How to install a remote starter ??? - Chicagoland Sportbikes
Chicagoland Sportbikes
 
Open Forum This forum is for all off-topic discussion.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 08-14-2003, 10:09 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Burbs
Posts: 284
Location: Burbs
Sportbike: 2 many
Years Riding: 12
How you found us: internet
 
How to install a remote starter ???

Whatever happened to the " How to Section" on the forum ????

Need to find out how to install a remote starter in my Dakota. It can't be that hard, i figure save some money and do it myself cos I can get it installed by the " pros " for about $200.

Do you know of any place where I can get it done for cheaper ? or any websites that show how to install these damn things that make ur life a whole lot easier come winter time???

Also, is there any particular brand that you guys recommend. I heard that the commando ones are no good ?

Anybody have experience with these things...are they worth it or not ????
new2r1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 08-14-2003, 10:15 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Harvard, IL
Posts: 568
Location: Harvard, IL
Sportbike: 91 Electra Glide
Years Riding: I forgot
How you found us: So long I dont remember
 
Send a message via AIM to robo74
I know Viper alarms with remote starts are good and they have installation PDF's on their site. I know that people say its not all that hard, just time consuming.

And by the way, I have one for sale in the non-moto for sale section.


Rob
robo74 is offline  
post #3 of 18 (permalink) Old 08-14-2003, 10:17 AM
Registered User
 
Kruz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: West of 59, North of 88
Posts: 18,885
Location: West of 59, North of 88
Sportbike: 05 CRF50
Years Riding: "Since 1992"
How you found us: You found me
           
I've had notjing but problems with my dealer installed remote starter. I've been through two already and am yanking this second one out soon. Keeps blowing fuses.
Kruz is offline  
post #4 of 18 (permalink) Old 08-14-2003, 10:23 AM
Registered User
 
Labdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Roselle, IL
Posts: 9,589
Location: Roselle, IL
Sportbike: 2000 Hayabusa Blue & Silver! Mods-> Oh yeah!
Years Riding: Oh just a couple or so....
How you found us: Old SBN days.......
           
It is VERY time consuming! I installed one on my pickup truck and it took everybit of 2 days! Good instructions and i am very mechanically sound but it was tough.

Yes you could save money doing it yourself but is it worth the time and aggrevation?

I took the wife's Tahoe in and had an avital installed in a few hours. Works great and i cleaned the bike and I got 9 holes in during that time.

<--Kelly

.

2000 Hayabusa
2006 Honda CRF50
Labdog is offline  
post #5 of 18 (permalink) Old 08-14-2003, 10:25 AM
Wannabe racer
 
lovebothkats's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Sticks!
Posts: 2,360
Location: Sticks!
Sportbike: KTM, GasGas, Sherco
Years Riding: Lost too many brain cells to remember
How you found us: Duh!
           
Automatic not too bad, manual don't bother. I put one on the Mazda which is a manual and it was such a pain I would never do it again. Not to mention all the steps they make you go through before remote starting it to ensure it is not in gear, and that the emergency brake is pulled.

However plan on putting one on the truck before winter, and most of them do come with installation instructions. Which for an auto are not too hard to follow. Especially if you get one that is just an add on, and doesn't replace your factory remote keyless entry system. Then they are really easy.
lovebothkats is offline  
post #6 of 18 (permalink) Old 08-14-2003, 11:34 AM
Registered User
 
GautamCity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Lombard
Posts: 2,074
Location: Lombard
Sportbike: 06 CBR600RR
Years Riding: bought my first street bike in 2000
How you found us: SBN
           
I had a Viper 550HF in my old car. It worked great and it is worth the $200 that Circuit City charges to install it!
GautamCity is offline  
post #7 of 18 (permalink) Old 08-14-2003, 11:39 AM
Head Stepper
 
Pirate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Warrenville
Posts: 4,244
Location: Warrenville
Sportbike: TREKK
Years Riding: 9
How you found us: member referal
           
Send a message via AIM to Pirate Send a message via Yahoo to Pirate
Got the cheap valet, or something like that, a few years back. Was gonna install it myself... But it had all these wires and plugs ans shit! And the instructions... What instructions! I said F it and took it to Circuit City. They had it in in no time. Still works today, (remote doesn't always work though - battery is dead) and that was a few years back.
Anyway, my suggestion is to take it somewhere. Much easier. And yes... It CAN be that hard!

<-------- Jeff


Hey baby! You ever been on the back of an expensive sportbike??


Property of Evil Monkey Racing
Pirate is offline  
post #8 of 18 (permalink) Old 08-14-2003, 12:05 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 122
 
I used to in stall them years agao S and S auto. Stay away from them. In time it seemed they all fucked the some part of the starting circut, or fuel injection systems on every car. If you really want one get one with a good warranty!!!!!
Danny and the 9er is offline  
post #9 of 18 (permalink) Old 08-14-2003, 12:13 PM
Registered User
 
NickIF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Westminster, Colorado
Posts: 3,260
Location: Westminster, Colorado
Sportbike: FJR1300
Years Riding: greater than a decade.
How you found us: google
           
Send a message via AIM to NickIF
If you want a nice remote start go to BEST BUY. If you're really worried about getting quality work done go to the best buy on Golf/Greenwood and tell them that Nick with the camaro sent you here. I worked in the install bay there for about 8 months the guys at golf mill do good work. As for price I don't think you can beat the deal. As long as you buy it at best buy labor installation is free (cheapest remote start I believe is $159 very basic) Some autos need extra parts (like to bypass vats) for a dakota I don't think it needs anything so installation will cost you $4.34 for supplies. LOL scary I still remember that
NickIF is offline  
post #10 of 18 (permalink) Old 08-14-2003, 12:18 PM
Registered User
 
2weelpilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Spring Grove, IL
Posts: 18,082
Location: Spring Grove, IL
Sportbike: yz250f
Years Riding: 25 years
How you found us: dont recall
           
I assume all of you guys leave your cars out at night and not garaged?

Mike

When the tailgate drops..the bullshit stops
Hunt ethically - Hunt with a trained Retriever !
2weelpilot is offline  
post #11 of 18 (permalink) Old 08-14-2003, 12:53 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Burbs
Posts: 284
Location: Burbs
Sportbike: 2 many
Years Riding: 12
How you found us: internet
 
toooo many cars at my house...no room for my dakota
new2r1 is offline  
post #12 of 18 (permalink) Old 08-14-2003, 01:06 PM
Registered User
 
GautamCity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Lombard
Posts: 2,074
Location: Lombard
Sportbike: 06 CBR600RR
Years Riding: bought my first street bike in 2000
How you found us: SBN
           
Quote:
Originally posted by 2weelpilot
I assume all of you guys leave your cars out at night and not garaged?
its garaged at home, but its parked outside at work.
GautamCity is offline  
post #13 of 18 (permalink) Old 08-14-2003, 02:21 PM
Registered User
 
J Cal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 852
Location: Chicago
Sportbike: k7 gsxr 600 track bike project
Years Riding: couple years...
How you found us: google
   
Quote:
Originally posted by lovebothkats
Automatic not too bad, manual don't bother. I put one on the Mazda which is a manual and it was such a pain I would never do it again. Not to mention all the steps they make you go through before remote starting it to ensure it is not in gear, and that the emergency brake is pulled.

WATCH OUT IF IT'S MANUAL TRANS! My buddy with a z3 had a remote start/keyless entry system got an alignment done at a local shop. they put the car in 1st gear and used no handbrake. next thing he pressed the starter butt'n and the car went fly'n over 3 curbs ending up wrapping the pole. good thing no one got hurt. he had to get another alignment after that
J Cal is offline  
post #14 of 18 (permalink) Old 08-14-2003, 02:28 PM
Registered User
 
GautamCity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Lombard
Posts: 2,074
Location: Lombard
Sportbike: 06 CBR600RR
Years Riding: bought my first street bike in 2000
How you found us: SBN
           
Quote:
Originally posted by Jcaloncagon
WATCH OUT IF IT'S MANUAL TRANS! My buddy with a z3 had a remote start/keyless entry system got an alignment done at a local shop. they put the car in 1st gear and used no handbrake. next thing he pressed the starter butt'n and the car went fly'n over 3 curbs ending up wrapping the pole. good thing no one got hurt. he had to get another alignment after that
sounds like he may have needed a little more than an alignment!!!!!
GautamCity is offline  
post #15 of 18 (permalink) Old 08-14-2003, 03:16 PM
Your friendly Crazy Canuk
 
RickC1957's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Barrington, Illinois
Posts: 12,731
Location: Barrington, Illinois
Sportbike: Ducati ST3 2005 Gloss Black, Monster 620, 2007 Sport Classic 1000
Years Riding: Crashing sucessfully since 1969
How you found us: Thru favorednation (ron)
           
Send a message via AIM to RickC1957 Send a message via Yahoo to RickC1957
You need a remote starter??? WHY?? It doesn't get cold here to warrant one. Now back home when it can easily go to -40, then maybe.

Sometimes goodbye is your second chance.
RickC1957 is offline  
post #16 of 18 (permalink) Old 08-14-2003, 03:20 PM
I'm always learning......
 
SloRoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Southwest Suburbs
Posts: 5,778
Location: Southwest Suburbs
Sportbike: 2k14 FLHXS, 1981 FXE, 1949 HD EL Panhead, Yami PW80
Years Riding: Long, long, long, long, long time.
How you found us: GPS
           
You don't need no stinkin' remote starter. Just do what a buddy of mine did when he broke up with his business partner. Have your wife go start the car.

Synthetic Lifelike Organism Responsible for Observation and Logical Learning - SLOROLL

Remember there's a big difference between kneeling down and bending over. Zappa 1974

And I said....."Look here brother, who you jiving with that cosmik debris? Now is that a real poncho or is that a Sears poncho? Zappa 1974
SloRoll is offline  
post #17 of 18 (permalink) Old 08-14-2003, 03:21 PM
Registered User
 
J Cal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 852
Location: Chicago
Sportbike: k7 gsxr 600 track bike project
Years Riding: couple years...
How you found us: google
   
Quote:
Originally posted by GautamCity
sounds like he may have needed a little more than an alignment!!!!!
yea, insurance co. covered the new bumper insurance is good
J Cal is offline  
post #18 of 18 (permalink) Old 08-14-2003, 04:37 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Burbs
Posts: 284
Location: Burbs
Sportbike: 2 many
Years Riding: 12
How you found us: internet
 
Quote:
Originally posted by RickC1957
You need a remote starter??? WHY?? It doesn't get cold here to warrant one. Now back home when it can easily go to -40, then maybe.

where do u live at man???? Antarctica ?????
new2r1 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Chicagoland Sportbikes forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome