Hey computer tech heads ? - Chicagoland Sportbikes
Chicagoland Sportbikes
 
Open Forum This forum is for all off-topic discussion.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 36 (permalink) Old 07-19-2002, 08:21 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
2weelpilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Spring Grove, IL
Posts: 18,082
Location: Spring Grove, IL
Sportbike: yz250f
Years Riding: 25 years
How you found us: dont recall
           
Hey computer tech heads ?

I cant get the cd drive on my computer to recognize anything. It doesnt auto play any cd's. When I do a search on that drive it says no files are found. The light on the drive just keeps flashing. Any ideas ?
2weelpilot is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 36 (permalink) Old 07-19-2002, 08:47 PM
CLSB SuperHero
 
TerminatorR1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Crest Hill...didnt think you've heard of it
Posts: 1,808
Location: Crest Hill...didnt think you've heard of it
Sportbike: None right now
Years Riding: since '95
How you found us: friend
  
I am by no means a computer guru, but right click on my computer, and goto device manager. Check and see if there is a yellow exclamation point by your cd drive.

Life is too short to ride anything but an R1

In memory of FastBlueR1...RIP

TerminatorR1 is offline  
post #3 of 36 (permalink) Old 07-19-2002, 09:01 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
2weelpilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Spring Grove, IL
Posts: 18,082
Location: Spring Grove, IL
Sportbike: yz250f
Years Riding: 25 years
How you found us: dont recall
           
I appreciate you trying to help. I did that and everything looks OK.
2weelpilot is offline  
post #4 of 36 (permalink) Old 07-19-2002, 09:02 PM
YO MAMA
 
Odysseys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: balls deep in someones mom
Posts: 60,261
Location: balls deep in someones mom
Sportbike: 2010 Electra Glide Police Edition 103cu
Years Riding: a long time!
           
windows 98?



Odysseys is offline  
post #5 of 36 (permalink) Old 07-19-2002, 09:10 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
2weelpilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Spring Grove, IL
Posts: 18,082
Location: Spring Grove, IL
Sportbike: yz250f
Years Riding: 25 years
How you found us: dont recall
           
yes
2weelpilot is offline  
post #6 of 36 (permalink) Old 07-19-2002, 09:28 PM
YO MAMA
 
Odysseys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: balls deep in someones mom
Posts: 60,261
Location: balls deep in someones mom
Sportbike: 2010 Electra Glide Police Edition 103cu
Years Riding: a long time!
           
heres a couple things you can do, hopefully this helps if not theres a few other things to do.

(print this out so you can have it when the computer os off line.


1. do a hard boot.
2. then while windows is loaded turn off the switch on the back of the tower, when you restart..let it check out its own logs from you shutting it down NOT the right way.

3. if you already checked into....click me computer ICON then right click your ROM player..check for faults..if nothing go then do a right click on my computer ICON hit the devise manager tab...check each CHECKED box..it open up and lets you know if it is a DRIVER fault. if you see nothing again and this is ALL doing nothing...then do this

click on the START botton lower left....HIT RUN

type in MSCONFIG

then you see the system config utility (becarefull in here)

(dont mess arounfd with the first tab (general)


click the CINGFIG tag on top...make sure all boxs are checked\

NEXT tab.,.AUTO EXEC. make sure all boxs are checked

NEXT tab system INI , open each section by hitting the + sign...and make sure all boxs are checked.


NOW....do the sane fir the next tab...?WIN INI


that last tab is multi optional...most are STARTUP runs and drivers...you dont even need...they slow down system resorces...FOR RIGHT now ..check them all...if you have messed with them in the past...then you know already what you dont need started up...)alsmost all of them...lol)

after all feilds are checked...RESTART the computer.


also try this feild...hit the START botton on the lower left of the screen, hit accesories...then pick system tools and then pic system info...there you will most likely see if there is a driver problem at fault..if it deos click on it and run a system check.


hopefully that should do it.
if not...sounds like a driver fault...in which your going to have to BACK UP ALL YOUR FILES....hopefully you got a zip disk...save everything..even your porn pics...lol
and do a TOTAL RESTORE on your computer..this will put it back to the way you brought it home and first pluged it in.

be warned all shit that you put in the computer already (the software for the printer, the zip disk the scanner all that crap has to be done again...also make sure you got your WINDOWS book handy...it wants that SERIAL# entered before it comes back on..so make sure you got that book..its small and blue..and the numbers on the back.,..hope this help..

and no i didnt spell check









Odysseys is offline  
post #7 of 36 (permalink) Old 07-19-2002, 09:33 PM
YO MAMA
 
Odysseys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: balls deep in someones mom
Posts: 60,261
Location: balls deep in someones mom
Sportbike: 2010 Electra Glide Police Edition 103cu
Years Riding: a long time!
           
ill check back by 10:30 hrs to see what ya came up with



Odysseys is offline  
post #8 of 36 (permalink) Old 07-19-2002, 09:50 PM
CLSB SuperHero
 
TerminatorR1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Crest Hill...didnt think you've heard of it
Posts: 1,808
Location: Crest Hill...didnt think you've heard of it
Sportbike: None right now
Years Riding: since '95
How you found us: friend
  
I give a one line blurb, ken writes a novel.

Life is too short to ride anything but an R1

In memory of FastBlueR1...RIP

TerminatorR1 is offline  
post #9 of 36 (permalink) Old 07-19-2002, 09:54 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 563
 
Ok...who logged on as Ody?
Y2KR1 is offline  
post #10 of 36 (permalink) Old 07-19-2002, 10:05 PM
YO MAMA
 
Odysseys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: balls deep in someones mom
Posts: 60,261
Location: balls deep in someones mom
Sportbike: 2010 Electra Glide Police Edition 103cu
Years Riding: a long time!
           
lets hope he can finds it...if not bitch total restore.

hey mike does the drive even open?



Odysseys is offline  
post #11 of 36 (permalink) Old 07-19-2002, 10:16 PM
Man with Big Hose
 
Pugsly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Hoffman Estates
Posts: 1,432
Location: Hoffman Estates
Sportbike: '01 Track only GSXR 600. No more street riding :(
Years Riding: Pick a number between 1 and 10? Opps now 1 and 11
How you found us: Champ91 in 2002
 
Send a message via AIM to Pugsly Send a message via MSN to Pugsly
is it a drive that came with the computer or did you install a new one?

I don't see how a driver problem would cause to do a restore? just reinstall the burner or cd-rom driver.

right click network neighborhood and go to propereties. find the device manager and find the drive that's the problem, click on it and than click on reinstall driver.

try to look at the manufacture's website for updated drivers to download.

That Boy Just Ain't Right
CCS #414
PARTS411.COM
Lockhart Phillips USA

NESBA #414 Advanced
2001 GSXR 600
Pugsly is offline  
post #12 of 36 (permalink) Old 07-19-2002, 10:22 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
2weelpilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Spring Grove, IL
Posts: 18,082
Location: Spring Grove, IL
Sportbike: yz250f
Years Riding: 25 years
How you found us: dont recall
           
good gods you guys are losing me fast. Its the original drive. I aint about to try a total restore ! !
None of your suggestions worked Ken. Ill try the next suggestion
2weelpilot is offline  
post #13 of 36 (permalink) Old 07-19-2002, 10:29 PM
YO MAMA
 
Odysseys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: balls deep in someones mom
Posts: 60,261
Location: balls deep in someones mom
Sportbike: 2010 Electra Glide Police Edition 103cu
Years Riding: a long time!
           
i am not a pro here, but net working has nothing to do with a cd rom fault?...i even check..there is no listings for rom drives...just intel networking lines etc,

the only thing i can think of there is a fault somewhere either in the line or the driver that supports it?


mike...does the cd drive open up?


the blinking could be a simple problem...like its jammed...or its pending a order to which it cant complete cause...the steps (the driver info) needs to be reloaded. something bugged out there.


if the drive wont open...theres alittle pin spot to stick a needle in and it will open, if it does already, try loading a cd and hit my computer and double click the cd rom drive to by pass the auto start and see if that maybe knocks it loose?
i am running out of my limited knowlage...the only other thing i can think of is maybe the port conection inside is alittle lose?



Odysseys is offline  
post #14 of 36 (permalink) Old 07-19-2002, 10:31 PM
YO MAMA
 
Odysseys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: balls deep in someones mom
Posts: 60,261
Location: balls deep in someones mom
Sportbike: 2010 Electra Glide Police Edition 103cu
Years Riding: a long time!
           
if all this shit doesnt work..throw the fucker threw the window and call your home insurance and place a claim



Odysseys is offline  
post #15 of 36 (permalink) Old 07-19-2002, 10:34 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
2weelpilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Spring Grove, IL
Posts: 18,082
Location: Spring Grove, IL
Sportbike: yz250f
Years Riding: 25 years
How you found us: dont recall
           
there isnt even any drivers avialable on the HP website for this computer. It does open and close fine.
2weelpilot is offline  
post #16 of 36 (permalink) Old 07-19-2002, 10:34 PM
Man with Big Hose
 
Pugsly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Hoffman Estates
Posts: 1,432
Location: Hoffman Estates
Sportbike: '01 Track only GSXR 600. No more street riding :(
Years Riding: Pick a number between 1 and 10? Opps now 1 and 11
How you found us: Champ91 in 2002
 
Send a message via AIM to Pugsly Send a message via MSN to Pugsly
Quote:
Originally posted by Odysseys
if all this shit doesnt work..throw the fucker threw the window and call your home insurance and place a claim
but like he said before....Save all the PORN first!!!!

wait before you go throught the drastic step of tossing it out the window.......KICK IT FIRST.....that usaully works for me!!!!

That Boy Just Ain't Right
CCS #414
PARTS411.COM
Lockhart Phillips USA

NESBA #414 Advanced
2001 GSXR 600
Pugsly is offline  
post #17 of 36 (permalink) Old 07-19-2002, 10:36 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
2weelpilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Spring Grove, IL
Posts: 18,082
Location: Spring Grove, IL
Sportbike: yz250f
Years Riding: 25 years
How you found us: dont recall
           
when I go to my computer and double lcick on that drive the fucker honks at me and a window pops up say the m:/ is not available.. The device is not ready.

Note to self:::: how do I get rid of that annoying fucking honking noise ! ! ! !
2weelpilot is offline  
post #18 of 36 (permalink) Old 07-19-2002, 10:50 PM
YO MAMA
 
Odysseys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: balls deep in someones mom
Posts: 60,261
Location: balls deep in someones mom
Sportbike: 2010 Electra Glide Police Edition 103cu
Years Riding: a long time!
           
30.06

ahh OK ya see the driver is not re set yet.. . (ciycled)


i dont know bro...but its comming down to a total restore in my book.

just save the porn...and screw all the other programs you got

just kidding...save it all and bite the bullete tomorrow if no one else can help ya...i dont know what else to do.



Odysseys is offline  
post #19 of 36 (permalink) Old 07-19-2002, 10:55 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
2weelpilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Spring Grove, IL
Posts: 18,082
Location: Spring Grove, IL
Sportbike: yz250f
Years Riding: 25 years
How you found us: dont recall
           
I buy a friggin digi camera and now I cant load the damn software.. Geee these pics will look great on the 1.75" screen on the camera !
2weelpilot is offline  
post #20 of 36 (permalink) Old 07-19-2002, 10:59 PM
Registered User
 
bnutz24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Park forest
Posts: 201
Location: Park forest
Sportbike: CBR 1000RR "Stinger"
Years Riding: 10
How you found us: Hung out here before
 
Send a message via Yahoo to bnutz24
Ok computer builder here first off I am sorry you have an hp
but from the description of the prob and the suggestions you tried the drive lens is gone open you puter yank the cd out go to best try or circuit shitty and pick up a new cd rom drive drop it in and no more probs. BTW guys in newer computers most don't need cd-rom drivers.
if you need help pm me I will see what I can do for you.

'08 CBR 1000rr "Stinger"
Anything you say can and will be used aginst you.....so make it good
bnutz24 is offline  
post #21 of 36 (permalink) Old 07-19-2002, 11:05 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
2weelpilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Spring Grove, IL
Posts: 18,082
Location: Spring Grove, IL
Sportbike: yz250f
Years Riding: 25 years
How you found us: dont recall
           
OK...youre saying to go buy a whole new cd drive ? Are you in hardware sales ? bahaaahaa

How do you determine that ? Or are they inexpensive enough that its not worth getting a headache over ?
2weelpilot is offline  
post #22 of 36 (permalink) Old 07-19-2002, 11:17 PM
Who's faster Lupi
 
Champ91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Lake in the Hills, IL
Posts: 4,957
Location: Lake in the Hills, IL
Sportbike: 2004 ZX10R & 2005 CRF50
Years Riding: 20
How you found us: SBN
           
cd-rom drives are pretty cheap now. I got a 52x for about $35 a couple months back. I would do the same thing. Just buy new install and problems should go away.
Champ91 is offline  
post #23 of 36 (permalink) Old 07-19-2002, 11:21 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
2weelpilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Spring Grove, IL
Posts: 18,082
Location: Spring Grove, IL
Sportbike: yz250f
Years Riding: 25 years
How you found us: dont recall
           
$35 ? Thats a no brainer... Im on it in the morning !
2weelpilot is offline  
post #24 of 36 (permalink) Old 07-19-2002, 11:56 PM
Registered User
 
BusaDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Naperville
Posts: 5,002
Location: Naperville
Sportbike: 2002 Turbo Hayabusa
Years Riding: Lost Track
How you found us: Tony
           
If you haven't loaded any new software and haven't had any wierd crashes that caused other problems, you probably have a bad CD drive.

For most people I do not recommend messing with the system files unless you know what you're doing.

Dave
BusaDave is offline  
post #25 of 36 (permalink) Old 07-20-2002, 07:45 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 563
 
Might as well upgrade to a CD burner in the process....if you don't already have one...
Y2KR1 is offline  
post #26 of 36 (permalink) Old 07-20-2002, 08:24 AM
Registered User
 
BusaDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Naperville
Posts: 5,002
Location: Naperville
Sportbike: 2002 Turbo Hayabusa
Years Riding: Lost Track
How you found us: Tony
           
Quote:
Originally posted by Y2KR1
Might as well upgrade to a CD burner in the process....if you don't already have one...
Remember though that most burners are slower in reading than a CD-R. But obviously a CD-R does burn CDs.

Dave
BusaDave is offline  
post #27 of 36 (permalink) Old 07-20-2002, 08:37 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 563
 
Quote:
Originally posted by BusaDave


Remember though that most burners are slower in reading than a CD-R. But obviously a CD-R does burn CDs.
Fast enough for me

Digital Research 40x12x48 Internal CD-RW Drive
Model: DR-CDRW401248
$59.99
PRODUCT FEATURES
40x maximum write speed
12x maximum rewrite speed
48x maximum CD-ROM read speed
2MB cache buffer
120 ms average seek time
EIDE (ATAPI) interface
Creates MP3, audio and data CDs with included CD mastering software
Includes 1 blank CD-RW disc



Best Buy
Y2KR1 is offline  
post #28 of 36 (permalink) Old 07-20-2002, 03:34 PM
YO MAMA
 
Odysseys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: balls deep in someones mom
Posts: 60,261
Location: balls deep in someones mom
Sportbike: 2010 Electra Glide Police Edition 103cu
Years Riding: a long time!
           
well i am no fucken computer expert nor do i claim to be. ALL might computer head


i figured thats where to look..a couple times my cd-rom would do shit...so i checked out that area where the components are listed and opened the cd-rom box..and it said not working etc, opened it up to check it and ran the self check, said missing driver...so since it came with the computer and there no software for it other then whats programmed in its hard rive from factory programming, i did a total restore and when it came around...it was working again...never had a problem with it.

so thats MY experance.



Odysseys is offline  
post #29 of 36 (permalink) Old 07-20-2002, 03:37 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 563
 
Quote:
Originally posted by Odysseys
well i am no fucken computer expert nor do i claim to be. ALL might computer head


i figured thats where to look..a couple times my cd-rom would do shit...so i checked out that area where the components are listed and opened the cd-rom box..and it said not working etc, opened it up to check it and ran the self check, said missing driver...so since it came with the computer and there no software for it other then whats programmed in its hard rive from factory programming, i did a total restore and when it came around...it was working again...never had a problem with it.

so thats MY experance.
But how did you back up your 6gig of porn?
Y2KR1 is offline  
post #30 of 36 (permalink) Old 07-20-2002, 03:45 PM
YO MAMA
 
Odysseys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: balls deep in someones mom
Posts: 60,261
Location: balls deep in someones mom
Sportbike: 2010 Electra Glide Police Edition 103cu
Years Riding: a long time!
           
most all my programs...(purchased software) all have cd's to load the info for them.

all the stuff i saved like in my documents shit i write or save etc,,,,thats all the stuff i saved to zip disk.

it isnt that hard...plsu you get ride of ALOT of junk, and fucked up programs that have little faults, that screw things up...its a good way to clean the slat and start fresh with CRAP not lurking around in the hard drive hidden from site.

but then again...maybe i dont have a clue what i am talking about...better ask michael...he's the super geek of computers..lmao


(just fucking with you mike)



Odysseys is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Chicagoland Sportbikes forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome