? For the Computer Guys - Chicagoland Sportbikes
Chicagoland Sportbikes
 
Open Forum This forum is for all off-topic discussion.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 04-13-2004, 02:26 PM
Grasshopper
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
? For the Computer Guys

I have a problem here at work. Our boss bought us all new computers with windows XP proffessional on them. This is all fine and dandy.

Except for one thing. When I'm out in the field doing my job I need to program 2-way radios with Motorola software. The Motorola Software will only run on Windows 98/95.

At this time, when I go out on a job I have to carry 2 computers with me. That Sucks

So my question is, how can I run windows 98 on my XP computer?

Can I partition my hard drive for a dual boot? Can I run 98 on an external drive? What should I do and whats the most practical thing to do.

The idea we have now is to have a completely different hard drive with 98 and the Motorola software on it. So if I have to program a different frequency into a radio, I shut down, remove the XP hard drive and plug in the 98 hard drive, then reboot.

Thanks

Nick
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 04-13-2004, 02:29 PM
Super Moderator

 
Vcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Winfield
Posts: 43,229
Location: Winfield
Sportbike: bikeless
Years Riding: 10
How you found us: Shit, you know I'm a clsb OG!
           
Send a message via AIM to Vcook
repartition the drive.
load win98.
then load winxp on the other partion.

xp is smart enough to see the other operating system and keep it while giving you a menu system so you can choose which one you want to boot into.

Chris
Vcook is offline  
post #3 of 18 (permalink) Old 04-13-2004, 02:32 PM
Grasshopper
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
So you want me to load 98 first then XP?

Why?
post #4 of 18 (permalink) Old 04-13-2004, 02:35 PM
bwa
Boom
 
bwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Kalispell, MT
Posts: 13,320
Location: Kalispell, MT
Sportbike: None :(
Years Riding: not long enough
How you found us: Crazeinc
           
So that XP can recognize it, and give ya a boot menu.
bwa is offline  
post #5 of 18 (permalink) Old 04-13-2004, 02:42 PM
Slowass
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I don't think you should be worrying yourself about this...There are people at your company who earn their paychecks worrying about these things...They're called the IT Department. That's their job. It's cool you wanna be self-sufficient, though, but you need that extra time to post on CLSB.
post #6 of 18 (permalink) Old 04-13-2004, 02:48 PM
FASTEST AT CRA FOREVER!
 
916bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Soutside baby... GO SOX!!
Posts: 336
Location: Soutside baby... GO SOX!!
Sportbike: 916 ducati, 2002 aprilia falco 1991 KZ750(the monster killer!)
Years Riding: 33
How you found us: speedzilla
 
Quote:
Originally posted by redhottR6chick
I don't think you should be worrying yourself about this...There are people at your company who earn their paychecks worrying about these things...They're called the IT Department. That's their job. It's cool you wanna be self-sufficient, though, but you need that extra time to post on CLSB.
I don't know about grasshopper's place, but around here you'll go nuts fighting the problem before IT does anything about it.

Style is the excuse used by those who have neither the nerve or the intelligence to live their own lives.
916bill is offline  
post #7 of 18 (permalink) Old 04-13-2004, 02:53 PM
Human lawn dart
 
rdrash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palatine
Posts: 5,746
Location: Palatine
Sportbike: 03 ninja 6r 05 ttr-230 04 klx300r
Years Riding: 12
How you found us: I know all
           
Send a message via AIM to rdrash
The IT guy will just tell you that that's the new standard. The PC guys probably don't even have a copy on 98 to put on the computer.

I'm not short. I'm aerodynamically efficient.

Anti Helmet Laws Pro Darwinism
MotoGP 200 mph no roll cage
NESBA # 599
rdrash is offline  
post #8 of 18 (permalink) Old 04-13-2004, 03:12 PM
Registered User
 
Labdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Roselle, IL
Posts: 9,589
Location: Roselle, IL
Sportbike: 2000 Hayabusa Blue & Silver! Mods-> Oh yeah!
Years Riding: Oh just a couple or so....
How you found us: Old SBN days.......
           
Yeah those IT people are good for nothin!




























J/K!! Chris is right. fdisk/Partition/Format, load 98se, then XP.
You should be fine Nick!

<--Kelly

.

2000 Hayabusa
2006 Honda CRF50
Labdog is offline  
post #9 of 18 (permalink) Old 04-13-2004, 03:21 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 969
 
use partion magic free download from somewhere? i cannot remember do a search. this way you wont have to start from begining! if you would like to PM me and i will zipit and email it to you but i think it is large?
Chicago Monster is offline  
post #10 of 18 (permalink) Old 04-13-2004, 04:05 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 726
           
Did you first try loading the software on Windows XP and try using compatibility mode to see if it works? Or get a new version that works on XP?

Otherwise the most practical thing to do would be to setup a dual boot. First install 98 then XP.
mthal is offline  
post #11 of 18 (permalink) Old 04-13-2004, 04:09 PM
Grasshopper
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally posted by redhottR6chick
I don't think you should be worrying yourself about this...There are people at your company who earn their paychecks worrying about these things...They're called the IT Department. That's their job. It's cool you wanna be self-sufficient, though, but you need that extra time to post on CLSB.

Only a HR Person would say that.




The IT Department here needs to get a move on. This problem has been present for a long time now.

Thanks for the replys, if you have any other ideas let me know
post #12 of 18 (permalink) Old 04-13-2004, 04:11 PM
Grasshopper
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally posted by mthal
Did you first try loading the software on Windows XP and try using compatibility mode to see if it works? Or get a new version that works on XP?

Otherwise the most practical thing to do would be to setup a dual boot. First install 98 then XP.

I tried the compatability mode. No Worky

The software loads on the computer no problem, It just wont read the radio or program the radio. Something with the serial port.
post #13 of 18 (permalink) Old 04-13-2004, 04:16 PM
vroom vroom
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Peoria, IL
Posts: 2,246
Location: Peoria, IL
Sportbike: '05 Z750S
Years Riding: 10 yrs
How you found us: Katanaplanet
           
There is a piece of software that is called VMware that will allow you to run a virtual machine on your laptop. That would allow you to run Win98. Kinda expensive, but it would avoid booting/rebooting your machine.

Here's a link to the product:
VMware

Last edited by pitbull76; 04-13-2004 at 04:20 PM.
pitbull76 is offline  
post #14 of 18 (permalink) Old 04-13-2004, 04:27 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 37
 
Quote:
Originally posted by pitbull76
There is a piece of software that is called VMware that will allow you to run a virtual machine on your laptop. That would allow you to run Win98. Kinda expensive, but it would avoid booting/rebooting your machine.

Here's a link to the product:
VMware
VMWARE is your answer

microsoft just came out with something like vmware but vmware is the way to go

contact me for SN
625SM is offline  
post #15 of 18 (permalink) Old 04-13-2004, 04:34 PM
Super Moderator

 
Vcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Winfield
Posts: 43,229
Location: Winfield
Sportbike: bikeless
Years Riding: 10
How you found us: Shit, you know I'm a clsb OG!
           
Send a message via AIM to Vcook
VMware is quite pimp, I agree.

Chris
Vcook is offline  
post #16 of 18 (permalink) Old 04-13-2004, 04:52 PM
Head Stepper
 
Pirate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Warrenville
Posts: 4,244
Location: Warrenville
Sportbike: TREKK
Years Riding: 9
How you found us: member referal
           
Send a message via AIM to Pirate Send a message via Yahoo to Pirate
F'in IT guys... They don't do sh*t!

<-------- Jeff


Hey baby! You ever been on the back of an expensive sportbike??


Property of Evil Monkey Racing
Pirate is offline  
post #17 of 18 (permalink) Old 04-13-2004, 05:15 PM
stuck in 6th gear
 
Ernie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Palatine
Posts: 7,632
Location: Palatine
Sportbike: '99 SV650, GSX-R1K2, CRF230F5, '08 HM-S
Years Riding: not enough lately *(&%# work...
How you found us: LBK back in the day
           
win98? geez Nick, why don't ya bitch at some Motorola jerky to get you updated software that runs on XP. I can't believe those idiots are still using phone software that requires 98
Ernie is offline  
post #18 of 18 (permalink) Old 04-13-2004, 05:21 PM
Grasshopper
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Motorola won't even talk to me or anyone here. Some liscensing agreement bullshit.
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Chicagoland Sportbikes forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome