Yahoo DSL or AT&T broadband? - Chicagoland Sportbikes
Chicagoland Sportbikes
 
Open Forum This forum is for all off-topic discussion.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old 12-05-2003, 06:03 PM Thread Starter
vrrooooooom!
 
trey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: belvidere IL.
Posts: 849
Location: belvidere IL.
Sportbike: 01 honda 929rr
Years Riding: 10 years
How you found us: from a member of fireblades.org
           
Send a message via AIM to trey
Yahoo DSL or AT&T broadband?

anyone got any input on these? which one is better? faster?
trey is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 21 (permalink) Old 12-05-2003, 06:05 PM
Registered User
 
Sk8boardIL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Logan Square
Posts: 583
Location: Logan Square
Sportbike: CBR1100XX
Years Riding: coming up to a decade
How you found us: crashed this party!!!
 
Send a message via AIM to Sk8boardIL
I have AT&T at home - I hate it, it's very slow during peak hours. Dial up might be faster sometimes. Haven't tried Yahoo DSL but definitely worth a shot. Can't get much worse
Sk8boardIL is offline  
post #3 of 21 (permalink) Old 12-05-2003, 07:08 PM
Telefonica Struck
 
XxTelefonicaxX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Villa Park
Posts: 417
Location: Villa Park
Sportbike: 2003 Gixxer 750
Years Riding: 7 years
How you found us: Friend
 
Send a message via AIM to XxTelefonicaxX
I had Yahoo Dial Up DSL .... it sucked ..... it looses its connection a lot even though it's not supposed to!
XxTelefonicaxX is offline  
post #4 of 21 (permalink) Old 12-05-2003, 07:42 PM
Registered User
 
RSV4win's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: NW
Posts: 1,724
Location: NW
Sportbike: 2002
Years Riding: 5
How you found us: sbn- ran into 20bikes riding
         
AT+T broadband-I never have a slow period. 3x faster than my DSL

DSL sucks/ed
RSV4win is offline  
post #5 of 21 (permalink) Old 12-05-2003, 07:44 PM
Your friendly Crazy Canuk
 
RickC1957's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Barrington, Illinois
Posts: 12,731
Location: Barrington, Illinois
Sportbike: Ducati ST3 2005 Gloss Black, Monster 620, 2007 Sport Classic 1000
Years Riding: Crashing sucessfully since 1969
How you found us: Thru favorednation (ron)
           
Send a message via AIM to RickC1957 Send a message via Yahoo to RickC1957
I would PM Favorednation (Ron), he's in the business (Comcast) he might have valuable insights.

Sometimes goodbye is your second chance.
RickC1957 is offline  
post #6 of 21 (permalink) Old 12-05-2003, 08:10 PM Thread Starter
vrrooooooom!
 
trey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: belvidere IL.
Posts: 849
Location: belvidere IL.
Sportbike: 01 honda 929rr
Years Riding: 10 years
How you found us: from a member of fireblades.org
           
Send a message via AIM to trey
Thanks i will pm him, I actually have AT&T broadband but i pay 45 a month. the yahoo DSL is 26 month and i heard its faster and it won't slow down because of other users, cause its seperate.

but from what i'm hearing i should stay with AT&T??
trey is offline  
post #7 of 21 (permalink) Old 12-05-2003, 08:24 PM
Registered User
 
RSV4win's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: NW
Posts: 1,724
Location: NW
Sportbike: 2002
Years Riding: 5
How you found us: sbn- ran into 20bikes riding
         
at $26 a mo. isn't that like 128k instead of 768k?

AT+T, I guess it depends where your at and how the network's built. I have never had a problem in over 6 months. No outage, no slowness.
RSV4win is offline  
post #8 of 21 (permalink) Old 12-05-2003, 08:32 PM
Tourer
 
NoStunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: c-ville, il
Posts: 313
Location: c-ville, il
Sportbike: '78 BMW Until I have time to ride
Years Riding: First street bike in 1984
How you found us: dont remember
  
I just got yahoo yesterday, seems good, Im used to a T1, but this is kick a$$ for at home and 26.95
I have only had it a couple of days, if my opinion changes Ill repost.
PS> Cant wait for summer

Im not ready for a Goldwing just yet.

"Be careful riding, everyone is out to kill you.
Ducati748"
NoStunner is offline  
post #9 of 21 (permalink) Old 12-05-2003, 08:37 PM
Registered User
 
phlflyrsfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Mt. Prospect
Posts: 438
Location: Mt. Prospect
Sportbike: '08 FZ-1
Years Riding: 7
How you found us: SBN
           
Send a message via AIM to phlflyrsfan
I would say that your best bet is to stay with Comcast. I have them for my connection here at home and have had very good luck. I have had it for about the past 2 or 3 years and average about 1 outage a year, and almost never more than 24 hrs. As for speed I think it varies alot by where you are, for me I never really notice my connection get slower at night.

For the computer consulting I do on the side I work alot with DSL lines. My opinion is that they are alot less reliable, generally slower connection speeds, and very dependent on your distance from the Central Office. Not to mention you have to deal with SBC (yes it's Yahoo, but SBC provides the local loop). In my experience getting outages corrected has been faster with Comcast (AT&T) than with DSL.

Phlflyrsfan - Andy

AMA Member
phlflyrsfan is offline  
post #10 of 21 (permalink) Old 12-05-2003, 09:51 PM
Registered User
 
Sk8boardIL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Logan Square
Posts: 583
Location: Logan Square
Sportbike: CBR1100XX
Years Riding: coming up to a decade
How you found us: crashed this party!!!
 
Send a message via AIM to Sk8boardIL
I've had AT&T for over 3 years now and it has always been very nice and fast until Comcast took over. Now it's very slow and I am really looking into DSL alternatives. Don't know what happened
Sk8boardIL is offline  
post #11 of 21 (permalink) Old 12-06-2003, 06:09 PM Thread Starter
vrrooooooom!
 
trey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: belvidere IL.
Posts: 849
Location: belvidere IL.
Sportbike: 01 honda 929rr
Years Riding: 10 years
How you found us: from a member of fireblades.org
           
Send a message via AIM to trey
Thanks guys for the help!

<------ Jason
trey is offline  
post #12 of 21 (permalink) Old 12-06-2003, 06:34 PM
Ride Me Baby!
 
VFR Rider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Naperville, IL
Posts: 291
Location: Naperville, IL
Sportbike: '05 FJR1300, '86 Honda VFR
Years Riding: 5
How you found us: CycleForums.com
           
I work for SBC so my view may be biased... but I would recommend DSL. Comcasts customer service sucks, service was intermittent when I had it. And now that I cancelled, I am still waiting (5 months) for my refund check.

I have been extremely pleased with Yahoo DSL since we installed it.

Certified MSF Rider Coach

"The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams." - Eleanor Roosevelt

"The fool is the one who dares not to dream" - Me

Come see life underwater at ScubaBoard
VFR Rider is offline  
post #13 of 21 (permalink) Old 12-06-2003, 06:37 PM
Cuddlie as a koala
 
YZFRob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Where GM used to make Tahoes
Posts: 7,509
Location: Where GM used to make Tahoes
Sportbike: Which bike?
Years Riding: Too long.
How you found us: Ken offered me money to join.
           
OK for those that know this stuff, When you give them your MAC address, do you give them the modems or the routers?

I'm not crazy, my mother had me tested.
YZFRob is offline  
post #14 of 21 (permalink) Old 12-06-2003, 08:28 PM
Asphalt tastes bad, kids.
 
Honda4Ever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 1,544
Location: New Mexico
Sportbike: Boo-Boo('02 Black/Yellow F4i)
Years Riding: 3
How you found us: My brother is on here.
    
Send a message via Yahoo to Honda4Ever
The MAC address should be the same.

<----Jeff
Honda4Ever is offline  
post #15 of 21 (permalink) Old 12-06-2003, 09:00 PM
Registered User
 
phlflyrsfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Mt. Prospect
Posts: 438
Location: Mt. Prospect
Sportbike: '08 FZ-1
Years Riding: 7
How you found us: SBN
           
Send a message via AIM to phlflyrsfan
If your going to be using a router on the line then give them the MAC address of the router. If your using one of the Linksys routers it doesn't matter as much because you can set it to be the same as your PC's.

Phlflyrsfan - Andy

AMA Member
phlflyrsfan is offline  
post #16 of 21 (permalink) Old 12-07-2003, 04:36 PM
One armed idiot
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 802
Location: Louisville, KY
Sportbike: Anything I want
Years Riding: Since 1990
How you found us: Sticky sent me
 
DSL's speed is dictated by how far you are from the CO (basically it's the local hub). Broadband's speed is affected by how many people they have on your network.

With DSL, the speed shouldn't change much but with broadband, if they oversell the area, it will get slow during peak use. Personally, I can't get DSL and I refuse to do business with Comcast again (their customer service is some of the worst I have ever experienced) so I am stuck with 56K.
larryg is offline  
post #17 of 21 (permalink) Old 12-07-2003, 11:04 PM
Midnight run anyone???
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Back in Chicago!
Posts: 670
Location: Back in Chicago!
Sportbike: '03 F4i
Years Riding: 2
How you found us: The Godfather sent me
 
Send a message via AIM to MIGHTIER
Quote:
Originally posted by larryg
DSL's speed is dictated by how far you are from the CO (basically it's the local hub). Broadband's speed is affected by how many people they have on your network.

With DSL, the speed shouldn't change much but with broadband, if they oversell the area, it will get slow during peak use. Personally, I can't get DSL and I refuse to do business with Comcast again (their customer service is some of the worst I have ever experienced) so I am stuck with 56K.
Comcast does have the worst WORST WORST customer service, but come'on 56k is a thing of the 90's. I have had a long list of problems with comcast, but its been running great for 12 months solid. I have also had cable since it was offered in this area, something like 5 years or so... I can never ever ever surf at 56k if dsl or cable is available.
MIGHTIER is offline  
post #18 of 21 (permalink) Old 12-08-2003, 08:10 AM
Registered User
 
logtar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Glenview
Posts: 5,054
Location: Glenview
Sportbike: CURRENTLY LOOKING
Years Riding: since I was 8
How you found us: The NET is MINE
           
It totally depends on 2 things

Location and Number of users.

Check out
http://www.dslreports.com/


It has tons of information on broadband, and on the different companies all by location. Great tool for finding what is best for you. Also tons of information if you are new to broadbadn.

Logtar - John

My Blog - @Logtar - Google+
logtar is offline  
post #19 of 21 (permalink) Old 12-08-2003, 10:34 AM
Man with Big Hose
 
Pugsly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Hoffman Estates
Posts: 1,432
Location: Hoffman Estates
Sportbike: '01 Track only GSXR 600. No more street riding :(
Years Riding: Pick a number between 1 and 10? Opps now 1 and 11
How you found us: Champ91 in 2002
 
Send a message via AIM to Pugsly Send a message via MSN to Pugsly
I have had @home/ATTBi/Comcast for almost 4 yaers and NEVER had any slow issues that are due to comcast high amount of users (only slow times are due to server problems on hosting website ie CLSB when everyone notices slow times occassionally).

Lightning FAST even at 5 and 6 pm during so called high user times)

I do the $45 'month cable modem and $8/month basic cable service to keep it below the $65 month without cable. I also have DTV.

BTW isn't that DSL $26.95 for only 1 year and than it goes up?

That Boy Just Ain't Right
CCS #414
PARTS411.COM
Lockhart Phillips USA

NESBA #414 Advanced
2001 GSXR 600
Pugsly is offline  
post #20 of 21 (permalink) Old 12-08-2003, 10:56 PM
One armed idiot
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 802
Location: Louisville, KY
Sportbike: Anything I want
Years Riding: Since 1990
How you found us: Sticky sent me
 
Quote:
Originally posted by MIGHTIER
Comcast does have the worst WORST WORST customer service, but come'on 56k is a thing of the 90's. I have had a long list of problems with comcast, but its been running great for 12 months solid. I have also had cable since it was offered in this area, something like 5 years or so... I can never ever ever surf at 56k if dsl or cable is available.
Believe me, 56K is painful. I had broadband when I lived in Oak Park and I had T1's at work so that makes it that much worse. I just refuse to do business with Comcast...
larryg is offline  
post #21 of 21 (permalink) Old 12-09-2003, 02:47 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Bartlett
Posts: 365
Location: Bartlett
Sportbike: R6 2002
Years Riding: 1+ Years
How you found us: Google
 
Send a message via AIM to ju6ganutz
Quote:
Originally posted by Sk8boardIL
I have AT&T at home - I hate it, it's very slow during peak hours. Dial up might be faster sometimes. Haven't tried Yahoo DSL but definitely worth a shot. Can't get much worse

i have had no problems with comcast/at&t being that slow... only days i notice it being a lil slower than normal is on holidays other than that i have very high transfer rates... i think barlett is still undersold on cable internet cuz i sometimes get 2+Mbps...

i check dslreports.com, bandwidthplace.com n a few others... i havent tested recently but it still has to be up in the 1+Mbps

-Neil
-02 R6
-02 TL Type-S
ju6ganutz is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Chicagoland Sportbikes forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome