High Speed Internet questions???? - Chicagoland Sportbikes
Chicagoland Sportbikes
 
Open Forum This forum is for all off-topic discussion.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 47 (permalink) Old 07-08-2003, 10:02 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Meulen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Romeoville
Posts: 19,186
Location: Romeoville
Sportbike: looking to get dirty!
Years Riding: long time
How you found us: SBN
           
High Speed Internet questions????

I'm thinking about upgrading my dial-up service at home. I don't want to spend too much. I spend 10$/month right now for dial up. I don't know much about DSL or Cable or whatever....infact I know nothing.

Does anybody have any suggestions on what to get and what to look for....again......I really know nothing about this.

Brian (F.K.A. Crazy)

Gamertag: CRAZY403


“You can’t escape the responsibility of tomorrow by evading it today.”

-Abraham Lincoln


“Blessed are the young, for they shall inherit the national debt.”

-Herbert Hoover
Meulen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 47 (permalink) Old 07-08-2003, 10:08 AM
Registered User
 
Ducati Mama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Plainfield, IL
Posts: 442
Location: Plainfield, IL
Sportbike: Trek
Years Riding: not often enough
How you found us: umm, my husband owns the site
           
We have comcast/att and our bill is 55.00 per month and that includes basic service for cable. At the time it was cheaper for us to have basic cable and the cable internet than just the internet itself.
Ducati Mama is offline  
post #3 of 47 (permalink) Old 07-08-2003, 10:12 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Meulen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Romeoville
Posts: 19,186
Location: Romeoville
Sportbike: looking to get dirty!
Years Riding: long time
How you found us: SBN
           
Quote:
Originally posted by GsxrTony's Wife
We have comcast/att and our bill is 55.00 per month and that includes basic service for cable. At the time it was cheaper for us to have basic cable and the cable internet than just the internet itself.

Is it digital cable or analog???

Brian (F.K.A. Crazy)

Gamertag: CRAZY403


“You can’t escape the responsibility of tomorrow by evading it today.”

-Abraham Lincoln


“Blessed are the young, for they shall inherit the national debt.”

-Herbert Hoover
Meulen is offline  
post #4 of 47 (permalink) Old 07-08-2003, 10:16 AM
F*ck if I know
 
remarks999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 161
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Sportbike: 2003 R6
Years Riding: 5
How you found us: um.....don't remember, i'm just trying to change my profile
 
Send a message via AIM to remarks999
I've had cable for years and would never go back. As for pricing, check smaller, local cable companies like Wide Open West (www.wideopenwest.com). Some companies will offer lower rates on Comcast's own cable lines. If you can't get cable, DSL is an option, although, I never really liked it much. Generally it costs more when you compare the speed/bandwidth for the price and it often times has more connection and set up problems. I'd always recommend cable. There's also satelite internet, but I wouldn't recommend that either. Its more than either DSL or cable and its the least reliable.
remarks999 is offline  
post #5 of 47 (permalink) Old 07-08-2003, 11:02 AM
VTwin FTW!
 
ChicagoFactory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Elk Grove Village
Posts: 5,565
Location: Elk Grove Village
Sportbike: 2013 Ducati Diavel Cromo
Years Riding: 20
How you found us: Friend
           
I also have a Comcast digital cable modem and it is much better and faster than DSL. I have DSL at the office, and it's noticeably slower. DSL is still much faster than dial-up though

I pay about $55 a month for it, but worth it. It doesn't tie up a phone line either.

Mike
ChicagoFactory is offline  
post #6 of 47 (permalink) Old 07-08-2003, 11:04 AM
Show me yo' twisties!!!
 
ERIC B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: South Elgin, IL
Posts: 654
Location: South Elgin, IL
Sportbike: 2002 Honda Shadow, 2004 HONDA CRF50
Years Riding: since 1999
How you found us: Search engine, I forgot which one but probably google.
           
Send a message via AIM to ERIC B Send a message via Yahoo to ERIC B
Quote:
Originally posted by GsxrTony's Wife
We have comcast/att and our bill is 55.00 per month and that includes basic service for cable. At the time it was cheaper for us to have basic cable and the cable internet than just the internet itself.
Is this some sort of package deal that you can get from Comcast?

ERiC B.

2000 Honda CBR600F4
2004 Honda CRF50F

Team Hyperaktiv
ERIC B is offline  
post #7 of 47 (permalink) Old 07-08-2003, 11:43 AM
Registered User
 
Boxuin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Bolingbrook
Posts: 532
Location: Bolingbrook
Sportbike: 02 daytona 955i 00 955i, 98 T509 and a few ZX7's
Years Riding: 5
How you found us: Dont remember
 
The speed of your dsl depends on how close you are to the switching station. the farther you are the slower you speed is. If you're within a mile of the switching station Id recommend DSL because you gave gaureented bandwidth at 1.54mbs With cable you have to fight with the rest of your neiborhood for the 1.54mbs bandwidth, the more users the slow the connection, but never as slow as dial-up.

I have comcast because I cant even get dsl here. I think they improved their system because its faster than att was. but the fastest download ive had is only 180kbs, which is around 10% of the max. I download lots of movies so fast is good.

SBC yahoo has a promotion going on now 29.95 for first year. http://www05.sbc.com/DSL_new/content...L=&TI=&RI=&RD=

you can also check covad and earthlink which sublease sbc dsl lines.

This is a cash and carry world - pay as you go
sometimes you only have to pay a little, mostly it's alot, once in a while it's all you have.

Last edited by Boxuin; 07-08-2003 at 11:47 AM.
Boxuin is offline  
post #8 of 47 (permalink) Old 07-08-2003, 11:48 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Meulen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Romeoville
Posts: 19,186
Location: Romeoville
Sportbike: looking to get dirty!
Years Riding: long time
How you found us: SBN
           
Quote:
Originally posted by Boxuin
The speed of your dsl depends on how close you are to the switching station. the farther you are the slower you speed is. If you're within a mile of the switching station Id recommend DSL because you gave gaureented bandwidth at 1.54mbs With cable you have to fight with the rest of your neiborhood for the 1.54mbs bandwidth, the more users the slow the connection, but never as slow as dial-up.

I have comcast because I cant even get dsl here. I think they improved their system because its faster than att was. but the fastest download ive had is only 180kbs, which is around 10% of the max. I download lots of movies so fast is good.

SBC yahoo has a promotion going on now 29.95 for first year. http://www05.sbc.com/DSL_new/content...L=&TI=&RI=&RD=


I think I may run into the availability issue here in Romeoville as well with the DSL. I checked out my cable providers website and they provide cable internet for 29.99, but you still have to rent the modem for 9.99 a month. Maybe they'll give me a deal cause I have digital cable with them. I'll have to call.

you can also check covad and earthlink which sublease sbc dsl lines.

Brian (F.K.A. Crazy)

Gamertag: CRAZY403


“You can’t escape the responsibility of tomorrow by evading it today.”

-Abraham Lincoln


“Blessed are the young, for they shall inherit the national debt.”

-Herbert Hoover
Meulen is offline  
post #9 of 47 (permalink) Old 07-08-2003, 12:00 PM
how do i get my knee down without falling off?
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 1,102
 
What the heck is dial-up? Do you actually use a phone line for that?

Last edited by R6bbie; 07-08-2003 at 12:03 PM.
R6bbie is offline  
post #10 of 47 (permalink) Old 07-08-2003, 12:04 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Meulen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Romeoville
Posts: 19,186
Location: Romeoville
Sportbike: looking to get dirty!
Years Riding: long time
How you found us: SBN
           
Quote:
Originally posted by R6bbie
What the heck is dial-up? Do you actually use a phone line phone line for that?

smart-allic. I don't use the internet alot at home since I'm on at work alot. I didn't feel the need for anything more than dial-up. Now I'm using it at home a bit more, especially to keep an eye on the site, I would like something a bit faster.

Brian (F.K.A. Crazy)

Gamertag: CRAZY403


“You can’t escape the responsibility of tomorrow by evading it today.”

-Abraham Lincoln


“Blessed are the young, for they shall inherit the national debt.”

-Herbert Hoover
Meulen is offline  
post #11 of 47 (permalink) Old 07-08-2003, 12:14 PM
how do i get my knee down without falling off?
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 1,102
 
I am pretty sure Comcast is running a deal for $19.95 for High-Speed access for 3-6 months but after that it's around $45-$55 that is how that lock you in. I have been on it for about 5 years and love it, I do a lot of work from home and the time that is saves me is worth it. What you can do with cable in 4 hours would take you about 5 days with dial-up........LMAO....buts its true.
R6bbie is offline  
post #12 of 47 (permalink) Old 07-08-2003, 12:32 PM
CLSB SuperHero
 
TerminatorR1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Crest Hill...didnt think you've heard of it
Posts: 1,808
Location: Crest Hill...didnt think you've heard of it
Sportbike: None right now
Years Riding: since '95
How you found us: friend
  
Brian: I dont think DSL is an option for you. You have to be 18,000 feet from the CO in order to get it. The CO is located around Rt. 59 and 30. Comcrap is about your only other option unless you go satellite(which is kinda pricey) or wireless...not sure where the closest tower is to you. If you have cable TV, then your internet cable will be cheaper. There is a sign on Weber rd by your house that advertises a local company for internet. Cant remember the name right now tho.

Life is too short to ride anything but an R1

In memory of FastBlueR1...RIP

TerminatorR1 is offline  
post #13 of 47 (permalink) Old 07-08-2003, 12:40 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Meulen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Romeoville
Posts: 19,186
Location: Romeoville
Sportbike: looking to get dirty!
Years Riding: long time
How you found us: SBN
           
Quote:
Originally posted by TerminatorR1
There is a sign on Weber rd by your house that advertises a local company for internet. Cant remember the name right now tho.
Western Cable...that's who I have for tv.

Brian (F.K.A. Crazy)

Gamertag: CRAZY403


“You can’t escape the responsibility of tomorrow by evading it today.”

-Abraham Lincoln


“Blessed are the young, for they shall inherit the national debt.”

-Herbert Hoover
Meulen is offline  
post #14 of 47 (permalink) Old 07-08-2003, 12:48 PM
CLSB SuperHero
 
TerminatorR1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Crest Hill...didnt think you've heard of it
Posts: 1,808
Location: Crest Hill...didnt think you've heard of it
Sportbike: None right now
Years Riding: since '95
How you found us: friend
  
Quote:
Originally posted by Crazy
Western Cable...that's who I have for tv.
Yes...that's it. Call them up and see what they offer for internet.

Life is too short to ride anything but an R1

In memory of FastBlueR1...RIP

TerminatorR1 is offline  
post #15 of 47 (permalink) Old 07-08-2003, 12:50 PM
Registered User
 
Ducati Mama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Plainfield, IL
Posts: 442
Location: Plainfield, IL
Sportbike: Trek
Years Riding: not often enough
How you found us: umm, my husband owns the site
           
Quote:
Originally posted by Crazy
Is it digital cable or analog???
Analog, we only use it on the small tv on our kitchen counter and for back up on the big tv during storms when the satellite goes out.
Ducati Mama is offline  
post #16 of 47 (permalink) Old 07-08-2003, 12:53 PM
Registered User
 
Ducati Mama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Plainfield, IL
Posts: 442
Location: Plainfield, IL
Sportbike: Trek
Years Riding: not often enough
How you found us: umm, my husband owns the site
           
Quote:
Originally posted by ERIC B
Is this some sort of package deal that you can get from Comcast?
Yes it was a package. now that was two years ago when we moved in, but we also had the same package in downers grove too.
Ducati Mama is offline  
post #17 of 47 (permalink) Old 07-08-2003, 09:31 PM
Head Stepper
 
Pirate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Warrenville
Posts: 4,244
Location: Warrenville
Sportbike: TREKK
Years Riding: 9
How you found us: member referal
           
Send a message via AIM to Pirate Send a message via Yahoo to Pirate
Cable is nice, but the shared bandwidth sux. I had cable for a while, but around 5 or 6 in the evening, when everyone is comming home from work and getting online, you can tell a lag. I have had DSL for about 3 years, and would never go back to cable. If DSL is in your area, you should look into that. You can find it on the cheap end around 30 bucks. Check out DSL reports to find some really good reviews, as well as speed tests.

<-------- Jeff


Hey baby! You ever been on the back of an expensive sportbike??


Property of Evil Monkey Racing
Pirate is offline  
post #18 of 47 (permalink) Old 07-08-2003, 09:40 PM
Awara 1
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Burbz
Posts: 283
Location: Burbz
Sportbike: 01 Yzf R1
Years Riding: 4
           
i agree

Yamaha Yzf R1
2001YZFR1 is offline  
post #19 of 47 (permalink) Old 07-08-2003, 11:06 PM
"PC" ,my balls
 
bluebusa60544's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Yorkville
Posts: 1,620
Location: Yorkville
Sportbike: '02 GSXR1000 (street),'02 GSXR600 (track),'94CR125 (dirt), 3x pocketbikes (oval), KTMs x 3
Years Riding: 20 years
How you found us: Google search
           
I have the cable from Western Cable. It is fast when it works at all. It has been down every day this week for at least an hour. I switched to satellite because their service sucked.

My wife thinks we're a bunch of Top Gun wannabes with our call signs, so for future reference, I'm Roger

I've done some things I'm not proud of...and the things I am proud of are disgusting - Moe on the Simpsons
bluebusa60544 is offline  
post #20 of 47 (permalink) Old 07-08-2003, 11:09 PM
Head Stepper
 
Pirate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Warrenville
Posts: 4,244
Location: Warrenville
Sportbike: TREKK
Years Riding: 9
How you found us: member referal
           
Send a message via AIM to Pirate Send a message via Yahoo to Pirate
I have never used satellite, is that a shared bandwidth as well?? Don't you still have to use dial up for uploads? Or is it all satellite both ways?

<-------- Jeff


Hey baby! You ever been on the back of an expensive sportbike??


Property of Evil Monkey Racing
Pirate is offline  
post #21 of 47 (permalink) Old 07-08-2003, 11:15 PM
"PC" ,my balls
 
bluebusa60544's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Yorkville
Posts: 1,620
Location: Yorkville
Sportbike: '02 GSXR1000 (street),'02 GSXR600 (track),'94CR125 (dirt), 3x pocketbikes (oval), KTMs x 3
Years Riding: 20 years
How you found us: Google search
           
Quote:
Originally posted by Pirate
I have never used satellite, is that a shared bandwidth as well?? Don't you still have to use dial up for uploads? Or is it all satellite both ways?
I didn't explain that well. I switched my TV to satellite so at least it works while my internet is down. I still have cable internet.

My wife thinks we're a bunch of Top Gun wannabes with our call signs, so for future reference, I'm Roger

I've done some things I'm not proud of...and the things I am proud of are disgusting - Moe on the Simpsons
bluebusa60544 is offline  
post #22 of 47 (permalink) Old 07-08-2003, 11:16 PM
Head Stepper
 
Pirate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Warrenville
Posts: 4,244
Location: Warrenville
Sportbike: TREKK
Years Riding: 9
How you found us: member referal
           
Send a message via AIM to Pirate Send a message via Yahoo to Pirate
Quote:
Originally posted by bluebusa60544
I didn't explain that well. I switched my TV to satellite so at least it works while my internet is down. I still have cable internet.
Oh... Sorry. I misunderstood.
Pirate is offline  
post #23 of 47 (permalink) Old 07-09-2003, 12:32 AM
DennisBeck
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I'm getting Comcast cable internet hooked up TOMORROW!! WISH ME LUCK!! Can't wait to start downloading!! It's 20 bux for the first 6 months. And we got a free cable modem from radioshack for signing up (80 dollar value) so really we're saving like 200 bux all together. I hope all the cockass neighbors don't find out about it like... ever. That way I'll have the fastest 'pooter on the block!!
post #24 of 47 (permalink) Old 07-09-2003, 11:59 AM
freaking newbies, man there slow, ha ha ha
 
Brian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: West Chicago
Posts: 5,923
Location: West Chicago
Sportbike: Daytona 675
Years Riding: fucking up peoples lives since 1986
How you found us: SBN
           
WE have comcast cable w/network card (faster)
I had a couple of problems getting set up, but not a problem since, and yes, it is faster than DSL. 42.95 per month.
Last I looked at sattelite, it was still expensive.
Brian is offline  
post #25 of 47 (permalink) Old 07-09-2003, 12:05 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Meulen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Romeoville
Posts: 19,186
Location: Romeoville
Sportbike: looking to get dirty!
Years Riding: long time
How you found us: SBN
           
Roger,

you said Western Cable is down alot???? I had that problem the first year for tv, not much anymore. Anyway, anybody know if I could switch to Comcast for both in my neighborhood?

Brian (F.K.A. Crazy)

Gamertag: CRAZY403


“You can’t escape the responsibility of tomorrow by evading it today.”

-Abraham Lincoln


“Blessed are the young, for they shall inherit the national debt.”

-Herbert Hoover
Meulen is offline  
post #26 of 47 (permalink) Old 07-09-2003, 12:08 PM
Super Moderator

 
Vcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Winfield
Posts: 43,230
Location: Winfield
Sportbike: bikeless
Years Riding: 10
How you found us: Shit, you know I'm a clsb OG!
           
Send a message via AIM to Vcook
dsl is more garaunteed bandwidth. cable is shared and depending on saturation can either be outstanding or poopy.

Chris
Vcook is offline  
post #27 of 47 (permalink) Old 07-09-2003, 12:14 PM
freaking newbies, man there slow, ha ha ha
 
Brian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: West Chicago
Posts: 5,923
Location: West Chicago
Sportbike: Daytona 675
Years Riding: fucking up peoples lives since 1986
How you found us: SBN
           
the 42.95 I pay is internet only. They should offer deals on tv/internet together. Looks like Dennis got a deal @ radioshack. They should also know area availability.
Brian is offline  
post #28 of 47 (permalink) Old 07-09-2003, 12:21 PM
freaking newbies, man there slow, ha ha ha
 
CRAZe Inc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 6,842
Location: San Francisco
Sportbike: Big Wheel
Years Riding: Since 3
How you found us: This is required?
           
I don't really have one complaint about our cable service. The cost of running an extra phone line for the internet was actually more expensive then cable.
CRAZe Inc is offline  
post #29 of 47 (permalink) Old 07-09-2003, 12:23 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Meulen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Romeoville
Posts: 19,186
Location: Romeoville
Sportbike: looking to get dirty!
Years Riding: long time
How you found us: SBN
           
Quote:
Originally posted by crazeinc
I don't really have one complaint about our cable service. The cost of running an extra phone line for the internet was actually more expensive then cable.
Is there another phone line required and phone company charge with DSL??

Brian (F.K.A. Crazy)

Gamertag: CRAZY403


“You can’t escape the responsibility of tomorrow by evading it today.”

-Abraham Lincoln


“Blessed are the young, for they shall inherit the national debt.”

-Herbert Hoover
Meulen is offline  
post #30 of 47 (permalink) Old 07-09-2003, 12:57 PM
Head Stepper
 
Pirate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Warrenville
Posts: 4,244
Location: Warrenville
Sportbike: TREKK
Years Riding: 9
How you found us: member referal
           
Send a message via AIM to Pirate Send a message via Yahoo to Pirate
Quote:
Originally posted by Crazy
Is there another phone line required and phone company charge with DSL??
No, the signal rides on a higher frequency on top of the voice communications. That's why you need a filter on any phone that you have in the house. but a filter is only about a buck. Most of the time, you can have the installers give you about 5 or 6 anyway.
Pirate is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Chicagoland Sportbikes forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome