Direct TV vs. Comcast - Chicagoland Sportbikes
Chicagoland Sportbikes
 
Open Forum This forum is for all off-topic discussion.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 29 (permalink) Old 09-20-2010, 10:07 AM Thread Starter
The Victim Newbie
 
clearwaterms's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Westchester, IL
Posts: 7,384
Location: Westchester, IL
Sportbike: 2007 mountain bike
Years Riding: just started
How you found us: svrider.com
           
Send a message via AIM to clearwaterms Send a message via MSN to clearwaterms Send a message via Yahoo to clearwaterms
Direct TV vs. Comcast

I currently have comcast and am considering switching to Direct TV. I would be doing this for two reasons. #1 - the whole house DVR service and #2 (the more important reason) to save money.

I currently have Comcast cable with two HD-DVR boxes and one premium channel (HBO) I would be probably switching to the Direct TV service that has all four premium channels. I would get the whole home DVR and probably pay the $99 for the extra $99 for an additional HD-DVR. my question is can I record shows from any TV? Can I have dual whole home DVR's?

For those that have had both, what is the cost comparison (hidden costs?)


Before everybody says AT&T uverse, it isn't an option for me.

<-- Chris

turn the bars left and go right; that just isn't right
clearwaterms is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 29 (permalink) Old 09-20-2010, 10:16 AM
Grid Marshall.
 
Cerk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Naperville
Posts: 29,343
Location: Naperville
Sportbike: Tweener
Years Riding: Do I have to start over now?
How you found us: Followed the Bread Crumbs...
           
Send a message via AIM to Cerk
I've had both, flip flopped a few times from one to the other. Before you switch, call to cancel with Comcast and see what they offer you. Comcast KILLED DirecTV's offer to me last year so I stuck with them. If you haven't already, look in to Comcast's contract deals. If you sign for a year, they'll give you really good rates.

The usual issues with DirecTV, dish placement, home rewiring, stormy/snowy weather issues.

Tom

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tacitus
In a state where corruption abounds, laws must be very numerous.
Cerk is offline  
post #3 of 29 (permalink) Old 09-20-2010, 10:25 AM
Feed Me a Stray Cat
 
Myles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: SLC, Utah
Posts: 2,093
Location: SLC, Utah
Sportbike: 2014 Honda Grom
Years Riding: Not long enough.
How you found us: Co-Worker
          
Send a message via AIM to Myles
I've had them both but years ago. The only thing I can say about Direct TV is you need to have the dish somewhere accessible. I remember constantly having to beat snow and ice off of it because the picture quality would be crap.

-Myles-
2014 Honda Grom
2000 Suzuki SV650 *SOLD*
1991 Mitsubishi Galant VR4 1929/2000 *SOLD*
Myles is offline  
post #4 of 29 (permalink) Old 09-20-2010, 10:33 AM Thread Starter
The Victim Newbie
 
clearwaterms's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Westchester, IL
Posts: 7,384
Location: Westchester, IL
Sportbike: 2007 mountain bike
Years Riding: just started
How you found us: svrider.com
           
Send a message via AIM to clearwaterms Send a message via MSN to clearwaterms Send a message via Yahoo to clearwaterms
one of the driving features is the whole home DVR and it appears that this will be available in Chicago in the very near future in Chicago (possibly before the end of this month)

<-- Chris

turn the bars left and go right; that just isn't right
clearwaterms is offline  
post #5 of 29 (permalink) Old 09-20-2010, 10:45 AM
Super Moderator

 
Vcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Winfield
Posts: 43,229
Location: Winfield
Sportbike: bikeless
Years Riding: 10
How you found us: Shit, you know I'm a clsb OG!
           
Send a message via AIM to Vcook
Quote:
Originally Posted by clearwaterms View Post
one of the driving features is the whole home DVR and it appears that this will be available in Chicago in the very near future in Chicago (possibly before the end of this month)
Kruz has it now, it's available and has been for a while. Hopefully he will chime in.

Chris
Vcook is offline  
post #6 of 29 (permalink) Old 09-20-2010, 10:48 AM
Rex Banner
 
Flying_Hellfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Aurora
Posts: 2,561
Location: Aurora
Sportbike: 99 SV650, z50r
Years Riding: A few years
How you found us: A tranny told me
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by clearwaterms View Post
one of the driving features is the whole home DVR and it appears that this will be available in Chicago in the very near future in Chicago (possibly before the end of this month)
As far as the whole home DVR service goes it is already available nation wide. They launched it a few months ago and it was in beta for about 4-6 months before that.

I'm currently running whole home DVR over ethernet (unsupported) but my house was already wired with CAT6 and it works fine. There is a huge debate as to if people should even be allowed to run it over their own home network but if you want to read about that just take a look around the intertubes.

I dig it personally. The early beta software versions were a little more annoying over ethernet but the latest version is fine. I have 2 HD DVRs recording shows right now.

Lord, beer me strength

Gamertag: FlyingHellf1sh

Last edited by Flying_Hellfish; 09-20-2010 at 10:50 AM.
Flying_Hellfish is offline  
post #7 of 29 (permalink) Old 09-20-2010, 10:50 AM
Super Moderator

 
Vcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Winfield
Posts: 43,229
Location: Winfield
Sportbike: bikeless
Years Riding: 10
How you found us: Shit, you know I'm a clsb OG!
           
Send a message via AIM to Vcook
I didn't know you could do it over ethernet, that's interesting. I thought you HAD to use the deca stuff.

That being the case do you still need the SWM capable dish to do this?

Chris
Vcook is offline  
post #8 of 29 (permalink) Old 09-20-2010, 10:54 AM
Rex Banner
 
Flying_Hellfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Aurora
Posts: 2,561
Location: Aurora
Sportbike: 99 SV650, z50r
Years Riding: A few years
How you found us: A tranny told me
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vcook View Post
I didn't know you could do it over ethernet, that's interesting. I thought you HAD to use the deca stuff.

That being the case do you still need the SWM capable dish to do this?
The best way to get that done when it launched was via Twitter. Just had to DM them and ask for it to be put on your account "Unsupported" and they hooked it up. You get no tech support obviously but when would I need that?

There are some varying reports on that but I haven't seen a logical reason why you would need a SWM dish to be able to run it over ethernet. FWIW I do have one since my install was only a year ago.

Lord, beer me strength

Gamertag: FlyingHellf1sh
Flying_Hellfish is offline  
post #9 of 29 (permalink) Old 09-20-2010, 11:02 AM
Super Moderator

 
Vcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Winfield
Posts: 43,229
Location: Winfield
Sportbike: bikeless
Years Riding: 10
How you found us: Shit, you know I'm a clsb OG!
           
Send a message via AIM to Vcook
I just did some quick research and it seems I can do it over ethernet on a non-SWM dish. And you can still get unsupported MRV if you request it correctly. This might be of interest to me! I have to see how feasible getting some cat5 runs to my second floor is but I'd love to be able to swap out my 2 old SD DirecTivo units up there with simple(cheap) HD receivers that could talk to my 2 HD-DVR units.

Chris
Vcook is offline  
post #10 of 29 (permalink) Old 09-20-2010, 11:05 AM
Grid Marshall.
 
Cerk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Naperville
Posts: 29,343
Location: Naperville
Sportbike: Tweener
Years Riding: Do I have to start over now?
How you found us: Followed the Bread Crumbs...
           
Send a message via AIM to Cerk
Chris I have little to no idea what you're talking about

Tom

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tacitus
In a state where corruption abounds, laws must be very numerous.

Last edited by 2weelpilot; 09-20-2010 at 11:08 AM.
Cerk is offline  
post #11 of 29 (permalink) Old 09-20-2010, 11:08 AM
Registered User
 
2weelpilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Spring Grove, IL
Posts: 18,082
Location: Spring Grove, IL
Sportbike: yz250f
Years Riding: 25 years
How you found us: dont recall
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by CerkMX View Post
Chris I have little to no idea what you're talking about

Get in line Buddy !
Im interested but thats where it ends..

Mike

When the tailgate drops..the bullshit stops
Hunt ethically - Hunt with a trained Retriever !
2weelpilot is offline  
post #12 of 29 (permalink) Old 09-20-2010, 11:13 AM
Registered User
 
Kruz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: West of 59, North of 88
Posts: 18,885
Location: West of 59, North of 88
Sportbike: 05 CRF50
Years Riding: "Since 1992"
How you found us: You found me
           
Comcast PQ sucks compared to DTV.

DTV WHDVR is a little buggy but still 10x better than Comcrap's. For example there is known issue on the remote tuners that for some reason, some non-hd channel recordings are unplayable at times.
Kruz is offline  
post #13 of 29 (permalink) Old 09-20-2010, 11:25 AM
Rex Banner
 
Flying_Hellfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Aurora
Posts: 2,561
Location: Aurora
Sportbike: 99 SV650, z50r
Years Riding: A few years
How you found us: A tranny told me
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vcook View Post
I just did some quick research and it seems I can do it over ethernet on a non-SWM dish. And you can still get unsupported MRV if you request it correctly. This might be of interest to me! I have to see how feasible getting some cat5 runs to my second floor is but I'd love to be able to swap out my 2 old SD DirecTivo units up there with simple(cheap) HD receivers that could talk to my 2 HD-DVR units.
That's been the problem since day 1. Depending on the CS rep you get they aren't sure how to add unsupported. I would hope that has improved over the last 2 months but I couldn't say.

Shouldn't be too hard to pull a few runs and snatch up a couple HD boxes. I've seen some people talking about selling older boxes as they are upgrading to the HR24s

Lord, beer me strength

Gamertag: FlyingHellf1sh
Flying_Hellfish is offline  
post #14 of 29 (permalink) Old 09-20-2010, 11:28 AM Thread Starter
The Victim Newbie
 
clearwaterms's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Westchester, IL
Posts: 7,384
Location: Westchester, IL
Sportbike: 2007 mountain bike
Years Riding: just started
How you found us: svrider.com
           
Send a message via AIM to clearwaterms Send a message via MSN to clearwaterms Send a message via Yahoo to clearwaterms
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flying_Hellfish View Post
As far as the whole home DVR service goes it is already available nation wide. They launched it a few months ago and it was in beta for about 4-6 months before that.

I'm currently running whole home DVR over ethernet (unsupported) but my house was already wired with CAT6 and it works fine. There is a huge debate as to if people should even be allowed to run it over their own home network but if you want to read about that just take a look around the intertubes.

I dig it personally. The early beta software versions were a little more annoying over ethernet but the latest version is fine. I have 2 HD DVRs recording shows right now.
is it a different box than the current silver Motorola boxes that I have right now? Can you run it over the existing coax that I already have in my house? how do I upgrade? Can I replace both of my current DVR's with the whole home DVR's

<-- Chris

turn the bars left and go right; that just isn't right
clearwaterms is offline  
post #15 of 29 (permalink) Old 09-20-2010, 11:46 AM
Rex Banner
 
Flying_Hellfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Aurora
Posts: 2,561
Location: Aurora
Sportbike: 99 SV650, z50r
Years Riding: A few years
How you found us: A tranny told me
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by clearwaterms View Post
is it a different box than the current silver Motorola boxes that I have right now? Can you run it over the existing coax that I already have in my house? how do I upgrade? Can I replace both of my current DVR's with the whole home DVR's
I'm guessing yes. I'm pretty sure you have to have the 22 series boxes or above. Do you know if you have a SWM dish? Do you have a power adapter that plugs into your coax and goes to the splitter? Quick edit: The full reciever list that is supported is on DBStalk HERE

You might have to upgrade your DVRs and possibly also your dish/splitter.

Lord, beer me strength

Gamertag: FlyingHellf1sh

Last edited by Flying_Hellfish; 09-20-2010 at 11:49 AM.
Flying_Hellfish is offline  
post #16 of 29 (permalink) Old 09-20-2010, 02:07 PM Thread Starter
The Victim Newbie
 
clearwaterms's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Westchester, IL
Posts: 7,384
Location: Westchester, IL
Sportbike: 2007 mountain bike
Years Riding: just started
How you found us: svrider.com
           
Send a message via AIM to clearwaterms Send a message via MSN to clearwaterms Send a message via Yahoo to clearwaterms
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flying_Hellfish View Post
I'm guessing yes. I'm pretty sure you have to have the 22 series boxes or above. Do you know if you have a SWM dish? Do you have a power adapter that plugs into your coax and goes to the splitter? Quick edit: The full reciever list that is supported is on DBStalk HERE

You might have to upgrade your DVRs and possibly also your dish/splitter.
i am sorry for the confusion, but, I currently have comcast and was considering switching to Direct TV but found out that Comcast has what is called AnyRoom DVR, it is supposed to be out towards the end of this month. Direct TV's whole house DVR is already out and while I am interested in that, I am also interested in staying with Comcast and upgrading to the Comcast version of the whole house DVR.

<-- Chris

turn the bars left and go right; that just isn't right
clearwaterms is offline  
post #17 of 29 (permalink) Old 09-20-2010, 03:17 PM
Rex Banner
 
Flying_Hellfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Aurora
Posts: 2,561
Location: Aurora
Sportbike: 99 SV650, z50r
Years Riding: A few years
How you found us: A tranny told me
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by clearwaterms View Post
i am sorry for the confusion, but, I currently have comcast and was considering switching to Direct TV but found out that Comcast has what is called AnyRoom DVR, it is supposed to be out towards the end of this month. Direct TV's whole house DVR is already out and while I am interested in that, I am also interested in staying with Comcast and upgrading to the Comcast version of the whole house DVR.
Oh right, I need to learn how to remember what I'm responding to sometimes. lol

I've been talking DTV all the way. I gave up on comcast when I moved about a year ago. I don't know what comcast will require or the level of boxes you will need to have to be able to use their service.

Lord, beer me strength

Gamertag: FlyingHellf1sh
Flying_Hellfish is offline  
post #18 of 29 (permalink) Old 01-13-2011, 12:21 AM
Slava
 
spetsnaz56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: The Hills
Posts: 1,409
Location: The Hills
Sportbike: 2006 Triumph Daytona 675
Years Riding: Since '98
How you found us: chicago russian riders
           
So which one is better? Comcast just cut all of my channels. I don't understand how they are charging $40 for basic cable and basic cable doesn't even include dicovery channel or on demand. I'm tired of talking to their customer service who don't know what they are talking about. I can't get U-Verse either. Direct TV is the only other option.
spetsnaz56 is offline  
post #19 of 29 (permalink) Old 01-13-2011, 12:25 AM
Irony helps us play!
 
Arch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: N'ville
Posts: 29,508
Location: N'ville
Sportbike: 2000 F4
Years Riding: Long enough to know better
How you found us: some hot MILF whispered it in my ear
           
Price wins. Don't know your area's specific lineup... but go get what you want for the cheapest price.

Everyone Exaggerates

We're being taken for a ride... agaaaaaaain.....


Best Auto/Moto Insurance | Motorcycle Protection Today | FREE Trade-In Quote
Arch is offline  
post #20 of 29 (permalink) Old 01-13-2011, 12:34 AM
Slava
 
spetsnaz56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: The Hills
Posts: 1,409
Location: The Hills
Sportbike: 2006 Triumph Daytona 675
Years Riding: Since '98
How you found us: chicago russian riders
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arch View Post
Price wins. Don't know your area's specific lineup... but go get what you want for the cheapest price.
The problem is trying to figure out all of the promotions and what it'll actually cost after the promotional period. LIke Direct TV has an offer for $34.99, once you go to checkout the price goes up to $49.99 and after once year the price goes up to $127.99.
spetsnaz56 is offline  
post #21 of 29 (permalink) Old 01-13-2011, 12:37 AM
Irony helps us play!
 
Arch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: N'ville
Posts: 29,508
Location: N'ville
Sportbike: 2000 F4
Years Riding: Long enough to know better
How you found us: some hot MILF whispered it in my ear
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by spetsnaz56 View Post
The problem is trying to figure out all of the promotions and what it'll actually cost after the promotional period. LIke Direct TV has an offer for $34.99, once you go to checkout the price goes up to $49.99 and after once year the price goes up to $127.99.
What is the minimum you are locked in for? Work out the 'required total price' based on that. Do the same for everyone else.

Go with cheapest that gives you what you want.


At the end of the 'required' (not the promo) period... you can jump ship... just work out the math.

Everyone Exaggerates

We're being taken for a ride... agaaaaaaain.....


Best Auto/Moto Insurance | Motorcycle Protection Today | FREE Trade-In Quote
Arch is offline  
post #22 of 29 (permalink) Old 01-13-2011, 01:16 AM
Armed law abiding citizen
 
Dave13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Middleburg, Florida
Posts: 19,055
Location: Middleburg, Florida
Sportbike: '74 Yamaha RD350
Years Riding: idk
How you found us: Google
           
DirecTV charges $20 a month for each receiver you have for the remainder of your contract. Mandy and I wanted HD, so we told DirecTV we were considering going to dish network and paying the cancellation fee. They gave us a free HD DVR just for staying a customer. Then they fucked up our order, so they gave us a second HD DVR for free. When the installer arrived, I had some cold soda for him. He gave us the upgraded dish at no charge so we can do whole home DVR. Then he hooked up some additional leads at no charge. I tipped him and he gave me a great deal on a HD dish at Mandys moms house. It was a good install by the contractor.

Customer service for DirecTV absolutely sucks. But luckily we rarely deal with them. I have had direcTV for 12 years now.
Dave13 is offline  
post #23 of 29 (permalink) Old 01-13-2011, 02:49 AM
C2M
ǝɹoɯʎuɐ ʞɔnɟ ɐ sǝʌıƃ oɥʍ
 
C2M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Crook county
Posts: 11,372
Location: Crook county
Sportbike: 636/ zzr600/ r6
Years Riding: Since 07
How you found us: bathroom stall
           
I have Dishnet and two boxes which connect 4 tv's in different rooms. all four can record anything you want

5 bucks a month rental on boxes and i think 10 for HD

go time traveler style and go back in time, fuck his grandma, then shoot forward in time and then fuck his mom. Then return back to present state and call him a the product of two incest whores and hes your son and show video of you plowing the both members of his family. .
C2M is offline  
post #24 of 29 (permalink) Old 01-13-2011, 09:06 AM
Super Moderator

 
Vcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Winfield
Posts: 43,229
Location: Winfield
Sportbike: bikeless
Years Riding: 10
How you found us: Shit, you know I'm a clsb OG!
           
Send a message via AIM to Vcook
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arch View Post
Price wins. Don't know your area's specific lineup... but go get what you want for the cheapest price.
If money is the primary goal, yes price wins. But the services all differ in image quality.

Chris
Vcook is offline  
post #25 of 29 (permalink) Old 01-13-2011, 09:13 AM Thread Starter
The Victim Newbie
 
clearwaterms's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Westchester, IL
Posts: 7,384
Location: Westchester, IL
Sportbike: 2007 mountain bike
Years Riding: just started
How you found us: svrider.com
           
Send a message via AIM to clearwaterms Send a message via MSN to clearwaterms Send a message via Yahoo to clearwaterms
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vcook View Post
If money is the primary goal, yes price wins. But the services all differ in image quality.
Who truely has the most HD content now a days? They all seem to spin it differently?

<-- Chris

turn the bars left and go right; that just isn't right
clearwaterms is offline  
post #26 of 29 (permalink) Old 01-13-2011, 09:19 AM
Super Moderator

 
Vcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Winfield
Posts: 43,229
Location: Winfield
Sportbike: bikeless
Years Riding: 10
How you found us: Shit, you know I'm a clsb OG!
           
Send a message via AIM to Vcook
Quote:
Originally Posted by clearwaterms View Post
Who truely has the most HD content now a days? They all seem to spin it differently?
Beats the hell out of me. I was recently at a friends house with Uverse and the HD image was terrible in comparison to DirecTV. It was embarrassing.

Chris
Vcook is offline  
post #27 of 29 (permalink) Old 01-13-2011, 09:21 AM
Joe Momma...
 
JoJo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Oak Park
Posts: 3,822
Location: Oak Park
Sportbike: None
Years Riding: 1,2,4,5 count d'z rocks biatch!
How you found us: member
           
Send a message via AIM to JoJo
Finally got two HD feeds from Uverse! Just thought I'd throw that out there...

My name is JB, people call me JB

Quote:
Originally Posted by flinchy
"I wouldn't be surprised to see this guy catch a pass with his ass cheeks"
JoJo is offline  
post #28 of 29 (permalink) Old 01-13-2011, 09:42 AM
Rex Banner
 
Flying_Hellfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Aurora
Posts: 2,561
Location: Aurora
Sportbike: 99 SV650, z50r
Years Riding: A few years
How you found us: A tranny told me
           
DTV finally worked out a deal with comcast to get HBO on demand. SD is already up but HD is supposed to start this month.

Lord, beer me strength

Gamertag: FlyingHellf1sh
Flying_Hellfish is offline  
post #29 of 29 (permalink) Old 01-13-2011, 09:48 AM
PIKUACH NEFESH
 
STANIMAL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: G-VIEW
Posts: 6,900
Location: G-VIEW
Sportbike: Italian,British,Japanese,Czech
Years Riding: LONG TIME
How you found us: CRR
           
Just got a coupon for Dish TV for $24 a month for a year with free install for two dvr's. The number on the flier is 877-866-6308 and they speak spanish. Thats who I am going with.

MOTO AND MOTOR
1906 TECHNY RD.
NORTHBROOK IL 60062

SALES*SERVICE*PARTS
847-790-4848
STANIMAL is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Chicagoland Sportbikes forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome