Comcast Digital Voice Service - Chicagoland Sportbikes
Chicagoland Sportbikes
 
Open Forum This forum is for all off-topic discussion.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 06-14-2006, 12:13 PM Thread Starter
VTwin FTW!
 
ChicagoFactory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Elk Grove Village
Posts: 5,564
Location: Elk Grove Village
Sportbike: 2013 Ducati Diavel Cromo
Years Riding: 20
How you found us: Friend
           
Comcast Digital Voice Service

Does anyone have this? I'm thinking about getting this for my phone service. Any thoughts?

Mike

"Life is all about ass ... either you are covering it, kicking it, kissing it, sitting on it or trying to get it."
ChicagoFactory is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 06-14-2006, 12:15 PM
U-P-G-R-A-Y-E-D-D
 
FiReBReTHa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Aurora, IL
Posts: 11,172
Location: Aurora, IL
Sportbike: 04 GSXR6
Years Riding: 2
How you found us: I thought it was a line for muffins
           
Send a message via AIM to FiReBReTHa
get vonage, its cheaper and more features.

25 p month vonage
40 p month Comcast


money is money
FiReBReTHa is offline  
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 06-14-2006, 12:21 PM Thread Starter
VTwin FTW!
 
ChicagoFactory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Elk Grove Village
Posts: 5,564
Location: Elk Grove Village
Sportbike: 2013 Ducati Diavel Cromo
Years Riding: 20
How you found us: Friend
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by FiReBReTHa
get vonage, its cheaper and more features.

25 p month vonage
40 p month Comcast


money is money
How is Comcast Digital Voice® service different from Vonage or AT&T CallVantage?


Most Voice over Internet Protocol (VoIP) service providers such as Vonage and AT&T CallVantage use the public Internet to transmit your calls. Comcast Digital Voice® service does not; we use this technology to transmit your calls over our advanced broadband network.



With Comcast Digital Voice® service you get the call clarity you expect, along with these great benefits not always offered by other VoIP service providers:

-One simple bill - Enjoy one simple bill for Comcast’s Cable TV, High-Speed Internet, and Phone, with multiple payment options. Plus, you can view your long distance call detail online.

-Professional installation - Leave the wiring to us. We come in and do the whole standard installation for you. And once it’s set up, you’re ready to go!

-E911 – Unlike many other providers, Comcast Digital Voice® service offers access to E911 calling.

-Home alarm systems – Comcast Digital Voice® should work with most home alarm systems using tone dialing and standard data communications protocols.

-Battery backup – The eMTA (multimedia terminal adapter) Comcast supplies with Comcast Digital Voice® service contains a battery backup that is designed to power the service for up to several hours in case of a power outage at your home.

-Enhanced Voice Mail – Enhanced Voice Mail allows you to manage your Comcast Digital Voice voicemail messages by phone or on the Web from anywhere.

-Popular calling features - Enjoy 12 popular calling features like Call Waiting, Caller ID and Call Blocking - all included in your low monthly price. For information on how to use the features and voice mail, click here.

-Unlimited local and long-distance calling – With the Comcast Digital Voice Unlimited Plan you can call anyone, anytime, anywhere in the country - talk as long as you like, all for one low price.

-Low international rates – Comcast Digital Voice® offers low rates to your favorite international destinations.

-Satisfaction guaranteed* - We are so confident about the quality of Comcast Digital Voice® that we guarantee you will be satisfied, or we’ll refund your money for the first 30 days of service.

-No length-of-service contracts - And with Comcast Digital Voice® service, you don’t have to sign a length-of-service contract.

Mike

"Life is all about ass ... either you are covering it, kicking it, kissing it, sitting on it or trying to get it."
ChicagoFactory is offline  
post #4 of 16 (permalink) Old 06-14-2006, 12:24 PM
-+-+-+-+-+-
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Lombard, IL
Posts: 2,427
Location: Lombard, IL
Sportbike: 2002 YZF-R1
Years Riding: A few days since yesterday
How you found us: Another website
           
FWIW I did have one of their phone boxes start on fire in my basement a few years ago. The whole basement was full of smoke, fire department came, the whole deal.

Was on my cell phone with Comcast customer service and they were less than concerned. Said they could have a guy out to look at it in a week We dropped their phone service, but we still use the internet and television. How frustrating to have a piece of their equipment start on fire and them not send someone right out to look at it.
Keyhole is offline  
post #5 of 16 (permalink) Old 06-14-2006, 12:34 PM
U-P-G-R-A-Y-E-D-D
 
FiReBReTHa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Aurora, IL
Posts: 11,172
Location: Aurora, IL
Sportbike: 04 GSXR6
Years Riding: 2
How you found us: I thought it was a line for muffins
           
Send a message via AIM to FiReBReTHa
most important Feature is always price,

Vonage: Long distance to Canada, uS, Peurto Rico, Italy, UK, Spain, France, ireland.

Comcast: US

"While still under development the Digital Voice Center allows you to check your home voice mail messages and view details of all your calls from any computer. All you need is web access. And this is just the beginning. We are working to improve the Digital Voice Center and..."

comcast's chit is still under development and does not offer all the features Vonage includes and already has Working.


Comcast:
Enjoy 12 popular calling features:

*Anonymous Call Rejection
*Call Forwarding Selective
*Call Forwarding Variable
*Call Return
*Call Waiting
*Caller ID
*Caller ID Blocking
*Call Screening
*Repeat Dialing
*Speed Dial 8
*3-Way Calling
Plus, Enhanced Voice Mail


Vonage
Voicemail Plus
Caller ID with Name
Call Waiting
Call Forwarding
Simul-Ring (comcast doesnt have)
3-Way Calling
In-Network Calls(comcast doesnt have)
Take Vonage With You(comcast doesnt have)
Area Code Selection (comcast doesnt have)
Call Transfer (comcast doesnt have)
Click-2-Call (comcast doesnt have)
Call Return
Caller ID Block
Repeat Dialing
International Call Block
Ring Lists (comcast doesnt have)
Call Hunt (comcast doesnt have)
FiReBReTHa is offline  
post #6 of 16 (permalink) Old 06-14-2006, 12:36 PM
U-P-G-R-A-Y-E-D-D
 
FiReBReTHa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Aurora, IL
Posts: 11,172
Location: Aurora, IL
Sportbike: 04 GSXR6
Years Riding: 2
How you found us: I thought it was a line for muffins
           
Send a message via AIM to FiReBReTHa
ATT Callvantage sucks btw,

I wouldn't put them on the same level as Vonage

Vonage, 1.6 Mil Customers
ATT, 40,000 Customers.
FiReBReTHa is offline  
post #7 of 16 (permalink) Old 06-14-2006, 01:03 PM
U-P-G-R-A-Y-E-D-D
 
FiReBReTHa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Aurora, IL
Posts: 11,172
Location: Aurora, IL
Sportbike: 04 GSXR6
Years Riding: 2
How you found us: I thought it was a line for muffins
           
Send a message via AIM to FiReBReTHa
im going to work, if ya have any questions feel free to hit me up or post here,

I work for Vonage and my father works for Comcast so I can give ya any info on either
FiReBReTHa is offline  
post #8 of 16 (permalink) Old 06-14-2006, 01:04 PM
Registered User
 
leavundst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Mundelein, IL
Posts: 980
Location: Mundelein, IL
Sportbike: 2005 busa; Husky 610E
Years Riding: 9
How you found us: Jesus
           
I just got skype and it's freaking great. I bought a V-tech wireless phone from Best Buy. The phone's base station plugs into your pc. You can make calls directly from the wireless phone and have up to 4 phones. The service is free for outgoing calls till the end of the year and $4 a month for incoming calls. Or you can pay $80 a year for both unlimited incoming and outgoing. Also included is 10 different phone numbers with whatever area code you chose. So if you have friends or family all over the country you can pick area codes next to them so that they just pay local call fees if they use traditional phone service.

I moved out about 5 years ago and never had a traditional phone line. I got this to supplement my cell phone and to keep the cell bill down. So far it works great.
leavundst is offline  
post #9 of 16 (permalink) Old 06-14-2006, 01:43 PM Thread Starter
VTwin FTW!
 
ChicagoFactory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Elk Grove Village
Posts: 5,564
Location: Elk Grove Village
Sportbike: 2013 Ducati Diavel Cromo
Years Riding: 20
How you found us: Friend
           
I have 3 cordless phones and a wireless network in my house. Will I need any extra equipment from Vonage for this setup, or do I just plug it in and go?

Mike

"Life is all about ass ... either you are covering it, kicking it, kissing it, sitting on it or trying to get it."
ChicagoFactory is offline  
post #10 of 16 (permalink) Old 06-14-2006, 02:41 PM
The Victim Newbie
 
clearwaterms's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Westchester, IL
Posts: 7,384
Location: Westchester, IL
Sportbike: 2007 mountain bike
Years Riding: just started
How you found us: svrider.com
           
Send a message via AIM to clearwaterms Send a message via MSN to clearwaterms Send a message via Yahoo to clearwaterms
Mike,

if you have tivo boxes (actual TiVO) the ones that require phone service (I believe that if you have directTV that needs phone connections, this is a problem too, not 100% certain) but if you do, you can't use Vonage, the two don't play well together, well they didn't use to anyway...

<-- Chris

turn the bars left and go right; that just isn't right
clearwaterms is offline  
post #11 of 16 (permalink) Old 06-14-2006, 02:43 PM
Administrator
 
HDTony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Plainfield IL
Posts: 45,956
Location: Plainfield IL
Sportbike: A couple of pasta rockets
Years Riding: Since 1989
How you found us: In the beginning there was CLSB and Tony saw that it was good.
           
Send a message via AIM to HDTony
I have vonage and love it.




HDTony.... Damn glad to meet you!

Government's view of the economy could be summed up in a few short phrases: If it moves, tax it. If it keeps moving, regulate it. And if it stops moving, subsidize it.

- Ronald Reagan

AirTek Heating & Air inc.
HDTony is offline  
post #12 of 16 (permalink) Old 06-14-2006, 02:50 PM
Registered User
 
Kruz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: West of 59, North of 88
Posts: 18,885
Location: West of 59, North of 88
Sportbike: 05 CRF50
Years Riding: "Since 1992"
How you found us: You found me
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDTony
I have vonage and love it.
Equipment cost?
Kruz is offline  
post #13 of 16 (permalink) Old 06-15-2006, 05:40 PM Thread Starter
VTwin FTW!
 
ChicagoFactory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Elk Grove Village
Posts: 5,564
Location: Elk Grove Village
Sportbike: 2013 Ducati Diavel Cromo
Years Riding: 20
How you found us: Friend
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChicagoFactory
I have 3 cordless phones and a wireless network in my house. Will I need any extra equipment from Vonage for this setup, or do I just plug it in and go?
Anybody have any answers to this question.

I did sign up for Skyp since the calls are free until the end of the year. I'll try them out for now.

Mike

"Life is all about ass ... either you are covering it, kicking it, kissing it, sitting on it or trying to get it."
ChicagoFactory is offline  
post #14 of 16 (permalink) Old 06-16-2006, 01:11 AM
U-P-G-R-A-Y-E-D-D
 
FiReBReTHa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Aurora, IL
Posts: 11,172
Location: Aurora, IL
Sportbike: 04 GSXR6
Years Riding: 2
How you found us: I thought it was a line for muffins
           
Send a message via AIM to FiReBReTHa
sorry, it didnt notify me on responses.

do you have a Home/apt/condo?

http://www.vonage.com/help.php?article=649

thats how you wire it, you need an adapter, the Pap2 is $59-$60 rebate at best buy and CC.

all you do is plug it into your router and then go to the outside of your house, find the grey box for your phone service, disconnect the phone plug in there. Then go back inside and plug the pap2 line 1 into a wall jack and it should power all the outlets in your home.


Tivos now use a wireless usb adapter on their new boxes to download the info they need.
FiReBReTHa is offline  
post #15 of 16 (permalink) Old 06-16-2006, 01:28 AM
Speed Force
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: IL
Posts: 1,251
Location: IL
Sportbike: 2014 Hayabusa
Years Riding: started at age 19
How you found us: another website
     
Send a message via AIM to chuckie Send a message via Yahoo to chuckie
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChicagoFactory
How is Comcast Digital Voice® service different from Vonage or AT&T CallVantage?


Most Voice over Internet Protocol (VoIP) service providers such as Vonage and AT&T CallVantage use the public Internet to transmit your calls. Comcast Digital Voice® service does not; we use this technology to transmit your calls over our advanced broadband network.

advanced broadband network = Internet

Vonage is awsome, i love it.

<--- I'm Chuckie...Wanna Plaaaay???

2k7 honda crv
chuckie is offline  
post #16 of 16 (permalink) Old 06-16-2006, 01:30 AM
Speed Force
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: IL
Posts: 1,251
Location: IL
Sportbike: 2014 Hayabusa
Years Riding: started at age 19
How you found us: another website
     
Send a message via AIM to chuckie Send a message via Yahoo to chuckie
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChicagoFactory
Anybody have any answers to this question.

I did sign up for Skyp since the calls are free until the end of the year. I'll try them out for now.
yes, you will need to buy the VoIP adapter. then you can plug your phone into it.

It will be the same with any VoIP service you go with. You need to get there equip.

something similar to this is what you would need.

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage....=1089889717675

<--- I'm Chuckie...Wanna Plaaaay???

2k7 honda crv
chuckie is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Chicagoland Sportbikes forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome