stupid asss comcast dvr!!!!!! - Chicagoland Sportbikes
Chicagoland Sportbikes
 
Open Forum This forum is for all off-topic discussion.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old 02-04-2008, 07:53 PM Thread Starter
Viva La Figa!!
 
Downforce137's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: In Diana
Posts: 6,215
Location: In Diana
Sportbike: negative.
Years Riding: long enough to know better.
How you found us: cycleforums.com
           
Send a message via AIM to Downforce137
stupid asss comcast dvr!!!!!!

welp, since the super bowl ran over, i only get 20 minutes of an all new episode of House.. GRRRRRRRRRR

Downforce137 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 21 (permalink) Old 02-04-2008, 08:29 PM
G2G
Registered User
 
G2G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 14,288
Location: Chicago
Sportbike: It changes everyday
Years Riding: since 1991
How you found us: Ur mom
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by Downforce137 View Post
welp, since the super bowl ran over, i only get 20 minutes of an all new episode of House.. GRRRRRRRRRR


Oh you missed a good one. I got home just in time to rewind the channel so i did not miss any of it.
G2G is offline  
post #3 of 21 (permalink) Old 02-04-2008, 08:30 PM
Move along
 
Eugene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Cardboard box
Posts: 1,606
Location: Cardboard box
Sportbike: 08 GSXR 600
Years Riding: Day after yesterday
How you found us: referred
           
Send a message via AIM to Eugene
I hate the Comcast DVR, it always messes up and I lose all my recordings..so now I just said F it and took it off the plan

Xbox Live: BrBGot2Pee
Eugene is offline  
post #4 of 21 (permalink) Old 02-04-2008, 08:41 PM
Go Hawks!
 
CHI1000RR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Plainfield
Posts: 3,541
Location: Plainfield
Sportbike: 1000RR (Sold) Looking
Years Riding: Long time but few miles
How you found us: I saw CLSB tatooed on some porn star's ass
           
Does any DVR actualy adjust a recording if a show does not run at its scheduled time?
CHI1000RR is offline  
post #5 of 21 (permalink) Old 02-04-2008, 08:43 PM
G2G
Registered User
 
G2G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 14,288
Location: Chicago
Sportbike: It changes everyday
Years Riding: since 1991
How you found us: Ur mom
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by CHI1000RR View Post
Does any DVR actualy adjust a recording if a show does not run at its scheduled time?
No it doesnt
G2G is offline  
post #6 of 21 (permalink) Old 02-04-2008, 08:45 PM
Go Hawks!
 
CHI1000RR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Plainfield
Posts: 3,541
Location: Plainfield
Sportbike: 1000RR (Sold) Looking
Years Riding: Long time but few miles
How you found us: I saw CLSB tatooed on some porn star's ass
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by G2G View Post
No it doesnt
I know Comcast's does not but was wondering about TIVO, ect.. They only way to prevent this is to record the show after..
CHI1000RR is offline  
post #7 of 21 (permalink) Old 02-04-2008, 08:58 PM Thread Starter
Viva La Figa!!
 
Downforce137's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: In Diana
Posts: 6,215
Location: In Diana
Sportbike: negative.
Years Riding: long enough to know better.
How you found us: cycleforums.com
           
Send a message via AIM to Downforce137
i think they would have to adjust the guide to make it record the whole program, which of course must be too much work on superbowl sunday with the most popular show on tv following. there's complaints all over the internet about this
Downforce137 is offline  
post #8 of 21 (permalink) Old 02-04-2008, 09:03 PM
Lick Me
 
HeavyHand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: wood dale
Posts: 1,635
Location: wood dale
Sportbike: '01 sv650s, CRF 70
Years Riding: 3
How you found us: from moparboyy
           
Send a message via AIM to HeavyHand
house will be on this friday at 8c

-Nick
#86
HeavyHand is offline  
post #9 of 21 (permalink) Old 02-04-2008, 09:05 PM
freaking newbies, man there slow, ha ha ha
 
CRAZe Inc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 6,842
Location: San Francisco
Sportbike: Big Wheel
Years Riding: Since 3
How you found us: This is required?
           
situations like that i always record the next hour or so to be safe.

fool me once...
CRAZe Inc is offline  
post #10 of 21 (permalink) Old 02-04-2008, 09:07 PM
To Punish and Enslave
 
Jimbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Rockridge
Posts: 3,952
Location: Rockridge
Sportbike: A 10 speed :(
Years Riding: 25
How you found us: I know the dude that runs the website
           
Send a message via AIM to Jimbo Send a message via Yahoo to Jimbo
Quote:
Originally Posted by Downforce137 View Post
i think they would have to adjust the guide to make it record the whole program, which of course must be too much work on superbowl sunday with the most popular show on tv following. there's complaints all over the internet about this
Thats exactly what they would have to do. When we did football we always added at least 30 mins if we recored it.
Again it's not Comcast fault for this, it's the TV guide who supplies all the guides listings for all the companies including Dish and stuff.

"Beer is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy"- Benjamin Franklin

SUPPORT OUR TROOPS!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vcook View Post
hahahaha, nice try. Everyone knows men age like wine and women age like milk. It's a scientific fact!!
Jimbo is offline  
post #11 of 21 (permalink) Old 02-04-2008, 09:09 PM
To Punish and Enslave
 
Jimbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Rockridge
Posts: 3,952
Location: Rockridge
Sportbike: A 10 speed :(
Years Riding: 25
How you found us: I know the dude that runs the website
           
Send a message via AIM to Jimbo Send a message via Yahoo to Jimbo
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eugene View Post
I hate the Comcast DVR, it always messes up and I lose all my recordings..so now I just said F it and took it off the plan
Again that was a Motorola issue and is now fixed, the DCH3416 has all those issues worked out.

"Beer is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy"- Benjamin Franklin

SUPPORT OUR TROOPS!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vcook View Post
hahahaha, nice try. Everyone knows men age like wine and women age like milk. It's a scientific fact!!
Jimbo is offline  
post #12 of 21 (permalink) Old 02-04-2008, 09:19 PM
Registered User
 
JackNCokeGus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Island Lake, IL
Posts: 33
Location: Island Lake, IL
Sportbike: 2006 CBR 600rr
Years Riding: april 2006
How you found us: ummmm no
 
It was a good episode I wanna ruin it for you but I wont. LOL
JackNCokeGus is offline  
post #13 of 21 (permalink) Old 02-04-2008, 09:27 PM
-+-+-+-+-+-
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Lombard, IL
Posts: 2,427
Location: Lombard, IL
Sportbike: 2002 YZF-R1
Years Riding: A few days since yesterday
How you found us: Another website
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimbo View Post
Again that was a Motorola issue and is now fixed, the DCH3416 has all those issues worked out.
It doesn't constantly freeze when pushing buttons?
Keyhole is offline  
post #14 of 21 (permalink) Old 02-04-2008, 11:33 PM
Go Hawks!
 
CHI1000RR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Plainfield
Posts: 3,541
Location: Plainfield
Sportbike: 1000RR (Sold) Looking
Years Riding: Long time but few miles
How you found us: I saw CLSB tatooed on some porn star's ass
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keyhole View Post
It doesn't constantly freeze when pushing buttons?
Mine does not but it's the newer box with HDMI as described above. No issues with the DVR, is House On Demand?
CHI1000RR is offline  
post #15 of 21 (permalink) Old 02-05-2008, 12:36 AM
Cruising through life
 
Muskrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 2,175
Location: Chicagoland
Sportbike: '11 Harley VRSCF
Years Riding: 7 years
How you found us: searched under "degenerates"
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keyhole View Post
It doesn't constantly freeze when pushing buttons?
one of mine does that all the time and it pisses me off to no end... i keep meaning to take it and get it replaced with a newer one with bigger hard drive
Muskrat is offline  
post #16 of 21 (permalink) Old 02-05-2008, 01:20 AM
A to B is for Amatuers
 
goof4080's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Lisle
Posts: 794
Location: Lisle
Sportbike: 2 Wheeled Junk
Years Riding: 10
How you found us: BWA
           
Send a message via AIM to goof4080 Send a message via Yahoo to goof4080
Quote:
Originally Posted by CRAZe Inc View Post
situations like that i always record the next hour or so to be safe.

fool me once...
hey buddy....longtime since i've seen a crazeinc post. how ya been.



btw, i took the dvr off my plan too after i learned scrubs is always on tv.!
goof4080 is offline  
post #17 of 21 (permalink) Old 02-05-2008, 08:09 AM
Registered User
 
Kruz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: West of 59, North of 88
Posts: 18,885
Location: West of 59, North of 88
Sportbike: 05 CRF50
Years Riding: "Since 1992"
How you found us: You found me
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by CRAZe Inc View Post
situations like that i always record the next hour or so to be safe.

fool me once...
+1
Sounds like the old "User Error" problem.
Kruz is offline  
post #18 of 21 (permalink) Old 02-05-2008, 08:55 AM Thread Starter
Viva La Figa!!
 
Downforce137's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: In Diana
Posts: 6,215
Location: In Diana
Sportbike: negative.
Years Riding: long enough to know better.
How you found us: cycleforums.com
           
Send a message via AIM to Downforce137
well, i have it set to record all episodes, since i never know when its on, and dont have time to flip thru tv guides and whatnot.. still sucks..

didnt think to look on-demand, i'll have to check that out,,
Downforce137 is offline  
post #19 of 21 (permalink) Old 02-05-2008, 09:07 AM
Registered User
 
Kruz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: West of 59, North of 88
Posts: 18,885
Location: West of 59, North of 88
Sportbike: 05 CRF50
Years Riding: "Since 1992"
How you found us: You found me
           
For the record, even the new "HDMI" Comcast HD DVRs are not perfect. I still get an annoying button "delay" from time to time.

I also hate how the guide does not correctly recognize "New" shows from repeats for certain stations.
Kruz is offline  
post #20 of 21 (permalink) Old 02-05-2008, 09:07 AM
Registered User
 
Kruz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: West of 59, North of 88
Posts: 18,885
Location: West of 59, North of 88
Sportbike: 05 CRF50
Years Riding: "Since 1992"
How you found us: You found me
           
BTW...who has the programming sequence to assign a 30 second skip forward to the comcast remote?

I cannot seem to recall how to do it?
Kruz is offline  
post #21 of 21 (permalink) Old 02-05-2008, 10:21 AM
CRF50 Squid
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 9,588
Location: Chicago
Sportbike: K6 GSX-R 750, 1971 CL350
Years Riding: Veteran Poser
How you found us: Google
           
Send a message via AIM to Blah Blah Blah
The Comcast DVR sucks. The DirecTivo was the best I ever owned.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kruz View Post
BTW...who has the programming sequence to assign a 30 second skip forward to the comcast remote?

I cannot seem to recall how to do it?
1) Press the “Cable” button at the top of the remote to put it into Cable Box control mode.
2) Press and hold the “Setup” button until the “Cable” button blinks twice.
3) Type in the code 994. The “Cable” button will blink twice
4) Press (do not hold) the “Setup” button
5) Type in the code 00173 (for 30 second Skip)
6) Press whatever button you want to map the skip

"The man who makes me your enemy, it is he who be the guilty one....Here I abandoned peace and desecrated law; fortune it is you I follow. Farewell to treaties. From now on war is our judge!"
Blah Blah Blah is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Chicagoland Sportbikes forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome