Computer Question - Chicagoland Sportbikes
Chicagoland Sportbikes
 
Open Forum This forum is for all off-topic discussion.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 23 (permalink) Old 09-07-2002, 09:44 PM Thread Starter
Doc
Registered User
 
Doc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Bourbonnais, IL
Posts: 1,560
Location: Bourbonnais, IL
Sportbike: 2006 Lemond Zurich
Years Riding: since the age of 4
How you found us: SBN...back in the day!
           
Send a message via AIM to Doc
Computer Question

My computer has been acting sort of quirky lately. I am going to clear the harddrive and start all over. However, I have never done this, I don't know how to go about doing it, I don't know what I need to make disks of (save), and I don't know what a pain in the ass it is.

Also, if you have any suggestions prior to doing this such as... you will lose all your stored email and email contacts, etc. (BTW...will I?)


Thanks,


Doc

2006 Lemond Zurich

"A man who dares to waste an hour of life has not discovered the value of life."-Darwin
Doc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 23 (permalink) Old 09-07-2002, 09:52 PM
Jim
Tgf Og
 
Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: lith
Posts: 9,851
Location: lith
Sportbike: trek
Years Riding: 2
How you found us: the smell
           
first why dont you tell us what your computer is doing, scrubbing the hard drive and starting over should be the last measure. do you regularly run a disk clean up and a disk defrag? doing both of those first should help make the computer run better.

Join the NRA, help protect our Second Amendment rights
GO Bears!!!!!!!!
Jim is offline  
post #3 of 23 (permalink) Old 09-07-2002, 09:59 PM Thread Starter
Doc
Registered User
 
Doc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Bourbonnais, IL
Posts: 1,560
Location: Bourbonnais, IL
Sportbike: 2006 Lemond Zurich
Years Riding: since the age of 4
How you found us: SBN...back in the day!
           
Send a message via AIM to Doc
Defrag. yes...clean up?

The computer keeps locking up when try to do multiple tasks (ie. print and go to different internet site). Also, the computer locks up on sites like NESBA where you click on events and it brings up a new window. Also, it won't let me print sometimes.

In the past week it's been locking up way too much. I'm going to do a disk clean up, but I just would like to get rid of a lot of dead files/folders. Figured starting over would be the way to go. Also, I don't know how the clean up thingy works, but I will find out in a min.


Doc

2006 Lemond Zurich

"A man who dares to waste an hour of life has not discovered the value of life."-Darwin
Doc is offline  
post #4 of 23 (permalink) Old 09-07-2002, 10:01 PM
Who's faster Lupi
 
Champ91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Lake in the Hills, IL
Posts: 4,957
Location: Lake in the Hills, IL
Sportbike: 2004 ZX10R & 2005 CRF50
Years Riding: 20
How you found us: SBN
           
jims right whats the problem that makes you want to dump the drive?

NESBA #456 Intermediate
Always 1 step ahead of Lupi. 1:24:7 BHF
And 1 step behind Kimmy

"SoB gets to spend yet ANOTHER season faster than me." -LUPI-
Champ91 is offline  
post #5 of 23 (permalink) Old 09-07-2002, 10:04 PM
CLSB SuperHero
 
TerminatorR1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Crest Hill...didnt think you've heard of it
Posts: 1,808
Location: Crest Hill...didnt think you've heard of it
Sportbike: None right now
Years Riding: since '95
How you found us: friend
  
how often do you defrag? how big is the hard drive? how many gigs are used on the hard drive? have you done a scan disk recently? have you installed any new programs recently?

Life is too short to ride anything but an R1

In memory of FastBlueR1...RIP

TerminatorR1 is offline  
post #6 of 23 (permalink) Old 09-07-2002, 10:09 PM Thread Starter
Doc
Registered User
 
Doc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Bourbonnais, IL
Posts: 1,560
Location: Bourbonnais, IL
Sportbike: 2006 Lemond Zurich
Years Riding: since the age of 4
How you found us: SBN...back in the day!
           
Send a message via AIM to Doc
Quote:
Originally posted by TerminatorR1
how often do you defrag? how big is the hard drive? how many gigs are used on the hard drive? have you done a scan disk recently? have you installed any new programs recently?
Well, I defrag. about one a month or every other month. The hard drive is 9.5 GB and I am using 6.5 GB. I just deleted all the temp. files and temp. internet files and that gave me double the free space than I had before the disk cleanup was done. And no, I haven't installed any new programs in over a month.


Doc

2006 Lemond Zurich

"A man who dares to waste an hour of life has not discovered the value of life."-Darwin
Doc is offline  
post #7 of 23 (permalink) Old 09-07-2002, 10:16 PM
Cuddlie as a koala
 
YZFRob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Where its free.
Posts: 7,511
Location: Where its free.
Sportbike: Which bike?
Years Riding: Too long.
How you found us: Ken offered me money to join.
           
Doc, is there a Compaq logo on the puter?D

I'm not crazy, my mother had me tested.
YZFRob is offline  
post #8 of 23 (permalink) Old 09-07-2002, 10:28 PM Thread Starter
Doc
Registered User
 
Doc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Bourbonnais, IL
Posts: 1,560
Location: Bourbonnais, IL
Sportbike: 2006 Lemond Zurich
Years Riding: since the age of 4
How you found us: SBN...back in the day!
           
Send a message via AIM to Doc
Quote:
Originally posted by YZFRob
Doc, is there a Compaq logo on the puter?D
Rob, we're not talking about that tatoo on your ass that you would rather not talk about, but explains a lot J/K

BTW- It's a Dell Dimension 4100.


Doc

2006 Lemond Zurich

"A man who dares to waste an hour of life has not discovered the value of life."-Darwin
Doc is offline  
post #9 of 23 (permalink) Old 09-07-2002, 11:07 PM
Please attend carefully..
 
Norseman82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Chicago (NW side) 60707
Posts: 2,625
Location: Chicago (NW side) 60707
Sportbike: 2000 ZX6R (the green one!)
Years Riding: 2000
How you found us: I've been here a while...
           
Do you have enough memory?

What version of Windows are you running?

If you DO reformat the hard drive, do you have a CD or DVD burner? If you save what is important on your hard drive (your emails and address books should be stored in a folder) onto the CD or DVD, it should be simple to copy it back to the hard drive, but I would suggest running it through some up-to-date anti-virus software first.

Just a few thoughts.

"Stupidity is also a gift of God, but one mustn't misuse it." - JP2

"Life is just a place where we spend time between games" - former Philadelphia Flyers coach Fred Shero

"everyone's a nutjob, some just have more restraint than others" - EndlessRR
Norseman82 is offline  
post #10 of 23 (permalink) Old 09-07-2002, 11:12 PM Thread Starter
Doc
Registered User
 
Doc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Bourbonnais, IL
Posts: 1,560
Location: Bourbonnais, IL
Sportbike: 2006 Lemond Zurich
Years Riding: since the age of 4
How you found us: SBN...back in the day!
           
Send a message via AIM to Doc
Quote:
Originally posted by Norseman82
Do you have enough memory?

What version of Windows are you running?

If you DO reformat the hard drive, do you have a CD or DVD burner? If you save what is important on your hard drive (your emails and address books should be stored in a folder) onto the CD or DVD, it should be simple to copy it back to the hard drive, but I would suggest running it through some up-to-date anti-virus software first.

Just a few thoughts.
I am running Windows 98 Second edition.

I do have a CD burner.

How do you go about reformating your harddrive. Sorry, I am clueless. I've never done it before.


Thanks,

Doc

2006 Lemond Zurich

"A man who dares to waste an hour of life has not discovered the value of life."-Darwin
Doc is offline  
post #11 of 23 (permalink) Old 09-07-2002, 11:44 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 18
 
Doc,

I think if you really want to redo the drive, you may want to invest in a new hard drive. They are relatively cheap and that way you can keep your data intact on the original drive. I am not sure how Dell deals with home PC's if you wipe out the hard drive. In the past, they would give you a hard time with the warranty. There are also ways to export your e-mail and address book from Outlook if that is what your using.
FirehawkF4 is offline  
post #12 of 23 (permalink) Old 09-07-2002, 11:52 PM Thread Starter
Doc
Registered User
 
Doc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Bourbonnais, IL
Posts: 1,560
Location: Bourbonnais, IL
Sportbike: 2006 Lemond Zurich
Years Riding: since the age of 4
How you found us: SBN...back in the day!
           
Send a message via AIM to Doc
I'm actually using AOL...but not for long. Finally doing the switch to cable (sick of waiting for DSL).

Anyway, what is so bad about reformatting the harddrive? I have all the disks from when I bought the thing and started it up. I really don't want to spend the dough on a new harddrive for a couple of reasons.

1. It will cost me money.

2. I know how to turn on the computer, make do what I want it to do (for the most part), and thats about it.



I do understand having a second harddrive would be sweet and cover my ass, but I do have a computer at school that is soley mine. So, if I really screw up mine at home, I can use the one there. However, I would have to deal with the boss (read: wife)


Doc

2006 Lemond Zurich

"A man who dares to waste an hour of life has not discovered the value of life."-Darwin
Doc is offline  
post #13 of 23 (permalink) Old 09-08-2002, 12:07 AM
Work In Progress...
 
BuzByU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Chicago-Midway Airport
Posts: 2,003
Location: Chicago-Midway Airport
Sportbike: 2005 Harley Night Train
Years Riding: I dunno ?
How you found us: Been around a couple years
     
Send a message via MSN to BuzByU
Doc ,
I Am no puter genious, but it is very easy to set up a new hard drive. You have a really small drive, 9.5 is almost like historic. With then new programs that are coming out now, it would be worth it to put in a new drive. I just put in a 80Gig...for like $129.00 Plus the new drives are alot faster than the old..somethng to think aobut if you are going to re-format anyway.????

2005 Harley Night Train
2001 Golf GTI VR6 - Super Charged-Intercooler, Nitrous = 305 HP... stage 4 to come soon! .. can you say 400? HP? in a Go Kart!
1999 Ford SVT Lightning - Super Charged @ 600 ponies

Yea I am compensating..



Gregg
BuzByU is offline  
post #14 of 23 (permalink) Old 09-08-2002, 12:11 AM Thread Starter
Doc
Registered User
 
Doc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Bourbonnais, IL
Posts: 1,560
Location: Bourbonnais, IL
Sportbike: 2006 Lemond Zurich
Years Riding: since the age of 4
How you found us: SBN...back in the day!
           
Send a message via AIM to Doc
$129.00!!!!! That's a trackday!!!


Doc

2006 Lemond Zurich

"A man who dares to waste an hour of life has not discovered the value of life."-Darwin
Doc is offline  
post #15 of 23 (permalink) Old 09-08-2002, 12:40 AM
Who's faster Lupi
 
Champ91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Lake in the Hills, IL
Posts: 4,957
Location: Lake in the Hills, IL
Sportbike: 2004 ZX10R & 2005 CRF50
Years Riding: 20
How you found us: SBN
           
actually thats several track days for the computer. is really a good investment. Can use the existing HD as a secondary drive. Set the new one up as primary and then transfer over the data you want and then format the old drive. Been there done that several times.

NESBA #456 Intermediate
Always 1 step ahead of Lupi. 1:24:7 BHF
And 1 step behind Kimmy

"SoB gets to spend yet ANOTHER season faster than me." -LUPI-
Champ91 is offline  
post #16 of 23 (permalink) Old 09-08-2002, 01:17 PM
Please attend carefully..
 
Norseman82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Chicago (NW side) 60707
Posts: 2,625
Location: Chicago (NW side) 60707
Sportbike: 2000 ZX6R (the green one!)
Years Riding: 2000
How you found us: I've been here a while...
           
Quote:
Originally posted by Doc
I'm actually using AOL

With AOL your address book is saved in the "idb" folder. The emails are saved either there or in the "organize" folder.

"Stupidity is also a gift of God, but one mustn't misuse it." - JP2

"Life is just a place where we spend time between games" - former Philadelphia Flyers coach Fred Shero

"everyone's a nutjob, some just have more restraint than others" - EndlessRR
Norseman82 is offline  
post #17 of 23 (permalink) Old 09-08-2002, 02:06 PM Thread Starter
Doc
Registered User
 
Doc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Bourbonnais, IL
Posts: 1,560
Location: Bourbonnais, IL
Sportbike: 2006 Lemond Zurich
Years Riding: since the age of 4
How you found us: SBN...back in the day!
           
Send a message via AIM to Doc
Well, so far no problems since the disk clean up and defrag. Maybe I should do that more often.

Michael, lets wait until you have to have your oil changed or something. That way the drive will less painful


Doc

2006 Lemond Zurich

"A man who dares to waste an hour of life has not discovered the value of life."-Darwin
Doc is offline  
post #18 of 23 (permalink) Old 09-08-2002, 07:25 PM
Registered User
 
jcc_rr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: South Suburbs
Posts: 329
Location: South Suburbs
           
Sounds like you've fixed it, but here is something else you might want to try.

A couple of months ago I was having the same problem. About 50% of the time when I would click on a link that opened another browser window (like the NESBA site) and my computer would lock up. Really annoying!!! Something running in the background was messing with my PC.

I found some free software from:

http://www.lavasoft.nu/index.html

it detects and deletes spyware from your computer. After I ran this the problem went away.

Anyway... just a thought. Never hurts to check.

2011 Suzuki GSXR750
2001 Suzuki GSXR600
jcc_rr is offline  
post #19 of 23 (permalink) Old 09-08-2002, 08:11 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,495
 
Quote:
Originally posted by Doc
I'm actually using AOL...but not for long. Finally doing the switch to cable (sick of waiting for DSL).


Doc
I was havign similar problems and i think AOL was the root cause along with maybe a virus.

I've reformatted my laptop at least 4 times in the last few years.
I'm not a pro but I've done it a few times.

You need to do it from DOS and have one of those Windows recovery boot disks to brign the system back up again. The boot disk mainly allows use of the CD Rom dive so you can read the Windows CD.

Just restart in DOS. type "format", then "C:\", type "Y" for yes.

I do have trouble getting the system back sometimes. If you serach around the directories on the windows CD in DOS you can usually find the installer program.
cherrypicker is offline  
post #20 of 23 (permalink) Old 09-08-2002, 08:35 PM Thread Starter
Doc
Registered User
 
Doc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Bourbonnais, IL
Posts: 1,560
Location: Bourbonnais, IL
Sportbike: 2006 Lemond Zurich
Years Riding: since the age of 4
How you found us: SBN...back in the day!
           
Send a message via AIM to Doc
Quote:
Originally posted by jcc_rr
I found some free software from:

http://www.lavasoft.nu/index.html

it detects and deletes spyware from your computer. After I ran this the problem went away.

Anyway... just a thought. Never hurts to check.
Thanks! I am going to install it tonight. I think that might be part of the problem too.


Doc

2006 Lemond Zurich

"A man who dares to waste an hour of life has not discovered the value of life."-Darwin
Doc is offline  
post #21 of 23 (permalink) Old 09-08-2002, 08:42 PM
Administrator
 
HDTony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Plainfield IL
Posts: 45,956
Location: Plainfield IL
Sportbike: A couple of pasta rockets
Years Riding: Since 1989
How you found us: In the beginning there was CLSB and Tony saw that it was good.
           
Send a message via AIM to HDTony
hit start then run. Type msconfig and then click on the start up tab. See how much shit you have thats coming on at start up. I am putting money on the fact that you will have a shitload of boxes checked. If thats the case go trough and shut most of them down. all you really need in there is systray and explorer mainly, and you can pick and choose from any others that you may want on like webshots for instance.clearing that out will also speed up your boot time and free up some available memory.




HDTony.... Damn glad to meet you!

Government's view of the economy could be summed up in a few short phrases: If it moves, tax it. If it keeps moving, regulate it. And if it stops moving, subsidize it.

- Ronald Reagan

AirTek Heating & Air inc.
HDTony is offline  
post #22 of 23 (permalink) Old 09-08-2002, 08:50 PM Thread Starter
Doc
Registered User
 
Doc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Bourbonnais, IL
Posts: 1,560
Location: Bourbonnais, IL
Sportbike: 2006 Lemond Zurich
Years Riding: since the age of 4
How you found us: SBN...back in the day!
           
Send a message via AIM to Doc
Quote:
Originally posted by GsxrTony
hit start then run. Type msconfig and then click on the start up tab. See how much shit you have thats coming on at start up. I am putting money on the fact that you will have a shitload of boxes checked. If thats the case go trough and shut most of them down. all you really need in there is systray and explorer mainly, and you can pick and choose from any others that you may want on like webshots for instance.clearing that out will also speed up your boot time and free up some available memory.
Thanks Tony!!! I will kiss your ring next time I see ya Shit, I had all of the boxes checked. Not anymore though. You da' man! (even though my wife can out box ya at D&B )


Doc

2006 Lemond Zurich

"A man who dares to waste an hour of life has not discovered the value of life."-Darwin
Doc is offline  
post #23 of 23 (permalink) Old 09-08-2002, 09:36 PM
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 38
 
Quote:
Originally posted by Champ91
actually thats several track days for the computer. is really a good investment. Can use the existing HD as a secondary drive. Set the new one up as primary and then transfer over the data you want and then format the old drive. Been there done that several times.
Rock on! That is the ticket. Plus, while you have it running, export your, favorites, contacts and address book to a file and then import it into your newly installed programs. I know it's not a big deal with outlook express and ie.
dave333 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Chicagoland Sportbikes forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome