Need help getting out of a lease - Chicagoland Sportbikes
Chicagoland Sportbikes

Open Forum This forum is for all off-topic discussion.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 40 (permalink) Old 12-27-2002, 08:37 PM Thread Starter

Need help getting out of a lease

I have good news and bad news

Good:
Just made an offer on a condo in Frankfort. I have a good feeling the seller will take the offer. The place has been on the market for over 12 weeks now.

Bad:
Dug up a copy of my lease agreement for my apartment. I've been renting here for 16 months. I was sure that I was month to month after the first year, but I read that unless I notify him within 60 days, the lease automatically renews for another full year. If that's true, my year isn't up until August '03.

I don't have $3,700 lying around to buy out the remaining 6 months of the lease and I'm be begging for food in downtown Frankfort if I try and pay the monthly rent.

My only hope is to plead with the landlord. From my viewpoint I have several scnerios:

1) I tell him the truth - "I'm buying a condo and I didn't realize I the lease was automatically renewed. I never recieved a notice that it was renewed. Can I give 60 days notice and move out Feb 29th???"

2) I tell the incomplete truth - "I'm moving out of town on short notice and I can't afford to pay out the lease, van I give you the next 2 months rent and move out on Feb 29th???"

3) I flat out lie - "I got laid off at work, I'm moving back home with my parents in MI until I can find work. I can give you Jan & Feb rent, but I can't afford to stay until August."

4) Lie #2 - "I got new job north of the city, I can't afford to pay for 2 apartments and the new company won't buy out the lease?, can give you Jan and Feb rent, but I have ot move at the end of Jan."

5) Lie #3 - "I have a sick parent back home in MI, I found a new job out there. I can't afford to buy out the lease?"