can I record a OTA program on a digital station - Chicagoland Sportbikes
Chicagoland Sportbikes
 
Open Forum This forum is for all off-topic discussion.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 11-17-2008, 10:34 AM Thread Starter
Resident Slow guy
 
Ohfugit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 6,771
Location: Chicago
Sportbike: 250x_Dirtbike Triumph_Tripled_955i 90_H-D_Bagger CR80_Mini_Motard
Years Riding: Street_LOOOOOOONG_Time Track Backmarker
How you found us: Google
           
Send a message via AIM to Ohfugit
can I record a OTA program on a digital station

can I record a OTA program on a digital station with an old style vcr
or somehow through my directtivo? (hughs hdvr2)
right now I just watch it via an external antenna
I'd like to record it,

Thanks
"D"


Last edited by Ohfugit; 11-17-2008 at 10:37 AM.
Ohfugit is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 11-17-2008, 10:38 AM
The Halo hides my Horns
 
Lonely Raven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bolingbrook, IL
Posts: 12,687
Location: Bolingbrook, IL
Sportbike: SV650
Years Riding: 1 year
How you found us: Google
           
Not sure about the Tivo as I've never owned one, but you can record *anything* to VCR or video camera if you can output your audio and video through RCA cables.

Granted, you'll still only get VCR quality, but a VCR will record anything you can feed it through RCA.

Get this...a guy at my work wanted to transfer all his VHS tapes to DVD rather than buy the DVDs...his thinking was that putting them on DVD would make them DVD quality!

aut cum scuto aut in scuto

http://www.firespeedtactical.com

My ZenFolio Gallery: www.LonelyRaven.ZenFolio.com
Lonely Raven is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 11-17-2008, 11:24 AM
Go Hawks!
 
CHI1000RR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Plainfield
Posts: 3,541
Location: Plainfield
Sportbike: 1000RR (Sold) Looking
Years Riding: Long time but few miles
How you found us: I saw CLSB tatooed on some porn star's ass
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lonely Raven View Post
Not sure about the Tivo as I've never owned one, but you can record *anything* to VCR or video camera if you can output your audio and video through RCA cables.

Granted, you'll still only get VCR quality, but a VCR will record anything you can feed it through RCA.

Get this...a guy at my work wanted to transfer all his VHS tapes to DVD rather than buy the DVDs...his thinking was that putting them on DVD would make them DVD quality!
I bought my parents a DVD player years ago when they first came out. My father was doing the same shit, transferring rented movies to VHS... He stopped doing that. I just shook my head.




"I am Jack's smirking revenge.."
CHI1000RR is offline  
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 11-17-2008, 11:49 AM Thread Starter
Resident Slow guy
 
Ohfugit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 6,771
Location: Chicago
Sportbike: 250x_Dirtbike Triumph_Tripled_955i 90_H-D_Bagger CR80_Mini_Motard
Years Riding: Street_LOOOOOOONG_Time Track Backmarker
How you found us: Google
           
Send a message via AIM to Ohfugit
I don't care too much about the quality as the program is from the 70's anyway but the local "MeToo" station is not available on Direct tv yet

All inputs No outputs on the TV except for Audio.

Ohfugit is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 11-17-2008, 11:56 AM
Greg
 
gsd656's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Morton Grove, Illinois
Posts: 3,677
Location: Morton Grove, Illinois
Sportbike: 2008 HD VRSCAW, 1985 Honda XR350R (Sold), 2001 SV650s (Sold), 2002 Sea-Doo GTX Di
Years Riding: I thought I was getting the hang of it...back to the basics.
How you found us: mentioned on svrider.com
           
Send a message via Yahoo to gsd656
Trying to visualize this so bare with me, but it should not be a problem. Connect your over the air antena to the vcr and then connect the vcr to the tv. What inputs do you have on your tv...coaxial, component, s-video, hdmi...which ones are open. Technically, I do not believe you need to have the vcr connected to the tv during recording, just the antena.

Greg
gsd656 is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 11-17-2008, 12:14 PM Thread Starter
Resident Slow guy
 
Ohfugit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 6,771
Location: Chicago
Sportbike: 250x_Dirtbike Triumph_Tripled_955i 90_H-D_Bagger CR80_Mini_Motard
Years Riding: Street_LOOOOOOONG_Time Track Backmarker
How you found us: Google
           
Send a message via AIM to Ohfugit
I think the gotcha with this, is the vcr I have is about 3 years old and It doesn't have the newer style digital tuner.

I think I may need a newer recorder

Maybe I'll go DVD
I found this on amazon

Toshiba DR560 1080p Upconverting DVD Recorder with Biult-in Tuner

Ohfugit is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 11-17-2008, 03:36 PM
Don't stare for too long
 
GPz1100's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Here and there... Mostly somewhere in Chicago
Posts: 1,541
Location: Here and there... Mostly somewhere in Chicago
Sportbike: 2 Wheels and an engine
Years Riding: Not long enough
How you found us: ?
           
I recently added a tv card to one of the pc's. I find that media player records ota stuff in a format vlc can play. Since that's the case, I don't see why you can't just convert the content to dvd format, then burn it to a dvd.

Since the source is digital, there will be minimal loss through the conversion. Going to vhs via either composite or svideo will make the video look like crap.
GPz1100 is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 11-17-2008, 04:11 PM
Registered User
 
beac83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Morgan Park, IL
Posts: 3,753
Location: Morgan Park, IL
Sportbike: A couple
Years Riding: too long to have any sense
How you found us: NESBA
           
If the MeToo station isn't available as a low-power analog broadcast, go get one of those nifty government subsidized DTV converter boxes. Get one with RCA video and audio outputs. Connect the converter to the antenna, then output to VCR. Tune in converter, start record. Done.

If you can receive the analog broadcast, just tune the VCR to the analog channel and record.

BTW: MeToo is on analog TV channel 48 in Chicago. It's available twice in digital as 26.3 and 39.1 on digital tuners. Transmits from the Sears Tower for all 3 channels. In Milwaukee, I don't know if it's digital only or analog as well.

Craig
________________

Last edited by beac83; 11-17-2008 at 04:15 PM.
beac83 is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 11-17-2008, 04:22 PM
Registered User
 
beac83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Morgan Park, IL
Posts: 3,753
Location: Morgan Park, IL
Sportbike: A couple
Years Riding: too long to have any sense
How you found us: NESBA
           
Quote:
Originally Posted by GPz1100 View Post
Since the source is digital, there will be minimal loss through the conversion. Going to vhs via either composite or svideo will make the video look like crap.
I wouldn't worry about the connection, as VHS recorders can't capture the quality of analog composite (RCA) or S-Video. VHS records the equivalent of 240x120 pixels in EP mode, and 480x240 in high speed mode. Color bandwidth is severely limited as well, to around 500Khz or less.

Composite analog is capable of 704x486 and 1.5MHz color bandwidth. S-Video has that plus more color resolution due to separation of color and luminance signals = less color smearing.

An all digital system eliminates noise incursion, but doesn't always yield higher quality. Any re-sampling or re-encoding adds artifacts and distortions.

(Sorry, this is what I do for a living! - I couldn't help but jump in.)

Craig
________________
beac83 is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 11-17-2008, 04:46 PM
Midnight Rider
 
PatFitz9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: North side
Posts: 3,885
Location: North side
Sportbike: R6 and a Z1000
Years Riding: for a bit
How you found us: random PM on sportbikes.net
           
You can't record a digital source with an analog VCR. You have to get the digital converter box to feed into your VCR. Not sure about the tivo.

Fat Pat #728

If you don't like my fire, then don't come around...
PatFitz9 is offline  
post #11 of 11 (permalink) Old 11-23-2008, 06:54 AM Thread Starter
Resident Slow guy
 
Ohfugit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 6,771
Location: Chicago
Sportbike: 250x_Dirtbike Triumph_Tripled_955i 90_H-D_Bagger CR80_Mini_Motard
Years Riding: Street_LOOOOOOONG_Time Track Backmarker
How you found us: Google
           
Send a message via AIM to Ohfugit
thanks guys,
I was going to pick up a converter box but ended up picking up the dvd recorder as it has a digital tuner built in.

Ohfugit is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Chicagoland Sportbikes forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome