HDTV (satallite or cable) and cables? - Chicagoland Sportbikes
Chicagoland Sportbikes
 
Open Forum This forum is for all off-topic discussion.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 24 (permalink) Old 06-15-2006, 05:11 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
ClevisR6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: West
Posts: 1,009
Location: West
Sportbike: 04 Zuma, 06 Crf50
Years Riding: sho' nuff!
How you found us: Nesba
           
HDTV (satallite or cable) and cables?

When you get HD, do you need to rerun the coax in the whole house? They sell these crazy expensive cables for component to component, but i'm thinking not many people change the coax.... is there a need to change?

I'm thinging of getting some HD satallite for the domicile, and have coax already run to each room that I want + garage. will it need to be changed?
ClevisR6 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 24 (permalink) Old 06-15-2006, 05:15 PM
Go Hawks!
 
CHI1000RR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Plainfield
Posts: 3,541
Location: Plainfield
Sportbike: 1000RR (Sold) Looking
Years Riding: Long time but few miles
How you found us: I saw CLSB tatooed on some porn star's ass
           
Your Coax should be okay... You need component cable(HDMI is preferred) if you're running HD from a cable or sat box. If your display can decode, then you do not unless the cable that is run in your house is really old.




"I am Jack's smirking revenge.."

Last edited by CHI1000RR; 06-15-2006 at 05:30 PM.
CHI1000RR is offline  
post #3 of 24 (permalink) Old 06-15-2006, 06:55 PM
Registered User
 
Labdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Roselle, IL
Posts: 9,589
Location: Roselle, IL
Sportbike: 2000 Hayabusa Blue & Silver! Mods-> Oh yeah!
Years Riding: Oh just a couple or so....
How you found us: Old SBN days.......
           
Coax RG-6 from dish to HD reciever. HDMI out of reciever to HDTV.

Its a BEAUTIFUL thing!

<--Kelly

.

2000 Hayabusa
2006 Honda CRF50
Labdog is offline  
post #4 of 24 (permalink) Old 06-15-2006, 10:27 PM
Registered User
 
plotts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 2,253
Location: Louisville, KY
Sportbike: KTM 690 SM
Years Riding: A little bit.
How you found us: I had the strangest dream.
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by CHI1000RR
Your Coax should be okay... You need component cable(HDMI is preferred) if you're running HD from a cable or sat box. If your display can decode, then you do not unless the cable that is run in your house is really old.
+1

except I live in a condo built in the 60's and my crusty ass coax cable coming through the wall (and the whole building) gives perfect high def from RCN cable box. The only cables to worry about are the ones from reciever to the tv.
plotts is offline  
post #5 of 24 (permalink) Old 06-15-2006, 11:33 PM
CRF50 Squid
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 9,588
Location: Chicago
Sportbike: K6 GSX-R 750, 1971 CL350
Years Riding: Veteran Poser
How you found us: Google
           
Send a message via AIM to Blah Blah Blah
Is there a noticeable difference in HD content between components vs. HDMI? I currently have Comcast HD service and running components with optical audio from the Comcast HD DVR. Would it be worht it for me to invest in HDMI?

"The man who makes me your enemy, it is he who be the guilty one....Here I abandoned peace and desecrated law; fortune it is you I follow. Farewell to treaties. From now on war is our judge!"
Blah Blah Blah is offline  
post #6 of 24 (permalink) Old 06-16-2006, 12:49 AM
VTwin FTW!
 
ChicagoFactory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Elk Grove Village
Posts: 5,564
Location: Elk Grove Village
Sportbike: 2013 Ducati Diavel Cromo
Years Riding: 20
How you found us: Friend
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by maoisn
Is there a noticeable difference in HD content between components vs. HDMI? I currently have Comcast HD service and running components with optical audio from the Comcast HD DVR. Would it be worht it for me to invest in HDMI?
Yes! HDMI carries both a digital audio and video signal with the same (one) cable instead of 3 or 4. It's a must for HDTV.

I have a question. What would give you better surround sound, an optical cable, or the HDMI? Hmmmmmm?

Mike

"Life is all about ass ... either you are covering it, kicking it, kissing it, sitting on it or trying to get it."

Last edited by ChicagoFactory; 06-16-2006 at 12:52 AM.
ChicagoFactory is offline  
post #7 of 24 (permalink) Old 06-16-2006, 07:50 AM
Registered User
 
Labdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Roselle, IL
Posts: 9,589
Location: Roselle, IL
Sportbike: 2000 Hayabusa Blue & Silver! Mods-> Oh yeah!
Years Riding: Oh just a couple or so....
How you found us: Old SBN days.......
           
DEFINITLY HDMI!!!!

Mike i would have to say Optical for audio. Just a guess here due to the fact the money spent on another HDMI cable. Optic is optic......

<--Kelly

.

2000 Hayabusa
2006 Honda CRF50
Labdog is offline  
post #8 of 24 (permalink) Old 06-16-2006, 08:55 AM
I miss mopar
 
Drama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Posts: 8,248
Location: Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Sportbike: 2008 Yamaha Zuma
Years Riding: I can't count that high.
How you found us: i don't remember.
           
Send a message via AIM to Drama Send a message via Skype™ to Drama
the other option is DVI for video and optical audio for stereo. This works real well if you have a stereo reciever.

Steve
08 yamaha Zuma 49cc
Dirt: TBD
I love bike shopping.
Drama is offline  
post #9 of 24 (permalink) Old 06-16-2006, 08:58 AM
CRF50 Squid
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 9,588
Location: Chicago
Sportbike: K6 GSX-R 750, 1971 CL350
Years Riding: Veteran Poser
How you found us: Google
           
Send a message via AIM to Blah Blah Blah
Looks like I need to go HDMI.

"The man who makes me your enemy, it is he who be the guilty one....Here I abandoned peace and desecrated law; fortune it is you I follow. Farewell to treaties. From now on war is our judge!"
Blah Blah Blah is offline  
post #10 of 24 (permalink) Old 06-16-2006, 10:06 AM
Go Hawks!
 
CHI1000RR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Plainfield
Posts: 3,541
Location: Plainfield
Sportbike: 1000RR (Sold) Looking
Years Riding: Long time but few miles
How you found us: I saw CLSB tatooed on some porn star's ass
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by thepro8
the other option is DVI for video and optical audio for stereo. This works real well if you have a stereo reciever.
DVI is done, they are no longer selling displays with DVI. I don't think Comcast is distributing boxes with a DVI output any longer. DVI is basically HDMI without the sound and CR protection. Hollywood got its way with HDMI, they will be able to restrict copying on HD content in the future via HDMI. Also, if you do not have HDMI, you may not receive some content in HDMI although this has yet to happen.

HDMI will get you the best picture. Use digital optical for sound to your A/V receiver. Some of the more expensive A/V receivers have HDMI inputs as well but then you need two HDMI cables. Sound should not differ between HDMI or optical, they are both a digital signal.




"I am Jack's smirking revenge.."
CHI1000RR is offline  
post #11 of 24 (permalink) Old 12-18-2006, 03:43 PM
Administrator
 
HDTony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Plainfield IL
Posts: 45,956
Location: Plainfield IL
Sportbike: A couple of pasta rockets
Years Riding: Since 1989
How you found us: In the beginning there was CLSB and Tony saw that it was good.
           
Send a message via AIM to HDTony
Ok I'm confused on the whole HDMI issue. If your running an HDMI cable from the cable box, to the TV which also carries sound, how are you getting the sound to your receiver. I have never used my TV speakers on my set, I run fiber directly to \my receiver for sound and always use the receiver for sound no matter what I'm watching. HDMi seems like a waste to me if I am paying extra to lump audio signal cabling in with video cabling if its going to the wrong place.




HDTony.... Damn glad to meet you!

Government's view of the economy could be summed up in a few short phrases: If it moves, tax it. If it keeps moving, regulate it. And if it stops moving, subsidize it.

- Ronald Reagan

AirTek Heating & Air inc.
HDTony is offline  
post #12 of 24 (permalink) Old 12-18-2006, 03:47 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,882
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDTony View Post
Ok I'm confused on the whole HDMI issue. If your running an HDMI cable from the cable box, to the TV which also carries sound, how are you getting the sound to your receiver. I have never used my TV speakers on my set, I run fiber directly to \my receiver for sound and always use the receiver for sound no matter what I'm watching. HDMi seems like a waste to me if I am paying extra to lump audio signal cabling in with video cabling if its going to the wrong place.
I've got the 5 or so cables running out of the HD Tuner into the tv which also carry the sound I believe. I then use my tv's 'Audio Out' to run that into the receiver. So the receiver never changes off of Video1 or whatever it's set at by default since the tv basically does than when I change inputs.
BIGGY is offline  
post #13 of 24 (permalink) Old 12-18-2006, 03:49 PM
Administrator
 
HDTony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Plainfield IL
Posts: 45,956
Location: Plainfield IL
Sportbike: A couple of pasta rockets
Years Riding: Since 1989
How you found us: In the beginning there was CLSB and Tony saw that it was good.
           
Send a message via AIM to HDTony
Quote:
Originally Posted by BIGGY View Post
I've got the 5 or so cables running out of the HD Tuner into the tv which also carry the sound I believe. I then use my tv's 'Audio Out' to run that into the receiver. So the receiver never changes off of Video1 or whatever it's set at by default since the tv basically does than when I change inputs.
So theres no concern with the TV adding extra processing tot he audio signal?




HDTony.... Damn glad to meet you!

Government's view of the economy could be summed up in a few short phrases: If it moves, tax it. If it keeps moving, regulate it. And if it stops moving, subsidize it.

- Ronald Reagan

AirTek Heating & Air inc.
HDTony is offline  
post #14 of 24 (permalink) Old 12-18-2006, 03:53 PM
Super Moderator

 
Vcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Winfield
Posts: 43,229
Location: Winfield
Sportbike: bikeless
Years Riding: 10
How you found us: Shit, you know I'm a clsb OG!
           
Send a message via AIM to Vcook
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDTony View Post
So theres no concern with the TV adding extra processing tot he audio signal?
if he's using 5 cables then he's doing component(3) along with anolog audio(2). not ideal.

run hdmi to the tv, then optical to your reciever.
Or hdmi to your reciever and then hdmi out from the reciever to the tv(for video) assuming your reciever does hdmi switching.

Just because HDMI can carry audio and video, doesnt mean it always will. Something to be aware of.

Chris
Vcook is offline  
post #15 of 24 (permalink) Old 12-18-2006, 04:07 PM
Registered User
 
chibeemer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 2,047
Location: Chicago
Sportbike: BMW R1100s
Years Riding: 13
How you found us: Rider
           
Nope, I use my TV speakers and my receiver's surround sound at the same time with HDMI.

In a nutshell you should make sure your TV has multiple HDMI ports or you'll need to shell out $150 for a splitter which degrades your signal.

Here is an example:

1. cable
2. HD DVD player (give it 2 years and this will be the only type available)
3. PS3

Now if just want to watch ABC, NBC, CBS, FOX, PBS, or about 30 other terrestrial stations for free you can simply make sure your HDTV has a built in terrestrial receiver. If you are getting one older than 1 year you can buy this:


http://www.circuitcity.com/ssm/Samsu...oductDetail.do

I'd suggest researching all this stuff here:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...67#post9159767

Blah, Blah, Blah

Get your Portable ID!
chibeemer is offline  
post #16 of 24 (permalink) Old 12-18-2006, 04:17 PM
CRF50 Squid
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 9,588
Location: Chicago
Sportbike: K6 GSX-R 750, 1971 CL350
Years Riding: Veteran Poser
How you found us: Google
           
Send a message via AIM to Blah Blah Blah
HDMI is overrated. I recently switched my HD DVR from components to HDMI. After some tweaking, I can't say I can see any improvement over components. Maybe I need to get my eyes checked.

"The man who makes me your enemy, it is he who be the guilty one....Here I abandoned peace and desecrated law; fortune it is you I follow. Farewell to treaties. From now on war is our judge!"
Blah Blah Blah is offline  
post #17 of 24 (permalink) Old 12-18-2006, 04:20 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,882
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vcook View Post
if he's using 5 cables then he's doing component(3) along with anolog audio(2). not ideal.

run hdmi to the tv, then optical to your reciever.
Or hdmi to your reciever and then hdmi out from the reciever to the tv(for video) assuming your reciever does hdmi switching.

Just because HDMI can carry audio and video, doesnt mean it always will. Something to be aware of.
Hey Vcook, do you mean that simply using those cables vs hdmi is not ideal or that running the audio into the tv and then tv out to receiver is not ideal? (Or both I guess?)

In terms of sound, I ran it this way since the Comcast tech set it up that way and have not had time to research it much. I've never been a tv sound buff, so unless I get a dramatically better picture I'm probably not going to get hdmi cable.
BIGGY is offline  
post #18 of 24 (permalink) Old 12-18-2006, 04:22 PM
Super Moderator

 
Vcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Winfield
Posts: 43,229
Location: Winfield
Sportbike: bikeless
Years Riding: 10
How you found us: Shit, you know I'm a clsb OG!
           
Send a message via AIM to Vcook
Quote:
Originally Posted by BIGGY View Post
Hey Vcook, do you mean that simply using those cables vs hdmi is not ideal or that running the audio into the tv and then tv out to receiver is not ideal? (Or both I guess?)
using analog cables for audio is not ideal. you're getting stereo sound, dolby prologic at best. booohisss.

Chris
Vcook is offline  
post #19 of 24 (permalink) Old 12-18-2006, 04:24 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,882
           
It's an older receiver (about 4 years old). I think the only settings I see on there are prologic movie and prologic music...I don't think it even has any digital inputs.
BIGGY is offline  
post #20 of 24 (permalink) Old 12-18-2006, 04:27 PM
Super Moderator

 
Vcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Winfield
Posts: 43,229
Location: Winfield
Sportbike: bikeless
Years Riding: 10
How you found us: Shit, you know I'm a clsb OG!
           
Send a message via AIM to Vcook
Quote:
Originally Posted by BIGGY View Post
It's an older receiver (about 4 years old). I think the only settings I see on there are prologic movie and prologic music...I don't think it even has any digital inputs.
must be pretty old.

Chris
Vcook is offline  
post #21 of 24 (permalink) Old 12-18-2006, 04:30 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,882
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vcook View Post
must be pretty old.
Yea, but it's one of those things that sounds good to me for now. No doubt there's much better out there, but when I'm watching whatever, it still sounds pretty darn good to me...and I guess that's half of what counts.

I do see deals out there for newer 7.1 systems, so one day I'll look into those.
BIGGY is offline  
post #22 of 24 (permalink) Old 12-18-2006, 04:32 PM
Registered User
 
chibeemer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 2,047
Location: Chicago
Sportbike: BMW R1100s
Years Riding: 13
How you found us: Rider
           
I agree, HDMI is preferred but somewhat over rated. I tested a few devices between my HDMI and component and saw little difference. In fact I actually prefer component connection between my upconverting DVD player and TV because if I use HDMI my contrast is washed out and I can't adjust it.

That makes scenes like the end of Resident Evil all white washed out.

Anyway, IMO its a somewhat deminished return. Sure they say better and it probably is but sometimes its not very noticable.

Blah, Blah, Blah

Get your Portable ID!
chibeemer is offline  
post #23 of 24 (permalink) Old 12-18-2006, 04:40 PM
CRF50 Squid
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 9,588
Location: Chicago
Sportbike: K6 GSX-R 750, 1971 CL350
Years Riding: Veteran Poser
How you found us: Google
           
Send a message via AIM to Blah Blah Blah
I also noticed that with HDMI the colors are a tad washed out. It took me some tweaks to get it the way I like it. Another problem I have with HDMI is the handshaking between my Comcast/Motorola HD DVR and my TV sucks ass. The DVR has to be powered on after the TV or else I get snow for picture. The only way to get the picture back is to power cycle the DVR or switch tuners from HD to SD and vice versa.

"The man who makes me your enemy, it is he who be the guilty one....Here I abandoned peace and desecrated law; fortune it is you I follow. Farewell to treaties. From now on war is our judge!"
Blah Blah Blah is offline  
post #24 of 24 (permalink) Old 12-18-2006, 05:08 PM
Registered User
 
chibeemer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 2,047
Location: Chicago
Sportbike: BMW R1100s
Years Riding: 13
How you found us: Rider
           
Oh and don't get me started with HDMI's handling of HDCP. ARG!

So get this, there isn't a standard yet for HDMI's handling of High Definition Copyright Protection (hence HDCP). Sometimes you can hook up a device and everything is OK and then sometimes you'll hook up a device and all you get is a black screen.

What ticks me off is that so few people have the same equipment you never know if its an equipment problem or what.

http://www.digitalconnection.com/FAQ/HDTV_12.asp

Blah, Blah, Blah

Get your Portable ID!
chibeemer is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Chicagoland Sportbikes forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome