Nervous... - Chicagoland Sportbikes
Chicagoland Sportbikes

Open Forum This forum is for all off-topic discussion.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 42 (permalink) Old 04-28-2003, 03:03 PM Thread Starter

Nervous...

I am new to owning a bike in Chicagoland and I have to say I am nervous almost every time I take it out for a spin because of the cagers around here. This region is a far cry from the suburban NE Ohio (I moved here in 2000), where 5 minutes in any direction will put you in the middle of nowhere. Most roads were 2 lanes, you couldn't do U-turns, and the biggest city we had was Cleveland (all jokes aside!).

So now I fret over whether or not to take my bike out when I get home from work at 5pm because of Roosevelt Rd and Ogden and 355 at 6pm on a week night. It's frustrating. There is a ton more traffic here. Believe it or not, I wait until 11pm or midnight often before I go out just so I can have the roads to myself.

So, do I just have to get over myself? I took it out twice over the weekend for about 50 miles in the morning. On Butterfield and Roosevelt (Lombard area) my head was on a damn swivel the whole ride. I could not relax because of what the cages were doing around me. I keep telling myself to ride it everyday to get over being nervous, but the same anxiousness creeps back into me the next day.

Mind you, it's only when I ride the bike that I get nervous. I'll go anywhere in my Wrangler.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 42 (permalink) Old 04-28-2003, 03:05 PM
Super Moderator

Sportbike: bikeless
Years Riding: 10
How you found us: Shit, you know I'm a clsb OG!

Send a message via AIM to Vcook
Give it time. your reflexes are better than you realize. By the time some one cuts you off you are already accelerating away/braking and raising your middle finger.

Chris
post #3 of 42 (permalink) Old 04-28-2003, 03:07 PM

Sportbike: k7 gsxr 600 track bike project
Years Riding: couple years...
How you found us: google