Computer geek questions again - networking... - Chicagoland Sportbikes
Chicagoland Sportbikes
 
Open Forum This forum is for all off-topic discussion.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 23 (permalink) Old 08-05-2003, 11:42 AM Thread Starter
Grand Master Crash
 
OmniGLH's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Avatar courtesy Sliderphoto
Posts: 1,079
Location: Avatar courtesy Sliderphoto
Sportbike: none for now
Years Riding: ...classified...
How you found us: My psychic advisor told me about it
 
Computer geek questions again - networking...

First off, thanks to those of you who helped with the DOS/AutoCAD problem. Got a copy of DOS, got my AutoCAD installed, everything works

Now on to my next project. A coworker and I are gonna start up a small internet radio station, running on a ShoutCast server (http://www.shoutcast.com). We get a day or two a week where we're allowed to work from home - and EVERYONE in the office listens to net radio during the day. Why not have a little fun and provide a service to those stuck in the office?

My computer setup at home is as such: I have a Linux (RH8) box running as a firewall/router, and 2 XP machines behind it. Problem is, Shoutcast will NOT accept connections from machines running behind a firewall. If you try to connect from behind one, you get an error like this:

Quote:
<08/30/[email protected]:14:34> [yp_add] yp.shoutcast.com gave error (nak)
<08/30/[email protected]:14:34> [yp_add] yp.shoutcast.com gave extended error (Cannot see your station/computer (IP: 62.252.0.4:8000) from the Internet, disable NAT/firewall/ISP cache (Connection refused))
I really don't want to move one of the boxes outside of the firewall (tho I did it last night to make sure everything else worked, and it did.) I tried running the Linux version of the SC server, and it STILL didn't work - not until I shut down the iptables process. But once I do that, all my other PCs lose net access - no good.

I really want to mask my PCs behind a firewall - how can I make it look like they're not behind a firewall, when they really are?

I've read a bit about "port forwarding" in the SC forum. What is "port forwarding"? Is this what I think it is - when an outside source tries to connect to port 8000 of my router, the router passes the port request on to a specified PC inside the network, and make it look like it's coming directly from the router?

I'm kinda shaky on my networking abilities, but learning. I managed to get my Linux box working as a firewall/router on my own, so I'm thinking it can't be THAT hard to get this to work.

Thanks Sorry about the long-windedness.

Jim Ptak
-bikeless-
OmniGLH is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 23 (permalink) Old 08-05-2003, 11:52 AM
Retired Moderator
 
phozed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Far North
Posts: 747
Location: Far North
Sportbike: 2k1 929 and 95 RS125
Years Riding: sparse few
How you found us: hallucination
 
you either need to open the ports on your firewall (try firestarter if your using shorewall - or you can use webmin for shorewall and just about everything else) - or you can use an IP masq, set up zones and permissions for your shoutcast server box (lets you be very specific about rules). Prolly can w/just shorewall too....

http://www.siliconvalleyccie.com/lin...work-linux.htm

http://www.shorewall.net/shorewall_quickstart_guide.htm

* if accidentally viewed induce vomiting
phozed is offline  
post #3 of 23 (permalink) Old 08-05-2003, 12:42 PM
K.I.S.S
 
MikeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Naperville, IL
Posts: 1,834
Location: Naperville, IL
Sportbike: CBR600RR & H-D Softail Custom
Years Riding: almost as long as it took to fill this out
How you found us: through a miracle
           
Send a message via AIM to MikeD
my bet is your useing xp's default firewalling so just open the incomming and outgoing port #'s and you will be set.

i set up a shoutcast server a while back and thats what i had to do too.

Willard: When I was home after my first tour, it was worse. I'd wake up and there'd be nothing. I hardly said a word to my wife, until I said "yes" to a divorce. When I was here, I wanted to be there; when I was there, all I could think of was getting back into the jungle.
MikeD is offline  
post #4 of 23 (permalink) Old 08-05-2003, 12:49 PM Thread Starter
Grand Master Crash
 
OmniGLH's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Avatar courtesy Sliderphoto
Posts: 1,079
Location: Avatar courtesy Sliderphoto
Sportbike: none for now
Years Riding: ...classified...
How you found us: My psychic advisor told me about it
 
Quote:
Originally posted by Optimus_P
my bet is your useing xp's default firewalling so just open the incomming and outgoing port #'s and you will be set.

i set up a shoutcast server a while back and thats what i had to do too.
Thanks for the suggestion, but I'm fairly confident it's something to do with my Linux firewall/router. I have the firewalls disabled on both XP boxes. I know they are not the issue - I moved the broadcasting XP box out from behind the firewall, and it worked fine. I think I need to forward the ports on or something.

Phozed - thanks for the links, checking them out now.

Jim Ptak
-bikeless-
OmniGLH is offline  
post #5 of 23 (permalink) Old 08-05-2003, 12:50 PM
Registered User
 
Kanati's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Pekin, IL
Posts: 334
Location: Pekin, IL
Sportbike: '96 GSX600F - '06 GSX1300R Hayabusa
Years Riding: 6
How you found us: member for quite a while now
    
port forwarding is like a statid ip for ports... You have your external address at the firewall and 10.* or 192.168.* internal... You "forward" port XXXX to a specific inward address. Example...

You want port 8000 forwarded to the shoutcast box which is running on 10.1.1.23. Now when you connect to shoutcast it will look like the external box is connecting because you have a pipe that's pretending to come from the external address but is really going to 10.1.1.23.

How to actually DO that in ick-nix I don't know tho.

Kanati

The No Pic Sig.
Kanati is offline  
post #6 of 23 (permalink) Old 08-05-2003, 12:52 PM Thread Starter
Grand Master Crash
 
OmniGLH's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Avatar courtesy Sliderphoto
Posts: 1,079
Location: Avatar courtesy Sliderphoto
Sportbike: none for now
Years Riding: ...classified...
How you found us: My psychic advisor told me about it
 
Quote:
Originally posted by Kanati
port forwarding is like a statid ip for ports... You have your external address at the firewall and 10.* or 192.168.* internal... You "forward" port XXXX to a specific inward address. Example...

You want port 8000 forwarded to the shoutcast box which is running on 10.1.1.23. Now when you connect to shoutcast it will look like the external box is connecting because you have a pipe that's pretending to come from the external address but is really going to 10.1.1.23.

How to actually DO that in ick-nix I don't know tho.

Kanati
Ok, that's what I was thinking port forwarding is. I need to figure out how to do it.

Jim Ptak
-bikeless-
OmniGLH is offline  
post #7 of 23 (permalink) Old 08-05-2003, 12:59 PM
Super Moderator

 
Vcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Winfield
Posts: 43,230
Location: Winfield
Sportbike: bikeless
Years Riding: 10
How you found us: Shit, you know I'm a clsb OG!
           
Send a message via AIM to Vcook
port forwarding is the key, amigo! too bad i know jack shit about linux firewalls.

Chris
Vcook is offline  
post #8 of 23 (permalink) Old 08-05-2003, 01:37 PM
how do i get my knee down without falling off?
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 1,102
 
If you want to run a web server in-house behind firewall, instruct Seawall to "port forward" as follows:

login as root, 3-package settings, 5-Seawall, 3-servers, add one line tcp 80 0.0.0.0/0 192.168.10.4

make sure there is a blank line before the << EOF >> marker
Ctrl-S and Enter to save. Ctrl-C and (q) twice, (B) for backup, choose Seawall.

Go back to the # prompt and type (there is no need to reboot the LRP)
# seawall restart

Let me know if this helped.
R6bbie is offline  
post #9 of 23 (permalink) Old 08-05-2003, 03:22 PM
freaking newbies, man there slow, ha ha ha
 
CRAZe Inc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 6,842
Location: San Francisco
Sportbike: Big Wheel
Years Riding: Since 3
How you found us: This is required?
           
rob, i didn't know you were a computer nerd too. cool.
CRAZe Inc is offline  
post #10 of 23 (permalink) Old 08-05-2003, 03:23 PM
Super Moderator

 
Vcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Winfield
Posts: 43,230
Location: Winfield
Sportbike: bikeless
Years Riding: 10
How you found us: Shit, you know I'm a clsb OG!
           
Send a message via AIM to Vcook
Quote:
Originally posted by crazeinc
rob, i didn't know you were a computer nerd too. cool.
he is a nerd of all trades.

Chris
Vcook is offline  
post #11 of 23 (permalink) Old 08-05-2003, 03:41 PM
Human lawn dart
 
rdrash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palatine
Posts: 5,746
Location: Palatine
Sportbike: 03 ninja 6r 05 ttr-230 04 klx300r
Years Riding: 12
How you found us: I know all
           
Send a message via AIM to rdrash
get a cisco firewall and make life easy

I'm not short. I'm aerodynamically efficient.

Anti Helmet Laws Pro Darwinism
MotoGP 200 mph no roll cage
NESBA # 599
rdrash is offline  
post #12 of 23 (permalink) Old 08-05-2003, 04:01 PM
how do i get my knee down without falling off?
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 1,102
 
Quote:
Originally posted by Vcook
he is a nerd of all trades.

Master of none.....
R6bbie is offline  
post #13 of 23 (permalink) Old 08-06-2003, 12:09 AM Thread Starter
Grand Master Crash
 
OmniGLH's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Avatar courtesy Sliderphoto
Posts: 1,079
Location: Avatar courtesy Sliderphoto
Sportbike: none for now
Years Riding: ...classified...
How you found us: My psychic advisor told me about it
 
Ok.. port forwarding was it. I can now broadcast from behind my firewall. Thanks for all the help guys :-D


But I'm not done. Here's something I'm a little more clueless on. How would I set things up, such that my Linux box sees my MP3 folder on my XP box, as if it were local?

Jim Ptak
-bikeless-
OmniGLH is offline  
post #14 of 23 (permalink) Old 08-06-2003, 12:54 AM
freaking newbies, man there slow, ha ha ha
 
CRAZe Inc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 6,842
Location: San Francisco
Sportbike: Big Wheel
Years Riding: Since 3
How you found us: This is required?
           
Check out Samba, I haven't done any of this Linux stuff in 5 years, but Samba is what you want unless they've made it easier.
CRAZe Inc is offline  
post #15 of 23 (permalink) Old 08-06-2003, 02:19 AM
how do i get my knee down without falling off?
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 1,102
 
Quote:
Originally posted by OmniGLH
Ok.. port forwarding was it. I can now broadcast from behind my firewall. Thanks for all the help guys :-D


But I'm not done. Here's something I'm a little more clueless on. How would I set things up, such that my Linux box sees my MP3 folder on my XP box, as if it were local?
That one will cost you 13 pudding pops!
R6bbie is offline  
post #16 of 23 (permalink) Old 08-06-2003, 08:12 AM
Registered User
 
BusaDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Naperville
Posts: 5,001
Location: Naperville
Sportbike: 2002 Turbo Hayabusa
Years Riding: Lost Track
How you found us: Tony
           
Quote:
Originally posted by crazeinc
Check out Samba, I haven't done any of this Linux stuff in 5 years, but Samba is what you want unless they've made it easier.
Samba goes the other direction. It provides DOS-style mounts on Unix file systems.

Dave
BusaDave is offline  
post #17 of 23 (permalink) Old 08-06-2003, 08:45 AM
Retired Moderator
 
phozed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Far North
Posts: 747
Location: Far North
Sportbike: 2k1 929 and 95 RS125
Years Riding: sparse few
How you found us: hallucination
 
if your mp3s are on a fat32 or fat filesystem just mount the drive.

I think the new kernel/redhat even reads NTFS but don't quote me.

* if accidentally viewed induce vomiting
phozed is offline  
post #18 of 23 (permalink) Old 08-06-2003, 09:02 AM
Tourer
 
NoStunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: c-ville, il
Posts: 313
Location: c-ville, il
Sportbike: '78 BMW Until I have time to ride
Years Riding: First street bike in 1984
How you found us: dont remember
  
OMG

Im not ready for a Goldwing just yet.

"Be careful riding, everyone is out to kill you.
Ducati748"
NoStunner is offline  
post #19 of 23 (permalink) Old 08-06-2003, 09:03 AM
Tourer
 
NoStunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: c-ville, il
Posts: 313
Location: c-ville, il
Sportbike: '78 BMW Until I have time to ride
Years Riding: First street bike in 1984
How you found us: dont remember
  
J/K
me too

Im not ready for a Goldwing just yet.

"Be careful riding, everyone is out to kill you.
Ducati748"
NoStunner is offline  
post #20 of 23 (permalink) Old 08-06-2003, 09:12 AM
Head Stepper
 
Pirate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Warrenville
Posts: 4,244
Location: Warrenville
Sportbike: TREKK
Years Riding: 9
How you found us: member referal
           
Send a message via AIM to Pirate Send a message via Yahoo to Pirate
Oh yea... Omni, thanks for the IP of the shoutcast server! I'll be tuning in!

<-------- Jeff


Hey baby! You ever been on the back of an expensive sportbike??


Property of Evil Monkey Racing
Pirate is offline  
post #21 of 23 (permalink) Old 08-06-2003, 09:26 AM
Registered User
 
BusaDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Naperville
Posts: 5,001
Location: Naperville
Sportbike: 2002 Turbo Hayabusa
Years Riding: Lost Track
How you found us: Tony
           
Quote:
Originally posted by phozed
I think the new kernel/redhat even reads NTFS but don't quote me.
Yes, but not over the network. Wasn't that the original question?

Dave
BusaDave is offline  
post #22 of 23 (permalink) Old 08-06-2003, 09:35 AM
Retired Moderator
 
phozed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Far North
Posts: 747
Location: Far North
Sportbike: 2k1 929 and 95 RS125
Years Riding: sparse few
How you found us: hallucination
 
whoops yes it was. But I was still correct - you do need to mount the drive. I use a GUI tool called LinNeighborhood

http://www.mozillaquest.com/Linux02/..._Story-01.html

* if accidentally viewed induce vomiting
phozed is offline  
post #23 of 23 (permalink) Old 08-06-2003, 10:25 AM
I'm Wayne Brady B-tch!
 
obijuan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chicago, IL (southside)
Posts: 512
Location: Chicago, IL (southside)
Sportbike: 2000/Yamaha/YZF600R
Years Riding: 2
How you found us: .
 
Quote:
Originally posted by BusaDave
Samba goes the other direction. It provides DOS-style mounts on Unix file systems.
SAMBA includes the smb (windows file share) client which will allow a *nix system to mount windows file shares.

Type smbmount from a command shell, and it will give you the syntax for the mount command that you will need.

It will look something like this

mount -t smbfs -o user=username,host=ipaddress,pass=password
obijuan is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Chicagoland Sportbikes forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome