Chicagoland Sportbike Forums banner
1 - 20 of 105 Posts

·
Former Chicagoian
864 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Looking to get my first off road bike ASAP.

I would like to buy used for under $2,000 if at all possible and want a 4-stroke unless you can talk me into a 2-stroke. I've been looking on e-bay, craigslist, and this forum of course.

To start, I plan to do trail riding both in the midwest and the northeast. FWIW, I've ridden street bikes ranging from a 250 up to a goldwing but have not been on a dirt bike since I was a kid.

The CRF250X looks like it would work well, no?

Are there any forums I should be reading up on?

Thanks

·
Hot-Wire Her With A Pin
8,791 Posts
I am new to it and really like my WR if you get 2004 and up you get the magic button.

·
4,985 Posts
Dirtrider.net is ok but you have to filter through a ton of stupid posts by 12 year olds in order to get any good information. Ktmtalk.com is good for general riding information. Thumpertalk.com is ok too.

Why are you set on a 4 stroke? Keep in mind they are higher maintenance and plan to shell out big bucks if you break them. In my opinion 2 strokes are better in the woods anyways if you know how to ride them. Watch a GNCC race and see what the majority of the guys are riding.

·
slow poke
101 Posts
Looking to get my first off road bike ASAP.

I would like to buy used for under $2,000 if at all possible and want a 4-stroke unless you can talk me into a 2-stroke. I've been looking on e-bay, craigslist, and this forum of course.

To start, I plan to do trail riding both in the midwest and the northeast. FWIW, I've ridden street bikes ranging from a 250 up to a goldwing but have not been on a dirt bike since I was a kid.

The CRF250X looks like it would work well, no?

Are there any forums I should be reading up on?

Thanks
thumpertalk if youwant a 4 stroke plan to invest if you get a honda..

·
Former Chicagoian
864 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·