Computer Question - Chicagoland Sportbikes
Chicagoland Sportbikes
 
Open Forum This forum is for all off-topic discussion.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-10-2004, 11:38 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 123
 
Computer Question

After a recent round of retirements, there are a few offices at my work that are empty except for the computers. One computer has a faster processor, more memory, a better cd/dvd drive, and a bigger hard drive. So I was going to switch computers so I could have all that stuff. But, my computer has tons of programs and stuff on it that is not on the new one. I was going to dump most of it on the network and then put it on the new one but that is not working. So my question is, what can I do? I was thinking of switching harddrive's between the two so I could have all the new/better hardware or could I pull the memory and the processor and switch them? The computers are both Dell desktops, old is Gx240 and new is Gx270, so the parts should be compatable right? I dont much about computers, but should be able to handle hardware swaps if i know it will work out in the end. Any ideas or information would be great.
SouthSideTT is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-10-2004, 11:59 AM
Head Stepper
 
Pirate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Warrenville
Posts: 4,244
Location: Warrenville
Sportbike: TREKK
Years Riding: 9
How you found us: member referal
           
Send a message via AIM to Pirate Send a message via Yahoo to Pirate
Your best bet is to pull the memory and processor and switch them. Good luck with moving the hard drive... It contains things that are motherboard, controller, bus specific. You'll have all kinds of errors in device manager and it will be a nightmare. I would suggest you don't switch out your hard drives. IMHO

<-------- Jeff


Hey baby! You ever been on the back of an expensive sportbike??


Property of Evil Monkey Racing
Pirate is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-10-2004, 12:01 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 123
 
I was thinking something like that. I guess if I swap the processor and memory, I will still get most of the new stuff and if I want it all, I can swap the cd/dvd drive too i guess.

Thanks
SouthSideTT is offline  
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-10-2004, 12:04 PM
Joe Momma...
 
JoJo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Oak Park
Posts: 3,822
Location: Oak Park
Sportbike: None
Years Riding: 1,2,4,5 count d'z rocks biatch!
How you found us: member
           
Send a message via AIM to JoJo
If you have XP on both the hard drive swap is your best bet. If you have any driver problems you can just punch in model number at support.dell.com and download them. Pulling the memory wouldn't be that bad but i wouldn't pull the processor.

My name is JB, people call me JB

Quote:
Originally Posted by flinchy
"I wouldn't be surprised to see this guy catch a pass with his ass cheeks"
JoJo is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-10-2004, 12:32 PM
Not a regular at SOW!
 
crash11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: chicago il.
Posts: 1,040
Location: chicago il.
Sportbike: Honda CBR600 F4I
Years Riding: been riding since 90
How you found us: surfing the web
      
Send a message via AIM to crash11
Swap both, but make sure the power is on while your doing it. J/K Just swap the hard drives. Although you might have to configure the BIOS for the other drive that your swapping it with.


crash11 is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-10-2004, 12:48 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 123
 
Os on both computer is windows 2000 professional. Reconfiguring Bios, drivers and other software might be a little time consuming, so I figure I may go with just the memory swap. Why would the processor swap be a prob? Is a special chip removing tool required or something? Thanks for the input all.
SouthSideTT is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-10-2004, 12:54 PM
Pathological Thrill Seekr
 
Deuces's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Pedaling my ass off!
Posts: 5,196
Location: Pedaling my ass off!
Sportbike: Trek Marlin
Years Riding: Noob
How you found us: Followed the fast guys
           
Send a message via AIM to Deuces
If your running 2000 pro... swapping the hard drive shouldn't be too much of a problem. Windows should have most of the drivers already... The rest you can get from Dell.

Ride smart... stupid hurts.

Everyone crashes. Some get back on. Some don't. Some can't...

Godspeed 788!!! We miss you!
Deuces is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 09-10-2004, 01:29 PM
freaking newbies, man there slow, ha ha ha
 
CRAZe Inc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 6,842
Location: San Francisco
Sportbike: Big Wheel
Years Riding: Since 3
How you found us: This is required?
           
Or better yet, keep the existing hard drive in the better machine, and just add yours with all of your stuff on it to that one. Then dig up some old harddrive and put it in the other one that isn't being used. That way there won't be any driver conflicts. If that isn't a possibility, just swap them. Windows normally will auto-install all of the drivers you need anyways.

I would not recommend swapping the processors, that isn't exactly the simplest task in the world. Especially when you have to bust out the manual for the motherboard and figure out which dipswitches you have to set for the new cpu speed. And then there's always the possibility that they're different socket sizes and aren't even compatible.
CRAZe Inc is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Chicagoland Sportbikes forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome