HDTV antenna's - Chicagoland Sportbikes
Chicagoland Sportbikes
 
Open Forum This forum is for all off-topic discussion.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 11-13-2006, 07:12 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
NickIF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Westminster, Colorado
Posts: 3,260
Location: Westminster, Colorado
Sportbike: FJR1300
Years Riding: greater than a decade.
How you found us: google
           
Send a message via AIM to NickIF
HDTV antenna's

I don't have a regular antenna for my HDTV I purchased yesterday (Samsung HL-S6187) so I'm in the market for one so I can pick up the local channels over the air in hi-def. Any recommendations? Do I need a special antenna or will any old tv antenna work? We plan on getting HD cable service in the next week or so. Will I still need an antenna or will the HD box replace that? (Can you tell I know nothing about home theater?)

Friggin' TV has so many options I'm never going to learn how to work it all
NickIF is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 11-13-2006, 07:19 AM
Registered User
 
MM Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Hoffman Est., IL
Posts: 4,527
Location: Hoffman Est., IL
Sportbike: Squat
Years Riding: More then one hands worth.
How you found us: Your Mother
           
Send a message via AIM to MM Racing
Depends on how far out you are. Close to O'hare I can get HD channels on a regular antenna, but if you live out in the sticks you might need a HD specific antenna. I recommend anything by Terk, there large outdoor array should work fine if mount in an attic. Oh yeah and boonies means distance from Chicago since that is where the signal is being broadcast unless there is a repeater station out west somewhere.

Ian
MM Racing is offline  
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 11-13-2006, 07:51 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
NickIF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Westminster, Colorado
Posts: 3,260
Location: Westminster, Colorado
Sportbike: FJR1300
Years Riding: greater than a decade.
How you found us: google
           
Send a message via AIM to NickIF
I won't need that if I get an HD cablebox though correct?
NickIF is offline  
post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 11-13-2006, 07:54 AM
Human lawn dart
 
rdrash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palatine
Posts: 5,746
Location: Palatine
Sportbike: 03 ninja 6r 05 ttr-230 04 klx300r
Years Riding: 12
How you found us: I know all
           
Send a message via AIM to rdrash
Right. If your getting cable you can get all the local HD channels. No need for an antenna

I'm not short. I'm aerodynamically efficient.

Anti Helmet Laws Pro Darwinism
MotoGP 200 mph no roll cage
NESBA # 599
rdrash is offline  
post #5 of 14 (permalink) Old 11-13-2006, 09:38 AM
Administrator
 
HDTony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Plainfield IL
Posts: 45,956
Location: Plainfield IL
Sportbike: A couple of pasta rockets
Years Riding: Since 1989
How you found us: In the beginning there was CLSB and Tony saw that it was good.
           
Send a message via AIM to HDTony
Dont waste your time just wait for the cable guy. I have a big radio shack antenna in my attic. Considering your in naperville if you do the same you will get everything but channel 2, channel 2 is very weak and doesn't make it out this far.

But to answer your question, yes any old big tv antenna will work.




HDTony.... Damn glad to meet you!

Government's view of the economy could be summed up in a few short phrases: If it moves, tax it. If it keeps moving, regulate it. And if it stops moving, subsidize it.

- Ronald Reagan

AirTek Heating & Air inc.
HDTony is offline  
post #6 of 14 (permalink) Old 11-13-2006, 12:18 PM

 
butchf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Oswego, IL.
Posts: 2,411
Location: Oswego, IL.
Sportbike: none...all gone
Years Riding: a while
How you found us: ken
           
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by HDTony
Dont waste your time just wait for the cable guy. I have a big radio shack antenna in my attic. Considering your in naperville if you do the same you will get everything but channel 2, channel 2 is very weak and doesn't make it out this far.

But to answer your question, yes any old big tv antenna will work.
That's because channel 2 is the only VHF HD broadcast. All others are UHF.
I can get 2,5,7,9,32,and a few more with a very old VHF attenna. It is reccomended to use a high quality UHF for most off-air HD broadcasts.
www.checkhd.com is a good source of information.

CCS race official
sold the track bike
too slow to ride

"Repairs end December 31. 2011."

OK, it was a tough day.....back open again!!!
Bring me your broken down machines.

Butch @ 630-777-0273

Ytrap #819, forever in my prayers.
Arch, this Bud is for you..
butchf is offline  
post #7 of 14 (permalink) Old 11-13-2006, 12:23 PM
Irony helps us play!
 
Arch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: N'ville
Posts: 29,510
Location: N'ville
Sportbike: 2000 F4
Years Riding: Long enough to know better
How you found us: some hot MILF whispered it in my ear
           
Harley Davidson makes TVs?

...probably stain your carpet...

Everyone Exaggerates

We're being taken for a ride... agaaaaaaain.....


Best Auto/Moto Insurance | Motorcycle Protection Today | FREE Trade-In Quote
Arch is offline  
post #8 of 14 (permalink) Old 11-13-2006, 12:24 PM
Go Hawks!
 
CHI1000RR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Plainfield
Posts: 3,541
Location: Plainfield
Sportbike: 1000RR (Sold) Looking
Years Riding: Long time but few miles
How you found us: I saw CLSB tatooed on some porn star's ass
           
There is no difference between regular attennas and HD. The bigger the better and you will have to spend some time with direction to get the best signal.

OTA channels always produced the best picture on my t.v. vs. Direct T.V. Both Direct T.V. & Comcast offer locals in HD so this is a pain in the Ass IMO. Channel two was always difficult to get but there are some other strange OTA channels. Got to have your digital pax and 99 is like a 3rd WGN channel..




"I am Jack's smirking revenge.."
CHI1000RR is offline  
post #9 of 14 (permalink) Old 11-13-2006, 12:33 PM
-+-+-+-+-+-
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Lombard, IL
Posts: 2,427
Location: Lombard, IL
Sportbike: 2002 YZF-R1
Years Riding: A few days since yesterday
How you found us: Another website
           
You still need an HD converter box as well to view HD OTA. Just plugging the antenna in won't work.
Keyhole is offline  
post #10 of 14 (permalink) Old 11-13-2006, 12:36 PM
The Victim Newbie
 
clearwaterms's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Westchester, IL
Posts: 7,384
Location: Westchester, IL
Sportbike: 2007 mountain bike
Years Riding: just started
How you found us: svrider.com
           
Send a message via AIM to clearwaterms Send a message via MSN to clearwaterms Send a message via Yahoo to clearwaterms
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keyhole
You still need an HD converter box as well to view HD OTA. Just plugging the antenna in won't work.
not true, on modern HD sets they have the digital tuner built in. as a matter of fact for those that have just basic cable (non digital) you can get your HD locals through that. you just have to know which channels they are. But you can get them no problem

<-- Chris

turn the bars left and go right; that just isn't right
clearwaterms is offline  
post #11 of 14 (permalink) Old 11-13-2006, 12:37 PM

 
butchf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Oswego, IL.
Posts: 2,411
Location: Oswego, IL.
Sportbike: none...all gone
Years Riding: a while
How you found us: ken
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keyhole
You still need an HD converter box as well to view HD OTA. Just plugging the antenna in won't work.
That's funny, mine just plugged right in and worked. TV has HD tuner built in.
The difference is HD capable verses HD built in.

CCS race official
sold the track bike
too slow to ride

"Repairs end December 31. 2011."

OK, it was a tough day.....back open again!!!
Bring me your broken down machines.

Butch @ 630-777-0273

Ytrap #819, forever in my prayers.
Arch, this Bud is for you..
butchf is offline  
post #12 of 14 (permalink) Old 11-13-2006, 12:50 PM
vroom vroom
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Peoria, IL
Posts: 2,246
Location: Peoria, IL
Sportbike: '05 Z750S
Years Riding: 10 yrs
How you found us: Katanaplanet
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by clearwaterms
not true, on modern HD sets they have the digital tuner built in. as a matter of fact for those that have just basic cable (non digital) you can get your HD locals through that. you just have to know which channels they are. But you can get them no problem

Yep. I get local HD stations through my analog cable line. I also pick up a couple other HD channels that probably should not be available without paying extra. Not all TVs with HD tuners can read the cable HD though. Some can only do over the air HD.

-Mike
pitbull76 is offline  
post #13 of 14 (permalink) Old 11-13-2006, 12:54 PM
Hot-Wire Her With A Pin
 
Paladin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: County Hell
Posts: 8,791
Location: County Hell
Sportbike: Blue Mini Cooper
Years Riding: Done for now
How you found us: Bad weather bikers
           
Send a message via Yahoo to Paladin
Your tv needs to have an HD tuner. Some do have it some tv's are just hd ready.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bug View Post
I will sock ya square in your snot locker if you EVER use the term "Bron Bron" in my presence - BAHLEEDAT
Paladin is offline  
post #14 of 14 (permalink) Old 11-13-2006, 12:56 PM
-+-+-+-+-+-
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Lombard, IL
Posts: 2,427
Location: Lombard, IL
Sportbike: 2002 YZF-R1
Years Riding: A few days since yesterday
How you found us: Another website
           
Yea mine is older...I have to have a coverter.
Keyhole is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Chicagoland Sportbikes forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome