Getting cell reception where there is none - Chicagoland Sportbikes
Chicagoland Sportbikes
 
Open Forum This forum is for all off-topic discussion.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-04-2006, 05:46 PM Thread Starter
freaking newbies, man there slow, ha ha ha
 
CRAZe Inc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 6,842
Location: San Francisco
Sportbike: Big Wheel
Years Riding: Since 3
How you found us: This is required?
           
Getting cell reception where there is none

Hey guys,
I moved into a place out here and everything's great except for the cell reception. Is there anything I can do to improve the signal (from nothing) or am I stuck using a landline? I have to get it anyways, because apparently SBC's dsl service requires it, but I'd like to be able to use my cell phone.
CRAZe Inc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-04-2006, 05:47 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 605
        
whos ur company
Currupt247 is offline  
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-04-2006, 05:48 PM Thread Starter
freaking newbies, man there slow, ha ha ha
 
CRAZe Inc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 6,842
Location: San Francisco
Sportbike: Big Wheel
Years Riding: Since 3
How you found us: This is required?
           
Tmobile. Maybe that's what the problem is, I should see if people with different carriers get better reception.
CRAZe Inc is offline  
post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-04-2006, 05:54 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 605
        
heres a spint coverage map for you.

Attached Images
File Type: jpg Untitled-1.jpg (40.2 KB, 0 views)
Currupt247 is offline  
post #5 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-04-2006, 05:59 PM Thread Starter
freaking newbies, man there slow, ha ha ha
 
CRAZe Inc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 6,842
Location: San Francisco
Sportbike: Big Wheel
Years Riding: Since 3
How you found us: This is required?
           
This is tmobile's coverage for my place, apparently I'm in some sort of anomaly
Attached Images
File Type: png WMSMapImageStreamer.aspx.png (58.3 KB, 0 views)
CRAZe Inc is offline  
post #6 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-04-2006, 06:01 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 605
        
maybe you should ask coworkers what they use since they have lived there longer than you
Currupt247 is offline  
post #7 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-04-2006, 06:06 PM
.
 
Ryan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,985
Location: Chicago
Sportbike: 05 DRZ-SM, 80 GS1100E, 99 KTM 125SX, 03 KTM 200MXC
Years Riding: Since 2001
How you found us: ?
           
Send a message via AIM to Ryan Send a message via Yahoo to Ryan
That's like my house. I'm in Chicago but cell phones don't work for shit in or around my house. It works ok on the front porch and if I sit in a certain spot right in the middle of the house but hardly works anywhere else. It works fine in my neighbor's house, just not mine.

-Ryan
Ryan is offline  
post #8 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-04-2006, 06:57 PM
bwa
Boom
 
bwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Kalispell, MT
Posts: 13,320
Location: Kalispell, MT
Sportbike: None :(
Years Riding: not long enough
How you found us: Crazeinc
           
changing the cell phone itself can make a huge difference.
bwa is offline  
post #9 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-04-2006, 07:20 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 11
 
FWIW,

(Just joined yur forum today, but I work in this industry... Hope you don't mind if I comment?)

BWA had a good point... Changing / upgrading to a better phone almost always helps.

You should check T-Mobile's coverage maps on the web. If they show strong coverage in your location, then call and gripe. The more complaints they get, eventually an RF Engineer will receive a task to study or "drive-test" that area.

Also, if your coverage area is clearly indicated, and if your phone automatically "roams" to another network, you can usually call your carrier and get them to erase the "roaming" charges, since it's clear you were in their advertised coverage area... A few instances of them paying another carrier for your roaming in your home area will usually trigger a drive-test through your neighborhood.

Keep in mind, if you're truly in a dead zone, it takes approx. a year or more to actually add capacity to the nearest site, with budgets, zoning compliance, etc.

Good luck. Hope this helps.

-Gypsy
GypsyCaravan is offline  
post #10 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-04-2006, 10:55 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,882
           
I work for a telecom distribution company. While I have little knowledge of our actual products, there was a rep who asked me to write a program to keep track of sales on this one thing which I'll find out the name of if you're interested. It's basically an antenna that you can buy and put it outside your house...like a satellite dish but smaller. It catches the signal and then sends it into your house much stronger. It's fairly small from what I saw, and just pokes out a window of your choice. At least that's what I recall.

This will help if you can go outside your house and get some coverage, meaning that something about the house is keeping the signal out. But will not help if there's no signal in the first place. Rep said it works very very well. Why it's not more popular, I don't know.
BIGGY is offline  
post #11 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-05-2006, 12:10 AM
U-P-G-R-A-Y-E-D-D
 
FiReBReTHa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Aurora, IL
Posts: 11,172
Location: Aurora, IL
Sportbike: 04 GSXR6
Years Riding: 2
How you found us: I thought it was a line for muffins
           
Send a message via AIM to FiReBReTHa
What cell do you have, it is known that some cell phones are known to perform better in fringe areas over others.
FiReBReTHa is offline  
post #12 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-05-2006, 07:29 AM
Special Agent Lance Boyle
 
Sticky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: planet earth
Posts: 6,707
Location: planet earth
Sportbike: 2010 KX250F
Years Riding: 26
How you found us: Sportbike Network
           
Send a message via AIM to Sticky
When is your contract up? I bitched about reception and was going to cancel a year ago and T-Mobile gave me an option. They sent a new phone and I had a month to test it and decide, if I kept it I would renew my contract for a year. It's better but not great, good enough for as little as I'm on the phone.

<--------Sticky Nicky
Sticky is offline  
post #13 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-05-2006, 12:46 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,882
           
here ya go, if this would work for you I could probably get it much cheaper through my work:

http://www.cellantenna.com/repeater/...g_repeater.htm
BIGGY is offline  
post #14 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-05-2006, 02:48 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 573
      
I have a cell amplifier that I used with tmobile for awhile when I moved into a dead spot

Went from 1-2 bars at best to full signal with it. Gotta plug the phone into it though. The wireless amps are very spendy.

Since went to cingular which has much better coverage so I could sell you the amp if you want.
ls14evar is offline  
post #15 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-05-2006, 04:27 PM
Si Vis Pacem Parabellum
 
SmartDrug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bartlett
Posts: 11,409
Location: Bartlett
Sportbike: 955i Speed Triple, 100AE Road King, AP1 Honda S2000
Years Riding: 1/3rd of my life.
How you found us: Cave Johnson
           
Using the speakerphone usually clears up a bar or two.

Brian
NESBA #22
الكافرة مع بندقية سوداء
Si vis pacem parabellum

Quote:
Yeah, I quit doing blow, not being rad!
SmartDrug is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Chicagoland Sportbikes forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome