Need to install car radio for Honda Ridgeline - Chicagoland Sportbikes
Chicagoland Sportbikes
 
Open Forum This forum is for all off-topic discussion.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 2 (permalink) Old 01-06-2015, 10:13 PM Thread Starter
Pronto PLEASE !!!
 
SENGVIN's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Countryside IL
Posts: 824
Location: Countryside IL
Sportbike: Bikeless :-(
Years Riding: 5 days now
How you found us: Brad Boehmer
           
Send a message via MSN to SENGVIN Send a message via Skype™ to SENGVIN
Need to install car radio for Honda Ridgeline

Hey guys
I bought 2008 Ridgeline RTL and the radio I have doesent play Mp3's
I need two things to help with 1st do you know some good place (shop) or technician, who can really do good job?
I know there is a lot of places but I don't trust those best buy guys they have always done shitty job for me + the radios they sell are shit too.

2nd Any advice on good radio in around $500 range possibly with navigation and touch screen ,Bluetooth, Pandora.
JVC is shit I had it before and I'm not sure who was more shitty the installer or the radio lol.
I also have controls on my steering wheel and I would like to be able to use them too like volume up & down

I'm not in hurry but I wold like to have it done at some point. Thanks for your help

SENGVIN is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 2 (permalink) Old 01-09-2015, 12:29 AM
Cuddlie as a koala
 
YZFRob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Where GM used to make Tahoes
Posts: 7,509
Location: Where GM used to make Tahoes
Sportbike: Which bike?
Years Riding: Too long.
How you found us: Ken offered me money to join.
           
The radios sold at Best Buy are the same ones you get from every place else.

Most those radios I've seen with your requirements are $750ish and up for good brands. And probably $130-150 in install parts (includes steering wheel control module).

Yeah I'm with ya about the "install techs" at most big box stores. Most are kids who are about as dumb as a box of rocks. I do my own. Seen everything from holes in firewalls not sealed off to screws into the gas tanks. Best one was what was supposed to be the top car audio shop in the area mount an equalizer on the SIDE of a center console vertically and left loose wires everywhere. There was a slot in the console that the EQ would had fit perfectly. Just had to cut the back of the cubby out. Hell a friend had some local shop install an amp and they never even tested it to see if it powered up. He didn't find out it didn't work until he got home. Why he didn't test it there I dunno, but the idiot installer hooked the POWER CABLE up to the NEGATIVE on the battery.

I usually get stuff from Sonic Electronix and Crutchfield. Honestly its not hard to install head units. Just make sure to get the right stuff to install it and take your time.

I'm not crazy, my mother had me tested.
YZFRob is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Chicagoland Sportbikes forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome