Got my DirectTV + Tivo installed..now HELP!!!!! - Chicagoland Sportbikes
Chicagoland Sportbikes
 
Open Forum This forum is for all off-topic discussion.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-30-2003, 11:08 AM Thread Starter
Man with Big Hose
 
Pugsly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Hoffman Estates
Posts: 1,432
Location: Hoffman Estates
Sportbike: '01 Track only GSXR 600. No more street riding :(
Years Riding: Pick a number between 1 and 10? Opps now 1 and 11
How you found us: Champ91 in 2002
 
Send a message via AIM to Pugsly Send a message via MSN to Pugsly
Got my DirectTV + Tivo installed..now HELP!!!!!

Just got tivo and direct tv installed yesterday. Thius Season Pass thing for Nascar and AMA. how in the hell do I get it to only record the superbike, 600, xtreme,superstock etc and not every ama dirt track arenacross etc event?

Also since Nascar is on FX this week, if i do a season pass will it only record nascar that apears on FX or is it smart enough to record and WC event on any channel the rest of the year? Plus how do i get it to record it only Sunday and not the replays?

That Boy Just Ain't Right
CCS #414
PARTS411.COM
Lockhart Phillips USA

NESBA #414 Advanced
2001 GSXR 600
Pugsly is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-30-2003, 11:11 AM
Registered User
 
logtar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Glenview
Posts: 5,054
Location: Glenview
Sportbike: CURRENTLY LOOKING
Years Riding: since I was 8
How you found us: The NET is MINE
           
One of the easiest ways to do is to use the keywords selection thing. That way you can say only superbike, 600, etc

Never do moto or you will get tons of other stuff

Logtar - John

My Blog - @Logtar - Google+
logtar is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-30-2003, 11:22 AM
stuck in 6th gear
 
Ernie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Palatine
Posts: 7,632
Location: Palatine
Sportbike: '99 SV650, GSX-R1K2, CRF230F5, '08 HM-S
Years Riding: not enough lately *(&%# work...
How you found us: LBK back in the day
           
Re: Got my DirectTV + Tivo installed..now HELP!!!!!

Quote:
Originally posted by Pugsly
Just got tivo and direct tv installed yesterday. Thius Season Pass thing for Nascar and AMA. how in the hell do I get it to only record the superbike, 600, xtreme,superstock etc and not every ama dirt track arenacross etc event?
you might want to set up wishlists instead with those keywords you mentioned above

or go buy a bigger drive from 9thtee to slap in your tivo

Quote:
Also since Nascar is on FX this week, if i do a season pass will it only record nascar that apears on FX or is it smart enough to record and WC event on any channel the rest of the year? Plus how do i get it to record it only Sunday and not the replays?
should only be season pass for that channel. like I said before if you want it to record a category on ANY channel then set up a wishlist and have it record automatically.

as for the rerun info, you're out of luck if the event description isn't flagged with the rerun bit set
Ernie is offline  
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-30-2003, 11:23 AM
Administrator
 
HDTony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Plainfield IL
Posts: 45,956
Location: Plainfield IL
Sportbike: A couple of pasta rockets
Years Riding: Since 1989
How you found us: In the beginning there was CLSB and Tony saw that it was good.
           
Send a message via AIM to HDTony
Cant you just go through the guide and pick what you want? I know I do it that way with Ultimate tv




HDTony.... Damn glad to meet you!

Government's view of the economy could be summed up in a few short phrases: If it moves, tax it. If it keeps moving, regulate it. And if it stops moving, subsidize it.

- Ronald Reagan

AirTek Heating & Air inc.
HDTony is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-30-2003, 11:31 AM Thread Starter
Man with Big Hose
 
Pugsly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Hoffman Estates
Posts: 1,432
Location: Hoffman Estates
Sportbike: '01 Track only GSXR 600. No more street riding :(
Years Riding: Pick a number between 1 and 10? Opps now 1 and 11
How you found us: Champ91 in 2002
 
Send a message via AIM to Pugsly Send a message via MSN to Pugsly
Quote:
Originally posted by GsxrTony
Cant you just go through the guide and pick what you want? I know I do it that way with Ultimate tv
i am hoping that with season pass that i should have to never rember to check the guide if i want to record a event. i am hoping like they said above, if i type in superbike that it will record ama superbike and world superbike as well. even if i forget that its on, it should record all those events i hope

That Boy Just Ain't Right
CCS #414
PARTS411.COM
Lockhart Phillips USA

NESBA #414 Advanced
2001 GSXR 600
Pugsly is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-30-2003, 11:36 AM
Administrator
 
HDTony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Plainfield IL
Posts: 45,956
Location: Plainfield IL
Sportbike: A couple of pasta rockets
Years Riding: Since 1989
How you found us: In the beginning there was CLSB and Tony saw that it was good.
           
Send a message via AIM to HDTony
Man tivo sounds like a pain. I just do a search and then click on the ones I want to record. then I can choose if I want to recaord all programs of that series or just that one




HDTony.... Damn glad to meet you!

Government's view of the economy could be summed up in a few short phrases: If it moves, tax it. If it keeps moving, regulate it. And if it stops moving, subsidize it.

- Ronald Reagan

AirTek Heating & Air inc.
HDTony is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-30-2003, 11:54 AM
stuck in 6th gear
 
Ernie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Palatine
Posts: 7,632
Location: Palatine
Sportbike: '99 SV650, GSX-R1K2, CRF230F5, '08 HM-S
Years Riding: not enough lately *(&%# work...
How you found us: LBK back in the day
           
it's the pretty much the same on the tivo and we got more cool sound bytes, bells & whistles

ultimateTV is like 2nd generation dishplayer technology from Microsoft/Dish Network partnership that went down in flames and finger pointing from 2-3 years ago. Still pretty cool, but not as nice as the hardware & software features in the TiVo. I would have gone with one of these units too if I hadn't been told by friends on the development team that the plug is getting pulled on the project. They were offering them to friends & family for $49 last year
Ernie is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-30-2003, 12:06 PM
Administrator
 
HDTony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Plainfield IL
Posts: 45,956
Location: Plainfield IL
Sportbike: A couple of pasta rockets
Years Riding: Since 1989
How you found us: In the beginning there was CLSB and Tony saw that it was good.
           
Send a message via AIM to HDTony
Yeah It was a tough decision when i had to decide between the two. Main thing I decied on was that since microsoft was involved it would be around longer. (since they seem to take everything over) boy was I wrong. But it has worked well for me and I am still getting software updates with new options sent to it. I was surprised to see that I dont know whos sending them but they are coming. I hoping that eventually it will get one big update that will switch it to Tivo, especially since its a sony box and identicle to the sony tivo box.




HDTony.... Damn glad to meet you!

Government's view of the economy could be summed up in a few short phrases: If it moves, tax it. If it keeps moving, regulate it. And if it stops moving, subsidize it.

- Ronald Reagan

AirTek Heating & Air inc.
HDTony is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-30-2003, 01:49 PM
CLSB SuperHero
 
TerminatorR1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Crest Hill...didnt think you've heard of it
Posts: 1,808
Location: Crest Hill...didnt think you've heard of it
Sportbike: None right now
Years Riding: since '95
How you found us: friend
  
I have replay TV, which is the same. I bought it cuz you didnt have to pay a monthly fee like you do with Tivo, or pay a one time fee. The difference in price was only $50, so Replay TV it was.

Life is too short to ride anything but an R1

In memory of FastBlueR1...RIP

TerminatorR1 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Chicagoland Sportbikes forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome