Fack me, Electrical wiring question - Chicagoland Sportbikes
Chicagoland Sportbikes
 
Open Forum This forum is for all off-topic discussion.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-16-2012, 01:54 PM Thread Starter
U-P-G-R-A-Y-E-D-D
 
FiReBReTHa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Aurora, IL
Posts: 11,172
Location: Aurora, IL
Sportbike: 04 GSXR6
Years Riding: 2
How you found us: I thought it was a line for muffins
           
Send a message via AIM to FiReBReTHa
Fack me, Electrical wiring question

Hokay so yesterday wife unplugged one of my water pumps in the laundry room which the outlet shares a connection to the outlet with the TV on the other side of the wall.

The TV flickered out and that outlet as well as two other family room outlets no longer work. Now the laundry room outlet still functions and there is a burn mark on the outlet from where the power strip was plugged into.

Thankfully the TV equiptment didn't get burnt out and I have an extension cord running to the bathroom so I can get my TV on.

I checked the fuses and none were "tripped"
Any other suggestions for what I should look for?



www.firespeedtactical.com
Trial By Fire.
Like our page!
http://www.facebook.com/firespeedtactical

Quote:
"I'm spooning a barrett 50 cal. I could kill a building."
-Archer

Last edited by FiReBReTHa; 08-16-2012 at 01:58 PM.
FiReBReTHa is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-16-2012, 02:00 PM
Wisconsin FIB
 
TripleZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Rosendale, WI
Posts: 2,241
Location: Rosendale, WI
Sportbike: Speed Triple 06 Blue
Years Riding: Since June 2002
How you found us: Pilotx1
           
Flip the breaker and pull the outlet cover off. Then pull the outlet out, my guess is a break in either a connected wire, or the tiebar on the side of the outlet. If you have a spare outlet, replace it right away.
TripleZ is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-16-2012, 02:01 PM
The Halo hides my Horns
 
Lonely Raven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bolingbrook, IL
Posts: 12,687
Location: Bolingbrook, IL
Sportbike: SV650
Years Riding: 1 year
How you found us: Google
           
I'm not an electrician, but I've had to deal with flaky wiring in the house plenty.

The breaker could be bad, or the outlet didn't arc enough to trip the circuit.

You could verify the circuit breaker by swapping the one going to the burnt outlet with one from another circuit, making sure they are the same amperage.

I wouldn't plug anything into that outlet till the outlet is replaced, and the wiring verified.

Do you have an outlet tester?

I can help you swap this out this weekend if you can wait.

aut cum scuto aut in scuto

http://www.firespeedtactical.com

My ZenFolio Gallery: www.LonelyRaven.ZenFolio.com
Lonely Raven is offline  
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-16-2012, 02:07 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 8,696
Location: Illinois
Sportbike: ninja
Years Riding: since I was a kid
How you found us: K.I.T.T.
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lonely Raven View Post
I'm not an electrician, but I've had to deal with flaky wiring in the house plenty.

The breaker could be bad, or the outlet didn't arc enough to trip the circuit.

You could verify the circuit breaker by swapping the one going to the burnt outlet with one from another circuit, making sure they are the same amperage.

I wouldn't plug anything into that outlet till the outlet is replaced, and the wiring verified.

Do you have an outlet tester?

I can help you swap this out this weekend if you can wait.

didn't you say you're an electrical engineer?



take a multi meter, set to ac and test that outlet. Also take out the outlet and test the wires going to it. There should be a wirenut there that has wires going to the other outlet in that box.


Possible that outlet is overloaded. You could have burned out the outlet, or even the wiring. See how much amperage is that water pump. Also, is the washer and dryer on the same circuit?
taledarkside is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-16-2012, 03:49 PM
2wheelinn near the dragon
 
ninjaridaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Plainfield,Ill
Posts: 310
Location: Plainfield,Ill
Sportbike: Kawasaki Concours 14
Years Riding: 10
How you found us: cog forum
  
Something not right. Laundry circuit is supposed to serve the laundry only. Sometimes breakers trip, but don't look like they have tripped. Definitely check out the outlets involved and whatever wiring and splices you can see. Don't forget to flip the breakers off and verify they are off before taking anything apart.
ninjaridaz is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-16-2012, 04:09 PM
Super Moderator

 
Vcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Winfield
Posts: 43,229
Location: Winfield
Sportbike: bikeless
Years Riding: 10
How you found us: Shit, you know I'm a clsb OG!
           
Send a message via AIM to Vcook
outlets near water are often GFCI, when one of these craps out and is no longer tripping right it will kill power to the outlets downline from it. Laundry room = water. Water = GFCI. GFCI = fails over time. Failure = no power to your tv.

Chris
Vcook is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-16-2012, 04:15 PM Thread Starter
U-P-G-R-A-Y-E-D-D
 
FiReBReTHa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Aurora, IL
Posts: 11,172
Location: Aurora, IL
Sportbike: 04 GSXR6
Years Riding: 2
How you found us: I thought it was a line for muffins
           
Send a message via AIM to FiReBReTHa
quick response. I have been on the PC for about half an hour today. been passed out on the couch sick.

The house is 19988 and RETARDEd. Example. The downstairs fishtank and bathroom and fused into the Upstairs bathroom.

They skipped on the GFCI in the laundry room sadly. I had that same idea chris.

I will figure out which fuse it is because heres where it gets tarded. The Laundry room still had power to it last I checked... But the other outlets were dead. I am hoping I can find the fuse and get that bad plug out as directed. I will also test the fuse switched with another to see if that fixes.

I ilke how my time was better spent asking my peeps on here rather than trying to google-fack the answer. Thank you guys.

Time to go pass out again
FiReBReTHa is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-16-2012, 04:18 PM
Super Moderator

 
Vcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Winfield
Posts: 43,229
Location: Winfield
Sportbike: bikeless
Years Riding: 10
How you found us: Shit, you know I'm a clsb OG!
           
Send a message via AIM to Vcook
electrical done right is dead easy to work on and diagnose. however it sounds like a moron wired your house and you got circuits stretched all over the place, lord knows how its all junctioned out too.

Chris
Vcook is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Chicagoland Sportbikes forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome