Chicagoland Sportbike Forums banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Model citizen
10,026 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've got a line on a brand new set of forks springs, valves and all new seals for the bike. Good price too.

The springs he has are the 1.0kg/mm. I was origionally going to go with 0.85 or 0.90 springs. From everything I've read, the 1.0 might be a bit stiff for my weight.

I'm 190 lbs without gear. Bike weighs in around 420 lbs dry. 100% street duty up to this point, (might see a track day or two next year).

My question is, will the 1.0kg springs be ok? Will there be a realistic difference between the 1.0kg/mm he has and the 0.90kg/mm I was planning on buying? Any thoughs?

·
The Halo hides my Horns
12,685 Posts
I'm not a suspension expert, but those who are told me for the SV at 220lbs with gear I should have .90 with 20w fork oil.

Peanuts bike has .90 and with her weight the forks don't compress at all. She bounces a bit hard over bumps.

I'm not sure if you big zook needs a different spring setup or if you'll find 1.0 springs hard on your wrists.

·
Si Vis Pacem Parabellum
11,409 Posts
One thing someone mentioned in my forks thread was that you can always dial down the stiffness (assuming you have adjustable forks) but you can't make weak springs stronger.

·
Registered
14,283 Posts
Now after thinking about it get the .95 just incasr you gain a couple of pounds lol with your gear and any gear you attach to your bike.95 will be plenty. You can alway back off the preload.

·
Registered
14,283 Posts
One thing someone mentioned in my forks thread was that you can always dial down the stiffness (assuming you have adjustable forks) but you can't make weak springs stronger.
wrong. thats what preload adjusters are for. You can only compensate so much then you need to go to a stiffer spring.

·
Model citizen
10,026 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
after 5 minutes of mental debating, its a now a dead issue