So why did you start racing? - Chicagoland Sportbikes
Chicagoland Sportbikes

Track Talk This forum is all about discussing riding and setup tips for different types of racetracks. As well as discussion about the local racing scene.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 35 (permalink) Old 08-20-2010, 06:05 PM Thread Starter
Gixxer Rider

Sportbike: K6 & K9 GSXR1000s
Years Riding: 12th season
How you found us: SBN

So why did you start racing?

So i thought after Nick's thread, I thought someone should ask why did you start racing?

This last July CCS Blackhawk round was my first shot at racing. I've been doing trackdays since 2004 and to tell the truth, I never thought I would put myself at the level of risk that racing could provide. But after becoming a NESBA Advanced rider and CR, I wanted to see how I fared against others in a real racing environment. Riding in our advanced group is very challenging with the level of racing talent mixed in and I felt that I needed something to boost my motivation to get faster. Yes I could turn lap after lap at our advanced pace but when it came to making really aggressive passes and riding with a sense of urgency, I found that racing was the perfect place to learn and take my riding to another level. Basically I wanted to improve my skills without the fatigue of CRing and the restriction of "polite" passing. And boy did racing help. I've been turning my fastest laps ever since and my confidence in my skills is higher than its ever been. I'm still not the fastest but I enjoy putting my head down and chasing the faster guys now. The advanced sessions that I ride now are time for me to practice my race craft and I've found a new motivation to ride every one that I can so that I can be better prepared for the next time I race. I'm not sure what this new race addiction will lead to but my main goals for now are self improvement and having fun.

Track Junkie #79
Sponsored Links
Advertisement