Wireless Problems - Chicagoland Sportbikes
Chicagoland Sportbikes
 
Open Forum This forum is for all off-topic discussion.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 02-10-2004, 01:32 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 1,921
  
Wireless Problems

I have a Linksys wireless router and wireless card for my laptop. I have been trying to install this for a few weeks. I have been on the phone numerous times with linksys support and it has produced nothing. I am really pissed off and sick of attempting to do this myself. Anyone else have any recommendations or advice? I have gotten my computer to be able to connect to the internet when it is hard-wired to the router which is then wired to the DSL modem, but I cannot get the wireless card to access the internet when wireless. This sucks. I want to go postal on Linksys. Tips? ideas? automatic weaponry available?
Hawkeye is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 02-10-2004, 01:35 PM
Super Moderator

 
Vcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Winfield
Posts: 43,229
Location: Winfield
Sportbike: bikeless
Years Riding: 10
How you found us: Shit, you know I'm a clsb OG!
           
Send a message via AIM to Vcook
kruz had to lower the default connection speed or some shit to get his to work. or you could do what omniglh did, return it for a dlink!!

Chris
Vcook is offline  
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 02-10-2004, 01:42 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 1,921
  
what the hell is a "dlink"?????

THis should be able to work. My cousin has linksys wireless at his place and my laptop worked there. I think he had a different wireless adapter card but either way, it should work. Really pissing me off that it wont though.
Hawkeye is offline  
post #4 of 16 (permalink) Old 02-10-2004, 01:48 PM
Super Moderator

 
Vcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Winfield
Posts: 43,229
Location: Winfield
Sportbike: bikeless
Years Riding: 10
How you found us: Shit, you know I'm a clsb OG!
           
Send a message via AIM to Vcook
dlink = DLink. Is that better?


and if your cousin had soemthing different why should this work? that is the silliest thing i've ever heard.

Chris
Vcook is offline  
post #5 of 16 (permalink) Old 02-10-2004, 01:51 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 1,921
  
Quote:
Originally posted by Vcook
dlink = DLink. Is that better?


and if your cousin had soemthing different why should this work? that is the silliest thing i've ever heard.
Chris you are a tard!! How does this help? DLink means nothing to me. What the hell is it?

The cousin instance was an example showing that my laptop is capable of wireless but f*ck if I know how?
Hawkeye is offline  
post #6 of 16 (permalink) Old 02-10-2004, 01:53 PM
Super Moderator

 
Vcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Winfield
Posts: 43,229
Location: Winfield
Sportbike: bikeless
Years Riding: 10
How you found us: Shit, you know I'm a clsb OG!
           
Send a message via AIM to Vcook
Dlink is a manufacturer of cheap home networking shit, just like linksys!

Chris
Vcook is offline  
post #7 of 16 (permalink) Old 02-10-2004, 02:04 PM
Registered User
 
Kruz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: West of 59, North of 88
Posts: 18,885
Location: West of 59, North of 88
Sportbike: 05 CRF50
Years Riding: "Since 1992"
How you found us: You found me
           
Lower the default speed to "normal" from "fast" or something like that. I acn't remember the exact choices , but one level lower than the recommended default.
Kruz is offline  
post #8 of 16 (permalink) Old 02-10-2004, 03:05 PM
Administrator
 
HDTony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Plainfield IL
Posts: 45,956
Location: Plainfield IL
Sportbike: A couple of pasta rockets
Years Riding: Since 1989
How you found us: In the beginning there was CLSB and Tony saw that it was good.
           
Send a message via AIM to HDTony
Exactly what Are you running. is it 802.11b? or which one. I was trying to use the new G standard and it didnt work for shit. I took all that back and got the "b" setup and it works flawlessly. Stick with the liunksys, it will work, youve just got something set up wrong.

try turning off the wep key on your router, and see if it works, it might be as simple as having that set up wrong.




HDTony.... Damn glad to meet you!

Government's view of the economy could be summed up in a few short phrases: If it moves, tax it. If it keeps moving, regulate it. And if it stops moving, subsidize it.

- Ronald Reagan

AirTek Heating & Air inc.
HDTony is offline  
post #9 of 16 (permalink) Old 02-10-2004, 04:39 PM
Registered User
 
BlueSv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Streamwood, IL
Posts: 287
Location: Streamwood, IL
Sportbike: SV650
Years Riding: .1
 
ok, ?, what router u have as far a model number linksys have a lot of them out so u have to be more specific, also state what card u have, then what win do use? 98? xp? 2000? then does win have a drivers for the the right card installed and is it working right?? then go to the router option, meaning u have to type its IP adres to log into the router as a admin, then u have to check everything there, but we need more info cause what u wrote was not enought to troubleshot your problem

AMA Member 567971
BlueSv is offline  
post #10 of 16 (permalink) Old 02-10-2004, 04:44 PM
Moderator
 
Chills's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Naperville, IL
Posts: 23,640
Location: Naperville, IL
Sportbike: Kawi ZX-10R
Years Riding: Since February 2012
How you found us: NESBA bbs
           
Send a message via Yahoo to Chills
Scott, did you buy that wireless starter kit? That's the one I bought a few weeks ago and I don't have any problems. If you want I could stop by tomorrow evening and look at what you have. No promises, but maybe some fresh eyes may see something new.

I could bring my laptop and its wireless card to see if it can talk to your router...

Never a bad time to climb... unless the weather is really horrible, and then you climb inside!

I bleed GREEN
Chills is offline  
post #11 of 16 (permalink) Old 02-10-2004, 05:25 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Woodridge
Posts: 585
Location: Woodridge
Sportbike: 99 Honda CBR600F4
Years Riding: 7
How you found us: Honda Sportsbike Network
           
I have a linksys router, 2 linksys laptop cards, and 2 D-Link PCI cards, all of them work like champs. At one point I had troubles with the linksys setup. The ultimate solution was to power cycle the router (turn it off for 15 minutes).

They were extremely helpful on the phone. Just don't give up until you can reboot, and still connect. I have WEB enabled, and haven't had any troubles in months.

The other big problem I had during the setup was making sure I picked a channel that wasn't conflicting with others around me. There are 4 wireless networks near where I live.
Slycer is offline  
post #12 of 16 (permalink) Old 02-10-2004, 05:46 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 1,921
  
Thank you for the great input. I am going to head home and look at all this shit you guys are talking about. Chills, that might be a great idea. let me see if there is anything I can do tonight. I will post later. thanks.

scott
Hawkeye is offline  
post #13 of 16 (permalink) Old 02-10-2004, 07:35 PM
stuck in 6th gear
 
Ernie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Palatine
Posts: 7,632
Location: Palatine
Sportbike: '99 SV650, GSX-R1K2, CRF230F5, '08 HM-S
Years Riding: not enough lately *(&%# work...
How you found us: LBK back in the day
           
it's as easy as riding a motorcycle...idiot proof I tell ya

probably just a bad setting you changed for lan/wan interface addresses

run with the defaults and get things working first before you customize it. it should work pretty much straight out of the box
Ernie is offline  
post #14 of 16 (permalink) Old 02-10-2004, 07:43 PM
stuck in 6th gear
 
Ernie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Palatine
Posts: 7,632
Location: Palatine
Sportbike: '99 SV650, GSX-R1K2, CRF230F5, '08 HM-S
Years Riding: not enough lately *(&%# work...
How you found us: LBK back in the day
           
another thing you should do for all you people with linksys wireless gear, TURN on your damn WEP functionality and change your default SSID from something other than "linksys". You wouldn't believe how many people just turn this stuff on from the store and don't bother securing their wireless setups.

Ya never know who is driving around with a sniffer just looking for passwords and financial information just for kicks
Ernie is offline  
post #15 of 16 (permalink) Old 02-10-2004, 07:48 PM
Moderator
 
Chills's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Naperville, IL
Posts: 23,640
Location: Naperville, IL
Sportbike: Kawi ZX-10R
Years Riding: Since February 2012
How you found us: NESBA bbs
           
Send a message via Yahoo to Chills
Ernie is right. I changed my SSID to chills and it is working better than when I first installed it.

Never a bad time to climb... unless the weather is really horrible, and then you climb inside!

I bleed GREEN
Chills is offline  
post #16 of 16 (permalink) Old 02-10-2004, 09:16 PM
Administrator
 
HDTony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Plainfield IL
Posts: 45,956
Location: Plainfield IL
Sportbike: A couple of pasta rockets
Years Riding: Since 1989
How you found us: In the beginning there was CLSB and Tony saw that it was good.
           
Send a message via AIM to HDTony
Let me know how it goes, I had a bunch of problems when I fiorst did my system. I'll give ya hand with it if ya cant get it.




HDTony.... Damn glad to meet you!

Government's view of the economy could be summed up in a few short phrases: If it moves, tax it. If it keeps moving, regulate it. And if it stops moving, subsidize it.

- Ronald Reagan

AirTek Heating & Air inc.
HDTony is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Chicagoland Sportbikes forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome