XBOX!!! And MotoGP2... - Chicagoland Sportbikes
Chicagoland Sportbikes
 
Open Forum This forum is for all off-topic discussion.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 26 (permalink) Old 01-26-2004, 04:24 PM Thread Starter
Grand Master Crash
 
OmniGLH's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Avatar courtesy Sliderphoto
Posts: 1,079
Location: Avatar courtesy Sliderphoto
Sportbike: none for now
Years Riding: ...classified...
How you found us: My psychic advisor told me about it
 
XBOX!!! And MotoGP2...

Ok so I broke down and bought an XBOX this weekend, complete with the HDTV connector and XBOX Live. Not up on Live yet, as I still need to figure a way how to get the net connection down to my TV. Picked up a few games... Top Spin (I love tennis, this game is hella sweet), Project Gotham 2 (it's ok, still no GT3)... and MotoGP2.

MotoGP2 - BAD freakin ASS man. Spent MANY hours last night playing it. DanO and I messed around with the bike setup to get it to handle better (accurate handling/setup physics too!) Fun to play albeit somewhat difficult to get the hang of. Look forward to racing some of you fools on Live

Has anybody played it on Live yet? How fast are most of the guys? So far, I've only managed a 1:58.x at Suzuka (the only track I've really played so far.) It took me quite a while to get there. Hopefully when I go online I'm not gonna get my ass totally kicked in!

Jim Ptak
-bikeless-
OmniGLH is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 26 (permalink) Old 01-27-2004, 12:37 AM
Cali's Twisty Tamer
 
Nickyfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: San Diego, Ca.
Posts: 1,625
Location: San Diego, Ca.
Sportbike: '96 CBR F3
Years Riding: since 98
How you found us: met at Strat's
           
I've PB'd(personal best) a 1:46somethin' at zuka the fast guys are pullin' 1:35's or lower.Look me up when you go live I'm "PSYCHOCBR" on live.

The optimist believes that we live in the best of all possible worlds...
The pessimist fears this to be true.


<----Shane



Shane's Facebook
Nickyfan is offline  
post #3 of 26 (permalink) Old 01-27-2004, 09:56 AM
Registered User
 
Kruz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: West of 59, North of 88
Posts: 18,885
Location: West of 59, North of 88
Sportbike: 05 CRF50
Years Riding: "Since 1992"
How you found us: You found me
           
You will get your ass handed to you by a 12 year old somewhere in Louisiana.

Yeh...the competition is pretty tough but like anything keep practicing

As soon as you get on LIVE....add me to your friend's list

My handle is...

xKRUZx

Pickup up Ghost Recon for less than $20 at Best Buy. Its a blast on LIVE, real tough against AI though.

For LIVE I also have PGR2, Links 2004, Crimson Skies, and ouf course Mech which came with my Starter Kit.
Kruz is offline  
post #4 of 26 (permalink) Old 01-27-2004, 10:22 AM
Cali's Twisty Tamer
 
Nickyfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: San Diego, Ca.
Posts: 1,625
Location: San Diego, Ca.
Sportbike: '96 CBR F3
Years Riding: since 98
How you found us: met at Strat's
           
Hey Kruz, I just sent you a friend request "PSYCHOCBR"

The optimist believes that we live in the best of all possible worlds...
The pessimist fears this to be true.


<----Shane



Shane's Facebook
Nickyfan is offline  
post #5 of 26 (permalink) Old 01-27-2004, 10:35 AM
Registered User
 
Kruz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: West of 59, North of 88
Posts: 18,885
Location: West of 59, North of 88
Sportbike: 05 CRF50
Years Riding: "Since 1992"
How you found us: You found me
           
Cool....I'll accept it tonight when I get on. What other LIVE games you got?
Kruz is offline  
post #6 of 26 (permalink) Old 01-27-2004, 11:00 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 479
 
tough play

I've got GPII also. Am I the only one that finds the contols way too hard? You cannot corner smoothly with that little mushroom of a control.

Other than that Soldier of FortuneII is kind of fun, and I hear DOOM III is coming out for XBox.

Nothing like killing things with a BFG.
Motobeagle is offline  
post #7 of 26 (permalink) Old 01-27-2004, 11:44 AM Thread Starter
Grand Master Crash
 
OmniGLH's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Avatar courtesy Sliderphoto
Posts: 1,079
Location: Avatar courtesy Sliderphoto
Sportbike: none for now
Years Riding: ...classified...
How you found us: My psychic advisor told me about it
 
Quote:
Originally posted by 6nickyfan9
I've PB'd(personal best) a 1:46somethin' at zuka the fast guys are pullin' 1:35's or lower.Look me up when you go live I'm "PSYCHOCBR" on live.
Are you f'ing kidding me????

46s? Is that with the sim level set to 100%? Fuuuuuuck. I *am* gonna get my ass handed to me.

I discovered something last night while playing MGP2 - I think the AI *sucks*. They don't seem to react to me... it's like they run around a predetermined path. I must've restarted a race 50 times, and NEVER made it past turn 2... somebody would knock me down GOING DOWN A STRAIGHAWAY!!! It's not like I was the slowest guy... I actually qualified on pole. Hopefully it's a lot better racing online, because right now I only have the desire to run time trials.

Jim Ptak
-bikeless-
OmniGLH is offline  
post #8 of 26 (permalink) Old 01-27-2004, 12:05 PM
Cali's Twisty Tamer
 
Nickyfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: San Diego, Ca.
Posts: 1,625
Location: San Diego, Ca.
Sportbike: '96 CBR F3
Years Riding: since 98
How you found us: met at Strat's
           
No way the sim level is always on 0% That's how most people race online. I think your right though about the AI bikes. They really do seem to be on a predetermined path. Online however you run into alot of people who have no clue as to what a racing line even is let alone be able to get to it But that's what makes it interesting. What makes it better is that most of the online hosts run w/collisions off, though it is fun to have them on.

BTW I just PB'd a1:45.48 today WooHoo

The optimist believes that we live in the best of all possible worlds...
The pessimist fears this to be true.


<----Shane



Shane's Facebook
Nickyfan is offline  
post #9 of 26 (permalink) Old 01-27-2004, 12:10 PM
Cali's Twisty Tamer
 
Nickyfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: San Diego, Ca.
Posts: 1,625
Location: San Diego, Ca.
Sportbike: '96 CBR F3
Years Riding: since 98
How you found us: met at Strat's
           
Quote:
Originally posted by Kruz
Cool....I'll accept it tonight when I get on. What other LIVE games you got?
Ghost recon(both)
mech
Unreal championship
whacked
Tetris worlds

I think thats all

The optimist believes that we live in the best of all possible worlds...
The pessimist fears this to be true.


<----Shane



Shane's Facebook
Nickyfan is offline  
post #10 of 26 (permalink) Old 01-27-2004, 12:15 PM
Cali's Twisty Tamer
 
Nickyfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: San Diego, Ca.
Posts: 1,625
Location: San Diego, Ca.
Sportbike: '96 CBR F3
Years Riding: since 98
How you found us: met at Strat's
           
Re: tough play

Quote:
Originally posted by Motobeagle
I've got GPII also. Am I the only one that finds the contols way too hard? You cannot corner smoothly with that little mushroom of a control.

I use the D-pad for cornering and the toggle just to tuck on the straights cause I have a problem cornering with the toggle myself

The optimist believes that we live in the best of all possible worlds...
The pessimist fears this to be true.


<----Shane



Shane's Facebook
Nickyfan is offline  
post #11 of 26 (permalink) Old 01-27-2004, 01:15 PM Thread Starter
Grand Master Crash
 
OmniGLH's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Avatar courtesy Sliderphoto
Posts: 1,079
Location: Avatar courtesy Sliderphoto
Sportbike: none for now
Years Riding: ...classified...
How you found us: My psychic advisor told me about it
 
Quote:
Originally posted by 6nickyfan9
No way the sim level is always on 0% That's how most people race online.

Ok... and am I correct in thinking it's easier to play, the lower the sim level is set? So it's much harder to go 45s at sim=100 then at sim=0? If that's the case... then "Phew!" I will have to turn the sim level back down when I get home and try again. It's just that being an actual racer myself (and big into racing sim games), I have a hard time accepting playing the games with all the driving aids turned on, etc.

When you start up a race online, is there a pre-requirement you can set for the sim level?

Jim Ptak
-bikeless-
OmniGLH is offline  
post #12 of 26 (permalink) Old 01-27-2004, 01:39 PM
Registered User
 
SHREDDER's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: burbs
Posts: 229
Location: burbs
Sportbike: Tuono
Years Riding: never long enough
How you found us: been here since the begining
 
I WANT XBOX LIVE!!!!!!! .........must get DSL............must get DSL..................MUST GET DSL!!!!!!!

The bang of a clutch, the clang of a
cog. My symphony of destruction.
SHREDDER is offline  
post #13 of 26 (permalink) Old 01-27-2004, 02:05 PM Thread Starter
Grand Master Crash
 
OmniGLH's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Avatar courtesy Sliderphoto
Posts: 1,079
Location: Avatar courtesy Sliderphoto
Sportbike: none for now
Years Riding: ...classified...
How you found us: My psychic advisor told me about it
 
Re: tough play

Quote:
Originally posted by Motobeagle
I've got GPII also. Am I the only one that finds the contols way too hard? You cannot corner smoothly with that little mushroom of a control.
I use the analog mushroom thingie. It took me awhile to get used to it, but I'm starting to get it down. Just gotta keep playing with it until you get it...

Jim Ptak
-bikeless-
OmniGLH is offline  
post #14 of 26 (permalink) Old 01-27-2004, 06:21 PM
Lovin this Twin
 
Hooligan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Aurora IL
Posts: 1,980
Location: Aurora IL
Sportbike: 05 SV1000S, Wide Glide, DR350
Years Riding: 1/2 hour then it rained
How you found us: member
           
Send a message via AIM to Hooligan Send a message via Yahoo to Hooligan
Where did you find MotoGP2 ? Ive been looking all over for it???

This is gonna hurt!
Hooligan is offline  
post #15 of 26 (permalink) Old 01-27-2004, 06:50 PM Thread Starter
Grand Master Crash
 
OmniGLH's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Avatar courtesy Sliderphoto
Posts: 1,079
Location: Avatar courtesy Sliderphoto
Sportbike: none for now
Years Riding: ...classified...
How you found us: My psychic advisor told me about it
 
The GameStop in Crystal Lake has a few used copies.

Jim Ptak
-bikeless-
OmniGLH is offline  
post #16 of 26 (permalink) Old 01-28-2004, 02:52 AM
Cali's Twisty Tamer
 
Nickyfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: San Diego, Ca.
Posts: 1,625
Location: San Diego, Ca.
Sportbike: '96 CBR F3
Years Riding: since 98
How you found us: met at Strat's
           
usually when you start a room online the sim is set at 0% but it is adjustable by the room moderator, as are all elements of the game(track, weather,collisions,laps,etc..)

And yes the lower the sim the easier it is to pull a good lap time.

The optimist believes that we live in the best of all possible worlds...
The pessimist fears this to be true.


<----Shane



Shane's Facebook
Nickyfan is offline  
post #17 of 26 (permalink) Old 01-28-2004, 10:09 AM
Registered User
 
Kruz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: West of 59, North of 88
Posts: 18,885
Location: West of 59, North of 88
Sportbike: 05 CRF50
Years Riding: "Since 1992"
How you found us: You found me
           
Tom....everyone has it. BBY, CC, Gamestop, etc.
Kruz is offline  
post #18 of 26 (permalink) Old 01-28-2004, 11:42 AM Thread Starter
Grand Master Crash
 
OmniGLH's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Avatar courtesy Sliderphoto
Posts: 1,079
Location: Avatar courtesy Sliderphoto
Sportbike: none for now
Years Riding: ...classified...
How you found us: My psychic advisor told me about it
 
Kruz... I got everything online late last night (kinda "rigged" for now). I added you to my friends list. I am OmniGLH. For some reason I can't get it to connect if it's behind my router. Once I put it in front of the router and enabled PPPoE it worked fine. Seems I need to do some port forwarding on the router (even tho the XBOX Live manual says it's not necessary for "most" routers...)

Jim Ptak
-bikeless-
OmniGLH is offline  
post #19 of 26 (permalink) Old 01-28-2004, 11:48 AM
Cali's Twisty Tamer
 
Nickyfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: San Diego, Ca.
Posts: 1,625
Location: San Diego, Ca.
Sportbike: '96 CBR F3
Years Riding: since 98
How you found us: met at Strat's
           
I'm sending you a friend request now too

The optimist believes that we live in the best of all possible worlds...
The pessimist fears this to be true.


<----Shane



Shane's Facebook
Nickyfan is offline  
post #20 of 26 (permalink) Old 01-28-2004, 12:06 PM
Registered User
 
Kruz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: West of 59, North of 88
Posts: 18,885
Location: West of 59, North of 88
Sportbike: 05 CRF50
Years Riding: "Since 1992"
How you found us: You found me
           
Cool...Ill try to get on LIVE tonight after 7 sometime.
Kruz is offline  
post #21 of 26 (permalink) Old 01-29-2004, 10:11 AM Thread Starter
Grand Master Crash
 
OmniGLH's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Avatar courtesy Sliderphoto
Posts: 1,079
Location: Avatar courtesy Sliderphoto
Sportbike: none for now
Years Riding: ...classified...
How you found us: My psychic advisor told me about it
 
Hey Kruz,

Sorry I missed you last night. Got home and took a nap... and the nap went longer than I expected (3 hours instead of 20 minutes...)

Saw 6nickyfan9 on for a little bit... found a pretty cool room of guys. Started off racing Suzuka (got my ass kicked but it was fun...) Then they went to Jerez, haven't ridden that track yet so that kinda sucked. From there they went to some other track that I haven't unlocked yet, and (I don't know if it was supposed to do this or not) but I got booted just after the green flag dropped. I could hang out in the lobby but as soon as I went into the track my connection dropped (?)

Guess I'd better play a little more single player first to unlock the rest of the tracks and gain some experience. And I still cannot figure out how people are going 30s at Suzuka. I even switched camera views to be the behind-view (I always race in the cockpit view) and it helped my consistency, but I didn't really go any faster. Grrrrrr...

Jim Ptak
-bikeless-
OmniGLH is offline  
post #22 of 26 (permalink) Old 01-29-2004, 10:20 AM
Registered User
 
Kruz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: West of 59, North of 88
Posts: 18,885
Location: West of 59, North of 88
Sportbike: 05 CRF50
Years Riding: "Since 1992"
How you found us: You found me
           
No problem...I played some Ghost Recon. I need to brush up on MotoGP2....I've only played a few times. I played a ton of MotoGP though.
Kruz is offline  
post #23 of 26 (permalink) Old 01-29-2004, 11:44 AM Thread Starter
Grand Master Crash
 
OmniGLH's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Avatar courtesy Sliderphoto
Posts: 1,079
Location: Avatar courtesy Sliderphoto
Sportbike: none for now
Years Riding: ...classified...
How you found us: My psychic advisor told me about it
 
What is Ghost Recon? A first-person shooter?

Jim Ptak
-bikeless-
OmniGLH is offline  
post #24 of 26 (permalink) Old 01-29-2004, 12:28 PM
Registered User
 
Kruz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: West of 59, North of 88
Posts: 18,885
Location: West of 59, North of 88
Sportbike: 05 CRF50
Years Riding: "Since 1992"
How you found us: You found me
           
Yep...it's a few years old but it's now a platinum hit which means it's less than $20 everywhere.

It still has a big following on Live becasue it's so much fun.

The AI in non-live is pretty tough...but I always play LIve. I can get in a game at 4am if I want.

I suggest you pick up a copy.
Kruz is offline  
post #25 of 26 (permalink) Old 01-29-2004, 01:21 PM Thread Starter
Grand Master Crash
 
OmniGLH's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Avatar courtesy Sliderphoto
Posts: 1,079
Location: Avatar courtesy Sliderphoto
Sportbike: none for now
Years Riding: ...classified...
How you found us: My psychic advisor told me about it
 
Quote:
Originally posted by Kruz
Yep...it's a few years old but it's now a platinum hit which means it's less than $20 everywhere.

It still has a big following on Live becasue it's so much fun.

The AI in non-live is pretty tough...but I always play LIve. I can get in a game at 4am if I want.

I suggest you pick up a copy.
I'll have to see if GameStop has any used copies kicking around...

Jim Ptak
-bikeless-
OmniGLH is offline  
post #26 of 26 (permalink) Old 02-01-2004, 02:01 PM
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 69
 
UMM T-PAK IF YOU WANT SOME COMPETITION... I GOTTA A GUY FROM THE BIG APPLE (TOKYO , JAPAN) HES NAME IS MAKSHI BIGDICK..........HIS NAME ON THERE IS CREAMOFSOMEYOUNGGUY....
TURBO-F4 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Chicagoland Sportbikes forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome