Car Audio question - Amp - Chicagoland Sportbikes
Chicagoland Sportbikes
 
Open Forum This forum is for all off-topic discussion.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-12-2008, 04:43 PM Thread Starter
The Sausage king
 
Abe_Froman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,003
Location: Chicago
Sportbike: Ducati
Years Riding: Since my mid-life crisis
How you found us: Hankered for a hunka cheese
           
Car Audio question - Amp

I noticed a high pitch whine coming from one of the amps in my car.

About a week ago it was soft but a couple of days ago it got louder and I also noticed that the sound is not crisp. Sounds like its over driving the speakers. Is the Amp on its last legs, can it be repaired or maybe my headunit?

Someone with some car audio experience please chime in!

Alpine headunit CDA - 9835 and the amp is an Eclipse 4 channel, I'll check the model number when I get home.

Da Bears!
Ducati
Abe_Froman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-12-2008, 05:03 PM
Armed law abiding citizen
 
Dave13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Middleburg, Florida
Posts: 19,055
Location: Middleburg, Florida
Sportbike: '74 Yamaha RD350
Years Riding: idk
How you found us: Google
           
Prolly not the head unit, try using a crossover , passive or electronic.
Dave13 is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-12-2008, 05:06 PM
Bop your way home...
 
Dr. D's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: on the move in Texas
Posts: 5,622
Location: on the move in Texas
Sportbike: Hypermotard
Years Riding: since 99'
How you found us: Googled "bullshit artists"
           
change the outputs from one set of speakers to the another to see if the noise is coming from the amp or headunit. Then it's time to see if you have a ground issue (this is usually the case). Then post back up with your findings.

-Alan-
Balancing the Paradox
of Art and Profit
Dr. D is offline  
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-12-2008, 05:16 PM
Registered User
 
SilentAlero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Alsip
Posts: 8,508
Location: Alsip
Sportbike: 01 Giggy 7fidday
Years Riding: been riding your mom for years
How you found us: The hobo on lower wacker sold me the link.
           
That or make sure your power to the amp isnt running on the same side as you speaker wires.

Dgrsuspension.com

~ High Performance Coilovers

Silentedition.com
Quote:
Watching the Cubs lose is the opposite of appreciating a fine wine ó itís like watching a car accident in progress. Itís horrifying, yet gruesomely riveting, and you canít help but watch and sympathize with the poor souls inside.
Quote:
Originally Posted by burntash View Post
coming to CLSB for relationship advice is like asking fat people in mcdonalds about nutrition.
SilentAlero is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-12-2008, 05:22 PM Thread Starter
The Sausage king
 
Abe_Froman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,003
Location: Chicago
Sportbike: Ducati
Years Riding: Since my mid-life crisis
How you found us: Hankered for a hunka cheese
           
I was thinking maybe a bad ground too, but the other amp is fine.

The amp in question is powering a set of MA Audio Components with a passive crossover.
I have two amps hooked up to a distribution (?) block. I think that's what its called, been a while since I went through car audio stuff.
I will double check the ground and wires, see what I find. Anything else I should check? Thanks guys.

EDIT
Silent: I ran power on one side of the car and RCAs/speaker wires on the other.

Da Bears!
Ducati
Abe_Froman is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-12-2008, 05:28 PM
Enjoying Life!!
 
CHeYeNNe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cruising Around Enjoying Life!!
Posts: 17,773
Location: Cruising Around Enjoying Life!!
Sportbike: 09 Night Rod Black Denim
Years Riding: Not Long Enuff!!!!
How you found us: Friends
           
Sounds like a bad groud. Possibly loosened up or depending where you have might of gotten dirty

Also but highly doubltful could be bad set of RCA's, possible pinched wire under seat depending how you ran them and if a seat was moved recently


I'm sick of following my dreams. I'm just going to ask them where they're goin', and hook up with them later!!
CHeYeNNe is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-12-2008, 11:00 PM
Midnight Rider
 
PatFitz9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: North side
Posts: 3,885
Location: North side
Sportbike: R6 and a Z1000
Years Riding: for a bit
How you found us: random PM on sportbikes.net
           
check your ground

Fat Pat #728

If you don't like my fire, then don't come around...
PatFitz9 is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-12-2008, 11:33 PM
Clever Girl
 
Noodles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Glendale Heights
Posts: 10,209
Location: Glendale Heights
Sportbike: 'Fightered F3
Years Riding: 3 years
How you found us: I woke up here.
           
Send a message via AIM to Noodles
+1 on checking the ground.

Also check the alternator, battery and chassis (I think those are the big 3) ground points under the hood of the car.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Noodles View Post
Noodles accepts no liability for the content of this post, or for the consequences of any actions taken on the basis of the information provided, unless that information is subsequently confirmed in writing. Any views or opinions presented in this post are solely those of the author and do not necessarily represent those of Noodles.
Noodles is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-13-2008, 12:51 PM Thread Starter
The Sausage king
 
Abe_Froman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,003
Location: Chicago
Sportbike: Ducati
Years Riding: Since my mid-life crisis
How you found us: Hankered for a hunka cheese
           
Well, the amp in question is a 2 channel Eclipse 3322. I checked the ground connections with my mulitmeter and it seems good. I also have an Eclipse EA2212 connected to the same power and ground feeds through the distribution blocks and that one sounds just fine.

I swapped out my amps, I now have the EA2212 powering the component speakers and the 3322 powering the subs. With some tweaking on the built in amp crossovers I got it to sound better. The whine is still coming out of the one amp. If I remember correctly, capacitors make a high pitched whine when they are bad or going bad, right?

I'll check all my wiring, but I just swapped amps and it sounds better. If it is the amp, any recommendations on a new amp?

Da Bears!
Ducati
Abe_Froman is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-13-2008, 12:55 PM
YO MAMA
 
Odysseys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: balls deep in someones mom
Posts: 60,261
Location: balls deep in someones mom
Sportbike: 2010 Electra Glide Police Edition 103cu
Years Riding: a long time!
           
change the blinker fluid, and grease the muffler bearing



Odysseys is offline  
post #11 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-13-2008, 12:57 PM
Clever Girl
 
Noodles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Glendale Heights
Posts: 10,209
Location: Glendale Heights
Sportbike: 'Fightered F3
Years Riding: 3 years
How you found us: I woke up here.
           
Send a message via AIM to Noodles
Is it a constant whine or does it vary when the car is running through the RPM range?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Noodles View Post
Noodles accepts no liability for the content of this post, or for the consequences of any actions taken on the basis of the information provided, unless that information is subsequently confirmed in writing. Any views or opinions presented in this post are solely those of the author and do not necessarily represent those of Noodles.
Noodles is offline  
post #12 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-13-2008, 01:12 PM Thread Starter
The Sausage king
 
Abe_Froman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,003
Location: Chicago
Sportbike: Ducati
Years Riding: Since my mid-life crisis
How you found us: Hankered for a hunka cheese
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by Noodles View Post
Is it a constant whine or does it vary when the car is running through the RPM range?
Constant. Does not get louder when I hit the gas.

Da Bears!
Ducati
Abe_Froman is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Chicagoland Sportbikes forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome