Computer related: need help! - Chicagoland Sportbikes
Chicagoland Sportbikes
 
Open Forum This forum is for all off-topic discussion.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 12-18-2003, 05:55 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
J Cal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 852
Location: Chicago
Sportbike: k7 gsxr 600 track bike project
Years Riding: couple years...
How you found us: google
   
Computer related: need help!

Well, i finally bought a new computer! I got it off dell.com's outlet store. anyways, my old computer has my mp3's and some other good stuff, i was wondering what the easiest to transfer all those files over to my new computer. i WAS thinking about swapping hard drives, BUT i wanted to take advantage of the newer operating system, xp. is there any way i can hook the computer up to eachother and transfer files maybe through USB? thanks in advance
J Cal is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 12-18-2003, 06:10 PM
freaking newbies, man there slow, ha ha ha
 
CRAZe Inc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 6,842
Location: San Francisco
Sportbike: Big Wheel
Years Riding: Since 3
How you found us: This is required?
           
If they both have nic cards, you just need a crossover cable to hook them up to transfer the files.
CRAZe Inc is offline  
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 12-18-2003, 06:25 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
J Cal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 852
Location: Chicago
Sportbike: k7 gsxr 600 track bike project
Years Riding: couple years...
How you found us: google
   
sorry bro, i don't knwo what a nic card is. i have an old Dell dimension 400 mhz. and i just got a Dell dimension 2400 series. does that tell you anything about the nic cards?
J Cal is offline  
post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old 12-18-2003, 06:58 PM
freaking newbies, man there slow, ha ha ha
 
CRAZe Inc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 6,842
Location: San Francisco
Sportbike: Big Wheel
Years Riding: Since 3
How you found us: This is required?
           
Nic card is to hook up a computer to a network (or internet connection). The cable it uses looks similar to a phone cable, but is slightly wider. If you have a slot in the back of your computer that looks like a phone jack, but a phone cord doesn't fit right, you have a network card in it.
CRAZe Inc is offline  
post #5 of 17 (permalink) Old 12-18-2003, 07:06 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
J Cal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 852
Location: Chicago
Sportbike: k7 gsxr 600 track bike project
Years Riding: couple years...
How you found us: google
   
nope, no network cards in either computer . I have my old computer hooked up to the cable modem by USB. so, you're saying that if i make a network (purchase 2 network cards) i could transfer files that way? any other way?
J Cal is offline  
post #6 of 17 (permalink) Old 12-18-2003, 07:29 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: In a van down by the river!
Posts: 2
Location: In a van down by the river!
Sportbike: GSXR 1000
Years Riding: July
How you found us: surfin around
 
From what I have heard, trying to set up XP and an earlier OS for a cross-over cable transfer is tricky. XP to XP, no problem. But XP to anything else requires you to mess with Networking settings. I could be wrong, though
bling bling is offline  
post #7 of 17 (permalink) Old 12-18-2003, 07:30 PM
Not a regular at SOW!
 
crash11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: chicago il.
Posts: 1,040
Location: chicago il.
Sportbike: Honda CBR600 F4I
Years Riding: been riding since 90
How you found us: surfing the web
      
Send a message via AIM to crash11
Plug in the old hard drive into the new computer. You will have to set the jumpers on the back of old hard drive to slave or cable select. There should be a second connection for a slave drive that runs off of the cable connected to the main hard drive. You might have to configure the BIOS on the motherboard so that it will accecpt the second drive. I don't know about the BIOS on these new motherboards, so u might get luck and not have to config it. Next step is to start up the computer. You should be able to see the old hard drive from my computer. From there just copy and paste your mp3s to the new drive. Hope this helps.


crash11 is offline  
post #8 of 17 (permalink) Old 12-18-2003, 08:13 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
J Cal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 852
Location: Chicago
Sportbike: k7 gsxr 600 track bike project
Years Riding: couple years...
How you found us: google
   
Quote:
Originally posted by crash11
Plug in the old hard drive into the new computer. You will have to set the jumpers on the back of old hard drive to slave or cable select. There should be a second connection for a slave drive that runs off of the cable connected to the main hard drive. You might have to configure the BIOS on the motherboard so that it will accecpt the second drive. I don't know about the BIOS on these new motherboards, so u might get luck and not have to config it. Next step is to start up the computer. You should be able to see the old hard drive from my computer. From there just copy and paste your mp3s to the new drive. Hope this helps.
okay, so what you're saying is to bring into best buy 'n pay them to do it?



but yea, i see what you're saying. doesn't sound too hard. i'll ask my nerdy cousin to help me out. thanks guys
J Cal is offline  
post #9 of 17 (permalink) Old 12-18-2003, 09:05 PM
CLSB SuperHero
 
TerminatorR1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Crest Hill...didnt think you've heard of it
Posts: 1,808
Location: Crest Hill...didnt think you've heard of it
Sportbike: None right now
Years Riding: since '95
How you found us: friend
  
I thought setting up a network with one comp on XP and one on 98 was actually pretty simple.

Life is too short to ride anything but an R1

In memory of FastBlueR1...RIP

TerminatorR1 is offline  
post #10 of 17 (permalink) Old 12-19-2003, 07:08 AM
Registered User
 
Labdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Roselle, IL
Posts: 9,589
Location: Roselle, IL
Sportbike: 2000 Hayabusa Blue & Silver! Mods-> Oh yeah!
Years Riding: Oh just a couple or so....
How you found us: Old SBN days.......
           
Save your money and just go buy a thumbstick. You can get 256 meg t-stick for 60.00 and just plug it into your usb port, copy the data then put it on your other computer. Nice thing is the stick is only 2 inches long and it works on any computer w/ a usb. XP is just plug and play but win 98 you need a small program to install. Takes only a minute.

Just my .02

<--Kelly

.

2000 Hayabusa
2006 Honda CRF50
Labdog is offline  
post #11 of 17 (permalink) Old 12-19-2003, 07:23 AM
Moderator
 
Chills's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Naperville, IL
Posts: 23,640
Location: Naperville, IL
Sportbike: Kawi ZX-10R
Years Riding: Since February 2012
How you found us: NESBA bbs
           
Send a message via Yahoo to Chills
Quote:
Originally posted by Labdog
Save your money and just go buy a thumbstick. You can get 256 meg t-stick for 60.00 and just plug it into your usb port, copy the data then put it on your other computer. Nice thing is the stick is only 2 inches long and it works on any computer w/ a usb. XP is just plug and play but win 98 you need a small program to install. Takes only a minute.

Just my .02
Labdog is right. This would be the easiest solution, and probably the cheapest. Definately the least amount of headaches.

Never a bad time to climb... unless the weather is really horrible, and then you climb inside!

I bleed GREEN
Chills is offline  
post #12 of 17 (permalink) Old 12-19-2003, 01:00 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
J Cal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 852
Location: Chicago
Sportbike: k7 gsxr 600 track bike project
Years Riding: couple years...
How you found us: google
   
thumbstick? cool cool, i'll look into gett'n one of those... alright, so i figure 256meg, i gotta transfer over 1,300 mp3's... at around 3 mb per mp3, thats about 3.9 gigs i gotta transfer over. with only 256 mb per transfer, thats about....16 transfers!

woohoo! sounds like fun!

thanks again guys
J Cal is offline  
post #13 of 17 (permalink) Old 12-19-2003, 01:04 PM
Head Stepper
 
Pirate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Warrenville
Posts: 4,244
Location: Warrenville
Sportbike: TREKK
Years Riding: 9
How you found us: member referal
           
Send a message via AIM to Pirate Send a message via Yahoo to Pirate
Quote:
Originally posted by crash11
You will have to set the jumpers on the back of old hard drive to slave or cable select.


This is not PC anymore... Can't say master/slave. It's now Primary and Secondary. There's some lawsuit in California about it right now.

<-------- Jeff


Hey baby! You ever been on the back of an expensive sportbike??


Property of Evil Monkey Racing
Pirate is offline  
post #14 of 17 (permalink) Old 12-19-2003, 01:08 PM
Registered User
 
Labdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Roselle, IL
Posts: 9,589
Location: Roselle, IL
Sportbike: 2000 Hayabusa Blue & Silver! Mods-> Oh yeah!
Years Riding: Oh just a couple or so....
How you found us: Old SBN days.......
           
Figures................Friggin liberals have nothing better to do

<--Kelly

.

2000 Hayabusa
2006 Honda CRF50
Labdog is offline  
post #15 of 17 (permalink) Old 12-19-2003, 01:14 PM
Super Moderator

 
Vcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Winfield
Posts: 43,230
Location: Winfield
Sportbike: bikeless
Years Riding: 10
How you found us: Shit, you know I'm a clsb OG!
           
Send a message via AIM to Vcook
Quote:
Originally posted by Labdog
Figures................Friggin liberals have nothing better to do
my guess is it probably wasnt a "friggin liberal" as much as it was a "friggin person trying to milk money for nothing".

either way its totally lame.

Chris
Vcook is offline  
post #16 of 17 (permalink) Old 12-19-2003, 01:27 PM
Registered User
 
Labdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Roselle, IL
Posts: 9,589
Location: Roselle, IL
Sportbike: 2000 Hayabusa Blue & Silver! Mods-> Oh yeah!
Years Riding: Oh just a couple or so....
How you found us: Old SBN days.......
           
You are right Chris but it just seems EVERYTHING out of California is ridiculous. IE pledge of alegience banned in schools and just STUPID stuff!

After living there for 5 years i would say the majority have liberal views and in their own world!

<--Kelly

.

2000 Hayabusa
2006 Honda CRF50
Labdog is offline  
post #17 of 17 (permalink) Old 12-19-2003, 01:59 PM
Not a regular at SOW!
 
crash11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: chicago il.
Posts: 1,040
Location: chicago il.
Sportbike: Honda CBR600 F4I
Years Riding: been riding since 90
How you found us: surfing the web
      
Send a message via AIM to crash11
Quote:
Originally posted by Pirate


This is not PC anymore... Can't say master/slave. It's now Primary and Secondary. There's some lawsuit in California about it right now.
Really! Hopefully, one day the big one will hit CA and that will put end to all the bullsh*t.


crash11 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Chicagoland Sportbikes forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome