High speed HDMI vs Standard speed - Chicagoland Sportbikes
Chicagoland Sportbikes
 
Open Forum This forum is for all off-topic discussion.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 43 (permalink) Old 12-02-2010, 12:03 AM Thread Starter
U-P-G-R-A-Y-E-D-D
 
FiReBReTHa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Aurora, IL
Posts: 11,172
Location: Aurora, IL
Sportbike: 04 GSXR6
Years Riding: 2
How you found us: I thought it was a line for muffins
           
Send a message via AIM to FiReBReTHa
High speed HDMI vs Standard speed

Was going to snag a 35ft from monoprice but this could be an issue.

http://www.hdmi.org/learningcenter/faq.aspx#49
Quote:
Q. What is the difference between a “Standard” HDMI cable and a “High-Speed” HDMI cable?
Recently, HDMI Licensing, LLC announced that cables would be tested as Standard or High-Speed cables.

Standard (or “category 1”) HDMI cables have been tested to perform at speeds of 75Mhz or up to 2.25Gbps, which is the equivalent of a 720p/1080i signal.
High Speed (or “category 2”) HDMI cables have been tested to perform at speeds of 340Mhz or up to 10.2Gbps, which is the highest bandwidth currently available over an HDMI cable and can successfully handle 1080p signals including those at increased color depths and/or increased refresh rates from the Source. High-Speed cables are also able to accommodate higher resolution displays, such as WQXGA cinema monitors (resolution of 2560 x 1600).

http://www.monoprice.com/products/su...02&cp_id=10240

cables I was browsing thru.

so what do you guys think, is that tru or bs?

www.firespeedtactical.com
Trial By Fire.
Like our page!
http://www.facebook.com/firespeedtactical

Quote:
"I'm spooning a barrett 50 cal. I could kill a building."
-Archer
FiReBReTHa is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 43 (permalink) Old 12-02-2010, 12:12 AM Thread Starter
U-P-G-R-A-Y-E-D-D
 
FiReBReTHa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Aurora, IL
Posts: 11,172
Location: Aurora, IL
Sportbike: 04 GSXR6
Years Riding: 2
How you found us: I thought it was a line for muffins
           
Send a message via AIM to FiReBReTHa
doesnt matter

im going with this cable!

http://cgi.ebay.com/35-Ft-Premium-HD...ht_3445wt_1055

I dont want my nards getting cancer from my hdmi cable.



lulz
FiReBReTHa is offline  
post #3 of 43 (permalink) Old 12-02-2010, 12:18 AM
yo quiero su taco
 
whiteSeatEnvy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Woodridge
Posts: 12,745
Location: Woodridge
Sportbike: Honda CBR 954 blk/slvr
Years Riding: 10 years
How you found us: They found me. Follow the white rabbit.
           
Looks like the main issue is whether or not you are trying to support Dolby TrueHD. I could be wrong but it looks like the major difference between standard and high speed is audio based. It is also a question of whether 1) your device can generate and 2) your display handle, the higher resolutions that high speed was made for.

"includes 10 used-car dealers or auto repair shops, 11 liquor stores and bars--two of which advertise lingerie fashion shows and a third billed as a "gentlemen's club"--three cut-rate motels and one trailer park. The squat, brick municipal building is next to a currency exchange and a few steps from an adult video store. The bars open at 10 a.m. and close at 6:30 a.m."

Quote:
Originally Posted by admin View Post
Something must be fishy...I am going to go poke around in the back end..

Last edited by whiteSeatEnvy; 12-02-2010 at 12:24 AM.
whiteSeatEnvy is offline  
post #4 of 43 (permalink) Old 12-02-2010, 12:21 AM
I am the Stig.
 
JRobbins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,763
Location: Chicago
Sportbike: 09' Triumph Daytona 675, 06' Triumph Thruxton, 74' CB360
Years Riding: Some say he's been ridin motorcycles since before they were invented... all we know is he's the Stig
How you found us: Met Chills while rockclimbing.
         
JRobbins is offline  
post #5 of 43 (permalink) Old 12-02-2010, 12:23 AM Thread Starter
U-P-G-R-A-Y-E-D-D
 
FiReBReTHa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Aurora, IL
Posts: 11,172
Location: Aurora, IL
Sportbike: 04 GSXR6
Years Riding: 2
How you found us: I thought it was a line for muffins
           
Send a message via AIM to FiReBReTHa
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteSeatEnvy View Post
Looks like the main issue is whether or not you are trying to support Dolby TrueHD. I could be wrong but it looks like the major difference between 1.3 and 1.1 is audio based.


I should increase info on my setup plans.


TV, possible 3d upgrade.


Cable is to go between receiver and the TV


The receiver will maintain my sources.
FiReBReTHa is offline  
post #6 of 43 (permalink) Old 12-02-2010, 12:24 AM Thread Starter
U-P-G-R-A-Y-E-D-D
 
FiReBReTHa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Aurora, IL
Posts: 11,172
Location: Aurora, IL
Sportbike: 04 GSXR6
Years Riding: 2
How you found us: I thought it was a line for muffins
           
Send a message via AIM to FiReBReTHa
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRobbins View Post
That is one long ass HDMI cable ...
...
Thats what she said?
FiReBReTHa is offline  
post #7 of 43 (permalink) Old 12-02-2010, 12:32 AM
Irony helps us play!
 
Arch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: N'ville
Posts: 29,510
Location: N'ville
Sportbike: 2000 F4
Years Riding: Long enough to know better
How you found us: some hot MILF whispered it in my ear
           
It all comes down to how far away your stuff is from each other. Like the scsi and rs232 old days, you buy the best shit you can afford at the time and pray it serves you well in the future.

Everyone Exaggerates

We're being taken for a ride... agaaaaaaain.....


Best Auto/Moto Insurance | Motorcycle Protection Today | FREE Trade-In Quote
Arch is offline  
post #8 of 43 (permalink) Old 12-02-2010, 08:19 AM
CLSB's Florida Chapter.
 
MoparBoyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Apopka, Florida
Posts: 22,652
Location: Apopka, Florida
Sportbike: Ducati
Years Riding: 3 days
How you found us: unemployment office
           
Send a message via AIM to MoparBoyy
Steve Jobs says HDMI is not needed.

-Mopar

1997 Dodge Viper GTS
2013 Dodge Dart Rallye
MoparBoyy is offline  
post #9 of 43 (permalink) Old 12-02-2010, 08:53 AM
black magic
 
bio-nuke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: westmont
Posts: 1,432
Location: westmont
Sportbike: gxr600k8
Years Riding: 4yrs
How you found us: newenough.com
           
i have my ps3(hdmi), dvd(hdmi) and antenna(coax) plugged into tv and then a optical from tv to receiver. this allows me to listen thru tv for quite times and then kick on the house shaker for....... well shaking the house

i want to drink, but only to kill a certain few brain cells and i don't care how many i have to take out to get to them.
bio-nuke is offline  
post #10 of 43 (permalink) Old 12-02-2010, 08:57 AM
Super Moderator

 
Vcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Winfield
Posts: 43,230
Location: Winfield
Sportbike: bikeless
Years Riding: 10
How you found us: Shit, you know I'm a clsb OG!
           
Send a message via AIM to Vcook
Quote:
Originally Posted by bio-nuke View Post
i have my ps3(hdmi), dvd(hdmi) and antenna(coax) plugged into tv and then a optical from tv to receiver. this allows me to listen thru tv for quite times and then kick on the house shaker for....... well shaking the house
Cant do Dolby TrueHD or DTS-MA over optical though, which is kind of a bummer.

Chris
Vcook is offline  
post #11 of 43 (permalink) Old 12-02-2010, 09:17 AM
The Halo hides my Horns
 
Lonely Raven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bolingbrook, IL
Posts: 12,690
Location: Bolingbrook, IL
Sportbike: SV650
Years Riding: 1 year
How you found us: Google
           
TrueHD and DTS-MA really make the soundtrack. The detail is amazing. Even on my crappy setup.

aut cum scuto aut in scuto

http://www.firespeedtactical.com

My ZenFolio Gallery: www.LonelyRaven.ZenFolio.com
Lonely Raven is offline  
post #12 of 43 (permalink) Old 12-02-2010, 09:18 AM
Super Moderator

 
Vcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Winfield
Posts: 43,230
Location: Winfield
Sportbike: bikeless
Years Riding: 10
How you found us: Shit, you know I'm a clsb OG!
           
Send a message via AIM to Vcook
I haven't done enough back and forth testing to make a statement like that, but I have found a way to include it in my mkv movie backups now. which is nice.

Chris
Vcook is offline  
post #13 of 43 (permalink) Old 12-02-2010, 10:46 AM
black magic
 
bio-nuke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: westmont
Posts: 1,432
Location: westmont
Sportbike: gxr600k8
Years Riding: 4yrs
How you found us: newenough.com
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vcook View Post
Cant do Dolby TrueHD or DTS-MA over optical though, which is kind of a bummer.


my receiver says it's getting dolby

so your saying i should feed everything thru the receiver then to tv

i want to drink, but only to kill a certain few brain cells and i don't care how many i have to take out to get to them.
bio-nuke is offline  
post #14 of 43 (permalink) Old 12-02-2010, 10:56 AM
Super Moderator

 
Vcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Winfield
Posts: 43,230
Location: Winfield
Sportbike: bikeless
Years Riding: 10
How you found us: Shit, you know I'm a clsb OG!
           
Send a message via AIM to Vcook
Quote:
Originally Posted by bio-nuke View Post


my receiver says it's getting dolby

so your saying i should feed everything thru the receiver then to tv
Dolby Digital is not the same as Dolby TrueHD. Optical does not have the bandwidth to pass high def audio codecs.

Chris
Vcook is offline  
post #15 of 43 (permalink) Old 12-02-2010, 11:05 AM Thread Starter
U-P-G-R-A-Y-E-D-D
 
FiReBReTHa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Aurora, IL
Posts: 11,172
Location: Aurora, IL
Sportbike: 04 GSXR6
Years Riding: 2
How you found us: I thought it was a line for muffins
           
Send a message via AIM to FiReBReTHa
Quote:
Originally Posted by bio-nuke View Post
my receiver says it's getting dolby

so your saying i should feed everything thru the receiver then to tv


Which dolby? not TrueHD dolby


And yes, Thats why I am using the receiver. Plus TV speakers suck!


so far im looking at a 79$ 35ft monster cable.
FiReBReTHa is offline  
post #16 of 43 (permalink) Old 12-02-2010, 11:08 AM
Super Moderator

 
Vcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Winfield
Posts: 43,230
Location: Winfield
Sportbike: bikeless
Years Riding: 10
How you found us: Shit, you know I'm a clsb OG!
           
Send a message via AIM to Vcook
monoprice

Chris
Vcook is offline  
post #17 of 43 (permalink) Old 12-02-2010, 11:12 AM Thread Starter
U-P-G-R-A-Y-E-D-D
 
FiReBReTHa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Aurora, IL
Posts: 11,172
Location: Aurora, IL
Sportbike: 04 GSXR6
Years Riding: 2
How you found us: I thought it was a line for muffins
           
Send a message via AIM to FiReBReTHa
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vcook View Post
monoprice


see post 1
FiReBReTHa is offline  
post #18 of 43 (permalink) Old 12-02-2010, 11:16 AM
Super Moderator

 
Vcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Winfield
Posts: 43,230
Location: Winfield
Sportbike: bikeless
Years Riding: 10
How you found us: Shit, you know I'm a clsb OG!
           
Send a message via AIM to Vcook
Do you have a need for any of the reported features of the high speed?

Chris
Vcook is offline  
post #19 of 43 (permalink) Old 12-02-2010, 11:21 AM Thread Starter
U-P-G-R-A-Y-E-D-D
 
FiReBReTHa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Aurora, IL
Posts: 11,172
Location: Aurora, IL
Sportbike: 04 GSXR6
Years Riding: 2
How you found us: I thought it was a line for muffins
           
Send a message via AIM to FiReBReTHa
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vcook View Post
Do you have a need for any of the reported features of the high speed?

possible 3d TV upgrade. enough in the forseeable future to prepare for it was my concern.
FiReBReTHa is offline  
post #20 of 43 (permalink) Old 12-02-2010, 11:22 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: GL, WI
Posts: 5,356
Location: GL, WI
Sportbike: R6, SV1000s, rm250
Years Riding: since 2001 in socal
How you found us: team chicago
           
I have HDMI from my 360 elite to my TV, HDMI from my TV to my receiver, HDMI to my popbox from the TV, components to an old combo progressive scan dvd plyr / vhs plyr, S - vid to Khammi's kiddie game, VGA to the laptop, and a mono cable off the front of the onkyo receiver that I can plug an ipod or whatever. I use it to plug the mic port on my laptop to the mic port on the receiver to watch tv online on my tv. Or if I just want tunes plug the droid into the receiver and fire up pandora or youtube.
Superspud needs his med's is offline  
post #21 of 43 (permalink) Old 12-02-2010, 11:25 AM
Super Moderator

 
Vcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Winfield
Posts: 43,230
Location: Winfield
Sportbike: bikeless
Years Riding: 10
How you found us: Shit, you know I'm a clsb OG!
           
Send a message via AIM to Vcook
i dont see anything in the definition regarding 3d, and standard speed cables will do 1080p without issue. If you're worried then it's worth the peace of mind. If it's going to be buried in a wall maybe use some smurf tube so you can easily upgrade/swap at a later date.

Chris
Vcook is offline  
post #22 of 43 (permalink) Old 12-02-2010, 11:30 AM
Super Moderator

 
Vcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Winfield
Posts: 43,230
Location: Winfield
Sportbike: bikeless
Years Riding: 10
How you found us: Shit, you know I'm a clsb OG!
           
Send a message via AIM to Vcook
Just get a cheap stereo receiver if you're going to use analog stereo outputs. $20 on craigslist.

hell, any cheap stereo junk will do what you need. Something like this: http://dunedin.craigslist.co.nz/ele/2051291408.html

Chris

Last edited by Vcook; 12-02-2010 at 11:37 AM.
Vcook is offline  
post #23 of 43 (permalink) Old 12-02-2010, 11:38 AM
The Victim Newbie
 
clearwaterms's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Westchester, IL
Posts: 7,384
Location: Westchester, IL
Sportbike: 2007 mountain bike
Years Riding: just started
How you found us: svrider.com
           
Send a message via AIM to clearwaterms Send a message via MSN to clearwaterms Send a message via Yahoo to clearwaterms
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperSpud View Post
As long as we're talking audio visual, what would you guys recommend for a bargain $100-200 receiver.

Got a request to set up something for our fitness center, and just for the fun of it put the HD vid projector in there with a $40 DVD player, was originally asked to hook up a 13" tv that only had coax out to the DVD player that only had HDMI, component, S-vid and RCA outs

the person making the request clearly didn't have a clue. anyway fired up the HD projector to the Vid player, can't find my HDMI cable at work so using S vid for now and Just need RCA to go to a receiver so that's the set up I'm looking for.

Going to set up a cheap little enclosure for the dvd player, projector, and receiver then toss a few speakers out, suggestions for cheap 5.1 speakers are appreciated.

TIA
This is probably it's own thead right here.

What is cheap?

If its a large space and going to be used for family movie nights, I would suggest shying away from the 5.1, it really doesn't benefit you if you don't have proper seating, if people are sitting on the floor / make shift furniture / etc, I would just get two speakers that are large enough to fill the space.

As for S-Video from the DVD player, that will only give you 480i, you want to use at least component (3 wire for picture) to get High Def, or even progressive scan that the DVD player is probably capable of.

As for a cheap receiver, I would look at a Denon or Onkyo Stereo receiver as my source since I am not recommending 5.1 either.

<-- Chris

turn the bars left and go right; that just isn't right
clearwaterms is offline  
post #24 of 43 (permalink) Old 12-02-2010, 12:05 PM
Wisconsin FIB
 
TripleZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Rosendale, WI
Posts: 2,241
Location: Rosendale, WI
Sportbike: Speed Triple 06 Blue
Years Riding: Since June 2002
How you found us: Pilotx1
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by FiReBReTHa View Post
I should increase info on my setup plans.


TV, possible 3d upgrade.


Cable is to go between receiver and the TV


The receiver will maintain my sources.
This is what I was planning, but now changing. All my HDMI sources are going to the TV, then Optical sources to the receiver. Its very confusing, but some systems will only transmit 2-channel audio over the HDMI cables. On top of that, Samsung components use the HDMI data capability to "talk" between devices, further limiting audio capabilities. Also, some receivers are only capable of "listening" to the 2-channel audio off of the HDMI, where as more expensive units can decode.

As for high speed vs. standard...... do they have the same connector... YES. Do they have the same wire count... YES. The only difference is shielding and gauge. For longer runs, you want the largest gauge wire you can get (lowest resistance). For short runs... <6 ft.... I don't think it matters.

As for the 3D tv. I don't have the Blue Ray player yet, but the setup that's recommended for the best experience is a short HDMI from the player to the TV, then an Optical to the receiver. For 3D movies, a timing signal is also being transmitted accross the cable, the fewer junctions, routing, etc, the better.
TripleZ is offline  
post #25 of 43 (permalink) Old 12-02-2010, 12:09 PM
Super Moderator

 
Vcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Winfield
Posts: 43,230
Location: Winfield
Sportbike: bikeless
Years Riding: 10
How you found us: Shit, you know I'm a clsb OG!
           
Send a message via AIM to Vcook
Your middle paragraph is good info, the rest is mostly misinformation.

As already stated running optical audio will limit you to the lossy audio codecs, and if some system actually had a limitation to 2channel only over HDMI running it to your TV wouldn't magically change that.

Chris
Vcook is offline  
post #26 of 43 (permalink) Old 12-02-2010, 12:13 PM
Wisconsin FIB
 
TripleZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Rosendale, WI
Posts: 2,241
Location: Rosendale, WI
Sportbike: Speed Triple 06 Blue
Years Riding: Since June 2002
How you found us: Pilotx1
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vcook View Post
Your middle paragraph is good info, the rest is mostly misinformation.

As already stated running optical audio will limit you to the lossy audio codecs, and if some system actually had a limitation to 2channel only over HDMI running it to your TV wouldn't magically change that.
Like I said.... I'm learning and it's definitely confusing. I can never seem to find a consistent answer.

The book for the Samsung TV states that if its hooked up to a Samsung receiver over HDMI and the "sync" software is running, audio is limited to 2-channels. It's then recommended to run optical cables.
TripleZ is offline  
post #27 of 43 (permalink) Old 12-02-2010, 12:18 PM
Super Moderator

 
Vcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Winfield
Posts: 43,230
Location: Winfield
Sportbike: bikeless
Years Riding: 10
How you found us: Shit, you know I'm a clsb OG!
           
Send a message via AIM to Vcook
This is to get audio from off air broadcasts then? I guess turn off the synch software or don't buy a samsung receiver, they're not really well known for those(though they make a nice TV).

Chris
Vcook is offline  
post #28 of 43 (permalink) Old 12-02-2010, 12:20 PM
Registered User
 
iamnotgreg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 12,529
Location: Chicago
Sportbike: 2003 Aprilia Mille R Colin Edwards / 01-02 Ninj ZX6r Tracktoy / 2003 SV650
Years Riding: 12
How you found us: some guy at the IBM credit union told me about it
           
Does 3d still require 2 HDMI runs if you use the 1.4 hdmi stuff?
iamnotgreg is offline  
post #29 of 43 (permalink) Old 12-02-2010, 12:21 PM
Super Moderator

 
Vcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Winfield
Posts: 43,230
Location: Winfield
Sportbike: bikeless
Years Riding: 10
How you found us: Shit, you know I'm a clsb OG!
           
Send a message via AIM to Vcook
Quote:
Originally Posted by iamnotgreg View Post
Does 3d still require 2 HDMI runs if you use the 1.4 hdmi stuff?
no, I don't think it ever did.

Chris
Vcook is offline  
post #30 of 43 (permalink) Old 12-02-2010, 12:32 PM
Registered User
 
iamnotgreg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 12,529
Location: Chicago
Sportbike: 2003 Aprilia Mille R Colin Edwards / 01-02 Ninj ZX6r Tracktoy / 2003 SV650
Years Riding: 12
How you found us: some guy at the IBM credit union told me about it
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vcook View Post
no, I don't think it ever did.
I misunderstood something I read previously. A friend was looking at getting one so I was helping out a bit - and in my research I saw that most of the 3d bluray players had dual hdmi outs. I also thought I saw something about the tv having bonded hdmi in for 3d - so I thought that it was sending more data than hdmi 1.2 or 1.3 could handle and was bonding it... Since you just said that I took a quick look and it appears the duals were for a different purpose - so you could send one direct to the tv and split another off to the amp

at least that's what 30 seconds of research shows...

I didn't look to much into it because I didn't think the tech was there yet, at least not from what I have seen so far. I think it looks like a novelty thing but doesn't really improve the experience.. Certainly not worth the large price delta - at least to me and as it stands right now
iamnotgreg is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Chicagoland Sportbikes forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome