Chicagoland Sportbike Forums banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Premium Member
45,956 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I wanna start doing my basement over the winter but I want someone to show me how to do the framing so I dont screw it up. I've never done it before. I think I can figure out the straight walls. but I am wondering about inside and outside corners and doorways.

·
Registered
19,186 Posts
GsxrTony said:
I wanna start doing my basement over the winter but I want someone to show me how to do the framing so I dont screw it up. I've never done it before. I think I can figure out the straight walls. but I am wondering about inside and outside corners and doorways.

Borders has some great books on that stuff. Home Depot has a title and Better Homes and Gardens too. Otherwise Hooligan would know best, but basically just use treated wood and nail the frame track to the floor then basically 16" apart for the wall studs.;)

·
Premium Member
45,956 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I gotta use treated wood? Why cant I use regular 2x4's? that treated stuff is expensive.

·
Evil Moderatrix,
8,030 Posts
Sub-grade = more moisture/humidity?

·
Registered
19,186 Posts
GsxrTony said:
I gotta use treated wood? Why cant I use regular 2x4's? that treated stuff is expensive.
You don't have to use it but I would just on the floor incase of moisture. Like I said though just the ones that nail to the floor. I've been thinking of framing mine out too but not sure I'm going to get to it this winter so let me know if you need help I'll be there.;) My grandpa was a carpentar so I usually tap him for my q's

·
Premium Member
45,956 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I'm sure thier is some more humidity, but you dont use treated studs in a bathroom and thiers tons more in there from the shower and stuff.

·
Registered
19,186 Posts
GsxrTony said:
I'm sure thier is some more humidity, but you dont use treated studs in a bathroom and thiers tons more in there from the shower and stuff.