Ameritech Sbc Dsl Can Kiss My........ - Chicagoland Sportbikes
Chicagoland Sportbikes
 
Open Forum This forum is for all off-topic discussion.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 73 (permalink) Old 11-21-2002, 05:07 PM Thread Starter
Jim
Tgf Og
 
Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: lith
Posts: 9,851
Location: lith
Sportbike: trek
Years Riding: 2
How you found us: the smell
           
Ameritech Sbc Dsl Can Kiss My........

Now im pissed!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! but before i start this is not a slam against favordnation for he did everything he could. but Ron I TOLD YOU SO!!!!! fuckers just called me and said they cancelled my order because there is no available copper in my area same thing they have always told me. except this time I have a fuckin modem at my house, a fucking router in route to my house to network my 2 computers together via dsl. Ive probably been charged for this shit and im MAD AS HELL
When i get home say good buy to my phone line dont need it ill go wireless, they can kiss my ass never gettin another dime. im tired of there bull shit oh yeah you can have, no no no you cant, well guess what ill get it from some one else, im even thinking about sending them a bill for a new computer, intrest on the money i paid them and didnt get shit in return!!!!!!!!!!!
AMERITECH KISS MY ASS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

P.S if at all posibble take your buisness elsewhere



RANT OVER!

Join the NRA, help protect our Second Amendment rights
GO Bears!!!!!!!!
Jim is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 73 (permalink) Old 11-21-2002, 06:09 PM
YO MAMA
 
Odysseys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: balls deep in someones mom
Posts: 60,261
Location: balls deep in someones mom
Sportbike: 2010 Electra Glide Police Edition 103cu
Years Riding: a long time!
           


i knew it.



Odysseys is offline  
post #3 of 73 (permalink) Old 11-21-2002, 06:20 PM
IDK WTF TO PUT HERE NOW!
 
Lupi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Lakemoor, IL
Posts: 2,765
Location: Lakemoor, IL
Sportbike: The GF!
Years Riding: 3,201,394
How you found us: champ91
           
Send a message via AIM to Lupi Send a message via MSN to Lupi Send a message via Yahoo to Lupi


I figured that was coming. Jim, I still say it.....go www.speakeasy.net and get signed up. I know for a fact that if you had an 854 not a 458 prefix, you would be good. Different C/O junctions. I'm pretty positive that is you had changed prefix you would get it. Now, if you go wireless, which I did, I'm not sure how they would work that without a phone line. I know a phone line isn't required, but they might bicker about that.

I'm hard wired for it now. Yeah it costs just as much as my previous phone line and DSL service together a month, BUT I DON"T HAVE TO DICK WITH AMERICRAP!!

Sorry Ron, I know the've been good to you, I've just seen too many people go through this very same thing, present company included.

OH that so sucks, so are you going to claim that you never received the equipment and just keep it?

Ciao,
Lupi

PS: how's the new computer working out?
Lupi is offline  
post #4 of 73 (permalink) Old 11-21-2002, 06:27 PM Thread Starter
Jim
Tgf Og
 
Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: lith
Posts: 9,851
Location: lith
Sportbike: trek
Years Riding: 2
How you found us: the smell
           
you know it wouldnt bother me so much but this is the third time i tried with them the first 2 times they caught there fuck, this time they didnt and there is $200 bucks of my money floating around in there hands till i send there shit back. what a crock of shit. not to mention i went out and spent 3,000 bucks on upgrading our den with a new computer for me and a desk for my wife. im so pissed

So here is the new question, wireless connection vs satelite who has what and what are there speeds? i already have direct tv but they would have to switch out the dishes, wireless i have to dish out what 300 bucks to borrow there equipment. the plus sign on the wireless is there office and tower are 2 blocks away.


Speak up people i will be doing this soon

by the way..............


AMERITECH YOU CAN KISS MY ASS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Join the NRA, help protect our Second Amendment rights
GO Bears!!!!!!!!
Jim is offline  
post #5 of 73 (permalink) Old 11-21-2002, 06:29 PM Thread Starter
Jim
Tgf Og
 
Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: lith
Posts: 9,851
Location: lith
Sportbike: trek
Years Riding: 2
How you found us: the smell
           
Also want to know if the weather affects your connection to either one wireless or satelite

by the way...............
AMERITECH KISS MY ASS!!!!!!!

Join the NRA, help protect our Second Amendment rights
GO Bears!!!!!!!!
Jim is offline  
post #6 of 73 (permalink) Old 11-21-2002, 06:34 PM
YO MAMA
 
Odysseys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: balls deep in someones mom
Posts: 60,261
Location: balls deep in someones mom
Sportbike: 2010 Electra Glide Police Edition 103cu
Years Riding: a long time!
           
i am sure satelite can be inturpted or a bad connection, just like digital t.v if there is a major storm or some bad storm cloads bowing in or HIGH thick ones.



Odysseys is offline  
post #7 of 73 (permalink) Old 11-21-2002, 06:36 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 5,923
           
Go Jimbo
Go Jimbo
Go Jimbo



Can I get another AMERITECH KISS MY ASS!!!!!!!

PS Been wireless all year, and I am loving it.

Earthlink DSL BTW
Brian is offline  
post #8 of 73 (permalink) Old 11-21-2002, 06:43 PM Thread Starter
Jim
Tgf Og
 
Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: lith
Posts: 9,851
Location: lith
Sportbike: trek
Years Riding: 2
How you found us: the smell
           
Well storm clouds have no effect on my dish but hard horizontal rain does, i am leaning towards the wireless but i'd like to compare connection speeds uploads and downloads first before i decide, oh and by the way.....................


KISS MY ASS AMERITECH!!!!!!!!!!!!!

that was for you brian!

Join the NRA, help protect our Second Amendment rights
GO Bears!!!!!!!!
Jim is offline  
post #9 of 73 (permalink) Old 11-21-2002, 07:30 PM
habitual line stepper
 
Jack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 3,235
Location: Wisconsin
Sportbike: F4,Brutale,Warrior,DRZ
Years Riding: X
How you found us: .
           
Send a message via AIM to Jack
AMERITECH ROCKS!!!!
Jack is offline  
post #10 of 73 (permalink) Old 11-21-2002, 07:50 PM
Cuddlie as a koala
 
YZFRob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Where its free.
Posts: 7,511
Location: Where its free.
Sportbike: Which bike?
Years Riding: Too long.
How you found us: Ken offered me money to join.
           
DOesnt Tony work for Ameritech?

I'm not crazy, my mother had me tested.
YZFRob is offline  
post #11 of 73 (permalink) Old 11-21-2002, 08:53 PM
IDK WTF TO PUT HERE NOW!
 
Lupi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Lakemoor, IL
Posts: 2,765
Location: Lakemoor, IL
Sportbike: The GF!
Years Riding: 3,201,394
How you found us: champ91
           
Send a message via AIM to Lupi Send a message via MSN to Lupi Send a message via Yahoo to Lupi
Quote:
Originally posted by JimGoFast


So here is the new question, wireless connection vs satelite who has what and what are there speeds?
Talk to Champ, he has wireless through www.dls.com I believe. They put a box on top of your house, and it sends a signal to the tower at the airport. Give him a holler, he'll have more info on speeds and costs!

Ciao,
Lupi
Lupi is offline  
post #12 of 73 (permalink) Old 11-21-2002, 09:26 PM
Registered User
 
BusaDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Naperville
Posts: 5,002
Location: Naperville
Sportbike: 2002 Turbo Hayabusa
Years Riding: Lost Track
How you found us: Tony
           
We had some kind of service here that required a direct shot at the Sears tower but it filled up quickly and they stopped taking new customers.

Satellite is only high-speed in the download direction it still required a modem connection on the uplink. I'm not aware of any two-way satellite connections.

Dave
BusaDave is offline  
post #13 of 73 (permalink) Old 11-21-2002, 09:55 PM
Registered User
 
ceptor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Tinley Park
Posts: 657
Location: Tinley Park
Sportbike: Honda Interceptor
Years Riding: including today?
      
P.S if at all posibble take your buisness elsewhere


I did just that today, well sort of.
I switched to AT&T for all my services at the shop, about a year ago. Today, in strolls an SBC rep, and he wants me to switch back. I told him "you had me and you lost me". Please leave. Guy says: I've got some exciting specials to tell you about. I say: not interested, please leave. He says: well I'm going to tell you about them anyway. I say: I'm busy and I'm still not interested, please leave. So now he starts to lay out his stuff on my counter and says: this will only take about 10 min. I say: are you not listening? Get out! He keeps right on talking. I finally say: NO. Now GET THE FUCK OUT!!!! He then tells me that I'm hostile, and he deserves more respect than that. Now I'm pissed. I tell him: pick up all your shit and GET THE FUCK OUT! or I'll call the cops.
He finally leaves. WTF. This was the first time in 17 years of biz that I had to get that way.


Ameritech...1 big company, so many reasons to hate them!




AMERITECH CAN KISS MY ASS TOO!!!!!!!!!


You're not alone Jim
ceptor is offline  
post #14 of 73 (permalink) Old 11-21-2002, 09:58 PM
YO MAMA
 
Odysseys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: balls deep in someones mom
Posts: 60,261
Location: balls deep in someones mom
Sportbike: 2010 Electra Glide Police Edition 103cu
Years Riding: a long time!
           
i would have beat his fucken head in with a mechined head, after the f2nd time you told him to leave



Odysseys is offline  
post #15 of 73 (permalink) Old 11-21-2002, 10:16 PM
Who's faster Lupi
 
Champ91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Lake in the Hills, IL
Posts: 4,957
Location: Lake in the Hills, IL
Sportbike: 2004 ZX10R & 2005 CRF50
Years Riding: 20
How you found us: SBN
           
Jim Jim Jim.

Ok check out DLS its wireless and at the moment is comparable to DSL speeds. THey are upgrading their system and are planning on getting equal speeds to that of cable.

I love my system. Big time difference over dial up. Never had any problem with weather. No land lines connected to computer. The start up costs were high and its not my equipment.

Now if you want satellite check out Starband They use a 2-way satellite system. That meand your dish sends and receives the data. The older systems only downloaded thru the dish and uploaded at dial up speed thru land line. Also you do not own the equipment. Also, they are associated with Dish Network not DirecTV. I though DirecTV had a satellite system to maybe check out their site.

Good Luck.

NESBA #456 Intermediate
Always 1 step ahead of Lupi. 1:24:7 BHF
And 1 step behind Kimmy

"SoB gets to spend yet ANOTHER season faster than me." -LUPI-

Last edited by Champ91; 11-22-2002 at 11:11 AM.
Champ91 is offline  
post #16 of 73 (permalink) Old 11-21-2002, 10:38 PM
Registered User
 
Kruz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: West of 59, North of 88
Posts: 18,885
Location: West of 59, North of 88
Sportbike: 05 CRF50
Years Riding: "Since 1992"
How you found us: You found me
           
Here's your solution Jimbo and other's high speed internetly challenged folks....

MOVE THE FUCK OUT OF THE STICKS!!!


I've got my choice of a handful of high speed providers
Kruz is offline  
post #17 of 73 (permalink) Old 11-21-2002, 10:43 PM
Who's faster Lupi
 
Champ91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Lake in the Hills, IL
Posts: 4,957
Location: Lake in the Hills, IL
Sportbike: 2004 ZX10R & 2005 CRF50
Years Riding: 20
How you found us: SBN
           
Um Kruz, that may be true, but we have choices too and we actually have some nice roads out here in the "STICKS" to ride. So while your on the PC goin fast, were ridin.

NESBA #456 Intermediate
Always 1 step ahead of Lupi. 1:24:7 BHF
And 1 step behind Kimmy

"SoB gets to spend yet ANOTHER season faster than me." -LUPI-
Champ91 is offline  
post #18 of 73 (permalink) Old 11-21-2002, 11:24 PM
Registered User
 
Kruz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: West of 59, North of 88
Posts: 18,885
Location: West of 59, North of 88
Sportbike: 05 CRF50
Years Riding: "Since 1992"
How you found us: You found me
           
I don't want to hear it WI boy.....
Kruz is offline  
post #19 of 73 (permalink) Old 11-22-2002, 02:44 AM
Give 'em hell guys!!
 
Steve Karson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Chicago,IL
Posts: 184
Location: Chicago,IL
Sportbike: R6
Years Riding: 17
How you found us: JimGoFast
 
Directv has 2 way satellite internet, it requires a special dish and Professional installation to align it properly.
Steve Karson is offline  
post #20 of 73 (permalink) Old 11-22-2002, 07:27 AM
Registered User
 
BusaDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Naperville
Posts: 5,002
Location: Naperville
Sportbike: 2002 Turbo Hayabusa
Years Riding: Lost Track
How you found us: Tony
           
Quote:
Originally posted by Champ91

Now if you want satellite check out Starband They use a 2-way satellite system.
Interesting! Anybody had any experience with this? How's the reliability?

This is a pretty big dish. Townhome owners are probably going to have problems with this one because of the size. The FCC Communications Act only covers broadcast so townhome restrictions could prevent this from being installed. They cannot by federal law prohibit satellite TV dishes.

Dave
BusaDave is offline  
post #21 of 73 (permalink) Old 11-22-2002, 07:42 AM
Administrator
 
HDTony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Plainfield IL
Posts: 45,956
Location: Plainfield IL
Sportbike: A couple of pasta rockets
Years Riding: Since 1989
How you found us: In the beginning there was CLSB and Tony saw that it was good.
           
Send a message via AIM to HDTony
Ya know I didnt read through all of this, but why dont you just get a cable modem?




HDTony.... Damn glad to meet you!

Government's view of the economy could be summed up in a few short phrases: If it moves, tax it. If it keeps moving, regulate it. And if it stops moving, subsidize it.

- Ronald Reagan

AirTek Heating & Air inc.
HDTony is offline  
post #22 of 73 (permalink) Old 11-22-2002, 08:09 AM
Registered User
 
BusaDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Naperville
Posts: 5,002
Location: Naperville
Sportbike: 2002 Turbo Hayabusa
Years Riding: Lost Track
How you found us: Tony
           
Quote:
Originally posted by GsxrTony
Ya know I didnt read through all of this, but why dont you just get a cable modem?
You mean an Ameritech cable modem?

Dave
BusaDave is offline  
post #23 of 73 (permalink) Old 11-22-2002, 08:43 AM
BEER!
 
Grover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Lindenhurst, IL
Posts: 5,970
Location: Lindenhurst, IL
Sportbike: '01 SV650S (Pokey!) '02 Honda CR125 (Blockhead)
Years Riding: 5
How you found us: SBN
           
Send a message via AIM to Grover
Hmm, ameritech? I only have a 'home' phone for my DirecTV. If I could somehow hook it up to my cell in the middle of the night so it can make it's calls, I wouldn't even have a home phone.

If/when I get a computer I may use the DirecTV internet thing.

I need to talk to the neighbor about cutting some of their limbs on their trees down. Right now if it's windy the branches get in the way and block reception. Only seems to happen on Tuesdays though

Chris

NESBA/CCS #142
AIM: GroverSV650S
Dirtbikes are not submarines
Grover is offline  
post #24 of 73 (permalink) Old 11-22-2002, 09:04 AM
Give 'em hell guys!!
 
Steve Karson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Chicago,IL
Posts: 184
Location: Chicago,IL
Sportbike: R6
Years Riding: 17
How you found us: JimGoFast
 
Quote:
Originally posted by GroverSV650S
Hmm, ameritech? I only have a 'home' phone for my DirecTV. If I could somehow hook it up to my cell in the middle of the night so it can make it's calls, I wouldn't even have a home phone.




Chris
You don't have to have a phone line hooked up for directv, they only want it incase you order pay per view. I have had satellite for over 3 years and never had a phone line hooked up to it.
Steve Karson is offline  
post #25 of 73 (permalink) Old 11-22-2002, 09:24 AM Thread Starter
Jim
Tgf Og
 
Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: lith
Posts: 9,851
Location: lith
Sportbike: trek
Years Riding: 2
How you found us: the smell
           
Quote:
Originally posted by GsxrTony
Ya know I didnt read through all of this, but why dont you just get a cable modem?
Same reason i dropped them att cable not available in my area
so i told
AT&T TO KISS MY ASS ALSO

That is why i have digital cable now!

Join the NRA, help protect our Second Amendment rights
GO Bears!!!!!!!!
Jim is offline  
post #26 of 73 (permalink) Old 11-22-2002, 09:37 AM
BEER!
 
Grover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Lindenhurst, IL
Posts: 5,970
Location: Lindenhurst, IL
Sportbike: '01 SV650S (Pokey!) '02 Honda CR125 (Blockhead)
Years Riding: 5
How you found us: SBN
           
Send a message via AIM to Grover
Quote:
Originally posted by Steve Karson


You don't have to have a phone line hooked up for directv, they only want it incase you order pay per view. I have had satellite for over 3 years and never had a phone line hooked up to it.

Forgot to mention Tivo. My dad has DirectV (or Dish network, can't remember) and the company turned it off when he didn't have a phone hooked up! Even though he never orders PPV, they like to 'check up' on it (so they say.. )

Chris

NESBA/CCS #142
AIM: GroverSV650S
Dirtbikes are not submarines
Grover is offline  
post #27 of 73 (permalink) Old 11-22-2002, 11:12 AM
Who's faster Lupi
 
Champ91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Lake in the Hills, IL
Posts: 4,957
Location: Lake in the Hills, IL
Sportbike: 2004 ZX10R & 2005 CRF50
Years Riding: 20
How you found us: SBN
           
ok fixed my previous link. its www.dls.net not .com

NESBA #456 Intermediate
Always 1 step ahead of Lupi. 1:24:7 BHF
And 1 step behind Kimmy

"SoB gets to spend yet ANOTHER season faster than me." -LUPI-
Champ91 is offline  
post #28 of 73 (permalink) Old 11-22-2002, 12:55 PM Thread Starter
Jim
Tgf Og
 
Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: lith
Posts: 9,851
Location: lith
Sportbike: trek
Years Riding: 2
How you found us: the smell
           
Wireless on order !!!!

Join the NRA, help protect our Second Amendment rights
GO Bears!!!!!!!!
Jim is offline  
post #29 of 73 (permalink) Old 11-22-2002, 02:08 PM
Grand Master Crash
 
OmniGLH's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Avatar courtesy Sliderphoto
Posts: 1,079
Location: Avatar courtesy Sliderphoto
Sportbike: none for now
Years Riding: ...classified...
How you found us: My psychic advisor told me about it
 
Champ - how big is this "box" they put on your roof? I looked into them a few months ago... but it seemed like it was like a 20' long tower they stick up there. Being in a townhome, I don't think I can do it. They did come out and do some tests for free, and I do qualify for it. It's just the antenna issue.

Also - do you have any problems downloading MP3s, etc through them? I also remember reading something about how file sharing services (such as Morpheus or Kazaa) are prohibited with dls...

Jim Ptak
-bikeless-
OmniGLH is offline  
post #30 of 73 (permalink) Old 11-22-2002, 02:31 PM Thread Starter
Jim
Tgf Og
 
Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: lith
Posts: 9,851
Location: lith
Sportbike: trek
Years Riding: 2
How you found us: the smell
           
Jim call them847-458-4799 x230 her name is Cindy, very helpfull i am set up for install dec 10th.

Join the NRA, help protect our Second Amendment rights
GO Bears!!!!!!!!
Jim is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Chicagoland Sportbikes forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome