Damn ATT Uverse - Chicagoland Sportbikes
Chicagoland Sportbikes
 
Open Forum This forum is for all off-topic discussion.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-24-2008, 11:09 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
coffeeguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: woodstock Il
Posts: 1,484
Location: woodstock Il
Sportbike: Ask my wife
Years Riding: a while
How you found us: google
           
Damn ATT Uverse

So it looks like all the programing I had set to record is worthless because of the time shift caused by the Presidential address. Like it should be so hard to re-tag all the shows so the recording end at the right time. Anyone else have this problem. Did Tivo record corectly? Comcast? It's this kind of little thing that defines a services quality you'd think someone would step up.

My Gear saved my life.

Click here for really good coffee
coffeeguy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-25-2008, 02:56 AM
Registered User
 
Audiofyl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Joliet
Posts: 3,280
Location: Joliet
Sportbike: 600rr & Zuma125
Years Riding: since 2002
How you found us: linked on the interwebs
           
Send a message via AIM to Audiofyl Send a message via MSN to Audiofyl
I've never had a shift in programming get my shows recorded correctly.

Eric

2003 CBR600RR
2009 Zuma 125
2005 VW Golf TDI
1994 Honda Civic Turbo

My Fuelly

Flickr

posterous

Quote:
Originally Posted by shadrach
The art of reading is lost on all....
Audiofyl is offline  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-25-2008, 07:14 AM
Slow Poke
 
loudes13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Dundee, IL
Posts: 1,297
Location: Dundee, IL
Sportbike: BMW Dakar
Years Riding: since '00
How you found us: member
           
tivo made mistakes like that also. It all depends if the guide gets updated. Since tivo calls late at night, it would also probably something like last night. ATT's guide 'should' be more flexible since it could be updated on the fly.

"When buying and selling are controlled by legislation, the first things to be bought and sold are the legislators."

www.allenskillicorn.com


Follow my views on Life (snarkiness), Liberty (politics), and Pursuit of Happiness (motorsports) on twitter. http://twitter.com/allenskillicorn
loudes13 is offline  
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-25-2008, 08:16 AM
Super Moderator

 
Vcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Winfield
Posts: 43,229
Location: Winfield
Sportbike: bikeless
Years Riding: 10
How you found us: Shit, you know I'm a clsb OG!
           
Send a message via AIM to Vcook
how do you like the U-verse? I'm having a tough time figuring out what the technical specs are for their equipment, their site sucks.

Chris
Vcook is offline  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-25-2008, 10:00 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
coffeeguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: woodstock Il
Posts: 1,484
Location: woodstock Il
Sportbike: Ask my wife
Years Riding: a while
How you found us: google
           
I like it it runs a lot faster than the Motorola DVR box I had form Comcast. Picture quality is good and I see less artifacts and he menu is very easy to use and intuitive. It pops up translucent over the show you are veiwing.

They did screw me on the $100 rebate. No instructions that it needed to be applied for. The I get a letter from them looks like junk mail, the front said "welcome to ATT". So I get around to opening it a week later, go online to collect the rebate and get a message that the rebate expired the day before.

My Gear saved my life.

Click here for really good coffee
coffeeguy is offline  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-25-2008, 10:03 AM
Super Moderator

 
Vcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Winfield
Posts: 43,229
Location: Winfield
Sportbike: bikeless
Years Riding: 10
How you found us: Shit, you know I'm a clsb OG!
           
Send a message via AIM to Vcook
i'm confused how the multiroom works with one DVR, connectivity and operability.

Chris
Vcook is offline  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-25-2008, 10:05 AM
Registered User
 
Kruz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: West of 59, North of 88
Posts: 18,885
Location: West of 59, North of 88
Sportbike: 05 CRF50
Years Riding: "Since 1992"
How you found us: You found me
           
Me too....Uverse just landed in town.
Kruz is offline  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-25-2008, 10:11 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
coffeeguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: woodstock Il
Posts: 1,484
Location: woodstock Il
Sportbike: Ask my wife
Years Riding: a while
How you found us: google
           
I've only got one room hooked up. I have another for our office/workout room but haven't finished hooking it up. I think it can access the material on the DVR but the DRV can only output one feed.

My Gear saved my life.

Click here for really good coffee
coffeeguy is offline  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-25-2008, 10:37 AM
Joe Momma...
 
JoJo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Oak Park
Posts: 3,822
Location: Oak Park
Sportbike: None
Years Riding: 1,2,4,5 count d'z rocks biatch!
How you found us: member
           
Send a message via AIM to JoJo
I've had U-Verse for a couple months now. The total home DVR just came out this morning. You still only have one DVR but you canwatch recordings from any box. You cannot set recordings or delete recordings from the secondary box, only watch them. What's nice is you can set and delete from their website which is handy. The box response is very quick but I'm not doing anything high def which is what the motorola comcast boxes alwasy freeze up on.

My name is JB, people call me JB

Quote:
Originally Posted by flinchy
"I wouldn't be surprised to see this guy catch a pass with his ass cheeks"
JoJo is offline  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-25-2008, 10:38 AM
Registered User
 
beac83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Morgan Park, IL
Posts: 3,762
Location: Morgan Park, IL
Sportbike: A couple
Years Riding: too long to have any sense
How you found us: NESBA
           
The record routines run off a published program guide produced by the network / station programming department and submitted up to a month in advance. This schedule is forwarded as a data signal on the cable to your DVR. This guide data is sent 1-7 days in advance and are stored in your DVR's memory. Late shifts in programming, like last night's Bush speech do not make it into this program guide, and thus, no recording device has a chance to respond.

There is a newer technology called "active PSIP" that has the potential to make this better for OTA (over the air) connected devices (those who receive their DTV with an antenna), but cable/phone co may or may not adopt it's capabilities.

Active PSIP is designed to follow the automation computer data that is assembling the programs and breaks in real time at the origination point, and thus will know about late changes, as long as the operators put the changes into the automation schedule rather than run the event in manual override.

Active PSIP is being implemented now for OTA Digital TV, but will not be universally available on all stations for a year or two, as it requires a $15K to $100K expense per TV station to implement. So far consumer devices don't have the software/hardware to utilize active PSIP yet, but once the data is pretty much universally out there, the manufacturers might implement it.

Craig
________________
beac83 is offline  
post #11 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-25-2008, 10:38 AM
Joe Momma...
 
JoJo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Oak Park
Posts: 3,822
Location: Oak Park
Sportbike: None
Years Riding: 1,2,4,5 count d'z rocks biatch!
How you found us: member
           
Send a message via AIM to JoJo
Oh, and you can play sadoku on one of the channels.

My name is JB, people call me JB

Quote:
Originally Posted by flinchy
"I wouldn't be surprised to see this guy catch a pass with his ass cheeks"
JoJo is offline  
post #12 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-25-2008, 10:40 AM
Registered User
 
Kruz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: West of 59, North of 88
Posts: 18,885
Location: West of 59, North of 88
Sportbike: 05 CRF50
Years Riding: "Since 1992"
How you found us: You found me
           
W the new family box how is it connected to other boxes?
Kruz is offline  
post #13 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-25-2008, 10:49 AM
Joe Momma...
 
JoJo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Oak Park
Posts: 3,822
Location: Oak Park
Sportbike: None
Years Riding: 1,2,4,5 count d'z rocks biatch!
How you found us: member
           
Send a message via AIM to JoJo
They have a router that brings it in. Then all the boxes connect off of that one. They can use CAT5 or RG6 to connect the boxes to the router.

My name is JB, people call me JB

Quote:
Originally Posted by flinchy
"I wouldn't be surprised to see this guy catch a pass with his ass cheeks"
JoJo is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Chicagoland Sportbikes forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome