TV Remotes?? - Chicagoland Sportbikes
Chicagoland Sportbikes
 
Open Forum This forum is for all off-topic discussion.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 37 (permalink) Old 03-17-2005, 08:29 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
2weelpilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Spring Grove, IL
Posts: 18,082
Location: Spring Grove, IL
Sportbike: yz250f
Years Riding: 25 years
How you found us: dont recall
           
TV Remotes??

Which ones do you guys have and like? I need it to run the Direct TV, VCR,DVD and TV. If your going to recommend something that has lasers and neon and touch screen and voice recognition and a mirror to look at yourself and a thumbprint ID key and a seatbelt = then move along! Your opinion is not needed here My only prerequisite is that it is backlit.
Ideas?

Mike

When the tailgate drops..the bullshit stops
Hunt ethically - Hunt with a trained Retriever !
2weelpilot is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 37 (permalink) Old 03-17-2005, 08:33 PM
YO MAMA
 
Odysseys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: balls deep in someones mom
Posts: 60,261
Location: balls deep in someones mom
Sportbike: 2010 Electra Glide Police Edition 103cu
Years Riding: a long time!
           
walmart 30 bucks.

runco 3000.00

take your pick.



Odysseys is offline  
post #3 of 37 (permalink) Old 03-17-2005, 09:47 PM
Administrator
 
HDTony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Plainfield IL
Posts: 45,956
Location: Plainfield IL
Sportbike: A couple of pasta rockets
Years Riding: Since 1989
How you found us: In the beginning there was CLSB and Tony saw that it was good.
           
Send a message via AIM to HDTony
Go too tweeter, its gonna cost ya though, the 1 I have is 300 bucks and is a backlite touchscreen that you program on a laptop. and mine is a piece of shit, the one I want is a grand. right now I have the philips neo something or other. It is really is a cool unit, but the touchscreens keep dying on me, although tweeter has been awesome about it, they have replaced it everytime, and this time even though the unit is 3 years old, they offered me full credit if I wanted to buy the bigger one.

and let me tell you that one is bad ass. he had it set up to adjust the lighting and temperature in the room also.

But once you get one of these you will forget how to operate everything. My entire system turns on with the touch of one button, and if I want to swtich sources like say from watching a dvd and go back to satelite, its one button which switches my tv and stereo back to the other system.




HDTony.... Damn glad to meet you!

Government's view of the economy could be summed up in a few short phrases: If it moves, tax it. If it keeps moving, regulate it. And if it stops moving, subsidize it.

- Ronald Reagan

AirTek Heating & Air inc.

Last edited by HDTony; 03-17-2005 at 09:51 PM.
HDTony is offline  
post #4 of 37 (permalink) Old 03-17-2005, 09:51 PM
BSB > WSBK > MotoGP
 
shadrach's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: South Loop & Cary
Posts: 11,948
Location: South Loop & Cary
Sportbike: '02 GSXR 600 / '98 CBRF3
Years Riding: Since '03
How you found us: Google
           
This is the bad boy

Jeff
NESBA #311
'02 GSXR600
'98
Smokin' Joe's F3
shadrach is offline  
post #5 of 37 (permalink) Old 03-17-2005, 09:53 PM
YO MAMA
 
Odysseys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: balls deep in someones mom
Posts: 60,261
Location: balls deep in someones mom
Sportbike: 2010 Electra Glide Police Edition 103cu
Years Riding: a long time!
           
sorry my bro has that sony and imho its a pos.



Odysseys is offline  
post #6 of 37 (permalink) Old 03-17-2005, 10:18 PM
stuck in 6th gear
 
Ernie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Palatine
Posts: 7,632
Location: Palatine
Sportbike: '99 SV650, GSX-R1K2, CRF230F5, '08 HM-S
Years Riding: not enough lately *(&%# work...
How you found us: LBK back in the day
           
touch screen remotes suck. I thought it'd be a cool toy when I was shopping for remotes a few years back. Ended up with a philips pronto for about a week and hated it. I ended up getting a Marantz RC2000mkII. Nowadays they have remotes with similar capabilities but for around $100.

Check out the reviews at www.remotecentral.com
Ernie is offline  
post #7 of 37 (permalink) Old 03-17-2005, 10:37 PM
BSB > WSBK > MotoGP
 
shadrach's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: South Loop & Cary
Posts: 11,948
Location: South Loop & Cary
Sportbike: '02 GSXR 600 / '98 CBRF3
Years Riding: Since '03
How you found us: Google
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by Odysseys
sorry my bro has that sony and imho its a pos.
Why do you think so?

I have crazy Macros programmed and it controls everything, including my Xbox Media PLayer

Jeff
NESBA #311
'02 GSXR600
'98
Smokin' Joe's F3
shadrach is offline  
post #8 of 37 (permalink) Old 03-17-2005, 11:20 PM
YO MAMA
 
Odysseys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: balls deep in someones mom
Posts: 60,261
Location: balls deep in someones mom
Sportbike: 2010 Electra Glide Police Edition 103cu
Years Riding: a long time!
           
i guess i am more use to my old remote i had i love it, looks like someone bought them out UCommand 515 Remote Control
i dont mean to diss it, but i found this unit to be better for me.



Odysseys is offline  
post #9 of 37 (permalink) Old 03-17-2005, 11:24 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 317
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Odysseys
sorry my bro has that sony and imho its a pos.
+1 i just didnt like the way it functioned and it took FOREVER to program...

Check out tweeter they got sweet remotes and this region has some of the best install teams around i used to work for them and i quit but i recomend them to everyone and if you want car install stuff let me know i know the right installers to talk to
Zgradis is offline  
post #10 of 37 (permalink) Old 03-18-2005, 07:34 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
2weelpilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Spring Grove, IL
Posts: 18,082
Location: Spring Grove, IL
Sportbike: yz250f
Years Riding: 25 years
How you found us: dont recall
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zgradis
+1 i just didnt like the way it functioned and it took FOREVER to program...

Check out tweeter they got sweet remotes and this region has some of the best install teams around i used to work for them and i quit but i recomend them to everyone and if you want car install stuff let me know i know the right installers to talk to
excuse me....did you just say Ill need an install team for my remote??
I think Ill keep shopping around

Mike

When the tailgate drops..the bullshit stops
Hunt ethically - Hunt with a trained Retriever !
2weelpilot is offline  
post #11 of 37 (permalink) Old 03-18-2005, 07:36 AM
Administrator
 
HDTony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Plainfield IL
Posts: 45,956
Location: Plainfield IL
Sportbike: A couple of pasta rockets
Years Riding: Since 1989
How you found us: In the beginning there was CLSB and Tony saw that it was good.
           
Send a message via AIM to HDTony
The sony is nice if youve never used another one. But the lack o a pc interface and software kills it in my opinion, at least withmy pronto, I can design the touchscreen on my laptop and make whatever buttons I want and put together macros right on the PC then just upload everything to the remote. also whats nice is doing it that way you have a back up in case the unit craps out, when I replaced mine I brought it home pluged it in, hit upload andd I was back in business.




HDTony.... Damn glad to meet you!

Government's view of the economy could be summed up in a few short phrases: If it moves, tax it. If it keeps moving, regulate it. And if it stops moving, subsidize it.

- Ronald Reagan

AirTek Heating & Air inc.
HDTony is offline  
post #12 of 37 (permalink) Old 03-18-2005, 07:47 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
2weelpilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Spring Grove, IL
Posts: 18,082
Location: Spring Grove, IL
Sportbike: yz250f
Years Riding: 25 years
How you found us: dont recall
           
I can see that Ill be at Wally World this weekend picking out a new $30 piece

Mike

When the tailgate drops..the bullshit stops
Hunt ethically - Hunt with a trained Retriever !
2weelpilot is offline  
post #13 of 37 (permalink) Old 03-18-2005, 07:50 AM
Administrator
 
HDTony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Plainfield IL
Posts: 45,956
Location: Plainfield IL
Sportbike: A couple of pasta rockets
Years Riding: Since 1989
How you found us: In the beginning there was CLSB and Tony saw that it was good.
           
Send a message via AIM to HDTony
Heres the mack daddy for ya http://www.remotecentral.com/ureview/94.htm




HDTony.... Damn glad to meet you!

Government's view of the economy could be summed up in a few short phrases: If it moves, tax it. If it keeps moving, regulate it. And if it stops moving, subsidize it.

- Ronald Reagan

AirTek Heating & Air inc.
HDTony is offline  
post #14 of 37 (permalink) Old 03-18-2005, 07:57 AM
Administrator
 
HDTony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Plainfield IL
Posts: 45,956
Location: Plainfield IL
Sportbike: A couple of pasta rockets
Years Riding: Since 1989
How you found us: In the beginning there was CLSB and Tony saw that it was good.
           
Send a message via AIM to HDTony
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2weelpilot
excuse me....did you just say Ill need an install team for my remote??
I think Ill keep shopping around


You dont need an install team, just fire it up on the computer, it only took me a day to build mine




HDTony.... Damn glad to meet you!

Government's view of the economy could be summed up in a few short phrases: If it moves, tax it. If it keeps moving, regulate it. And if it stops moving, subsidize it.

- Ronald Reagan

AirTek Heating & Air inc.
HDTony is offline  
post #15 of 37 (permalink) Old 03-18-2005, 08:05 AM
Is this Russia?
 
MadMax1996's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Round Lake, IL
Posts: 777
Location: Round Lake, IL
Sportbike: Formerly a Bandit 1200S
Years Riding: Since '94
How you found us: your mom
           
Send a message via Yahoo to MadMax1996
I don't think I could drop $100 on a remote - my dog would have it chewed up in a matter of minutes. He seems to be attracted to expensive electronics. He's already gone through a couple remotes, cordless phones, and my Nextel from work.

Thankfully he's past that stage and we've learned the hard way and now keep that stuff out of reach.
MadMax1996 is offline  
post #16 of 37 (permalink) Old 03-18-2005, 09:39 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 552
           
Damn a grand for a remote? I think I'll get off the couch more. Maybe have the kids change channels, cept we'd only be watching the Disney flavor of the week.
YTRAP is offline  
post #17 of 37 (permalink) Old 03-18-2005, 09:47 AM
Registered User
 
Kruz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: West of 59, North of 88
Posts: 18,885
Location: West of 59, North of 88
Sportbike: 05 CRF50
Years Riding: "Since 1992"
How you found us: You found me
           
Mike...Ive had this one for about a year....awesome remote.
http://www.remotecentral.com/mx500/index.html

Very easy to program, 3 macros, editable LCD screen, backlit etc.

I found it online for about $100...s/b cheaper now.
Kruz is offline  
post #18 of 37 (permalink) Old 03-18-2005, 09:58 AM
BSB > WSBK > MotoGP
 
shadrach's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: South Loop & Cary
Posts: 11,948
Location: South Loop & Cary
Sportbike: '02 GSXR 600 / '98 CBRF3
Years Riding: Since '03
How you found us: Google
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDTony
The sony is nice if youve never used another one. But the lack o a pc interface and software kills it in my opinion, at least withmy pronto, I can design the touchscreen on my laptop and make whatever buttons I want and put together macros right on the PC then just upload everything to the remote. also whats nice is doing it that way you have a back up in case the unit craps out, when I replaced mine I brought it home pluged it in, hit upload andd I was back in business.


ooooooooohhhhhhwwww! That sounds neat; I don't look forward to reprogramming the Sony come to think of it...

Jeff
NESBA #311
'02 GSXR600
'98
Smokin' Joe's F3
shadrach is offline  
post #19 of 37 (permalink) Old 03-18-2005, 10:15 AM
Administrator
 
HDTony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Plainfield IL
Posts: 45,956
Location: Plainfield IL
Sportbike: A couple of pasta rockets
Years Riding: Since 1989
How you found us: In the beginning there was CLSB and Tony saw that it was good.
           
Send a message via AIM to HDTony
Quote:
Originally Posted by shadrach
ooooooooohhhhhhwwww! That sounds neat; I don't look forward to reprogramming the Sony come to think of it...
Yup the lack of a PC interface is the only thing keeping me away form the Sony. otherwise I really like them.




HDTony.... Damn glad to meet you!

Government's view of the economy could be summed up in a few short phrases: If it moves, tax it. If it keeps moving, regulate it. And if it stops moving, subsidize it.

- Ronald Reagan

AirTek Heating & Air inc.
HDTony is offline  
post #20 of 37 (permalink) Old 07-11-2005, 02:22 PM
BSB > WSBK > MotoGP
 
shadrach's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: South Loop & Cary
Posts: 11,948
Location: South Loop & Cary
Sportbike: '02 GSXR 600 / '98 CBRF3
Years Riding: Since '03
How you found us: Google
           
Revisting this old thread after my new plasma purchase yesterday.

Anyone have the Logitech Harmony line of remotes? The 680 is looking real nice to me, and the web progamming features looks much more user friendly (and backup-able) than the Sony remotes.

Jeff
NESBA #311
'02 GSXR600
'98
Smokin' Joe's F3
shadrach is offline  
post #21 of 37 (permalink) Old 07-12-2005, 12:04 AM
Registered User
 
Fully's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Chicago , IL
Posts: 272
Location: Chicago , IL
Sportbike: 2K6 600RR
Years Riding: Few Days
How you found us: I know a guy , that knows a guy
 
Send a message via AIM to Fully
If your a true player and have a high end Tv and High end stereo then you need the Logitech Harmony 880. It retails for $250 and works great easy to use. I can program my A/c , Fan , Tv, Cable Box , Tivo and still have room for more. But its only worth it if youre going to use all of its features like me. Plus Im a gadget freak and have to have everything. Stay away from Prontos they suck and have to be manually programed.
The Harmony 880 is all programmed online and never outdated plus its so simple to use.

Xbox Live Gamertag : Fully Xtreme

Playstation 3 Network : FullyXtreme

myspace.com/veteranelite

Last edited by Fully; 07-12-2005 at 12:08 AM.
Fully is offline  
post #22 of 37 (permalink) Old 07-12-2005, 12:14 AM
Registered User
 
Fully's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Chicago , IL
Posts: 272
Location: Chicago , IL
Sportbike: 2K6 600RR
Years Riding: Few Days
How you found us: I know a guy , that knows a guy
 
Send a message via AIM to Fully
Quote:
Originally Posted by shadrach
Revisting this old thread after my new plasma purchase yesterday.

Anyone have the Logitech Harmony line of remotes? The 680 is looking real nice to me, and the web progamming features looks much more user friendly (and backup-able) than the Sony remotes.

I see you purchased the same Plasma as mine .. Good Choice. Now its time for a remote .. Harmony 880 is by far the best Ive seen and you can still program your Xbox , Ps2 , Comcast Hd/Dvr , Direct Tv and even your climate controls if they allready have a remote. Im telling you they are easy never outdated and look pretty damn cool unlike the Sony gameboy thing.

Xbox Live Gamertag : Fully Xtreme

Playstation 3 Network : FullyXtreme

myspace.com/veteranelite
Fully is offline  
post #23 of 37 (permalink) Old 07-12-2005, 01:10 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 4,761
           
Where's the remote?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fully
I see you purchased the same Plasma as mine .. Good Choice. Now its time for a remote .. Harmony 880 is by far the best Ive seen and you can still program your Xbox , Ps2 , Comcast Hd/Dvr , Direct Tv and even your climate controls if they allready have a remote. Im telling you they are easy never outdated and look pretty damn cool unlike the Sony gameboy thing.
I was about to come in with this but I see ya beat me to it. Amazing howl far Logitech has come.
Loki_D_Wolf is offline  
post #24 of 37 (permalink) Old 07-12-2005, 02:15 AM
Registered User
 
Fully's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Chicago , IL
Posts: 272
Location: Chicago , IL
Sportbike: 2K6 600RR
Years Riding: Few Days
How you found us: I know a guy , that knows a guy
 
Send a message via AIM to Fully
Quote:
Originally Posted by Loki_D_Wolf
I was about to come in with this but I see ya beat me to it. Amazing howl far Logitech has come.

Hahah well after a lil toollin around I finally decided to keep the remote and Im very happy. The best recommendation by far Loki. If it wasnt for you I wouldnt own the best damn remote ever.

Xbox Live Gamertag : Fully Xtreme

Playstation 3 Network : FullyXtreme

myspace.com/veteranelite
Fully is offline  
post #25 of 37 (permalink) Old 07-12-2005, 07:23 AM
BSB > WSBK > MotoGP
 
shadrach's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: South Loop & Cary
Posts: 11,948
Location: South Loop & Cary
Sportbike: '02 GSXR 600 / '98 CBRF3
Years Riding: Since '03
How you found us: Google
           
I was actually planning on getting the 680 (about $100 online), I think $250 is a bit steep, and I don't have any remote-controlled lights/fans/climate control.

As long as I can teach the remote IR signals from other sources (like the Xbox remote) so I can control XBMC and other hacked stuff, then I'm set. I've done it with the Sony remotes, but programming those things take a clear mind and halkf an afternoon lol

Jeff
NESBA #311
'02 GSXR600
'98
Smokin' Joe's F3
shadrach is offline  
post #26 of 37 (permalink) Old 07-12-2005, 07:42 AM
Administrator
 
HDTony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Plainfield IL
Posts: 45,956
Location: Plainfield IL
Sportbike: A couple of pasta rockets
Years Riding: Since 1989
How you found us: In the beginning there was CLSB and Tony saw that it was good.
           
Send a message via AIM to HDTony
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fully
If your a true player and have a high end Tv and High end stereo then you need the Logitech Harmony 880. It retails for $250 and works great easy to use. I can program my A/c , Fan , Tv, Cable Box , Tivo and still have room for more. But its only worth it if youre going to use all of its features like me. Plus Im a gadget freak and have to have everything. Stay away from Prontos they suck and have to be manually programed.
The Harmony 880 is all programmed online and never outdated plus its so simple to use.
Friggin awesome!!! I have found my new remote. I have gone back to having a coffee table full of remotes after my third pronto crapped out again. I wasnt buying a new one and all the other ones in this price range sucked, theres no way I was buying the 1000 dollar one I wanted, I would buy another assualt weapon instead.

Excellent info guys. Thanks




HDTony.... Damn glad to meet you!

Government's view of the economy could be summed up in a few short phrases: If it moves, tax it. If it keeps moving, regulate it. And if it stops moving, subsidize it.

- Ronald Reagan

AirTek Heating & Air inc.
HDTony is offline  
post #27 of 37 (permalink) Old 07-24-2005, 12:49 PM
Administrator
 
HDTony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Plainfield IL
Posts: 45,956
Location: Plainfield IL
Sportbike: A couple of pasta rockets
Years Riding: Since 1989
How you found us: In the beginning there was CLSB and Tony saw that it was good.
           
Send a message via AIM to HDTony
Well I went and picked up my harmony, its sitting on the charger, damn I waiting waiting for new toys to charge befroe I play with them.




HDTony.... Damn glad to meet you!

Government's view of the economy could be summed up in a few short phrases: If it moves, tax it. If it keeps moving, regulate it. And if it stops moving, subsidize it.

- Ronald Reagan

AirTek Heating & Air inc.
HDTony is offline  
post #28 of 37 (permalink) Old 07-24-2005, 01:03 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
2weelpilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Spring Grove, IL
Posts: 18,082
Location: Spring Grove, IL
Sportbike: yz250f
Years Riding: 25 years
How you found us: dont recall
           
I was at a friends house last night in Woodridge and he had a window AC unit on his damn remote..NUTS I tell ya!!

Mike

When the tailgate drops..the bullshit stops
Hunt ethically - Hunt with a trained Retriever !
2weelpilot is offline  
post #29 of 37 (permalink) Old 07-24-2005, 01:42 PM
Registered User
 
Fully's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Chicago , IL
Posts: 272
Location: Chicago , IL
Sportbike: 2K6 600RR
Years Riding: Few Days
How you found us: I know a guy , that knows a guy
 
Send a message via AIM to Fully
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDTony
Well I went and picked up my harmony, its sitting on the charger, damn I waiting waiting for new toys to charge befroe I play with them.

Sweet !!! Let me know some feedback if you have problems or just plain love it !!!! I have no complaits what so ever !!!

You have to love when I can sit on my couch and adjust my fan speed on both Fan and Ac without moving an inch.

Xbox Live Gamertag : Fully Xtreme

Playstation 3 Network : FullyXtreme

myspace.com/veteranelite
Fully is offline  
post #30 of 37 (permalink) Old 07-24-2005, 06:54 PM
Administrator
 
HDTony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Plainfield IL
Posts: 45,956
Location: Plainfield IL
Sportbike: A couple of pasta rockets
Years Riding: Since 1989
How you found us: In the beginning there was CLSB and Tony saw that it was good.
           
Send a message via AIM to HDTony
Just set it up, took aout 20 minutes and my system is complicated. damn thing is phenominal. When I had my Pronto setup was an all weekend project. Loving it so far.




HDTony.... Damn glad to meet you!

Government's view of the economy could be summed up in a few short phrases: If it moves, tax it. If it keeps moving, regulate it. And if it stops moving, subsidize it.

- Ronald Reagan

AirTek Heating & Air inc.
HDTony is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Chicagoland Sportbikes forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome