Best Tomato Sauce Ever - Chicagoland Sportbikes
Chicagoland Sportbikes

The CLSB Kitchen Here ya go ladies and gents, the long awaited cooking forum is open for all to enjoy. Gather around the stove and marvel at Tony's Chili.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 1 (permalink) Old 09-01-2007, 05:49 PM Thread Starter
Bop your way home...

Sportbike: Hypermotard
Years Riding: since 99'
How you found us: Googled "bullshit artists"

Best Tomato Sauce Ever

I have yet to contribute to this forum, I cook for a living so I thought it was about time.

Here is a relatively easy recipe for a Tomato sauce, not like marinara, it can be called a Tomato Concasse, which is what it is. This is my recipe, but it's kind of a classic with many chefs having their own variation. It can be used with pasta, topped on fish/seafood, chicken, as a dip/condiment or even used on toasted bread like bruschetta. It can be served hot or cold. Keeps in a sealed container in the fridge for about a week or frozen (although not the best idea since it looses it "fresh" taste.

Ingredients:

3 lbs. Tomato (can be any variety, as long as they are meaty and ripe, not too ripe)
1 tbsp Garlic Cloves, sliced thin like in Goodfellas.
1 tbsp Fresh Thyme, taken off the stem, but no real reason to chop it finer.
1/2 cup White Wine, doesn't matter what kind, I use a pinot grigio cause thats what I like and have around. Any kind of sauce containing tomatoes needs alcohol to bring out the best flavors, keep that in mind if you want to ommit this ingredient.
1/2 cup Extra Virgin Olive Oil, my current favorite is My Brothers (it's a brand)
1 Lemon, zest it and juice it throw the rest in the trash.
Freshly ground Black Pepper
Kosher/Sea Salt

Procedure: