding: 12 years
How you found us: GSXR.com
           
Is this the A4? What year?
auditech is offline  
post #3 of 43 (permalink) Old 06-14-2010, 01:50 PM Thread Starter
The first Tico here!
 
javio1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Chicago, Il.
Posts: 2,028
Location: Chicago, Il.
Sportbike: 2000 Suzuki SV650
Years Riding: 5
How you found us: Word of Mouf!
           
Send a message via AIM to javio1
1999 Bose System.

People take these things too seriously!
javio1 is offline  
post #4 of 43 (permalink) Old 06-14-2010, 01:51 PM
Sunny and 70
 
auditech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 2,410
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Sportbike: 2008 Tuono 1000 R
Years Riding: 12 years
How you found us: GSXR.com
           
Early 99? Does it have the single DIN head or the 6 disc in dash changer?
auditech is offline  
post #5 of 43 (permalink) Old 06-14-2010, 01:54 PM Thread Starter
The first Tico here!
 
javio1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Chicago, Il.
Posts: 2,028
Location: Chicago, Il.
Sportbike: 2000 Suzuki SV650
Years Riding: 5
How you found us: Word of Mouf!
           
Send a message via AIM to javio1
Single din Concert stereo, six disc changer in the trunk.

People take these things too seriously!
javio1 is offline  
post #6 of 43 (permalink) Old 06-14-2010, 01:55 PM
Sunny and 70
 
auditech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 2,410
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Sportbike: 2008 Tuono 1000 R
Years Riding: 12 years
How you found us: GSXR.com
           
Ok, what are the questions and what have people told you?
auditech is offline  
post #7 of 43 (permalink) Old 06-14-2010, 01:55 PM
YO MAMA
 
Odysseys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: balls deep in someones mom
Posts: 60,261
Location: balls deep in someones mom
Sportbike: 2010 Electra Glide Police Edition 103cu
Years Riding: a long time!
           
talk to Silentalero he does this stuff big time.



Odysseys is offline  
post #8 of 43 (permalink) Old 06-14-2010, 01:56 PM Thread Starter
The first Tico here!
 
javio1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Chicago, Il.
Posts: 2,028
Location: Chicago, Il.
Sportbike: 2000 Suzuki SV650
Years Riding: 5
How you found us: Word of Mouf!
           
Send a message via AIM to javio1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Odysseys View Post
talk to Silentalero he does this stuff big time.
As long as it doesn't involve a bar, right?

People take these things too seriously!
javio1 is offline  
post #9 of 43 (permalink) Old 06-14-2010, 01:58 PM
YO MAMA
 
Odysseys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: balls deep in someones mom
Posts: 60,261
Location: balls deep in someones mom
Sportbike: 2010 Electra Glide Police Edition 103cu
Years Riding: a long time!
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by javio1 View Post
As long as it doesn't involve a bar, right?
correct...all jokes aside he has a shop for car audio and mark does do a pimpen job.



Odysseys is offline  
post #10 of 43 (permalink) Old 06-14-2010, 01:59 PM Thread Starter
The first Tico here!
 
javio1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Chicago, Il.
Posts: 2,028
Location: Chicago, Il.
Sportbike: 2000 Suzuki SV650
Years Riding: 5
How you found us: Word of Mouf!
           
Send a message via AIM to javio1
Quote:
Originally Posted by auditech View Post
Ok, what are the questions and what have people told you?
OK, one person told me that I have to rewire the entire system, another told me that they don't make harnesses for that car the third person told me that they do make the harness, but when I went to look for it they had 2 different harnesses for my car. All I want is to have an input for my Ipod without spending an arm and a leg. That is why I am trying to install the h/u that I already have.

People take these things too seriously!
javio1 is offline  
post #11 of 43 (permalink) Old 06-14-2010, 02:00 PM Thread Starter
The first Tico here!
 
javio1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Chicago, Il.
Posts: 2,028
Location: Chicago, Il.
Sportbike: 2000 Suzuki SV650
Years Riding: 5
How you found us: Word of Mouf!
           
Send a message via AIM to javio1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Odysseys View Post
correct...all jokes aside he has a shop for car audio and mark does do a pimpen job.
Cool, I'll try to get his input.

People take these things too seriously!
javio1 is offline  
post #12 of 43 (permalink) Old 06-14-2010, 02:07 PM
You got the talkin' done
 
jrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Alaska, WI
Posts: 15,711
Location: Alaska, WI
Sportbike: 2016 Honda Africa Twin & 1979 Honda CB750F
Years Riding: long enough to have fallen off a few times - glad I wear a helmet!
How you found us: Loose Lips Sink Ships, Loose Wires Cause Fires
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by javio1 View Post
All I want is to have an input for my Ipod without spending an arm and a leg.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Odysseys View Post
correct...all jokes aside he has a shop for car audio and mark does do a pimpen job.
Quote:
Originally Posted by javio1 View Post
Cool, I'll try to get his input.
pun intended?

If you ain't with us, then it's just bad news.
jrock is offline  
post #13 of 43 (permalink) Old 06-14-2010, 02:10 PM
Sunny and 70
 
auditech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 2,410
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Sportbike: 2008 Tuono 1000 R
Years Riding: 12 years
How you found us: GSXR.com
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by javio1 View Post
OK, one person told me that I have to rewire the entire system, another told me that they don't make harnesses for that car the third person told me that they do make the harness, but when I went to look for it they had 2 different harnesses for my car. All I want is to have an input for my Ipod without spending an arm and a leg. That is why I am trying to install the h/u that I already have.
There should be an aftermarket harness for your car. The later 99's and defenitely 2000 and later they started using CAN systems and it made swapping the radios a total PITA.
auditech is offline  
post #14 of 43 (permalink) Old 06-14-2010, 02:11 PM
YO MAMA
 
Odysseys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: balls deep in someones mom
Posts: 60,261
Location: balls deep in someones mom
Sportbike: 2010 Electra Glide Police Edition 103cu
Years Riding: a long time!
           
if you want a simple solution to listen to your ipod

http://www.google.com/products/catal...CAcQ8wIwADgA#p



Odysseys is offline  
post #15 of 43 (permalink) Old 06-14-2010, 02:18 PM Thread Starter
The first Tico here!
 
javio1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Chicago, Il.
Posts: 2,028
Location: Chicago, Il.
Sportbike: 2000 Suzuki SV650
Years Riding: 5
How you found us: Word of Mouf!
           
Send a message via AIM to javio1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Odysseys View Post
if you want a simple solution to listen to your ipod

http://www.google.com/products/catal...CAcQ8wIwADgA#p
I tried one of those Ken. There isn't enough dead airspace between radio stations to get a clear signal. I returned the damn thing, I was really hoping it would work too.

People take these things too seriously!
javio1 is offline  
post #16 of 43 (permalink) Old 06-14-2010, 02:19 PM Thread Starter
The first Tico here!
 
javio1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Chicago, Il.
Posts: 2,028
Location: Chicago, Il.
Sportbike: 2000 Suzuki SV650
Years Riding: 5
How you found us: Word of Mouf!
           
Send a message via AIM to javio1
Quote:
Originally Posted by auditech View Post
There should be an aftermarket harness for your car. The later 99's and defenitely 2000 and later they started using CAN systems and it made swapping the radios a total PITA.
What is the CAN system? I found this harness and was leaning towards it...
Metra 70-1787. Now I need to find it locally.

People take these things too seriously!
javio1 is offline  
post #17 of 43 (permalink) Old 06-14-2010, 02:22 PM
Sunny and 70
 
auditech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 2,410
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Sportbike: 2008 Tuono 1000 R
Years Riding: 12 years
How you found us: GSXR.com
           
Control Area Network. Simple version is your ECM, TCM, ABS, Radio, Central Locking modules are all connected, so removing the radio fucks shit up.

Yes that it what you need.
http://www.installer.com/item/displa...php?it=70-1787
auditech is offline  
post #18 of 43 (permalink) Old 06-14-2010, 02:33 PM
B.O.B
 
EndlessRR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Ill.
Posts: 17,550
Location: Ill.
Sportbike: 'nana.
Years Riding: Look at my join date, ruh-tard.
How you found us: SBN?
           
Send a message via AIM to EndlessRR
Quote:
Originally Posted by javio1 View Post
OK, one person told me that I have to rewire the entire system, another told me that they don't make harnesses for that car the third person told me that they do make the harness, but when I went to look for it they had 2 different harnesses for my car. All I want is to have an input for my Ipod without spending an arm and a leg. That is why I am trying to install the h/u that I already have.
http://www.amazon.com/Dice-i-VW-R-IP.../ref=pd_cp_e_1

Pricey but works well (I have one in the car).

Easy install, took about 5 minutes altogether.

I have removal keys if you need them. I can also lend a hand as i am an expert on blowing shit up.

Quote:
Originally Posted by G2G
No one says you have to get drunk everytime you drink.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snoodles
Isn't that like having sex and not finishing though?
EndlessRR is offline  
post #19 of 43 (permalink) Old 06-14-2010, 02:39 PM
Don't argue, you'll lose
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: City
Posts: 1,100
Location: City
Sportbike: NA
Years Riding: NA
How you found us: Na
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by auditech View Post
Control Area Network. Simple version is your ECM, TCM, ABS, Radio, Central Locking modules are all connected, so removing the radio fucks shit up.

Yes that it what you need.
http://www.installer.com/item/displa...php?it=70-1787
theres a unit that fixes the items it screws shit up, called Peca or something
Kerosene is offline  
post #20 of 43 (permalink) Old 06-14-2010, 02:40 PM
Sunny and 70
 
auditech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 2,410
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Sportbike: 2008 Tuono 1000 R
Years Riding: 12 years
How you found us: GSXR.com
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by EndlessRR View Post
http://www.amazon.com/Dice-i-VW-R-IP.../ref=pd_cp_e_1

Pricey but works well (I have one in the car).

Easy install, took about 5 minutes altogether.

I have removal keys if you need them. I can also lend a hand as i am an expert on blowing shit up.
What year is your car? This has nothing to do with this thread.
auditech is offline  
post #21 of 43 (permalink) Old 06-14-2010, 02:42 PM
Sunny and 70
 
auditech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 2,410
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Sportbike: 2008 Tuono 1000 R
Years Riding: 12 years
How you found us: GSXR.com
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kerosene View Post
theres a unit that fixes the items it screws shit up, called Peca or something
I know, I was just answering his question.
auditech is offline  
post #22 of 43 (permalink) Old 06-14-2010, 02:48 PM
Registered User
 
Audiofyl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Joliet
Posts: 3,280
Location: Joliet
Sportbike: 600rr & Zuma125
Years Riding: since 2002
How you found us: linked on the interwebs
           
Send a message via AIM to Audiofyl Send a message via MSN to Audiofyl
Quote:
Originally Posted by auditech View Post
There should be an aftermarket harness for your car. The later 99's and defenitely 2000 and later they started using CAN systems and it made swapping the radios a total PITA.
Quote:
Originally Posted by auditech View Post
Control Area Network. Simple version is your ECM, TCM, ABS, Radio, Central Locking modules are all connected, so removing the radio fucks shit up.
totally not true. Yes, they started using CAN in the vehicle back then, but in a 99, it's not connected to the radio. I don't believe the radio was on CAN in a VAG vehicle until 2002ish.

Also, most vehicles with CAN don't cry about removing the radio as it's not integral to the operation of the vehicle. Only if the radio is connected to the HVAC or some other vital systems in the vehicle does removing it cause any issues.


Regarding the OP's question, swapping it isn't a problem. If there's bose, you may need a special adapter to modify the aftermarket radio's signal to something the bose amp can accept and use without distortion or noise. It sounds like everyone has given you the run around that you've talked to.

Eric

2003 CBR600RR
2009 Zuma 125
2005 VW Golf TDI
1994 Honda Civic Turbo

My Fuelly

Flickr

posterous

Quote:
Originally Posted by shadrach
The art of reading is lost on all....
Audiofyl is offline  
post #23 of 43 (permalink) Old 06-14-2010, 02:52 PM
d0 work s0n!
 
paintedblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: West Chicago
Posts: 2,218
Location: West Chicago
Sportbike: '06 GSX-R
Years Riding: Moment I got off the street
How you found us: twinky in the donut?
           
get this. i just installed on in my mazda this afternoon. took me 20 mins. says it will fit any audio 98-2005. it also has an input for a headphone to headphone jack if you want to hook up another mp3 player. though you have to purchase it separate. like $5-10 at any radio shack.

http://www.gromaudio.com/store/ipod_...interface.html

I did notice you are using a remote CD changer in the trunk. I have the in dash 6-disc. I believe you have to disconnect the remote changer in order to use this. But honestly if you are hooking up your ipod there is no need for the changer.

#910

"if i close my mind in fear, please pry it open. if my face becomes sincere beware.
when i start to come undone, stitch me together.
when you see me stretched remind me of what left this outlaw torn."

Last edited by paintedblue; 06-14-2010 at 02:56 PM.
paintedblue is offline  
post #24 of 43 (permalink) Old 06-14-2010, 03:11 PM
C2M
ǝɹoɯʎuɐ ʞɔnɟ ɐ sǝʌıƃ oɥʍ
 
C2M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Crook county
Posts: 11,372
Location: Crook county
Sportbike: 636/ zzr600/ r6
Years Riding: Since 07
How you found us: bathroom stall
           
Call crutchfield nuff said they will tell you everything needed hell order the stereo from them and the everything need to install it is free

go time traveler style and go back in time, fuck his grandma, then shoot forward in time and then fuck his mom. Then return back to present state and call him a the product of two incest whores and hes your son and show video of you plowing the both members of his family. .
C2M is offline  
post #25 of 43 (permalink) Old 06-14-2010, 03:25 PM
YO MAMA
 
Odysseys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: balls deep in someones mom
Posts: 60,261
Location: balls deep in someones mom
Sportbike: 2010 Electra Glide Police Edition 103cu
Years Riding: a long time!
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by javio1 View Post
I tried one of those Ken. There isn't enough dead airspace between radio stations to get a clear signal. I returned the damn thing, I was really hoping it would work too.
here is a tip thats worth hundreds of dollars and it will sound almost CD quality. unplug or remove your antenna



Odysseys is offline  
post #26 of 43 (permalink) Old 06-14-2010, 03:35 PM
d0 work s0n!
 
paintedblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: West Chicago
Posts: 2,218
Location: West Chicago
Sportbike: '06 GSX-R
Years Riding: Moment I got off the street
How you found us: twinky in the donut?
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by Odysseys View Post
here is a tip thats worth hundreds of dollars and it will sound almost CD quality. unplug or remove your antenna
I've always had static issues with the radio tuners, even the expensive ones. for the same price i found the grom audio adapter and it works seamlessly with the stock radio, not to mention the steering wheel controls. it also chargers the ipod for. so for $90 i think it's well worth it instead of losing the radio completely or constantly having to find a station so the damn tuner will give you less static. just my 2 pennies.

#910

"if i close my mind in fear, please pry it open. if my face becomes sincere beware.
when i start to come undone, stitch me together.
when you see me stretched remind me of what left this outlaw torn."
paintedblue is offline  
post #27 of 43 (permalink) Old 06-14-2010, 04:05 PM Thread Starter
The first Tico here!
 
javio1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Chicago, Il.
Posts: 2,028
Location: Chicago, Il.
Sportbike: 2000 Suzuki SV650
Years Riding: 5
How you found us: Word of Mouf!
           
Send a message via AIM to javio1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Odysseys View Post
here is a tip thats worth hundreds of dollars and it will sound almost CD quality. unplug or remove your antenna
Thanks dick!

People take these things too seriously!
javio1 is offline  
post #28 of 43 (permalink) Old 06-14-2010, 04:11 PM
YO MAMA
 
Odysseys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: balls deep in someones mom
Posts: 60,261
Location: balls deep in someones mom
Sportbike: 2010 Electra Glide Police Edition 103cu
Years Riding: a long time!
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by javio1 View Post
Thanks dick!
dude i am for real "i got a screw on type antenna on my van" i just take it off and i have drove all the way to Florida with no interference issues



Odysseys is offline  
post #29 of 43 (permalink) Old 06-14-2010, 04:12 PM Thread Starter
The first Tico here!
 
javio1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Chicago, Il.
Posts: 2,028
Location: Chicago, Il.
Sportbike: 2000 Suzuki SV650
Years Riding: 5
How you found us: Word of Mouf!
           
Send a message via AIM to javio1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Odysseys View Post
dude i am for real "i got a screw on type antenna on my van" i just take it off and i have drove all the way to Florida with no interference issues
Dude, that is ghetto fabulous!

People take these things too seriously!
javio1 is offline  
post #30 of 43 (permalink) Old 06-14-2010, 04:13 PM
I am the Stig.
 
JRobbins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,763
Location: Chicago
Sportbike: 09' Triumph Daytona 675, 06' Triumph Thruxton, 74' CB360
Years Riding: Some say he's been ridin motorcycles since before they were invented... all we know is he's the Stig
How you found us: Met Chills while rockclimbing.
         
I have an idea that may not have been mentioned:
I've installed them in two of my Toyotas ... seems like an easy fix if you have the appropriate antenna in/out

FM Modulator



http://www.amazon.com/Audiovox-FM100...6549979&sr=1-6
JRobbins is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Chicagoland Sportbikes forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome