Hey guys new member with a question! - Chicagoland Sportbikes
Chicagoland Sportbikes

Open Forum This forum is for all off-topic discussion.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 11-12-2002, 10:36 PM Thread Starter

Cool Hey guys new member with a question!

first off i just found this forum, I've been in chicago (well evanston to be exact) for some time. I have been riding for a few years and want a better bike, and I found a nice '01gsxr600 for sale. It's from a dealer and seems very fairly priced, however the first used bike i bought had some problems so now I wanna be a little cautious. The dealer is Arlington Motorsports, they seem very nice and professional, however I'd like some feedback from anyone on here who's dealt with them. If they say the bike is clean and hasn't been messed around with can I trust them? I'm hoping to apply for the financing and make my purchase within the next couple weeks, so i'd really like some feeback. Thanks a bunch guys I loook forward to getting to know you all!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 11-12-2002, 10:44 PM

My brother bought his 900RR from those guys.... IMO they are pretty damn shady, but my bro fell in love with the bike (97' red/blk).

Upon delivery the bike:

1.) had badly worn sprokets and chain
2.) leaky fork seals
3.) exhaust springs were old/stretched and rattling

Got them to fix that crap at no charge. Then after about 1yr of riding it the tranny went south. $800 tranny work later the bike is in tip-top shape.

I would never buy a bike there. YMMV
post #3 of 18 (permalink) Old 11-12-2002, 11:22 PM
YO MAMA

Sportbike: 2010 Electra Glide Police Edition 103cu
Years Riding: a long time!

hey welcome to the club

as far as used bikes the only thing i would suggest is buying them from the owner, certain places will use duck tape and bubble gum to hold the shit together.
and 90% of the time, your buying a bike that someone got ride of because of a problem?