My Computer won't boot. Please help! - Chicagoland Sportbikes
Chicagoland Sportbikes
 
Open Forum This forum is for all off-topic discussion.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 73 (permalink) Old 09-17-2004, 03:07 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 569
           
My Computer won't boot. Please help!

My computer won't boot up normally, but I can get it to boot in safe mode. I have found by making it confirm each step in startup that if I "enable SMARTDRV disk cache" then it doesn't start, but if I click no on that step, it boots up fine.

Also, when I ran scandisk/all, it said "Scandisk encountered a data error while reading the FAT entry for cluster 1249947"

When I start my computer, it cycles through the first two screens normally, the bottom off the second screen says something about "something something DMI data", then it goes to a picture screen of a Windows ME logo, and stays right there. The blue strip at the bottom keeps fading/moving across the bottom, but it won't boot past that screen.

I have ran PCCillin start-up disks, I've scanned for viruses and found nothing but Adware. I've tried running Setup.exe from my CD, but it says it won't do it because of the errors found.

And if its any help in your diagnosis, this started yesterday after I shut it down as it reloaded the desktop screen. I bet my improper shutdown jammed something up.

Do I need the SMARTDRV cache? or FAT cluster 1249947?

I can PM my phone number if it would help expedite repair. Thanks to all,
Rob
drbub22 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 73 (permalink) Old 09-17-2004, 03:10 PM
Rev
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,438
 
Sounds like you have a corrupted FAT table.

Boot up in SAFE mode with SMARTDRV cache disabled, and try running CHKDSK (without the /f parameter) and see if it comes up with any errors.

What Windows version are you running?
Rev is offline  
post #3 of 73 (permalink) Old 09-17-2004, 03:17 PM
Pathological Thrill Seekr
 
Deuces's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Pedaling my ass off!
Posts: 5,196
Location: Pedaling my ass off!
Sportbike: Trek Marlin
Years Riding: Noob
How you found us: Followed the fast guys
           
Send a message via AIM to Deuces
Quote:
Originally posted by RevMatch1
Sounds like you have a corrupted FAT table.

Boot up in SAFE mode with SMARTDRV cache disabled, and try running CHKDSK (without the /f parameter) and see if it comes up with any errors.

What Windows version are you running?
I would say that or maybe your hard drive is taking a dump. Good luck and we'll try and help.

P.s. Rev.. he says it's ME

Ride smart... stupid hurts.

Everyone crashes. Some get back on. Some don't. Some can't...

Godspeed 788!!! We miss you!
Deuces is offline  
post #4 of 73 (permalink) Old 09-17-2004, 03:31 PM
Rev
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,438
 
Can you copy and paste the SMARTDRV command line that is giving you troubles? Should be the default anyway, but I wanna see.

Try running CHKDSK C: or whatever drive is failing and post the results.
Rev is offline  
post #5 of 73 (permalink) Old 09-17-2004, 03:44 PM
Not a regular at SOW!
 
crash11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: chicago il.
Posts: 1,040
Location: chicago il.
Sportbike: Honda CBR600 F4I
Years Riding: been riding since 90
How you found us: surfing the web
      
Send a message via AIM to crash11
How old is your computer and what make is it?

I bet on lunch that the hard drives going bad.



Last edited by crash11; 09-17-2004 at 03:47 PM.
crash11 is offline  
post #6 of 73 (permalink) Old 09-17-2004, 03:49 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 569
           
When I boot up is SAFE mode, then disable the SMARTDRV, it boots right on up.

Are you talking about some other way to disable SMARTDRV?

Yes, its Windows ME.

Thanks for the help!
Rob
drbub22 is offline  
post #7 of 73 (permalink) Old 09-17-2004, 03:52 PM
Rev
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,438
 
Let's see what CHKDSK has to say.

Do you have any other disk repair utilities besides that, just in case?

EDIT: Damn the posts are all scrambled up
Rev is offline  
post #8 of 73 (permalink) Old 09-17-2004, 04:01 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 351
 
However, if I click N at "Enable SMARTDRV disk cache", then it will boot up normally.

Thanks. [/B][/QUOTE]

Then boot it up...back it up...
And do a complete reformat

this will save you a lot of time and headache trying what everyone tells you.
kody7k is offline  
post #9 of 73 (permalink) Old 09-17-2004, 04:09 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 569
           
I can't copy and pate it (The mouse isn't working yet during boot up) but I wrote down what it says.

Process system registry Y/N? I click y
Create Startup file (BOOTLOG.TXT) Y?N I click y
Enable SMARTDRV disk cache Y>N I clicked y
Loading and initializing IFSHLP.SYS
Complete

Then it just stops there.

However, if I click N at "Enable SMARTDRV disk cache", then it will boot up normally.

I'll try to boot up again and run a CHKDSK.

Thanks.
drbub22 is offline  
post #10 of 73 (permalink) Old 09-17-2004, 04:14 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 569
           
Computer is 2 years old, built my Computer Masters in Oklahoma City.
The reciept says "DURON 1000 20G/ 32MVI /128M
56X /56K /MO /KB /SPS180
drbub22 is offline  
post #11 of 73 (permalink) Old 09-17-2004, 04:26 PM
Rev
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,438
 
Classic Windows ... ... "This error cannot be fixed because of another error"

Damn ... Sounds like a uncorrectable FAT error... If so, backup your data ASAP (because you can still boot up) and get a new drive!!
Rev is offline  
post #12 of 73 (permalink) Old 09-17-2004, 04:32 PM
Rev
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,438
 
One last thing. Try running CHKDSK with /F (to attempt to fix errors) ...

BACKUP FIRST

If it says it can fix your errors, go ahead and let it fix it

if it fails .. Fug it ... backup your data ... and try reformatting first ... if format fails, disk is fugged up
Rev is offline  
post #13 of 73 (permalink) Old 09-17-2004, 04:41 PM
Pathological Thrill Seekr
 
Deuces's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Pedaling my ass off!
Posts: 5,196
Location: Pedaling my ass off!
Sportbike: Trek Marlin
Years Riding: Noob
How you found us: Followed the fast guys
           
Send a message via AIM to Deuces
formatting the system should create a new FAT, remedying your problem. If you start with the ME startup disk, there should be a format.com file on it or on the Windows ME CD... the command line is

format c:/u/s

that makes it an unconditional format with the system files for ME on there. If you are going to change your opersting system.. omit the "/s". Also, I would consider going back to Windows 98 SE... I've had nothing but problems with ME. Or, like Mopar said, Build your own and upgrade to XP Pro. Don't forget to do your backup.

Ride smart... stupid hurts.

Everyone crashes. Some get back on. Some don't. Some can't...

Godspeed 788!!! We miss you!
Deuces is offline  
post #14 of 73 (permalink) Old 09-17-2004, 04:41 PM
Rev
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,438
 
Quote:
Originally posted by drbub22
Kody, how do I reformat? do you mean reload the Windows ME setup disk? Or are those different things?

Revmatch and Kody, will the above fix/replace a FAT error? Of is that separate from Windows?

Thanks again,
Rob
(316)524-5558
Rob-

It depends. If its a physical media error (which can happen), then it's trashed.

Backup yer data first

Just do a FORMAT C: /S

The /S parameter will transfer the proper bootup executables and will make your harddrive bootable after the format.

Boot with a floppy that has the FORMAT.COM executable (if you made a boot floppy via Windows, see what the floppy has in it before you attempt to do anything)

Make sure the boot floppy drive you have, matches the correct version of windows, too.

Also, make sure your floppy bootable has your CD drivers in it and your CD works when you boot up, so you can reinstall Windoze; you don't wanna format your PC and later find out you can't do shit with your CDROM drive
Rev is offline  
post #15 of 73 (permalink) Old 09-17-2004, 04:45 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 569
           
OK, I ran CHKDSK in the C:\ drive and here's what it said:
"CHKDSK has NOT checked this drive for errors.
You must use SCANDISK to detect and fix errors."

However, when I run SCANDISK it says:
"Scandisk encountered a data error while reading the FAT entry for cluster 1249947.
This error prevents Scandisk from fixing this error".

Also, if I try to run Scan disk after it boot up, in a Window, all it does is keep restarting itself until a little box says its done it "10 times\do I want to continue".


As far as disk repair utilities are concerned, what I have available is a Startup disk and my Windows ME CD.
drbub22 is offline  
post #16 of 73 (permalink) Old 09-17-2004, 04:54 PM
Not a regular at SOW!
 
crash11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: chicago il.
Posts: 1,040
Location: chicago il.
Sportbike: Honda CBR600 F4I
Years Riding: been riding since 90
How you found us: surfing the web
      
Send a message via AIM to crash11
I think I smell a free lunch coming to me.


crash11 is offline  
post #17 of 73 (permalink) Old 09-17-2004, 04:58 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 569
           
Kody, how do I reformat? do you mean reload the Windows ME setup disk? Or are those different things?

Revmatch and Kody, will the above fix/replace a FAT error? Of is that separate from Windows?

Thanks again,
Rob

Last edited by drbub22; 09-19-2004 at 11:19 AM.
drbub22 is offline  
post #18 of 73 (permalink) Old 09-17-2004, 04:58 PM
CLSB's Florida Chapter.
 
MoparBoyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Apopka, Florida
Posts: 22,652
Location: Apopka, Florida
Sportbike: Ducati
Years Riding: 3 days
How you found us: unemployment office
           
Send a message via AIM to MoparBoyy
throw it out the window.. start over by building your own unit..

-Mopar

1997 Dodge Viper GTS
2013 Dodge Dart Rallye
MoparBoyy is offline  
post #19 of 73 (permalink) Old 09-17-2004, 04:59 PM
Registered User
 
RSV4win's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: NW
Posts: 1,724
Location: NW
Sportbike: 2002
Years Riding: 5
How you found us: sbn- ran into 20bikes riding
         
make a boot disk with the version win your running and try and fdisk /mbr

that may fix without reformat / worth a try.
RSV4win is offline  
post #20 of 73 (permalink) Old 09-17-2004, 05:16 PM
Rev
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,438
 
Favorites folder is located within your profile.

Cant remember for ME, but it should be like:

C:\WINDOWS\Profiles\your_user_name\Favorites
Its just a folder/directory with .url files in it

If you're inside windows and want to see the contents of the floppy, double clikc MY Computer --> A:

If you're in a command line prompt, put the floppy disk in, and type DIR A:

Before formatting, check to see if you can boot your computer and your bootable floppy works, as well as your CD drive. Your format after you boot up with your floppy, you cant format if you're currently using the drive you want to format.

PS. My workday has ended. I'll log back when I get home.

Last edited by Rev; 09-17-2004 at 05:18 PM.
Rev is offline  
post #21 of 73 (permalink) Old 09-17-2004, 05:22 PM
Registered User
 
RSV4win's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: NW
Posts: 1,724
Location: NW
Sportbike: 2002
Years Riding: 5
How you found us: sbn- ran into 20bikes riding
         
try FDISK /MBR 1st its worth a try. see what happens.


It may save you reloading windows.
RSV4win is offline  
post #22 of 73 (permalink) Old 09-17-2004, 05:31 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 569
           
Ok, I've already backed up my important info onto a CD about 3 months ago. Everything since then is not important to save. But I would like to save my Favorites file, if possible. Can you tell me how to do that first?

Rev, How do I find out if my floppy startup disk has an FORMAT.COM executable?

And where do I go and what do I do to run the FORMAT C: /S ?

Thanks,
Rob

Last edited by drbub22; 09-20-2004 at 10:31 AM.
drbub22 is offline  
post #23 of 73 (permalink) Old 09-17-2004, 06:05 PM
BSB > WSBK > MotoGP
 
shadrach's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: South Loop & Cary
Posts: 11,948
Location: South Loop & Cary
Sportbike: '02 GSXR 600 / '98 CBRF3
Years Riding: Since '03
How you found us: Google
           
Quote:
Originally posted by Rev
Favorites folder is located within your profile.

Cant remember for ME, but it should be like:

C:\WINDOWS\Profiles\your_user_name\Favorites
Its just a folder/directory with .url files in it
Unless multiple user profiles are enabled, for 98/ME the location is: C:\Windows\Favorites (or) %systemroot%\favorites

Sounds like the hard drive is on it's way out. For the miminal cost of a new drive (like $60 for a 160GB from OfficeMax/Depot) I'd just ditch that one.

Jeff
NESBA #311
'02 GSXR600
'98
Smokin' Joe's F3
shadrach is offline  
post #24 of 73 (permalink) Old 09-17-2004, 06:11 PM
Registered User
 
RSV4win's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: NW
Posts: 1,724
Location: NW
Sportbike: 2002
Years Riding: 5
How you found us: sbn- ran into 20bikes riding
         
If its on the boot disk you made. fdisk.exe
from the command line. just type FDISK /MBR

you can try from safe mode cmd prompt but not sure it would work.
RSV4win is offline  
post #25 of 73 (permalink) Old 09-17-2004, 06:24 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 569
           
Quote:
Originally posted by Jughead
try FDISK /MBR 1st its worth a try. see what happens.


It may save you reloading windows.
OK, I'll try that. Where do I go and what do I do?

Thanks,
Rob
drbub22 is offline  
post #26 of 73 (permalink) Old 09-17-2004, 06:27 PM
Registered User
 
RSV4win's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: NW
Posts: 1,724
Location: NW
Sportbike: 2002
Years Riding: 5
How you found us: sbn- ran into 20bikes riding
         
look above ^
RSV4win is offline  
post #27 of 73 (permalink) Old 09-17-2004, 10:58 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 351
 
still having problems? I will walk you through the full reformat...let me get my ...ME disk back....tomorrow i will send u pm with my #

custumer support is a min. $25 hook up fee and $5 a mile!
j/k i will pm tomorrow
kody7k is offline  
post #28 of 73 (permalink) Old 09-17-2004, 10:59 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 569
           
Also, I don't see a format.com file on the floppy startup disk.

Any suggestions?

Thanks,
Rob
drbub22 is offline  
post #29 of 73 (permalink) Old 09-17-2004, 11:00 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 569
           
Quote:
Originally posted by kody7k
still having problems? I will walk you through the full reformat...let me get my ...ME disk back....tomorrow i will send u pm with my #

custumer support is a min. $25 hook up fee and $5 a mile!
j/k i will pm tomorrow
Thanks, Kody, you're a lifesaver!
drbub22 is offline  
post #30 of 73 (permalink) Old 09-17-2004, 11:06 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 569
           
I saved a few recent files over to my old hard drive disk, which I have kept installed as D drive.

I started it again, and typed in FDISK /MBR, in both C: and A: Nothing happened. It didn't tell be bad command or anything, but in 2 seconds it just offered me the next prompt line. And its still not booting.

Any suggestions?

Rob

Last edited by drbub22; 09-20-2004 at 10:30 AM.
drbub22 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Chicagoland Sportbikes forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome